If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

NIMAN wrote: »
    marvin80 wrote: »
    Pavee Point should come out and condemn this sort of behaviour, however they rarely do and that's very telling

They blame society for traveller criminality.
    c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Well he already did comments on them. When he spoke about how diverse we as a nation. Mentioned all the polish living here, many of whom work jobs that aren't "good enough" for the Irish. Majority of immigrants work and contribute to society here in Ireland.

But you see the anti Casey crowd have a different set of "immigrants" they want to bring to Ireland.
    The ones that would definitely fit in with the travellers, the ones with no means of identification and no real idea where they come from, the ones with some serious "cultural issues" like wanting everyone else to dance to their tune or in this case not dance at all.
    Oh and these immigrants are not like our hard working Eastern Europeans, but more like our work shy travellers.
    Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Music.

A huge amount of amazing musicians like the Furey brothers are Travellers. They kept the tradition of Irish music alive.

Jaysus you are fooking scraping the bottom of the barrel now.
    The Fureys and a few more travellers are not what kept Irish traditional music going, but fair fooks to ya for having the neck to claim it.
    Thankfully this despicable person will not be the next president of our country. I certainly do not want to see a racist bigoted individual in the Aras.

Please enlighten us to what he said that was racist ?
    I'm a historian.

My thesis contained all these same claims made by Tudor officials against the Gaelic Irish. :(

Drunks.
    Liars.

Lets go through the following with respect to travellers and see if there is more than a grain of truth in the description.
    Uneducated.

Have some of the highest illiteracy rates, least numbers completing school never mind college.
    Uncivilised.

For instance would ...
    using bare knuckle fist fights to settle inter family based feuds
    and
    trying to kill each other at funerals and weddings not seem a tad bit uncivilised ?
    Incapable of 'correction'.

Decades have gone by with lots of state aid, lots of voluntary charitable organisations, but nothing has improved, the same issues are still there.
    In fact criminality appears to be on the increase in comparison to decades ago.
    Thieves.

Huge amount of criminality within the community and over representation in prison population.
    No respect for property.

See any place a halting site has been and you see nothing but rubbish, waste, human excrement.

I am not allowed discuss …

Idbatterim wrote: »
    The man just keep going up in my estimation. He has now waded into the twenty billion plus euro welfare “debate” that **** Regina Doherty, says his comments display breathtaking arrogance. Her comments display breathtaking hypocrisy and arrogance and she’s out of touch.
    Writing an open letter in the 'Sunday Independent', Mr Casey took aim at what he sees as Ireland becoming a "nation of people who expect - no, demand - that the State looks after them”

Ms Doherty has called on Mr Casey to clarify his remarks about social welfare in Ireland.

The minister, who is co-ordinating Fine Gael's campaign for Michael D Higgins's re-election, called on Mr Casey to outline who he "wants to target for less welfare".

"Would it be pensioners, who are the single biggest block of recipients, or maybe lone parents who, in the main, are women trying to raise families on their own?

"Or maybe he wishes to target people living with disabilities or carers or children? Exactly which group should get less?" she asked, before going on to add: "On this topic, as with others, his ignorance is breath-taking."

I noticed when she mentioned the deserving recipients she forgot to mention the near 80,000 numbers that are always permanently unemployed even during the height of the celtic tiger boom years.

And these would be the same permanently unemployed that get increases, get the same entitlements as those who have worked, have contributed but just fallen on hard times.
    Amazed that Duffy's listeners are not really favouring Casey. Not a good sign.

Wihful thinking and trying to sway opinion.
    Me doth thinks he protests too much. :D
    Yep, it figures that you don't have an answer. Casey thought he could lie about it though. At least you didn't do that.

Is your job just to post on social media because you don't appear to have a life outside of posting on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

The media and elites didn't 'predict' anything. Casey 'polled' at 2% because that is the percentage that said they would vote for him.

