Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taken Down [RTE]

Discussion on the plot itself tonight??? Im guessing the Algerian man knew or seen something and im wondering if his hanging was really self inflicted. He received somewhat of a threat a few minutes earlier from the caretaker guy.

Would provision centres not fall under some sort of governance or are they privately ran and publicly funded centres?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

I think regardless of how much money you can demand for yourself, the film industry is a machine that chews everyone up and spits them out eventually and the program did hit on actual mysogyny you describe within the industry to a degree.
    Where porn made the pimp effectively redundant is that women were going directly into the industry as opposed to through the street or parlour trade
    I wonder did Saoirse Ronan have to sleep with Weinstein and co to get where she is. She got pretty big suddenly. Bigger names than her had to.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

Discussion on the plot itself tonight??? Im guessing the Algerian man knew or seen something and im wondering if his hanging was really self inflicted. He received somewhat of a threat a few minutes earlier from the caretaker guy.

Would provision centres not fall under some sort of governance or are they privately ran and publicly funded centres?

From horrific documentaries ive seen on Australian detention centres (lets call them what they are) they are purely out-of-sight-out-of-mind-facilities that the govt will happily fund but with minimal oversight. I would be happy to be proven wrong about Irish facilities but as we know so little I suspect not.

• Registered Users Posts: 276 ✭✭Johnwayne98

And the whole experience of being arrested fairly rattled him as well.He knew that the guard was watching him,for one reason or another.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,204 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Nice programme on TG4 ATM, Keeping Faith. Welsh crime drama.

I wonder did Saoirse Ronan have to sleep with Weinstein and co to get where she is. She got pretty big suddenly. Bigger names than her had to.

Shes quite a good actress but wasnt she very young when she landed her first part???

Although knowing Weinstein, anything goes.

Anyone heading for an instant review - cast your mind back to Love/Hate, the first series wasn't the best. It took a while for it to bed in...

That's very true

Anyone heading for an instant review - cast your mind back to Love/Hate, the first series wasn't the best. It took a while for it to bed in...

That's very true

• Registered Users Posts: 21,204 ✭✭✭✭Water John

That speculation is absolutely inappropriate.

Ha ha the Garda queuing up for the food in the DP centre :D

And he wanted a bit of both main courses

• Registered Users Posts: 28,656 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

can't understand a word some of the main characters are saying

Switch on subtitles is the easy solution.

It helped me to follow the culchie guard anyway.

And he wanted a bit of both main courses

Sure Garda only love a carvery, really lazy,trite stereotyping on the show's part.

yeah, twas just bad,..the only one that could act was the mother..the rest of them were brutal..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Shes quite a good actress but wasnt she very young when she landed her first part???

Although knowing Weinstein, anything goes.

She was Oscar nominated for Atonement when she was only a kid, and in general is very good at her profession.

I don't think there's anything underhand going on.

I'm not sure she's worked on a film that had anything to do with Weinstein either.

Anyways back to topic.... Big improvement needed here. You would be hard pressed to believe that Love/Hate and this were created by the same people. Its a bad sign when we are looking for everything to talk about bar the show itself. In truth, nothing happened

RTE will never replicate Love Hate. Pretty much 100% of their programming is garbage these days.

Amy Huberman has been on 3 or 4 shows this year alone....She is fúckin brutal and as for that ''comedy'' that was aired recently... its about as funny as aids.

Of course some of her friends are brought along on the gravy train too like 'Backing Bwaaaaaave' woman who voiced the AIB ad a while back

Amy Huberman has been on 3 or 4 shows this year alone....She is fúckin brutal and as for that ''comedy'' that was aired recently... its about as funny as aids.

Of course some of her friends are brought along on the gravy train too like 'Backing Bwaaaaaave' woman who voiced the AIB ad a while back
    RTE is like the dole for the upper classes. A safety net, where some stay there for life. Also paid for by the taxpayer.

I'm struggling to think of any decent Irish shows I've seen in recent times. Maybe Derry Girls and it wasnt RTE

Love/Hate was despite RTE, not because of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,200 ✭✭✭Spon Farmer

Speaks volumes.

I think Jimmy Smallhorne who plays a great villain (Git Loughman previously) is a great cast addition and has the power to carry this series if given enough screentime. Brian Gleeson is only suited to certain roles. Im not sure he ever shook off the Hughie typecast from the first season of Love/hate, a role which he was outstanding in.

The pace is considerably slower than Love/Hate which was a blood pumping adrenaline rush from the start.

It speaks volumes about people not the programme.

What Hughie typecasting is going on with Brian Gleeson?

Love/Hate was not "pumping" or a "rush" from the get go. In fact the opening scenes were very poor. It doesn't actually start until the final episode of season one.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,200 ✭✭✭Spon Farmer

The scenes on the morning of the murder does suggest that Samir saw the man in the hoodie but the pet bird was left outside Abeni's apparent for the elder son to care for him so Samir died by his own hand. There is definitely something underhanded involving Wayne and the guy who called about the windows but I wasn't sure whether Samir was being threatened by the guy or whether they were just showing the general ignorance of some people.

