Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,102 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Rennaws wrote: »
    You are demonstrating a staggering ignorance of the political system in this country.

The main parties have it sewn up which is why it's near impossible for new parties to form let alone actually get anywhere near power.

We don't have a functioning democracy.

We don't even have a functioning government at the moment.

And they get away with it because this country is made up of people like you who can't think for themselves and just spout the establishment line because that's all they know as they vote for the party their parents voted for.

It's pathetic but thankfully this way of thinking is slowly dying away as the older generations die off..

Roll on the Peter Casey's and plenty more like him..

People are done. The liberals have over done it..

The days of political correctness are coming to an end.

What liberals!?

Will you stop with this guff.

We don't have a left government. You sir are a liar. I can call you that because you are spreading untruths.

And our government isn't functioning? They seem fairly consistent and cohesive on our negotiation for brexit deals.

Why do you spread lies is it for the thanks ? Or you just enjoy the ranty stuff.

Again I'll ask you sure I'll ask anyone who thanked you. Is our government lefty liberal if so which party ? And what policies. Cite examples of you don't then you are a liar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭sonic85

When Tubridy made that comment about Caseys intellect right at the start of the interview Peter should've just walked off the stage. Disgraceful excuse for an interview.

I have to say though - I like Casey, I voted for him and I agree with the sentiment of what he's saying but he does himself no favours showing up for interviews with little or no actual research done. He could've really shown up Tubridy last night with a little bit of effort. Car crash all round

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭tretorn

I have visions of Mickey D shouting over the Aras wall at 3am asking the lads if they could "keep it down a bit" :pac:

Mickey D will be able to ride around the park on the ponies.

I am sure the travellers could source a little Connemara pony for him or maybe a donkey or two.

The comment about Caseys intellect was appalling.

Roark wrote: »
    We don’t know what the result of the protest vote will be yet. It’s too early to tell. A perceived bogeyman? You honestly don’t have a clue. I live in one of the towns where Casey topped the pole. People here didn’t vote for Casey because they were manipulated and/or are stupid/hateful/racist. They supported him because they live in a town with a high traveller population and have to live everyday with the problems that that often brings. I won’t bore you with anecdotes. Google has pages and pages of newspaper articles if you wish to educate yourself.

There are no candidates that will touch traveller issues or the growing welfare state at the moment. Maybe that will change. We’ll see.

Comparing the presidential election with Brexit makes no sense. One outcome has pretty much no impact on voters lives and the other has huge impact.

Here is something to think about. Maybe people that think/vote differently to you aren’t idiots. Maybe we havent been manipulated and are blaming all our woes on a bogeyman. Maybe we have genuine real concerns that you and people like you have very little experience of and frankly don’t give a damn about.

That’s me done for a while. Please don’t expect a reply.

They're may be some fair points in what you are saying but you are throwing your Oar in with people that have an agenda the thread is dotted with them .

They go around telling lies. Spreading misinformation and these folks want us to leave the EU, they go on about the traveller stuff as if it's part of a pc globalist agenda and then in the same breath talk about open borders.

You really need to examine whether your being played.

There are legitimate concerns about criminality but don't be taken for a fool for voting with right wing organisations. These people will cause you more harm than any traveller stealing your oil out or your fuel tank.

There's a clear narrative they spread this stuff right through multiple threads. Focusing on one group and vilifiying them suits that narrative.

Be open to seeing who these people are and what they are up to.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Why is there a move to the right in politics?

Is mass immigration a great idea for a country or countries that are struggling to house their citizens?

Where is the money going to come from for the additional strain on resources?

Will there be proper employment opportunities, education, health care and housing for the new migrant population?

There has been a shift to the left in Europe in the last 2 decades....it hasn't worked particularly well. It's moving back towards the right. Maybe in another 20 years it might move left again?

Mass immigration of people who dont belong in a western democracy where everyone has equal rights is doomed to fail. These people dont belong here and will never belong here while they hang onto their feudal beliefs and way of life.

Look at France and see what has happened there, look at Germany and envisage what it will be like in ten years. Look at the Netherlands where Muslims are becoming very strident and causing even this most liberal of all countries to move to the right.Look at Sweden, the same effect there.

Do we really want all these problems in twenty years time.

tretorn wrote: »
    Mass immigration of people who dont belong in a western democracy where everyone has equal rights is doomed to fail. These people dont belong here and will never belong here while they hang onto their feudal beliefs and way of life.

Look at France and see what has happened there, look at Germany and envisage what it will be like in ten years. Look at the Netherlands where Muslims are becoming very strident and causing even this most liberal of all countries to move to the right.Look at Sweden, the same effect there.

All what problems.

Ireland doesn't have mass immigration we don't have open borders.

The only people pushing for people to go to the far right. And I don't use that lightly I mean far right is the likes of yourself and other obvious posters using terms like globalist and liberal left etc.

