If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

removing the child benefit after a certain amount of children is unlikely to achieve your goal. children will still be had and those children would suffer undue hardship i'd imagine.

Not necessarily. There are some economies of scale with more children - clothes handed down, the older ones babysitting and working part-time etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭tretorn

Travellers are very religious so doubt if any would avail of abortion.
    Their religion is also probably the reason they won’t tolerate homosexuality in their community.
    Religion doesn’t stop them slashing each other with slash hooks and nor does it stop them thieving wherever they go.
    Your children and my children understand you need money to shop in Penney’s, Cashes children have no concept of Cash tills, they think you walk into a shop and carry as much as you can out the door.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 330 ✭✭All Seeing Eye

tretorn wrote: »
    Their religion is also probably the reason they won’t tolerate homosexuality in their community.
    Religion doesn’t stop them slashing each other with slash hooks and nor does it stop them thieving wherever they go.
    Your children and my children understand you need money to shop in Penney’s, Cashes children have no concept of Cash tills, they think you walk into a shop and carry as much as you can out the door.

I understand that there is not much can be done about Cash and her like. I’m still hoping the free abortion regime will provide an alternative solution to non traveller welfare families/single mothers.

The women who will seek abortions are the ones studying and working and paying for walking womb Cash.
    These women have to pay for everything themselves including crèche fees, it’s not like they want to give up work and live off welfare.
    The feckless ones don’t give a hoot about costs, it doesn’t matter if they have twenty children, the taxpayer will pay for everything.
    I heard of one of these feckless people recently, she had to cancel the child’s baptism because she discovered the man she thought was the father actually wasn’t.
    This is going on wholesale and we all shrug our shoulders and keep working.

She would be forced to look for work if it was in her interest to especially if she had extra kids that the welfare was not paying for. Something like the American system. Under the system I propose she could just stay with 2 kids and get her benefits and this would mean great savings for the tax payer over the current situation. If she did have an accident she could avail of a free abortion which the tax payer would gladly pay for.

Would she ****. Now just listen to yourself a minute. You’re talking about someone on 50k a year welfare who’s robbing her clothes from penny’s. Do you think cutting the benefits she gets will have her work? No, she’ll just steal more. And she’ll get away with it, because this country is ****ing soft and little scumbags like her can get away with almost murder. 40 convictions and she’s probably never spent more than a few hours in a cell. I can’t think of another country that would carry on like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

Video of FM104's interview / talk with Margaret from 3 days ago:

Probably the first time I've heard her speaking without her shouting at the top of her voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Dr Bolouswki

37!!!

Lucky Jay and Silent Bob weren't around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

AlekSmart wrote: »
    I wonder if your benign gaze would continue had Ms Cash crashed into your vehicle,whilst "getting her kids to school" ?

I've been in a some what similar position a long time ago.
    Roma gypsy in an uninsured car hit me. Claimed via the MIBI.
    No school kids in the car at the time.

I think my tongue in cheek post sailed over everyone heads. I didn't think it was that hard to pick up on. She clearly doesn't treat traffic violations as crimes when working off her warped logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,318 ✭✭✭Wompa1

To the person proposing an American type of system. NO! I've been living in the US for 7 years. Don't try to copy this system, this country is f**ked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,377 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

And a perfect example of how being religious and being christian to others can be mutually exclusive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

I consider myself very left wing. I lived next to the Cash family for 7 years with no problems (another traveller family on the opposite side) other than a car parked blocking my driveway which I needed to get the guards to move after 3 days.
    I heard plenty of tales about the Cash's from neighbours who lived there far longer, and in particular their immediate neighbour, an old man living alone who they initially terrorised.

So I know full well that the family are criminals and not nice people. I dont say traveller criminals, they are just criminals. She didnt live there apparently but was a regular visitor.

Recently I mentioned to a pbp councillor that she was not a great face for the homeless movement, giving those who demonise people on low income/welfare/ etc an easy target.
    He said she had no link to the crime of my neighbours and I accepted that, even tho I still felt she was friendly with them and therefore at the very least tacitly condoning their behaviour.

It then obviously came to light that she had shoplifted from pennys and had 38 previous convictions (the pbp councillor says 37 are for motoring offences). He refused to condemn this and put it down largely to Garda harassment. Im no fan of the gardai, I think they are a rotten institution, but I found this incredible. He then went off on a tangent about me having no understanding of travellers and their religious beliefs and their want to have many children, whatever that had to do with her prolific criminal record I do not know. You do not get 37 motoring convictions easily in this country, in fact you'd want to go out of your way to do it pretty much. You only get convicted if it goes to court and the vast majority of motoring offences do not. So she blatantly showed complete disregard for the charges against her and refused to acknowledge, at best.