I believe Wayne is a red herring in regards the murder, etc. - he is involved in something shady and the ads suggest involved with criminals but he did seem to not expecting Esme photo when the Guards showed up and why would he report Flora as missing? He was the only one to mention her to the Guards.

Direct provision centres are run by tax payer money I believe.

I will be disappointed if this turns out to be about prostitution and human trafficking. I know that those will be featured in the story and are "issues" in the country but this series needs to be about something more original than that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

lookr wrote: »
    Don't agree with the cynicism here. So far I'm pretty engaged and the production value is better than usual for Irish TV.
    People often say this. Tell me exactly what you mean by it please.
    Is that a sincere question? I'm referring to the quality of the cinematography, lighting, soundtrack, locations, editing etc. This is a fairly polished production despite the fact that the budget can't have been particularly high.

Yes it is a sincere question because it's almost a cliché now. You will see it mentioned elsewhere .by people who don't really know what it means, they read it somewhere. I know about production values and budgets. Lighting and soundtrack? More often than not soundtracks are used as cover for failings elsewhere. Locations? What?
    Tell me, what are you comparing it to here? Fair City? That's a fairly low bar. Do you actually know the budget for this is?

It speaks volumes about people not the programme.

What Hughie typecasting is going on with Brian Gleeson?

Love/Hate was not "pumping" or a "rush" from the get go. In fact the opening scenes were very poor. It doesn't actually start until the final episode of season one.

In the first five minutes of the very first episode of love/hate alone, more happened then the whole first episode of Taken Down. It seems that the latter is taking a slower approach to developing the story or so we would hope.
    Every episode of season three of love/hate from the season premiere on was fairly tense.

To answer your question on Brian Gleeson, he was decent in Rebellion but Love/hate was his finest role to date. I think playing that type of psychopathic character suited him well

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

Did the writers really have to introduce the idea of the sterotypical male garda from the 1980`s. Not typical of todays Gardai and a poor sideswipe.

Unnecessary because no one will take them up on it because it is PC today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Graniteville

Basq wrote: »
    Haven't watched this yet but reading the opinions here reminds me a lot of the thoughts of the opening episode of Love/Hate on here! :D

EDIT: Here we go: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055969028

without reading the thread, I would guess the same names possibly appear too.

The naysayers all seem to be against RTE - funny thing is, this is not an RTE production. Like most TV it is an independent production part funded by RTE by their purchase of the rights to air first and air in Ireland. According to imdb, Freemantle media have bought rest of world rights, so they are also co-funders.

And like any drama or any series that goes on for 6 hours and probable 2nd and 3rd series, the first episode builds the various characters.

Check the first episode of Big bang Theory - quite lame in comparison to nearly every other episode as it simply built the characters.

And for some, its simply not their style of drama. Personally I could not watch Game of Thrones. That does not make it bad, just means I have different taste to the millions that think its the best show in the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 lookr

Don't agree with the cynicism here. So far I'm pretty engaged and the production value is better than usual for Irish TV.
    People often say this. Tell me exactly what you mean by it please.
    Is that a sincere question? I'm referring to the quality of the cinematography, lighting, soundtrack, locations, editing etc. This is a fairly polished production despite the fact that the budget can't have been particularly high.
    Yes it is a sincere question because it's almost a cliché now. You will see it mentioned elsewhere .by people who don't really know what it means, they read it somewhere. I know about production values and budgets. Lighting and soundtrack? More often than not soundtracks are used as cover for failings elsewhere. Locations? What?
    Tell me, what are you comparing it to here? Fair City? That's a fairly low bar. Do you actually know the budget for this is?

I think you've clearly demonstrated that it was not a sincere question.

Do you mean to suggest that I was being pretentious in using the term "production value"? It's not a particularly complex term. That's great that you know so much about production values and budgets, thank you for providing such an incisive analysis of Taken Down. Tell me, what do you know about my experience?

I do not know what the budget for this show is. What I do know is that it's made by the state broadcaster of a tiny country. I have also watched other RTE dramas (not Fair City) over the years and have my own experiences to draw from as a frame of reference.

Sounds like you have a chip on your shoulder.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I do not know what the budget for this show is. What I do know is that it's made by the state broadcaster of a tiny country. I have also watched other RTE dramas (not Fair City) over the years and have my own experiences to draw from as a frame of reference.

Wasn't a huge fan of Love/Hate, honestly believe that most Irish Drama's outside Fair City (50,000 per episode) are well produced even with some awful scripts and storyline. And I go into a general list of Dramas. (I exclude Bridget and Eamon from this which is god awful in everyway).

Didn't get to see this but I was one of the people who didn't watch Love/Hate.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,970 ✭✭✭3DataModem

Like many things in the country it's a mess.

Still pretty sweet compared to the country they came from, presumably.

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Shakey_jake

"My son im sorry i can not give you a house"

Yeah sure just rock up for 8 years and get a free house of the social, the virtue signalling was strong in this