Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

After Hours Presidential Election Poll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

"The essence of racism is to tar everyone with the same brush"

No, no it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,619 ✭✭✭wonga77

MDH struggling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭q85dw7osi4lebg

LNR came across terribly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

McCullagh is acting disgracefully here. Desperate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭BoneIdol

Haha. Casey is some fool.

The truth that they refuse to acknowledge that Traveller's cause 90% of their own problems.

Our schools would happily teach them if they encouraged attendance and commitment to education. Our employers would happily employ them if they'd do an honest days work for an honest days pay.

But many, many Traveller's won't do either of those things because that'd remove them from their gravy train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Noveight wrote: »
    The truth that they refuse to acknowledge that Traveller's cause 90% of their own problems.

Our schools would happily teach them if they encouraged attendance and commitment to education. Our employers would happily employ them if they'd do an honest days work for an honest days pay.

But Traveller's won't do either of those things because that'd remove them from their gravy train.

Boom. Very well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

There are loads of things that would poll well which no political party will touch with a bargepole.

The death penalty.
    Three strikes.
    Corporal punishment.
    Spike island/internment for repeat offenders/druggies/thugs/travellers.
    Anti-asylum seeker policies.

Casey has just blundered across one or two of these, anti-traveller and anti-dole scrounger sentiment. No government is going near these ideas.

Spike island is now a really lovely tourist attraction making lots of money. No way is that being turned back into a prison. I highly recommend anyone who has never been to give it a look. It is amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

This is a very weak field with very poor candidates. Micky D has my vote again.

I'd spoil my vote but I hate Sean G enough to not waste it. :)

This is a very weak field with very poor candidates. Micky D has my vote again.

Was thinking the same. McCullagh is also quite a poor host.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,426 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

But many, many Traveller's won't do either of those things because that'd remove them from their gravy train.

They have been participating much more in education in recent times.

Educational attainment among Travellers has risen strongly in the past 17 years, but it is still far lower than that of the general population, according to figures contained in a survey published today.

A national survey of Travellers has found that 16% now complete their Leaving Certificate, compared to just 2% in the year 2000.

It found that 40% of Travellers have completed their Junior Certificate or an equivalent, compared to just 9% 17 years
    ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

LNR is showing herself up and her defective "socialists" beliefs with her "lining your own pocket" remarks.

Is Michael D gone home??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭BoneIdol

Is Michael D gone home??

He's proving he's smarter than the rest of these eejits and keeping quiet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Drinking vegan craft whiskey no doudt.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,784 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Going to spoil my vote on this one, for the first time ever; it's something I've been very hesitant to do in the past.

When you see them all lined up you'd realise that we've six of the most uninspiring, two-dimensional candidates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

When you see them all lined up you'd realise that we've six of the most uninspiring, two-dimensional candidates.

Michael D is almost 1D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,159 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Ooooh burn. Sean is an embarrassment. Fcukin gobsh1te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,619 ✭✭✭wonga77

This has gone miles off track.
    McCullough doing a poor job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭ouxbbkqtswdfaw

Why would you bother voting?

BoneIdol wrote: »
    Is Michael D gone home??

He's proving he's smarter than the rest of these eejits and keeping quiet.

Agree actually. The bickering amongst one another is just amateur and a waste of time.

He comes across terribly when he speaks though. He agreed to a "schedule". What??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,426 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Going to spoil my vote on this one, for the first time ever; it's something I've been very hesitant to do in the past.

Why go to the bother? Just stay at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 248 ✭✭gilly1910

Fair play to Peter Casey, he's got my vote!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,019 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

hunter164 wrote: »
    Michael D is living a lie up in that Aras and he stands there in that debate saying he never hides anything from the public. How about the fact that his helper is his lover. I’d respect the man more if he came out and admitted. That and the fact he has the personality of a wooden door.

I'd respect you if you had any proof of that wild accusation. But you don't so I don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,954 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

1. gilly1910 wrote: »
      Fair play to Peter Casey, he's got my vote!!
    Are you his missus that he's going to appoint to his Council of State?

That's going to hurt him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,765 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Michael D is living a lie up in that Aras and he stands there in that debate saying he never hides anything from the public. How about the fact that his helper is his lover. I’d respect the man more if he came out and admitted. That and the fact he has the personality of a wooden door.

Whats that about his helper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,462 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I wonder how long the government jet was tied up on this trip ...

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2017/10/26/president-higgins-visits-ancestral-homeplace/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,037 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

MDH's private life is his own when it doesn't impinge on the office. As was Mary McAleese's, Dev's etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,941 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

elperello wrote: »
    Whats that about his helper?

Male or female helper? The Sun is on standby!