If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    In the event that there are people half reading this;

There is no evidence that Margaret Cash ever stole a bus

...yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

givyjoe wrote: »
    Think Catch Me If You Can. Though Margaret Cash is definitely no Frank Abagnale.

And the plot would be Frank Abagnale trying to catch his extended family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Effects wrote: »
    I don't know why people find it so hard to post images to back up their claims. :rolleyes:

I replied to somebody else about something that I know happens around where I live. I didn’t want to have to go looking through a Facebook buy and sell site to find photographic evidence but if it shuts up people like you then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

tuxy wrote: »
    See how the image gives much more insight.
    The clothes are for sale in Birr but public transport like this is non existant in Birr.

Shows the effort made to travel distance to aquire the goods and spending the journey home to list said goods shows efficent use of time.
    A true entrepreneur

She's living in Nth County Dublin. Her stuff is for sale in Facebook groups all over Leinster though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

I think i'd rather meet a wolf.

The wolf wouldn’t try sell you stolen clothes or rob you. Well, might rob you of your life but that’s about that.

It's extremely unlikely, I'd happily swap wolves for the 'small minority' of travelers that are causing these issues.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

...yet.

the yet was implied:D:D:D

37 motor offenses, the probability of 1 being a bus theft is high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

Just quickly back to the topic of children being taken away because they can't read

Margaret went on a posting spree onto posts about that situation, swearing down the government, Fine Gael, Leo etc. when the posts were about something that happened in the Netherlands and the videos featured people speaking Dutch..

Bit ironic with the posts being about lack of ability to read that she in turn was not able to read any of the posts properly..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

wexie wrote: »
    It's extremely unlikely, I'd happily swap wolves for the 'small minority' of travelers that are causing these issues.

The wolf analogy is an interesting one, farmers are frequently the target of our new age wolves. I do wonder which they would rather have invading their land. Is it worse to have some sheep go missing or diesel/generators/power tools?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,735 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

So all the effort for the betterment of travelers needs to come from the settled community does it?

Tell me when so many people have had nothing but negative experiences and see nothing but negative news, why would you expect them to make that effort?

Do you really not think that positive traveler role models (I note you haven't pointed any out to me) would perhaps create a bit of willingness? Perhaps might make people think 'gee maybe I was wrong'?

the settled community need to do the greater work yes as they are in the majority. travelers will need to do their bit, but those who can are trying to do so. however when travelers see their efforts being knocked back by an element of the settled community, then it's not surprising that some begin to think that it's not worth making an effort.
    spookwoman wrote: »
    My experiences and my families experiences are from all around the country not just one small area which make me question where they get the it's a small minority causing problems. Why is it that such a small ethnic minority of about 30 - 35k can cause so much trouble. Why is Castlerea's prison population made up of over 50% Travellers (2017)
    Put yourself into my position, where you've had family threatened in different area's of the country by a minority. Few years back I was in town went to get into a taxi because I was next in the queue. I open the door and a traveller told me he would put me through the window of Pennys if I didn't let him have the taxi.

It has nothing to do with lack of education, the inability to read or whatever this is who they are. We have the likes of Margaret Cash teaching the next generation how to carry on, this is not going to go away anytime soon unless someone grows a pair.

lack of education will play a part for some. no doubt for others being a scumbag is absolutely who they are. either way the courts and gardai need to deal with people commiting crime.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

There always on the rob in Pennys & Tesco twice in one day I saw travelled robbing

I mean if your gonna rob why not try the likes of Brown Thomas lol

Pennys is cheap as chips as for Tesco these kids were robbing all the sweets just been bold yeah I’m sure there going to bed scared as there saying

either way the courts and gardai need to deal with people commiting crime.

I asked this earlier in this thread but what do you do with people who do not see going to court or jail as a negative consequence?

the settled community need to do the greater work yes as they are in the majority. travelers will need to do their bit, but those who can are trying to do so. however when travelers see their efforts being knocked back by an element of the settled community, then it's not surprising that some begin to think that it's not worth making an effort.
    What do the settled community need to do? Clean up after them more? Give them more free stuff to destroy?
    I have plenty of extended family who were/are travellers. Some settled down and stayed in college through to Masters and PhD level and some are lecturers. Some managed to settle down a bit. Others whose family settled but kept the "traditions" alive mostly died young from drugs, even though they're anti-drugs of course and others went back on the road. I have yet to hear what might sound like a "tall tale" about travellers that I haven't already heard happen within my family.

Any of the decent ones I know aren't "proud" of being a traveller. They're proud of what they've managed against actual discrimination back in the day. They're proud of their life achievements and of how they've set things up for their kids and how they're now flourishing.

however when travelers settled people see their efforts being knocked back by an element of the settled traveling community, then it's not surprising that some begin to think that it's not worth making an effort.

See where this leads? Who do you think has the greater stake in these issues being resolved? Who's future depends on this?

If there are travelers out there trying to 'do so' I have yet to see much evidence of it and like I said it would be of great help in creating goodwill and 'community credit' in showing that it is happening. (if indeed it is)

lack of education will play a part for some. no doubt for others being a scumbag is absolutely who they are. either way the courts and gardai need to deal with people commiting crime.

Would you say that's currently being done effectively?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

There always on the rob in Pennys & Tesco twice in one day I saw travelled robbing

They'd be watched like a hawk from the moment they enter the shop.

Hammer89 wrote: »

They’d have a personal escort throughout the duration their in the store

See where this leads? Who do you think has the greater stake in these issues being resolved? Who's future depends on this?

