Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Fantastic! Great report and great race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

What a report, brilliant.

Congratulations Barry, some spirit there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Baby75

ariana` wrote: »
    Same here :o

Amazing report and an even more amazing run, well done!

Another one filling up here:)

very moving, so well written and really captured the joy pain and ecstasy of finishing a marathon

well done and thank you for sharing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

That's a fantastic run and report.Big congratulations again.Delighted for you,man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭juke

That was an inspiring read. Well done on a great run, pb and using your priorities to drive you on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Great report! It's given me food for thought...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Excellent report B well worth the wait:).
    Fair play to you for toughening it out when it would have being so much easier just to give up. I really liked reading this "I cross the line ecstatic" I dont think I have seen you write that about any previous race. Delighted for you B recover well and enjoy DCM.
    By the way how is the body now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

jake1970 wrote: »
    By the way how is the body now?

Very sore Monday & Tuesday L, the sight of stairs had me in tears!! Very tired the past two days as a result of the euphoria from Sunday wearing off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Just re-read your report. Apart from capturing the experience brilliantly, it's striking how well you draw energy from the supporters, from your family, and from the runners around you. Like many other races you've done, you found an appropriate group to run with and used that to get you through the parts where it's sometimes easy to switch off (or give in). Something I've been trying to do more of myself, or at least do better. Obviously it doesn't always work out, but in general you seem really, really good at getting the best out of yourself on the day, which is all anyone can ask for really. I don't think you can put it all down to stubbornness - there's plenty of tactical nous going on there as well. Brilliant stuff.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Just re-read your report. Apart from capturing the experience brilliantly, it's striking how well you draw energy from the supporters, from your family, and from the runners around you. Like many other races you've done, you found an appropriate group to run with and used that to get you through the parts where it's sometimes easy to switch off (or give in). Something I've been trying to do more of myself, or at least do better. Obviously it doesn't always work out, but in general you seem really, really good at getting the best out of yourself on the day, which is all anyone can ask for really. I don't think you can put it all down to stubbornness - there's plenty of tactical nous going on there as well. Brilliant stuff.

I don’t like anything getting the better of me D!! Always been like that, something my father instilled in me. I like using the crowd in marathons for energy and a “buzz” to use a Dublin saying as i think you can feed of there cheers and roars to get a boost. One of the things I am most looking forward to in regards DCM, is the crowd as i’ve never experienced it yet and having read loads about the fervent support they give I can’t wait to sample it in a few weeks time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

OOnegative wrote: »
    the crowd as i’ve never experienced it yet and having read loads about the fervent support they give I can’t wait to sample it in a few weeks time.

We'll get a few of DNS lads out to give you a good proper Dublin reception, B - eggs and all

Great report, B - I really do hope you stay working away at the marathon distance as I think there is much more to come with a few more blocks of training and maybe some strength specific stuff along the way. Well done again, enjoyed reading it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

That was a great report. I also was a bit teary eyed .... seems to be a female thing ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Best of luck with the pacing gig tomorrow B, DFIU! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

There's not many who get to run Dublin for the first time and not be racing it! Have a blast B, and make sure to apply a load of HTFU to your pacees (in the latter stages of the race of course).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Enjoy, B - happy pacing. No doubt you’ll make a difference out there. Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

Good luck with the pacing today! Hope you enjoy the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Finally got around to reading your report, wow, brilliant!! Really delighted for you B and with two marathons in quick succession you can't say it's not your distance anymore.... Looking forward to the pacing report too! Sub 3 in 2019, my only question is where?

Cheers AM, don’t know about sub 3 but it will be October 2019 again before I race another marathon and where all depends if i am invited back to pace DCM again.

I’ll keep the DCM pacing gig short & sweet, it wasn’t my day as I was merely there to assist which I think I done a good job of as I was thanked by many after the finish for the help & encouragement over the race. I will say one thing on it, having run Rotterdam, most of Barcelona and Köln all are left in the shade by Dublin in regards support. I cannot count the amount of times the hair stood on the back of my head through the outstanding vocal support that was given, Castleknock and Terenure being particularly memorable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Given the sentiment of your post I won't ruin it by commenting on the hair standing at the back of your head. Was great to meet you. Would've happily stayed there for the day but had to shift on to go for dinner with the Limerick gang.