Anyone who has studied recent Irish media history, as I am positive sure Casey's team have, would know the touchstones that will bring out a certain vocal mob. Joe Duffy has them tattooed at this stage probably.
    'Tavellers' being one of those touchstones. Anyone who saw the hate, inhumanity and bile uttered when the Carrickmines fire happened would know what an emotive subject it is.
    Contrary to the rubbish spouted that these issues NEVER get an airing and that Casey is doing some sort of favour to 'de man', these issues frequently get 'aired'.
    The problem is those airing them have no implementable solutions.
    Once again, oxygen has been given to those who have nothing to offer but hate and prejudice.

Surely,it would be far better if "solutions" were'nt required at all.

It seems that "Hate & Prejudice" is the main plank of those who are somewhat nonplussed by l'Affaire Casey,and the more than a few people whom he managed to interest in actually Voting in the election.

The Cabinteely Fire issue you seek to parallell with Casey's campaign,is fair wide of any mark,except perhaps to prove to the outside world how disconnected the representative groups are from present day reality ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,464 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

blanch152 wrote: »

People in general objecting to halting sites proves that everyone would?

Hmmmm.

I might not like the idea of a halting site beside me, would I object to it, no I wouldn't. Which is probably why there is one 300 yards away from me that has caused no more problems in the years of it's existence than some local pubs frequented by the settled community, funnily enough.

It isn't hard to come up with the 'Have you stopped beating your wife?' style questions around these issues. Doesn't advance solutions much though.

Wow. You keep looking for solutions while living next door to angelic travelers in an exemplary halting site. It seems you don’t have to look far for your solutions. Just ask your neighbors.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Don’t forget we have the highest disability claimees in Europe and they're not included in the unemployment figures.

Something seriously fishy going on with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

Once again, oxygen has been given to those who have nothing to offer but hate and prejudice.

Which conversely, could be the byline for John Connor's twitter account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,464 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

jmayo wrote: »
    Idbatterim wrote: »
    The man just keep going up in my estimation. He has now waded into the twenty billion plus euro welfare “debate” that **** Regina Doherty, says his comments display breathtaking arrogance. Her comments display breathtaking hypocrisy and arrogance and she’s out of touch.
    Writing an open letter in the 'Sunday Independent', Mr Casey took aim at what he sees as Ireland becoming a "nation of people who expect - no, demand - that the State looks after them”

Ms Doherty has called on Mr Casey to clarify his remarks about social welfare in Ireland.

The minister, who is co-ordinating Fine Gael's campaign for Michael D Higgins's re-election, called on Mr Casey to outline who he "wants to target for less welfare".

"Would it be pensioners, who are the single biggest block of recipients, or maybe lone parents who, in the main, are women trying to raise families on their own?

"Or maybe he wishes to target people living with disabilities or carers or children? Exactly which group should get less?" she asked, before going on to add: "On this topic, as with others, his ignorance is breath-taking."

I noticed when she mentioned the deserving recipients she forgot to mention the near 80,000 numbers that are always permanently unemployed even during the height of the celtic tiger boom years.

And these would be the same permanently unemployed that get increases, get the same entitlements as those who have worked, have contributed but just fallen on hard times.

Wihful thinking and trying to sway opinion.
    Me doth thinks he protests too much. :D
    Yep, it figures that you don't have an answer. Casey thought he could lie about it though. At least you didn't do that.

Is your job just to post on social media because you don't appear to have a life outside of posting on here.

Don’t forget that the most gilded recipients of state largesse are the political elite themselves. So many have never received a penny in their lives from anyone but the state, including Michael D Higgins who has been a professional politician for 45 years. Even after 45 years, he wants 7 more. That’s just greedy. It’s time for a change.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,250 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Wow. You keep looking for solutions while living next door to angelic travelers in an exemplary halting site. It seems you don’t have to look far for your solutions. Just ask your neighbors.

Not a word in my post about 'examplary' and the constant recognition by me that there are issues in the travelling community.

Getting a good sense of what those trying to help are up against tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

caseys supporters are at work and are not the joe duffy faithful.

in your rush to attack casey and his support you've forgotten who they actually are.

do you even know who you are against?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

People in general objecting to halting sites proves that everyone would?

