If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭Who2

Would most of these calves not be 50kg at birth anyway? So 1.6/1.7 to hit 400kg now, still asking a fair bit for the year that’s in it but could be done
    What are lads averages on all stock, not just the bullsh1t one that does an exceptional thrive each year.
    if i can get 1.4 on bulls and 1.2 on heifers im happy without stuffing them with meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,721 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Danzy wrote: »
    I had a dream that I did my Green Cert with Farmer Pudsey, Base Price, Bass Reeves and Bob Charles as my lectures.

Certainly picked up a lot from those 4.

Well Bass Reeves and Farmer Pudsey had a big drunken fight and Pudsey left in a huff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Well Bass Reeves and Farmer Pudsey had a big drunken fight and Pudsey left in a huff.

Footage of the fight;)
    https://media.giphy.com/media/wIohzRTbFSzzW/giphy.gif

Who2 wrote: »
    What are lads averages on all stock, not just the bullsh1t one that does an exceptional thrive each year.
    if i can get 1.4 on bulls and 1.2 on heifers im happy without stuffing them with meal.

Used avg of 45 kg as birth weight.all Bull calves done 1.34adg.up until creeping they done 1.16. Being creeped 1.79
    Youngest calves had best adg.
    One calf had an adg of .81 before creep and 1.92 while on creep. Had awful scours as a calf.

dh1985 wrote: »
    I dont know but time will tell. In a bad year a good animal will hold his own and selling bulls at 300kg at 750-800 euro wont leave alot oit of them. Would think good mid march weanling bulls should be tipping 400kg this time of year

The odd one might but on average thats never going to happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Oh if I could only thank that post more then once!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭dh1985

The odd one might but on average thats never going to happen

Its thd odd one here that wouldn't and i am not doing anything groundbreaking. Great data on adg between meal and no meal. Shows the benefits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

dh1985 wrote: »
    Its thd odd one here that wouldn't and i am not doing anything groundbreaking. Great data on adg between meal and no meal. Shows the benefits

Weighed & dosed some March calves at end of August
    Assuming 40kg birth weight
    SIX bull 1.44kg/day
    SIX heifer 1.13kg/day
    LMX heifer 1.21Kg/day
    Moved bull & his mother to group of Jan born bull calves been forward grazed (meadows) with meal & weighed him 10 days later 3kg/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

I would find we would see averages around 1.2 at sale. These would be weaned mid Sept and sold mid Oct
    We have had bulls hit 2 kg adg but they would be an exception. Those figures are across all breeds and include AI sired calves over a number of years
    Cows with 50% dairy genetics will have a calf with higher ADG but an inferior conformation calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Dozer1

first evening sale in Kilmallock last night, heard prices were hit and miss with plenty light weanlings at handy money about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Ballinasloe today. Good year and half ch heifers making from €2.25/kg.
    No buyers for AA or black white head cattle. Some had a lot of movements and poor weight for age, but if l knew more about them they seemed to be worth a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Anyone in Carnew have a board of management meeting and cant make the mart.
    Wondering what 350 to 400kg ch bulls and heifers are making

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Sold a few Jan born SIM bulls this week, 460/500 kg. 900/1200. Very happy with that with the year that is in it. I think quality bulls has come up in the last few weeks but anything plain or light is still back.

Anyone idea what’s the caution with buying heifers in comparison to bulls. There just doesn’t seem to be the same bite in the market as bulls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Anyone idea what’s the caution with buying heifers in comparison to bulls. There just doesn’t seem to be the same bite in the market as bulls.
    Probably due to the lack of forage and the additional cost of it and meal. Bull/bullocks weigh heavier on the hook and therefore you get a better return. Unless you are selling heifers to a local butcher/abattoir there is feck all to be gained feeding them for the main factories - vis a vie €/kg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

What about Heifers for in June, are they worth a consideration Base.

Any type Heifers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭kk.man

Heifers can be short keep if up in the weights. You could push a heifer easier than a bull or bullock. They always take a hit when things go south. Fellas are finishing cattle at much younger ages in recent years.
    However I have a suspicion that they might be worth a gamble for Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭sonnybill

I was happy enough with the bulls this year but heifers are waste of time.

Feb Charolais white 400kg E1040
    Mar Charolais yellow 334kg E970
    Mar Charolais yellow 352kg E980
    Mar Charolais yellow 340kg E900

Sold lm heifer 370 800
    Butty fat type but 5 stars.

For 2018
    Average for bulls 1070.400kgs avg
    Average for heifers 860. 375kgs avg(Only 3 sold,7 kept)

Sold lm heifer 370 800
    Butty fat type but 5 stars.

For 2018
    Average for bulls 1070.400kgs avg
    Average for heifers 860. 375kgs avg(Only 3 sold,7 kept)

There decent averages particularly with the year that's in it. Are you 100% Spring calving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭pat73

Any one in Kilmallock today.Just wondering/hoping is there any improvement in the Angus/Whitehead weanling trade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Calves, runners on fire again in Bandon, two weeks in a row. More farmers out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,328 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Pidae.m wrote: »
    Calves, runners on fire again in Bandon, two weeks in a row. More farmers out now.

What are Angus calves going for

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    There decent averages particularly with the year that's in it. Are you 100% Spring calving?

No not really. Most were late november. Damn all of a premium for the older calves. 4 were feb they averaged 1050 aswell tho.

Ya the more we go down this current road the less and less sense the Autume born calf is making to me. Cows eating all the silage they can with ration on top of it plus the calfs picking away at the creep. V the spring born lad with the cow eating no ration all winter reduced silage calve and out to grass.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Ya the more we go down this current road the less and less sense the Autume born calf is making to me. Cows eating all the silage they can with ration on top of it plus the calfs picking away at the creep. V the spring born lad with the cow eating no ration all winter reduced silage calve and out to grass.

If the export market doesnt pick up the autumn born is going to get a serious knock. Id intended a full clear out of my autumn calvers this year but with the year thats in it ive still got too many. I was always fond of having the autumn cows for cleaning up behind the spring calvers during the summer and cleaning out the corners of the pit in april.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭degetme

pat73 wrote: »
    Any one in Kilmallock today.Just wondering/hoping is there any improvement in the Angus/Whitehead weanling trade.

the father sold whiteheads 535kg 935e spring 17 born

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Sold two april lim bulls tonight. 280kg €820.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,721 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Sold two april lim bulls tonight. 280kg €820.

Nothing wrong with that. I've a few booked in tomorrow. Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Nothing wrong with that. I've a few booked in tomorrow. Fingers crossed.

No then, I'd thought they would be a small bit heavier and make less. Hard to know at times. Was happy with that anyway.