Not best choice of words alright!!! Went looking for again but you had ducked out at that stage, pleasure to meet you also and would have chatted more if we could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

OOnegative wrote:
    Not best choice of words alright!!! Went looking for again but you had ducked out at that stage, pleasure to meet you also and would have chatted more if we could.

I was dragged out kicking and screaming haha. Would've happily hung with ye all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Ultraman100

good job on sunday ooneg,u werent there just too assist,u were the only one who was young enough to read the pace bands :) ..see u next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Well done with the pacing on Sunday B. Unfortunately couldn't make it to McGrattans this year as had prior engagement.

Before i move on to the "next thing" i want to get this down on my log, to echo what AMK stated on his log the other evening, i want to say a big thanks for all the well wishes and well dones since Koln was done. I have yet to meet a wnaker of a runner, its a community that has great respect and admiration for one another in my experience and i'm thankful i'm a part of it. And i apologise for only saying thanks now but since Koln things have been pretty manic with other stuff.

DCM was a wonderful event, the support is nothing like i have seen before in a big city marathon and its a real credit to a wonderful city. I thing i did a decent job on the pacing front and despite what others say i was not "mickey dazzling" on the blue carpet, i was trying to get as many as i could under 4.10:p:p:p. I hope to be back in 2019. Met many new people in McGrattan's, to many to list, it was my pleasure to meet you all guys, see ye all again sometime hopefully.

Now the 'next thing" is concentrate on 5k-10k up until maybe May 2019 and race a lot more in that period. I have races on my doorstep nearly every week so no excuses if i don't get out and race more. 2017/18 was a lean few years for me racing wise so i want to rectify that a small bit over the first half of 2019. Marathon? Eindhoven October 2019 will be the goal as it stands presently. Back at it this week, man i missed not running for 8 days.

Monday 5.11.18

6.95miles@8.45min/miles in 60mins 47secs

Back on the road after 8 days post DCM, the week at home with my mother cooking as well as the few days drinking has made the midriff a bit more jiggly when running!! Out along the harbour, along the promenade, down Keizerstraat and home along President Kennedylaan, it was great to be back out running.

Tuesday 6.11.18

5.15miles@8.47min/miles in 45mins 14secs

This is a first, i have genuinely zero recollection of this run or what route i took:eek:.

Friday 9.11.18

5.25miles@8.42min/miles in 45mins 41secs

Out in the late evening while the missus took the kids swimming, urban run under the lights with little or no interruptions from traffic lights. Getting cooler in the evenings now, but not to the extent of some of the runners i met when out, men should not wear running tights:eek::eek::eek:.

Sunday 11.11.18

7.25miles@8.18min/miles in 60min 13secs

Down Laan Van Meerdervoort to the Ockenburgh Estate, i wanted to do a lap of the Puinduinen route to do something a bit more taxing. The Puinduinden Run is held in late January here and sells out every year. Its the closet i will ever come to running XC, anyhoo the lungs didn't appreciate the climbs, enjoyed every step all the same.

http://vimeo.com/253169544

Only the 24.60 miles for the week, but i knew in advance i would only get out 4 days max with other stuff going on. Back to normality this week and will get out my usual 6 days, legs feel fine from 2 marathons in 3 weeks but i will take the week handy still. Might do some tempo miles towards the weekend, will see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

I'm going to stick my nose in here and say you shouldn't do any fast running incl tempo miles for at least another week. Don't underestimate the stress you've put your body through :)

And i’m going to say your probably correct, even though the second one was a long slow run in effect it was still 4hrs plus on my feet. Another week easy will do me no harm.

Monday 12.11.18 - 5.45miles@8.24
    Tuesday 13.11.18 - 5.15miles@8.33
    Thursday 15.11.18 - 7.40miles@8.29
    Friday 16.11.18 - 6.60miles@8.24
    Saturday 17.11.18 - 5.45miles@8.25

30.05 miles of all easy running like a few more around here, nothing exciting about any of the runs. Friday’s run the legs felt like planks of wood and only loosened out after 5 miles or so. I’ve cleaned the diet up big time the past two weeks but no weight loss of yet but that takes time.

Swam on Sunday plus a session of S&C after my run Tuesday also, will up this from this week on to 3 times a week. Going to do something a bit faster towards next weekend and get out one day more to 6, unloaded and re-stacked a ton of timber logs today so one S&C session done!!!