As someone who has voted pbp recently, I was disgusted at his attitude. He wants to have his cake and eat it, rightly condemn crimes of the elites here in Ireland, but refuse to do so when its on the side of the fence he is sympathetic to.

So I told him that his attitude has cost his party at least one vote. And I still firmly believe she is a horrible representative and face of the homeless movement and does it irreparable damage, playing right into Tory Varadkar's dog whistle politics and demonisation of those in receipt of welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

terrydel wrote: »
    And I still firmly believe she is a horrible representative and face of the homeless movement and does it irreparable damage, playing right into Tory Varadkar's dog whistle politics and demonisation of those in receipt of welfare.

I wouldnt worry about that too much. He mentioned it from time to time before he was in power. Practically he has done nothing about it now he's in the hotseat, and I very much doubt he will. We will have quite a few more "a little bit for everyone" budgets, despite his early promises to the contrary.

NIMAN wrote: »
    And a perfect example of how being religious and being christian to others can be mutually exclusive.

I'd say the majority of Christians don't act Christian like.

terrydel wrote: »
    It then obviously came to light that she had shoplifted from pennys and had 38 previous convictions (the pbp councillor says 37 are for motoring offences). He refused to condemn this and put it down largely to Garda harassment.

You do not get 37 motoring convictions easily in this country.

Again, your councillor is someone else who seems to think motoring convictions aren't real crimes.

You said it's not easy to get that many motoring convictions, I wouldn't agree.
    If you constantly flout the law, and never bother with tax or insurance, it's easy to understand how you become a target for the Gardaí. And rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭Claw Hammer

It has been found that the more educated people become, the fewer children they have. The way to bring the culture of having very large families to an end is to simply educate the children so that they do not repeat the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Gravelly

It has been found that the more educated people become, the fewer children they have. The way to bring the culture of having very large families to an end is to simply educate the children so that they do not repeat the process.

Not easy when a certain ethnicities "culture" is to keep their children as ignorant as themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,730 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,215 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Gravelly wrote: »
    Not easy when a certain ethnicities "culture" is to keep their children as ignorant as themselves.

That's the crux of it. Every person I know wants to provide the best education they can for their children, or if school life doesn't suit them (and it often doesn't), then they will encourage them whatever way they can on a different career path.

Despite the same, if not better, access to the educational system, travellers do not want their children to attain all they can be. Leaving aside the "family business" that is. Do-gooders are complicit in this by facilitating the practice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

That's the crux of it. Every person I know wants to provide the best education they can for their children, or if school life doesn't suit them (and it often doesn't), then they will encourage them whatever way they can on a different career path.

Despite the same, if not better, access to the educational system, travellers do not want their children to attain all they can be. Leaving aside the "family business" that is. Do-gooders are complicit in this by facilitating the practice
    Just seen two traveller girls aged about 16 in the local Centra dressed in dressing gowns and pyjamas. Regular enough event so obviously not going to school. Just waiting to be eligible for welfare and start dropping sprogs. Of course plenty of the "settled" crew at the same game.
    Does it matter as long as the gob****e of a taxpayer tolerates the spongers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Gwen Cooper

On that topic, this was shared on Margaret's facebook a few weeks ago:
    I'm asking you all from the bottom of my heart </3 to pray for us to get my children back. Please get on your knees and pray like they was your own children. My children are my life I beg you all pray for us. They was took because my oldest girl took a costume from the shop in the hotel. And we got arrested. Then they realised my children couldn't read. But as traveller people the biggest majority of us can't read. If your a mother reading this please try to understand what I'm going tru. Please pray in Jesus mighty name.

I can't get over that bit in bold. These people are ok with their kids not being able to read. It's grand, we're travellers. It's normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I can't get over that bit in bold. These people are ok with their kids not being able to read. It's grand, we're travellers. It's normal.
    What about the bit where her daughter got caught robbing from the hotel shop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Gwen Cooper

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    What about the bit where her daughter got caught robbing from the hotel shop?

She's not trying to justify that, so I can't judge. But saying that her kids can't read and then just shrugging her shoulders saying "oh well, travellers can't read", that's too much even for me. Aren't we supposed to want the best for our kids? Doesn't denying education count as a child abuse in some countries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

blanch152 wrote: »
    Not necessarily. There are some economies of scale with more children - clothes handed down, the older ones babysitting and working part-time etc.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/mother-acts-as-driver-for-teen-sons-in-burglaries-37443779.html
    A mother is suspected of dropping her two teenage sons off to carry out four daylight break-ins and thefts in the space of just a couple of hours.