It's as transparent as a washed window.

We

Don't

Have

Open

Borders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,449 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

People keep saying his vote was about the travelers. Yes a part of it was that. Another part was speaking the truth and his rightful claim of workers not being rewarded! You’re made feel like a pariah here, for someone who would probably agree with the conservatives, ie those currently governing Britain!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 163 ✭✭shady acres

the highlight of last nights "debate" for me was when the traveller woman was ranting at peter for 5 minutes
    and peter, cool as a cucumber turns to rubridy " are you losing control, ryan?

classic Peter :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,778 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

Who does belong here? Please clarify on grounds of race, religion & ethnicity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,611 ✭✭✭valoren

Re the tweet from Jennifer Maguire;

It's possible Casey replied "what's that?" but not in ignorance more so in mishearing her "what was that?/ What did you say?". But it's convenient now for an RTE stooge like her to manipulate, exploit and twist words to try and sully an outspoken guy.

My guess is that Casey telling obvious truths about travelers and seeing the response from it is just a start and he's perceived as a threat by a cosseted RTE. What next? He might be outspoken about the shambles RTE is.

Best to lay into him now and label him racist etc to discredit him and keep the show going. Sully the messenger, sully the message. The guy is a millionaire. That affords him freedom to speak out and that is a danger to sacred cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

listermint wrote: »
    What liberals!?

Will you stop with this guff.

We don't have a left government. You sir are a liar. I can call you that because you are spreading untruths.

And our government isn't functioning? They seem fairly consistent and cohesive on our negotiation for brexit deals.

Why do you spread lies is it for the thanks ? Or you just enjoy the ranty stuff.

Again I'll ask you sure I'll ask anyone who thanked you. Is our government lefty liberal if so which party ? And what policies. Cite examples of you don't then you are a liar

Yeah whatever..

You're like a dying wasp desperately trying to land a final sting..

Our "government" don't even know what they are..

The mere mention of FG and FF sharing power would have been completely unheard of less then a decade ago..

And look at them now, all loved up in their thirst for power..

As I said, we don't have a functioning democracy or government..

the highlight of last nights "debate" for me was when the traveller woman was ranting at peter for 5 minutes

Less than 90 seconds of making her point. Casey rudely interrupted her twice as unable to hear a challenge. And the man wanted to be our chief diplomat. FFS.

Idbatterim wrote: »
    People keep saying his vote was about the travelers. Yes a part of it was that. Another part was speaking the truth and his rightful claim of workers not being rewarded! You’re made feel like a pariah here, for someone who would probably agree with the conservatives, ie those currently governing Britain!!!

Made feel like a pariah for working ?

By who?

Do your neighbours , your friends make you feel like a pariah ?

There is no conservative government left in the UK. A conservative government wouldnt go for the national nonsensical rethoric that they are pulling and remove market access. That is not conservative that is right wing thinking.

It simply doesn't allign with what conservative means.

And people trying to rewrite what the lines of liberal are , are wrong.

There's a reason there's a constant pressure to label centerist governments as liberal left because it suits the far right to put distance to centerist policies . And no centerist policies do not include making you a pariah for working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

''You would know all about it if I lost control,'' says Ryan the tough man who the wind would blow away like a piece of paper.

Yeah whatever..

The mere mention of FG and FF sharing power would have been completely unheard of less then a decade ago..

Do you even know our parties ? FG and FF have always been two sides of slapped arse.

Few popular things mixed in with center or right of centre policies

You actually think we have a radical left government?

This is quality comedy . I'd love to see you on stage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

valoren wrote: »
    My guess is that Casey telling obvious truths about travelers and seeing the response from it is just a start and he's perceived as a threat by a cosseted RTE. What next? He might be outspoken about the shambles RTE is.

Good point. Time for RTÉ to circle the wagons in defense of their own interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,242 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

People are upset because Tubridy presented a non threatening group of travellers to the country last night. I predicted this is what he would do but it’s another kick in the teeth to rural people to see this response by the national broadcaster to the misery that led to them voting for Casey.

If the majority of the thirty thousand travellers are good law abiding citizens who go to college and then work why did 347,000 people vote for Peter Casey.

RTE should remember who pays the licence fee and who doesn’t.

Tubridy and his rude questions about where Casey got his money, I think this was the first question asked. Tubridy is on a huge salary and every licence payer is being fleeced to pay for his nose in the trough. He isn’t afraid to leave his house in case someone arrives pretending to be selling something but in reality looking for an opportunity to rob it.