Monday 19.11.18

Rest Day

Tuesday 20.11.18

7.25miles@8.21min/miles in 60mins 32secs

An easy run through Westduinpark on towards Kijkduin and on towards the http://https://youtu.be/m1H-58W7QDk where i turned and retraced my steps to home. All good.

Wednesday 21.11.18

8.15miles@7.54min/miles in 64mins 26secs

Up Laan Van Meerdervoort and into the Ockenburgh Estate to do a loop and a half of the hills here, i left the flights of steps this week and kept to the trails and grass. Wanted to push it a little so upped the pace starting out to steadyish and kept it going on the climbs, but i cannot descend a climb to save my life, far to cautious!! Very enjoyable run.

Thursday 22.11.18

6.60miles@8.25min/miles in 55min 33secs

Out into the darkness for this around the streets of Den Haag, legs bit stiff starting out but soon loosened out, another good run.

Friday 23.11.18

7.50miles@8.29min/miles in 63mins 37secs

Spent the morning/early afternoon around the shops with the missus, jeez it was bedlam being Black Friday. Witnessed grown women fighting over pajamas in Primark :eek:!! Out straight away when i got home to run in daylight, looped around Kijkduin into Ockenburgh on the flats and back through Loosduinen to home. Noticeable pain later in the evening along the outside of my left calf down into my heel.

Saturday 24.11.18

4.10miles@8.43min/miles in 35min 44secs

Jaunt towards the Haven back through the sand dune trails and home, no pain from calf while running but it flared up again after the run.

Sunday 25.11.18

Rest Day, the calf was at me the minute i put my foot on the floor so left any run off. I poked and prodded the area myself and hit on a spot that was very rigid, a bit of massaging and it loosened out and pain eased.

33.60 miles off 5 runs. I had hoped to race a 5k today but i just didn't have the desire to race. I don't want to race again till i can do myself some kind of justice, turning up and going through the motions for the sake of it doesn't interest me one bit.

The cold has hit Den Haag to, its now time to go on the real feel temperatures again, was out in -5/6 during the week, chilly going.

The fact i'm now back running my usual 6 days a week i figured i'd try log my runs twice a week so i don't forget, mind you so far so much i want to forget about:(:(:(.

Monday 26.11.18

6.05miles Easy@8.22min/miles in 50mins 45secs

A run i'll never ever ever forget, i got a half mile into this and witnessed something i wish i never seen. If i could have started 5 mins later or before i wouldn't have had to witness what i seen, i ran down to Zuiderpark done a big and small lap and got home. Felt horrible, guilty and useless.

Tuesday 27.11.18

2 mile W/U, 4km of 200m@5k, 200m Off, 2 milw C/D.

Goal for the 200m at 5k was roughly 44-45 seconds, i wanted to get some speed back into my legs but wasn't willing to push to hard. Up into Westduinpark for the warm up then into the session to Kijkduin and back. I got a few well done's from walkers as i passed them for wearing shorts from my pigeon understanding of Dutch. Anywoo the 200's came in as follows:

44, 45, 43, 43, 45, 44, 45, 46, 44, 45.

The last two were hell on earth not to lie, i ran the session through the undulating dunes but man i hurt on the last two. Work to be done but i knew that, 6.50 miles for the session. Oh i got home lit a fire in our house and nearly burnt down the 2 apartments above us because of shoddy builders, spent an evening in the freezing cold till the excellent Fire Brigade and Politie sorted it out.

Wednesday 28.11.18

8.30miles Easy@8.21min/miles in 69mins 18secs

Monday's experience was seriously playing on my mind but i figured a run would help. Out into the lashing rain towards Ockenburgh and back, first time i have ever ran this route and never met a soul the rain was that bad. Legs were like lead first mile but came to life after that.

I first off apologize if i bring up bad memories for anyone by posting this, it was never my intention. I've seen bodies with smoke coming out of there brain they were that fresh, some that were so decapitated that dental records were the only way to identify the body, others that were beaten so badly with a lump hammer that you could seen the victims brain. But the one that sticks with me the most apart from Monday is a 17 year old boy who committed suicide on New Years Eve, i had to cut him down from his shower after responding to the call by myself. Until........

Monday i ran a half mile down the road from my front door and witnessed a 14 year old boy lying on the road with blood pouring from his head, the only thing i am thankful for is a jacket covered the poor boys head, blood poured down the street, one of his runners was 40-50 yards up the road due to the impact.