Gardaí in Greystones, Co Wicklow, arrested a 14-year-old boy as he came out the window of a house wearing socks on his hands.

Officers are confident of arresting his older teenage brother, who is also a juvenile, and are also investigating the role of the boys' young mother, who is suspected of acting as the getaway driver and facilitator of the crimes.

In total, the teenage suspects targeted four properties in Greystones and Kilcoole on Wednesday afternoon last week, stealing a significant amount of cash and jewellery.

Of course,the use of children in criminal enterprises,is far from being confined to the Traveller community,however using one's own children does appear to be ethnically specific here ?

A significant amount of Garda resources do appear to be demanded by the Travelling Community,in order for them to adhere to both normal Social convention and equally,The Laws of Ireland.

This,in turn results in less Gardai available to tackle other examples of "real" crime,such as blue-collar fraud and the many other examples oft quoted by protesters on the streets ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭von Smallhausen

https://www.facebook.com/margartandjohnnymccarthy/posts/532418330562461

Looking to get rid of some clothes ASAP......hmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

If someone would post the contents of the last year of her FB on here I would genuinely sit down and read through it. She's a fascinatingly public example of one of the main problems in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

There is an absolute disregard for education amongst some traveller families.
    I worked in a letting agency, and one day I got a phone call from the school in a local town.
    A family we rented a house to six months earlier had stopped sending any of their children to school a few weeks back and as a key holder, could someone check if it would be possible to get the schoolbooks back.
    (Schoolbooks were loaned from the school, on a typical rental scheme).
    I called later in the week, and they had abandoned the house.
    Left hundreds of bin bags of rubbish and nappies built up in the garden and boiler house.
    The four eldest childrens schoolbags were left in the garden as well, full of their books, lunch boxes and pencil.cases.
    All the books were ruined from a month outside.
    What kind of mentality is it to just dump all your school stuff outside? No matter where you go you'd think the schoolbags and pencil cases would be needed anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    I worked in a letting agency, and one day I got a phone call from the school in a local town.
    A family we rented a house to six months earlier had stopped sending any of their children to school a few weeks back and as a key holder, could someone check if it would be possible to get the schoolbooks back.
    Left hundreds of bin bags of rubbish and nappies built up in the garden and boiler house.
    The four eldest childrens schoolbags were left in the garden as well, full of their books, lunch boxes and pencil.cases.
    What kind of mentality is it to just dump all your school stuff outside? No matter where you go you'd think the schoolbags and pencil cases would be needed anyway.

Sure, the social will give you new ones. If not, the VdeP.

They dont want the children to get an education because then they might not be kept under the thumb of the father. He can beat his wife into submission if she has no education and nowhere to go. She will put up with abuse for her familys sake but if she could was educated she might have some independence. Its the same with Muslim men,they have a fine old life by treating the women like chattels, why would they want women to enjoy their human rights.

I was familiar with one traveller boy who was very bright and he wanted to go to secondary school. The social workers were helping him but when they went to talk to his parents they werent intereted, they thought he might want something better for himself. The family packed up and moved before school started and the social workers couldnt find them.

This was about fifteen years ago and I doubt if much has changed since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Nekarsulm wrote: »

As the tooing and fro'ing in this thread illustrates,you are not allowed pose simple questions such as the bolded bit.

Instead,we are asked (repeatedly) to consider some other,far deeper answer to the question,which must be submitted for consideration before the question is actually asked.

This type of campaigning,ensures that the simpler issues which could,if addressed,actually begin to achieve results,remain unsolveable...much to the relief of Representative Body CEO's all over Ireland......;)

I had never heard of Peter Casey before last week,but the man has done Ireland some service,even if Joe Duffys researchers might differ :rolleyes:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Gravelly

They dont want the children to get an education because then they might not be kept under the thumb of the father. He can beat his wife into submission if she has no education and nowhere to go. She will put up with abuse for her familys sake but if she could was educated she might have some independence. Its the same with Muslim men,they have a fine old life by treating the women like chattels, why would they want women to enjoy their human rights.

I was familiar with one traveller boy who was very bright and he wanted to go to secondary school. The social workers were helping him but when they went to talk to his parents they werent intereted, they thought he might want something better for himself. The family packed up and moved before school started and the social workers couldnt find them.

This was about fifteen years ago and I doubt if much has changed since.

This is exactly it - easy to keep the women obedient, and the sons into the "family business" if they have no other prospects, and think that "culture" is the be all and end all.
    If all traveller children got the education they are supposedly entitled to, the traveller lifestyle would be gone in a generation, and nobody would be looking for ethnic status. The do-gooders that help keep traveller children and women ignorant serfs are responsible for this.