I've yet to see a halting site not surrounded by mounds of partially burnt household waste so high they'd prove a challenge to Edmund Hilary, nor have I ever witnessed a halting site that hadn't commandeered an adjacent field solely for the purpose of holding malnourished and mistreated horses, so yes, I do believe a great majority of people would object to seeing one planned for their area.

But please, if you do know of a single halting site that doesn't openly flout it''s dwellers absolute contempt for waste management do please provide a single example on Google Maps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,871 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Don’t forget we have the highest disability claimed in Europe and they're not included in the unemployment figures.

Absolutely, we all know at least a few chancers who've spent a lifetime "on the sick" whilst leading perfectly normal lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,464 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    No that’s not true. If he loses and gets a large vote the debate will be centre stage.

Something I did not think I say. But Francie Barrett is right the only way for it to keep going is for the people to keep highlighting and pressuring. Not to go we have shown them with our protest vote. If peoe do that it will just show how lazy we are with keeping up with something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,996 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I've yet to see a halting site not surrounded by mounds of partially burnt household waste so high they'd prove a challenge to Edmund Hilary, nor have I ever witnessed a halting site that hadn't commandeered an adjacent field solely for the purpose of holding malnourished and mistreated horses, so yes, I do believe a great majority of people would object to seeing one planned for their area.

But please, if you do know of a single halting site that doesn't openly flout it''s dwellers absolute contempt for waste management do please provide a single example on Google Maps.

You won't get a response to that request.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

Apparantly the head of a Traveller action group ('Travellers for travellers' on Facebook, Sidenote: also the same guy that has been organising for the media's favourite mother of seven to speak at all the protests / events) created a video saying Casey needed to meet with him to discuss the recent comments or he would 'Come after him' and in turn Casey's campaign team reported the guy to the Gardai. Can't see this ending well, I'd say trouble is brewing.

9cec585cc1a93f437e4e4edea84f158f.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Have to laugh at the people trying to tell us that a vote for Casey, even if elected is pointless, because it won't change anything.......

What change will take place if MDH is given a free pass to waltz the corridors of the Phoenix park reciting poetry for another 7 years :confused:

Bit hypocritical, no?

https://www.google.com/maps/@53.2240297,-6.125099,173m/data=!3m1!1e3?hl=en

https://www.google.com/maps/@53.2241341,-6.1245248,3a,75y,276.62h,84.6t/data=!3m5!1e1!3m3!1stnFLrj-Lw1-USdBdRSzwzw!2e0!6s%2F%2Fgeo3.ggpht.com%2Fcbk%3Fpanoid%3DtnFLrj-Lw1-USdBdRSzwzw%26output%3Dthumbnail%26cb_client%3Dmaps_sv.tactile.gps%26thumb%3D2%26w%3D203%26h%3D100%26yaw%3D0.7999449%26pitch%3D0%26thumbfov%3D100?hl=en

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,250 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Which bit of 'there are issues with the travelling community' are you having a problem with.

If somebody is littering or flouting laws then the Gardai and the government agencies need to deal with it.
    They won't because they know joe public will ring Liveline or rant on FB before it dawns on them to vote them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭twirlagig

When are the next poll results out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Don’t forget we have the highest disability claimed in Europe and they're not included in the unemployment figures.

Aint that a fact.....In a 2015 Indo article,David McWilliams dug a bit into the stats a few years back,and I would be interested to see him return to update the article ?

https://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/david-mcwilliams/mystery-of-massive-rise-in-those-quitting-workforce-on-disability-29170473.html
    Yet, since 2006, there has been a 37.7pc increase in the number of people who have left the labour force citing a condition that substantially limits one or more basic physical activities.

This is not people who have been unfortunate enough to be born with a disability, but people who have developed a disabling condition. This means 55,000 people – bigger than Waterford, the country's fifth largest city. Between 2002 and 2006, the same figure only increased by 1pc which is less than 2,000 people.

