end of the road wrote: » removing the child benefit after a certain amount of children is unlikely to achieve your goal. children will still be had and those children would suffer undue hardship i'd imagine.
tretorn wrote: » Travellers are very religious so doubt if any would avail of abortion. Their religion is also probably the reason they won’t tolerate homosexuality in their community. Religion doesn’t stop them slashing each other with slash hooks and nor does it stop them thieving wherever they go. Your children and my children understand you need money to shop in Penney’s, Cashes children have no concept of Cash tills, they think you walk into a shop and carry as much as you can out the door.
All Seeing Eye wrote: » She would be forced to look for work if it was in her interest to especially if she had extra kids that the welfare was not paying for. Something like the American system. Under the system I propose she could just stay with 2 kids and get her benefits and this would mean great savings for the tax payer over the current situation. If she did have an accident she could avail of a free abortion which the tax payer would gladly pay for.
AlekSmart wrote: » I wonder if your benign gaze would continue had Ms Cash crashed into your vehicle,whilst "getting her kids to school" ?
tretorn wrote: » Travellers are very religious so doubt if any would avail of abortion.
terrydel wrote: » And I still firmly believe she is a horrible representative and face of the homeless movement and does it irreparable damage, playing right into Tory Varadkar's dog whistle politics and demonisation of those in receipt of welfare.
NIMAN wrote: » And a perfect example of how being religious and being christian to others can be mutually exclusive.
terrydel wrote: » It then obviously came to light that she had shoplifted from pennys and had 38 previous convictions (the pbp councillor says 37 are for motoring offences). He refused to condemn this and put it down largely to Garda harassment. You do not get 37 motoring convictions easily in this country.
Claw Hammer wrote: » It has been found that the more educated people become, the fewer children they have. The way to bring the culture of having very large families to an end is to simply educate the children so that they do not repeat the process.
Gravelly wrote: » Not easy when a certain ethnicities "culture" is to keep their children as ignorant as themselves.
Eggs For Dinner wrote: » That's the crux of it. Every person I know wants to provide the best education they can for their children, or if school life doesn't suit them (and it often doesn't), then they will encourage them whatever way they can on a different career path. Despite the same, if not better, access to the educational system, travellers do not want their children to attain all they can be. Leaving aside the "family business" that is. Do-gooders are complicit in this by facilitating the practice
I'm asking you all from the bottom of my heart </3 to pray for us to get my children back. Please get on your knees and pray like they was your own children. My children are my life I beg you all pray for us. They was took because my oldest girl took a costume from the shop in the hotel. And we got arrested. Then they realised my children couldn't read. But as traveller people the biggest majority of us can't read. If your a mother reading this please try to understand what I'm going tru. Please pray in Jesus mighty name.
Gwen Cooper wrote: » On that topic, this was shared on Margaret's facebook a few weeks ago: I can't get over that bit in bold. These people are ok with their kids not being able to read. It's grand, we're travellers. It's normal.
Paddy Cow wrote: » What about the bit where her daughter got caught robbing from the hotel shop?
blanch152 wrote: » Not necessarily. There are some economies of scale with more children - clothes handed down, the older ones babysitting and working part-time etc.
A mother is suspected of dropping her two teenage sons off to carry out four daylight break-ins and thefts in the space of just a couple of hours.Gardaí in Greystones, Co Wicklow, arrested a 14-year-old boy as he came out the window of a house wearing socks on his hands. Officers are confident of arresting his older teenage brother, who is also a juvenile, and are also investigating the role of the boys' young mother, who is suspected of acting as the getaway driver and facilitator of the crimes. In total, the teenage suspects targeted four properties in Greystones and Kilcoole on Wednesday afternoon last week, stealing a significant amount of cash and jewellery.
Nekarsulm wrote: » There is an absolute disregard for education amongst some traveller families. I worked in a letting agency, and one day I got a phone call from the school in a local town. A family we rented a house to six months earlier had stopped sending any of their children to school a few weeks back and as a key holder, could someone check if it would be possible to get the schoolbooks back. (Schoolbooks were loaned from the school, on a typical rental scheme). I called later in the week, and they had abandoned the house. Left hundreds of bin bags of rubbish and nappies built up in the garden and boiler house. The four eldest childrens schoolbags were left in the garden as well, full of their books, lunch boxes and pencil.cases. All the books were ruined from a month outside. What kind of mentality is it to just dump all your school stuff outside? No matter where you go you'd think the schoolbags and pencil cases would be needed anyway.
Nekarsulm wrote: » There is an absolute disregard for education amongst some traveller families. I worked in a letting agency, and one day I got a phone call from the school in a local town. A family we rented a house to six months earlier had stopped sending any of their children to school a few weeks back and as a key holder, could someone check if it would be possible to get the schoolbooks back. (Schoolbooks were loaned from the school, on a typical rental scheme). I called later in the week, and they had abandoned the house. Left hundreds of bin bags of rubbish and nappies built up in the garden and boiler house. The four eldest childrens schoolbags were left in the garden as well, full of their books, lunch boxes and pencil.cases. All the books were ruined from a month outside.What kind of mentality is it to just dump all your school stuff outside? No matter where you go you'd think the schoolbags and pencil cases would be needed anyway.
tretorn wrote: » They dont want the children to get an education because then they might not be kept under the thumb of the father. He can beat his wife into submission if she has no education and nowhere to go. She will put up with abuse for her familys sake but if she could was educated she might have some independence. Its the same with Muslim men,they have a fine old life by treating the women like chattels, why would they want women to enjoy their human rights. I was familiar with one traveller boy who was very bright and he wanted to go to secondary school. The social workers were helping him but when they went to talk to his parents they werent intereted, they thought he might want something better for himself. The family packed up and moved before school started and the social workers couldnt find them. This was about fifteen years ago and I doubt if much has changed since.