Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

After Hours Presidential Election Poll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

dav3 wrote: »
    Still looks like a handful of people out there deciding to vote for casey and voting no in the blasphemy referendum because they want to 'stick it to the man'.

What brave Irish heros they are. Bualadh bos.

I'll vote Casey to stick to the man and yes in the referendum because it's the right thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Still looks like a handful of people out there deciding to vote for casey and voting no in the blasphemy referendum because they want to 'stick it to the man'.

Why do people vote for opposition parties like Sinn Fein so?

When they know they can’t inplement amything???

Come on enlighten me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

I'll vote Casey to stick to the man and yes in the referendum because it's the right thing to do.

Just the one 'protest vote'? Not really 'sticking to the man'.

Come on enlighten me.

when you stick it to the man by voting left it's good.

when you stick it to the man by voting right it's bad.

that is literally the logic at play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Voting for Casey here as a protest vote.

Voting yes in the referendum.

You're not very good at this prediction craic dav3.

Any examples of Casey being a racist yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Come on enlighten me.

No idea. You should ask them.

Just the one 'protest vote'? Not really 'sticking to the man'.
    how should I vote? please tell me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

But what’s the point. He’s unlikely to be elected and I really don’t think the government will see it as the earth shattering event people are trying to make it out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

You vote for the politicians with the policies you agree with.

You don't vote for completely mad stuff just to annoy the establishment, since when everyone does that, you wind up with Brexit.

(Which Casey thinks is a great idea, by the way - he wants us to leave the Euro).

But what’s the point. He’s unlikely to be elected and I really don’t think the government will see it as the earth shattering event people are trying to make it out to be.
    as I said it's the first time I have had the opportunity to vote for someone espousing views that are contrary to the "acceptable" left leaning narrative of this country. I am taking that opportunity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

I can't say I've ever heard of an employee going away with their employer to work, at their own expense, during their own free time.

Seems strange imo.

It's 2018. If MDH can't type or use the internet, it's time to retire

You vote for the politicians with the policies you agree with.

You don't vote for completely mad stuff just to annoy the establishment, since when everyone does that, you wind up with Brexit.

(Which Casey thinks is a great idea, by the way - he wants us to leave the Euro).

I'll say it again, this is a protest vote without the fallout potential of a brexit or a trump as the role is purely ceremonial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,086 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

If I were to only vote for the candidates I agreed with 100% of the time on every subject I'd never vote!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,752 ✭✭✭✭elperello

stratowide wrote: »
    Normally at these elections you'd have official polls coming out continually..The suspicious part of me is smelling a rat here.

Are the media trying to hide something..hmmm

I think they just got caught out expecting last week would be dull and didn't bother shelling out to commission a poll.

I don't think they would try to suppress a poll. It would be almost impossible anyway. At the end of the day poll commissioners have only one end in mind, their own profits.

as I said it's the first time I have had the opportunity to vote for someone espousing views that are contrary to the "acceptable" left leaning narrative of this country. I am taking that opportunity.

I ask again why? What do you honestly hope to achieve.

It’s not going to rock the boat as much you think it will and Casey isn’t some Messiah who will sweep in and make everything right.

You’re wasting a vote that people fought hard for you to have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭98q76e12hrflnk

It’s not going to rock the boat as much you think it will and Casey isn’t some Messiah who will sweep in and make everything right.

In your opinion.

I think it's a 2 horse race.

What might be the banana skin for MDH will be that a lot of his (unquestioning) supporters might think hes a cert to be allowed to march along the halls of the big gaff in the park for another 7 years, and so not bother their asses voting.

The protest voters (myself included) may not have been initially bothered about voting anyway, but after the establishment first tried to deny us that opportunity, then tried influencing us to vote for who they think should be kept on, are now making it their business to do so.

As others have said, it's the perfect opportunity to exercise a protest vote, sending home a message that we don't like to be manipulated, and even if the vote comes to fruition, unlike trump or Brexit, this has no real possibility of backfiring as Casey will have no real powers anyway.

The people have arisen it seems.

Over a week of non stop trying to demonize the man hasn't worked, he's still the hot topic of conversation.

I'll say it again, this is a protest vote without the fallout potential of a brexit or a trump as the role is purely ceremonial.

But if people are willing to protest vote in something that doesn’t have a huge fallout what’s to stop them doing it in something that does?

We’ve seen how badly that worked with Brexit and Trump.

Protest votes are dangerous.

a vote you don't agree with is a wasted vote?

in that case a vote for anyone but MDH is a wasted vote.

do you understand how democracy works?

Protest votes are dangerous.
    theyve found a way to avoid such dangers in North Korea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,086 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

That IS how the Looney left view democracy

The irony here is that some people fought hard to try and deny us that vote until the shinners placed a spanner in their works.

There's a smell of fear and desperation accumulating in the air now. :D

No. A protest vote is a wasted vote. A spoiled vote is a wasted vote.

A vote I disagree with is just a vote.

theyve found a way to avoid such dangers in North Korea

They’re brainwashed there. They couldn’t protest if they wanted to.

Bad analogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

I think it's a 2 horse race.

What might be the banana skin for MDH will be that a lot of his (unquestioning) supporters might think hes a cert to be allowed to march along the halls of the big gaff in the park for another 7 years, and so not bother their asses voting.

The protest voters (myself included) may not have been initially bothered about voting anyway, but after the establishment first tried to deny us that opportunity, then tried influencing us to vote for who they think should be kept on, are now making it their business to do so.

As others have said, it's the perfect opportunity to exercise a protest vote, sending home a message that we don't like to be manipulated, and even if the vote comes to fruition, unlike trump or Brexit, this has no real possibility of backfiring as Casey will have no real powers anyway.

The people have arisen it seems.

Over a week of non stop trying to demonize the man hasn't worked, he's still the hot topic of conversation.

It is clearly a one horse race. It is such a certainty that Michael Higgins will win.

That IS how the Looney left view democracy

I’m not loony or extreme left thanks.

I just know a foolish decision when I see one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭scotchy

Listening to the RTE radio news. You wouldn't know we were having an election in 2 days time.

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,415 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Nope. Poster is exercising their democratic right.
    Wasting a vote would be not turning up or spoiling that vote.
    You seem confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,752 ✭✭✭✭elperello

The irony here is that some people fought hard to try and deny us that vote until the shinners placed a spanner in their works.

There's a smell of fear and desperation accumulating in the air now. :D

Fear has been proven to be a strong motivational factor.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

he clearly stated that his irish companies pay tax here

he also said due to his green card he must pay tax in US. is he lying???

Does Peter Casey have a USA green card?

If he does then he will lose it if he leaves USA for more than 6 months unless he has a special 're-entry permit'.

Yes if a green card holder you need to declare and pay tax on your worldwide income but you still need to also pay tax where you are resident however we have a double tax treaty with USA so pay in USA and the difference in Ireland is Ireland is higher.

I wonder can Peter Casey even vote for himself?