So what has happened from 2006 to 2012 to cause 53,000 extra people to leave the labour force due to physical disability?

Meanwhile, the number of people leaving the labour force citing a psychological or emotional condition has risen even more dramatically – 88,000 people are now diagnosed with an emotional or psychological condition that is bad enough that they can't work. This is a 27,000 rise from the same figure in 2006.

Those figures are....FRIGHTENING :eek:,and I'm hoping that the past 5 years may have reversed of slowed this trend..?

I remain an optimist ....:)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,968 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Think I feel a condition that substantially limits one or more of my basic physical activities coming on.

ShaneC93 wrote: »
    Apparantly the head of a Traveller action group ('Travellers for travellers' on Facebook, Sidenote: also the same guy that has been organising for the media's favourite mother of seven to speak at all the protests / events) created a video saying Casey needed to meet with him to discuss the recent comments or he would 'Come after him' and in turn Casey's campaign team reported the guy to the Gardai. Can't see this ending well, I'd say trouble is brewing.

9cec585cc1a93f437e4e4edea84f158f.png

Please note the charming comment from the thieving homesless poster woman herself at the bottom of the picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,160 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Any threat to Casey by travellers will have one effect -PC will become even more popular with the vast vast majority of voters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭tretorn

Thats all very well but we have seen what they do to ninety year olds who havent crossed them.

I hope Peter Casey has security on his house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,968 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

jmayo wrote: »
    Please note the charming comment from the thieving homesless poster woman herself at the bottom of the picture.

Can't see it in work, any chance of quoting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,160 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

tretorn wrote: »
    Thats all very well but we have seen what they do to ninety year olds who havent crossed them.

I hope Peter Casey has security on his house.

That’s true. Lot of them are truly barbaric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,100 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Can't see it in work, any chance of quoting?

"I told you Bernard Sweeney he's a cant"

However Margaret used a U instead of the a in the last word

Poor Bernard didn't like how Paul Healy from the Irish Daily Star had "his nasty portrayal of an mother who became homeless and her children, and in what I had felt was an unnecessary kick at another human being at a lowest point in life as a result of bad politics with racism"

Do0FYI5XoAAkk8h.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Aint that a fact.....In a 2015 Indo article,David McWilliams dug a bit into the stats a few years back,and I would be interested to see him return to update the article ?

https://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/david-mcwilliams/mystery-of-massive-rise-in-those-quitting-workforce-on-disability-29170473.html

Those figures are....FRIGHTENING :eek:,and I'm hoping that the past 5 years may have reversed of slowed this trend..?

I remain an optimist ....:)

I've bad news for you.

https://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/Annual-SWS-Statistical-Information-Report.aspx

Numbers on DA continue to rise.

"The number of recipients of Disability Allowance rose by 7,726, with
    133,929 recipients in 2017. Expenditure was almost €1.5 billion in 2017,
    an increase of 8.2%."

Expenditure on Carer’s Allowance increased by over €75 million, or
    11.6% in 2017; there are now 75,264 recipients of the scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,473 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

The point about mdh doing nothing is valid . We have just had the biggest insult ever in a non recession budget for workers. This should be a warm up for the general elections. Let them know we want change and have had enough. We need to start change now! Year after year after year of talking , get out on Friday and put down the marker. Enough is enough. Enough of wind bags. Enough of career politicians , with no real life experience running the show. We reap what we sow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

dav3 wrote: »
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/presidential-election-2018/listen-presidential-candidate-peter-casey-sparks-outrage-with-his-racist-remarks-on-travellers-37428508.html

2 days later

https://www.broadsheet.ie/2018/10/19/theres-not-a-racist-bone-in-my-body/

A man who tells it like it is, except he doesn't know what it is.

Well he's definitely going to be elected on the first count going by his support on here.

I fully expect him to get us invaded or cost us billions in trade through one of his hilarious gaffes.

You lefties don’t and will never get it:)
    People on the left and in the centre very much "get it", you guys just turn to pissy snowflakes when you're reminded what the "it" some are so enamoured with actually is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

464373.png