Netflix Recommendations 2.0 *READ FIRST POST*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭markc1184

Has anyone watched The Good Cop? Is it worth starting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭megaten

Salt, Fat, Acid Heat might be good. I got the book in a kindle sale and its quite good so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Frank O. Pinion

Hold_the_Dark.jpeg

Hold The Dark (2018), a new "Netflix film" added today. Directed by Jeremy Saulnier (Blue Ruin and Green Room), and starring and written by Macon Blair (Netflix films: I Don't Feel At Home In This World Anymore and Small Crimes). I plan on watching this later today.

The 3rd Eye
    When her little sister claims she sees the dead, Alia consults a psychic, who opens her own eyes to the vengeful ghosts haunting their childhood home.

5CM
    Five friends embark on a mission to climb the highest peak in Java, overcoming obstacles on the way and discovering the true meaning of friendship.

chefs table season 5

El marginal season 2
    While investigating a kidnapping, an ex-cop sent to infiltrate a prison finds himself surrounded by dangerous felons who can't know his real identity.

the good place season 3

Hold the Dark
    https://www.metacritic.com/movie/hold-the-dark?ref=hp
    In the grim Alaskan winter, a naturalist hunts for wolves blamed for killing a local boy, but he soon finds himself swept into a chilling mystery

How to Be Single
    From playing the field to cracking dating-site algorithms, four fun-loving friends approach singlehood differently. But it's time to shake things up

Jack Whitehall: Travels with My Father season 2

Lessons from a School Shooting: Notes from Dunblane
    Two priests -- one from Dunblane, Scotland, the other from Newtown, Connecticut -- bond over school tragedies that occurred 16 years apart.

Made in Mexico season 1
    These Mexico City socialites may lead opulent lives, but a peek behind the curtain reveals a tangled web of intrigue, envy and personal struggles

Single
    Unemployed and immature, a somewhat pathetic bachelor sets his sights on finding a date for the wedding of his younger, more successful brother.

Somewhere Between season 1
    A local news producer is given one chance to relive a deadly week and stop a serial killer. If she fails, she'll lose her daughter forever

Two Catalonias
    Lawmakers and activists with conflicting ideologies speak about the complexities of Catalonia's politics and the fight for its independence from Spain.

Added today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,554 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Reboot: The Guardian Code Season 2 added as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭den87

Am I right in saying The Expanse is moving to Amazon soon?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

den87 wrote: »
    Am I right in saying The Expanse is moving to Amazon soon?

Season 4 was picked up by Amazon, and yes, AFAIK the previous seasons are headed that way too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Frank O. Pinion

Hold The Dark (2018), I plan on watching this later today.
    Well...that teaches me to get excited about things. Hold The Dark is okay, not terrible, but not great either. Sure, there's very
    violent
    scenes and super
    gory
    scenes, but it's very slow and not engaging, and no where near as good as Blue Ruin or Green Room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Does anyone know the release date for Brooklyn 99 season 5 on our Netflix? It landed today in Australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,360 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

The first series of El Marginal is one of the hidden gems on Netflix, looking forward to Series 2......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,103 ✭✭✭facehugger99

robwen wrote: »
    The Australian or American version?

Australian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,004 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Wonder.. Starring Owen Wilson and Julia Robertson is a lovely little movie.

They're the parents of a child that was born with facial abnormalities and the film is about the young lads difficulties starting school.

10/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Wonder.. Starring Owen Wilson and Julia Robertson is a lovely little movie.

They're the parents of a child that was born with facial abnormalities and the film is about the young lads difficulties starting school.

10/10
    Ah saw this on the kids netflix and decided “tear jerker” might be a bit much for them

hannibal season 3

act of vengeance also known as Five Minarets in New York
    Two Turkish agents are sent to New York City on a mission to capture a notorious terrorist known only as "Dejjal" (Arabic for Antichrist).

paradise lost
    A cop moonlights as the bodyguard for a young drag queen at a nightclub, and grows closer to the family of misfit singers that perform there.

added today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭brilou23

Dunno why it's taken me so long to watch Top Boy but its class. Can’t believe channel 4 gave up after two seasons. Looking forward see how Netflix take it forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,331 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

The first series of El Marginal is one of the hidden gems on Netflix, looking forward to Series 2......

second season there now it seems:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,234 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Well...that teaches me to get excited about things. Hold The Dark is okay, not terrible, but not great either. Sure, there's very
    violent
    scenes and super
    gory
    scenes, but it's very slow and not engaging, and no where near as good as Blue Ruin or Green Room.