If there are travelers out there trying to 'do so' I have yet to see much evidence of it and like I said it would be of great help in creating goodwill and 'community credit' in showing that it is happening. (if indeed it is)

And, as an after thought, you'd think that if there were positive traveler stories out there they would have been all over the news recently no? Peter Casey making those horrible horrible bigoted (:rolleyes:) comments would have made for the perfect opportunity to show us all how wrong he is?

Why hasn't that happened?

Any of the decent ones I know aren't "proud" of being a traveller. They're proud of what they've managed against actual discrimination back in the day. They're proud of their life achievements and of how they've set things up for their kids and how they're now flourishing.

And make no mistake those are things to be proud of and fair play to them.

But they can't be held up as examples (I think they should but that's another story) because essentially it would mean acknowledging that it's a harmful culture and the only way forward is to renounce it.

Yet these are exactly the kind of people that need to be encouraged and supported, and if they need to be supported in retaining what little of their culture they can while fitting into a modern society then I'm all for that.

But we can do without all the negative aspects.

I asked this earlier in this thread but what do you do with people who do not see going to court or jail as a negative consequence?

you keep bringing them to court and jailing them anyway. even if they don't see either as a negative consiquence, it will at least be disruptive to them and their behaviour on the outside.

no it's not.
    And, as an after thought, you'd think that if there were positive traveler stories out there they would have been all over the news recently no? Peter Casey making those horrible horrible bigoted () comments would have made for the perfect opportunity to show us all how wrong he is?

because it doesn't need to happen. the back clash toards peter's comments will show him and others that a lot of what he said is wrong.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

because it doesn't need to happen. the back clash toards peter's comments will show him and others that a lot of what he said is wrong.

What backlash would that be? All I've seen is people going out of their way to email, text and ring in to radio shows to confirm they agree with him.

There's certainly been plenty noises from politicians and the usual media types but beyond that I've seen nothing but people agreeing with him.

Well, and Margaret Cash condemning him on FB in fairness, but I think you probably know how much value I'd put on anything she has to say.

you keep bringing them to court and jailing them anyway. even if they don't see either as a negative consiquence, it will at least be disruptive to them and their behaviour on the outside.

But we can't afford to jail them as the cost of prison far exceeds the cost of social welfare and damage by fraud/theft combined.
    It may be a worthwhile investment if it changed their outlook but if anything they come out of prison much worse and more of a threat to society. Why would the country spend money on this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

A junkie traveller came into my business back in April and looted it while I was on the premises.
    Despite me being given a fake name, and him not being local to the town, the guard knew who it was immediately and when the Gardai went to the address they usually find him at, they had left.

The guards were supposed to arrest him at a sitting of court two weeks later, that he never showed up to, and there was a bench warrant issued.

The last I heard was he was sighted around limerick somewhere, and was known as a “traveling criminal” not because of his ethnic status but because he went from town to town robbing people.

That happened in April, and he hasn’t even been charged with it yet.

Absolute lowest of the low. I’ve had way too many negative experiences with travellers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭corks finest

Hammer89 wrote: »

Never around the soap department

the back clash (backlash) toards (towards) peter's comments will show him and others that a lot of what he said is wrong.

Such as?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

But we can't afford to jail them as the cost of prison far exceeds the cost of social welfare and damage by fraud/theft combined.
    It may be a worthwhile investment if it changed their outlook but if anything they come out of prison much worse and more of a threat to society. Why would the country spend money on this?

Well what do you do with them? If the law has no meaning then why even bother?

If they got long enough sentences they'd change their tune

no it's not.
    And, as an after thought, you'd think that if there were positive traveler stories out there they would have been all over the news recently no? Peter Casey making those horrible horrible bigoted () comments would have made for the perfect opportunity to show us all how wrong he is?

What he said was what the vast vast majority of Irish people think

That is certainly how it should be, but the word racist gets thrown a lot pretty easily these days.

And if you've only ever had bad experiences with a particular segment of the population (not even just travelers, could be farmers, or Indians or postmen for all I care) it's easy enough to form the opinion they are all like that. I'm not excusing it but I certainly understand it.

And that's why I don't understand why there aren't any positive traveler spokes people out there. That don't try and make right what's wrong by excusing crime, antisocial behaviour, animal welfare issues etc. etc. as part of a time honoured culture.

But just are a positive role model on their own accord, and their own behaviours.

I would genuinely like to see someone like that.

(don't say bleedin John Connors cause i'll never take you seriously again )

i don't really think that positive traveler spokes people are going to be able to do much to change an engrained culture that sees some people treating all travelers badly on the basis of some travelers behaviour. the only way that can be changed is for a time at least, to come down very hard on anyone proven to be involved in discriminating against travelers, and to make it socially unacceptible to target all for the actions of some. i believe it's very very few who have an issue with someone who has genuinley had bad experiences with travelers saying so. most people don't have an issue with it.
    There speaks one who has never dealt with travellers,in pubs,discos,shops etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,364 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I do agree with you both sides need to work.
    One thing tough in my experience. In school for example the traveller kids were always threaded the same. They were given resource hours, SNA 's, etc everything was done for them as would be a settled person. There was none of this exclusion or being sent to corner as John Connors makes out but all the lads just left school early for some reason and people were friendly with them.
    Primary school was fine but secondary they just stopped going and didn't do their junior cert.
    There were given exception from languages if required as were the settled kids and you could do ordinary or foundation level subject and tip along for the junior cert and then you'd go into LCA if you found the more traditional route was hard. They are plenty of lads who skipped school and hated it but they didn't drop out.
    I don't really know what else the government of teachers could have done.

What he said was what the vast vast majority of Irish people think

according to?
    There speaks one who has never dealt with travellers,in pubs,discos,shops etc

i have had my own issues with the odd traveler. i also have travelers who are very good friends of mine. there are good and bad travelers. the bad ones should be dealt with and the good ones should be able to go about their business.