Why didn’t Tubridy ask the travellers how come many appear to be wealthy but officially the vast majority claim welfare payments, if its ok to ask Casey where he made his money then ask the travellers the same question.
    I'd say that after last night's epic fail by RTE Casey's vote would be much higher if the Presidential election was next week.
    As I said to you numerous times now they keep shooting the messenger but are very much afraid of the message. You are also addressing the wrong IQ's. Look inwards Francie.
    Edward M wrote: »
    By whom?
    We had an irate tubs, three travellers in the audience spoke and asked questions, not another person contributed or was asked to.
    A bad farce and the only one who came out of it with any credibility was Casey.
    No big audience boo's or demands he shut up, in fact a warm round of applause when he entered and at the end of his interview.
    But keep the faith there Francie.

When has Casey ever mentioned the 'traveller crime' stuff that you all claim is the real issue? Can you link me to one statement he has made about this?

He said something about SEMS and got challenged on it and failed the challenge on backing up what he said with any substantial evidence of travellers being treated as more equal because of SEMS.

It's possible Casey replied "what's that?" but not in ignorance more so in mishearing her "what was that?/ What did you say?". But it's convenient now for an RTE stooge like her to manipulate, exploit and twist words to try and sully an outspoken guy.

Best to lay into him now and label him racist etc to discredit him and keep the show going. Sully the messenger, sully the message.
    He already called RTÉ a joke on RTÉ in one of the last presidential debates ... how much of a vote winner do you guys think RTÉ license fee abolition would be and make it a subscription service or they rely on advertising and sponsorship income to fund their services only...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

BattleCorp wrote: »
    The Gardai have batons, don't they?

Go in swinging.

I agree, problem is more of these scrotes would turn up with slash hooks etc, and the guards would probabaly end up done for assaulting Mr travveller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

BattleCorp wrote: »
    The Gardai have batons, don't they?

Go in swinging.

I agree, problem is more of these scrotes would turn up with slash hooks etc, and the guards would probabaly end up done for assaulting Mr travveller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,560 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Best to lay into him now and label him racist etc to discredit him and keep the show going. Sully the messenger, sully the message. The guy is a millionaire. That affords him freedom to speak out and that is a danger to sacred cows.
    RTE like this thread just keeps on giving.

Yeah whatever..

Can I read it that a functioning democracy is one where you’re happy with the result?

Ireland’s political PR system far more democratic than say the FPTP in the UK. Our constitutional democracy also streets ahead of the constitutional monarchy in the UK.

Study the system and run for office rather than mouth off factual inaccuracies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

You can bet on it. Straight from the Bannon playbook. Ireland has a void in the hierarchy for people expressing these sentiments, I'm gonna say he will get 20% in the polls if he carries on like this.

Good estimate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

cos rte is a bit suss at the best of times :

In the 1960s, responding to the developments that had come about in media and how Irish people were receiving their information, the Communications Centre was founded in Booterstown by the Irish Catholic Bishops' Conference, under the directorship of Fr Joe Dunn. In 1969 it merged with the Catholic Truth Society to become the Catholic Communications Institute of Ireland, later being renamed Veritas Communications.

In 1970 ["Bunny" Carr – best known for having robbed the "black babies" *] went to work as Director of the Catholic Communications Centre where he trained priests in media skills. In 1973 he left to set up his own PR firm, Carr Communications. It was a one-stop shop for many a politician looking for media training and Bunny boasts six former Taoisigh as graduates.

Bunny finally left RTÉ in 1984.

The communications group that Carr founded largely specialised in media training, drawing on its founders extensive broadcasting experience to coach politicians and businessmen on the dos and don'ts of media appearance.

Carr has become best known for its links to politicians, particularly those wearing the Fianna Fail colours.

Initially the brainchild of entertainer Bunny Carr, husband and wife team Terry Prone [whom Carr met when she was thirteen] and Tom Savage were at the helm of Carr Communications for the 25 years.

[During a] 2004 management buyout, some €7.5m was paid at that time to Ms Prone, Mr Savage and Bunny Carr.

listermint wrote: »
    Do you even know our parties ? FG and FF have always been two sides of slapped arse.

Few popular things mixed in with center or right of centre policies

You actually think we have a radical left government?

This is quality comedy . I'd love to see you on stage

We have an outrageous welfare state and fifty percent marginal tax rate over a very low income ... I’d call it left leaning government. Large public service , unsackable public and civil servants. What would you call it?!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

''You would know all about it if I lost control,'' says Ryan the tough man who the wind would blow away like a piece of paper.

He really is pitiful, the poster boy for weak spineless middle class ill informed pseudo intellectual over indulged RTE Lushes and all achieved through nepotism not talent. Christ on a rope him, Marianne and that other bint on saturday the one who never shows up, Arghhhh Joe Duffy I nearly forgot FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

If I was an alien and dropped down from Mars and read the title of this thread.

My first question............. "What factors make travellers TODAY an ethnic minority"

Both serious and humorous replies welcomed.........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Miriam I mean