Very average. 6/10 at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭how.gareth

brilou23 wrote: »
    Dunno why it's taken me so long to watch Top Boy but its class. Can’t believe channel 4 gave up after two seasons. Looking forward see how Netflix take it forward

There’s gonna be a 3rd season?

brilou23 wrote: »

Is that the one where they kept calling “money”.. crap I can’t remember now “bread” woz it? Innit. I enjoyed that

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,061 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Is that the one where they kept calling “money”.. crap I can’t remember now “bread” woz it? Innit. I enjoyed that
    Fam - they kept using that word.

The grand Budapest hotel
    Pixels
    The resurrection of Gavin stone
    Salvation season 2
    Scorpion season 4
    Seven psychopaths
    Added today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭tinofapples

"Is that the one where they kept calling “money”.. crap I can’t remember now “bread” woz it? Innit. I enjoyed that"

Paper !!

"Is that the one where they kept calling “money”.. crap I can’t remember now “bread” woz it? Innit. I enjoyed that"

Paper !!

“Food” that was it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭brilou23

how.gareth wrote: »
    There’s gonna be a 3rd season?

Yeah it’s coming back next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭qwabercd

Those of you who liked top boy might like the film kidulthood which was added recently, it's of a similar ilk. Looking forward to the return of top boy hopefully it's as good as the first 2 series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭garra

I think I must be in the minority in that I'm really enjoying Maniac. I've only two episodes left to watch so I'll be finishing it of tonight. Very heavy Michel Gondry vibes off it but that's not a bad thing in my book.

Interesting and amusing take on relationships, mother/son, father/daughter, family, grief. Thoroughly enjoyed it stylistically and some fine character acting. It's the sort of freakshow dystopian smorgasbord of plot-lines I'm subscribing to Netflix to see, not bloody documentaries about serial killers or morbid miscarriages of justice. Oh yes, and I'm in love with Emma Stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Just watched Hold the Dark, I enjoyed watching it but the whole story seems a bit pointless.
    why did the mother kill her son?and then after the father killing everyone to get to her when she takes off the mask he doesnt kill her and the seemingly then go off into the sunset together? Is it all down to her being processed by a wolf demon and him too when he’s wearing the mask?
    if it is it’s a pretty lame story.

Four Weddings and a Funeral
    Thelma & Louise
    The Big Bang Theory: Season 11
    Paranormal: White Noise
    Fishtail
    Trash
    The Mask You Live In
    La Doña: Season 1
    A Witches’ Ball
    Brad’s Status
    Platoon
    Fiddler on the Roof
    Life as We Know It
    I Spit on Your Grave
    The Titan
    On a bleak future Earth, a soldier endures a radical genetic transformation to save humanity. But his wife fears he's becoming more creature than man

Cloud Atlas
    Cold Skin
    Skin Wars (2016) 3 Seasons
    shark tank 3 seasons
    still game season 7

The Birth Reborn (2018) 1hr 31m [MATURE] (Brazilian Portuguese) Featuring experts in their fields and raw and moving footage, this documentary makes a case for increased autonomy in women's choices for childbirth

Added today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Watched The Land of Steady Habits and Hold the Dark over the weekend. TLOSH is about a man who, after giving up everything - his wife, his job and his house, had become bored with his item midlife crisis. This sees him acting out and over-compensating in different ways - from accidentally smoking PCP with the neighbours teenage kids to having an enormous Christmas display in front of his condo. It's about the main character facing the meaninglessness of the life he craved and now has. It's an adaption of the book of the same name and it definitely has the feel of an adapted screenplay but it's deftly handled by the director and the fantastic cast. The final act feels slightly contrived at times but it doesn't take away from a really enjoyable movie. Well worth a watch.

I've seen Hold the Dark being called Snow Country for Old Men and it's probably the best description of it it there is although it lacks a lot of the drama and creativity of the Cohen Brothers flick. I have to say, considering some of what was going on in the movie at times, I found this a pretty dull experience with done very lifeless performances from some of the cast. The lead, the author, and the sheriff were good characters but the rest were a bit underdone. I know it was done to make it all seem a bit more ambiguous but it just felt half baked to me.