Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 70's and 80's in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

Grandeeod wrote: »
    My very first VHS movie on all rented gear was the original Evil Dead movie. I was 10 years old. I didn't turn out a disturbed nutjob and it actually inspired me to get into the career I'm in albeit at a very lower level after years of trying for the top. Happy out!

I am curious now - what is your Evil Dead inspired career?? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Ha! The biggest tree in my parents garden is a large sycamore that I frequently attempted to climb in the 1970s and 1980s.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,351 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Cheap concert tickets.. AC/DC RDS 1982 for 15 quid :)

15 quid would have been a fair whack of money for many people at that time.

In the late 80s you could still get into a lot of smaller venues like McGonagles for a fiver. For some reason the bar in there mostly sold bottles of cheap Belgian fizzy cider.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

fryup wrote: »
    meh, don't think there was any shame about being on the dole back then seeing that half the country was out of work and there was F A jobs about....nowadays with the booming economy there's more of a stigma i think
    Half of the half that was "out of work" was working at least part time cash in hand. Some of the fools working full time for less than dole + cash were told we were eejits for doing so.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,676 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

paul71 wrote: »
    The advent of channel 4 and the the excitement of seeing the little triangle in the top corner which meant you were going to get a quick peak of a bare breast

The BBC 'Play for Today' on Thursday nights was always good for bit of a boob. I remember a conversation with a classmate in 5th class primary about what had been in the play on the night before.

Seeing films that are now classics for the first time

Jaws
    The Omen
    Superman

and for a bit of nudity The Entity/ Ha
    I remember the buzz around the announcement of what would be the big movies on TV for Christmas. Cinema releases wouldn't appear on TV (or any other medium) for 3-5 years after the cinema release. It was a really big deal when Jaws or any of those movies finally made it to TV in the pre-Netflix, pre-VHS, pre-download days.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,351 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Going for drives with my parents and sister on a Sunday afternoon.

Yep and my da used to stop by a pub on the way home for a pint or two, I was happy out as it was the only time I got to drink Coke except at Christmas.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,465 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Bottles of Stag cider and Ritz.
    Two and Two, Cocktail Bar and Prairie chocolate bars.
    Strumpet City.
    Fawlty Towers.
    The Pure Drop (Trad series).
    Cal (Helen Mirren, John Lynch, Donal McCann and Ray McAnally).
    Edge of Darkness.
    RDS fecking up the only chance for Pink Floyd to play Ireland in 1988.
    Mamas Boys at the Astoria in Bundoran County Donegal.
    Ballisodare Folk Festival, Sligo.
    Lisdoonvarna festival.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Good Friday was anything but good.
    - Interminably long church service and standing for ages.
    - No shops open aside from the odd petrol station.
    - Not allowed eat anything between meals (which themselves were particularly plain on that day)

Good Friday = Ben Hur or The Robe or The greatest story ever told. 4 Bloody hours. I am not Spartacus

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

in The 80,s people had more children, i think nowadays most couple,s have one or 2 kids at the most .Contraception was hard to obtain, you could not buy condoms in your local supermarket.
    I think married couples had to go to a doctor just to get a packet of condoms.
    Now theres more shops open on sunday ,its like any other day .
    There were more record stores and people bought more cds and vinyl lps ,since there was not such thing as streaming music. Before 2fm came along
    you had to listen to bbc radio or pirate radio stations to hear pop music
    during the day.
    If you wanted to see pop music on tv ,there was only top of the pops or
    some pop groups would be on saturday morning kids tv, bbc swap shop or twiswas on itv.At least till mtv was on cable tv if you could get it ,
    in your area .Many people use large aerials on the roof in order to get bbc and itv in rural area,s where cable tv was not avaidable.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,465 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

riclad wrote: »
    in The 80,s people had more children, i think nowadays most couple,s have one or 2 kids at the most .Contraception was hard to obtain, you could not buy condoms in your local supermarket.
    I think married couples had to go to a doctor just to get a packet of condoms.
    Now theres more shops open on sunday ,its like any other day .
    There were more record stores and people bought more cds and vinyl lps ,since there was not such thing as streaming music. Before 2fm came along
    you had to listen to bbc radio or pirate radio stations to hear pop music
    during the day.
    If you wanted to see pop music on tv ,there was only top of the pops or
    some pop groups would be on saturday morning kids tv, bbc swap shop or twiswas on itv.At least till mtv was on cable tv if you could get it ,
    in your area .Many people use large aerials on the roof in order to get bbc and itv in rural area,s where cable tv was not avaidable.

You forgot the Old Grey Whistle Test (BBC2) which basically highlighted acts in the UK who were currently touring at the time, it sort of preceded Jools Holland's show.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Back in the 70's and into the 80's even, if you had a dog it was let loose to roam the streets all day. If (this will likely upset someone, its not my intention) but there was always someone with a black dog named N*gger (for real).

And all dog poo was white for some reason.

Bicycles were all Triumph 20's, Grifters and Choppers and we all knew how to fix punctures and build bicycles out of other wrecks.

If you had a telephone in the house you were scourged by at least one neighbor.

Probably unique to places like Ballymun (where I grew up), if you got a VCR you had to hide the tapes coming home from the library otherwise a scumbag would follow you and break into your house for the player.

Punks and Skinheads fighting in town, and then local organized fights after the school disco.

Porn mags were H&E on the top shelf in Easons and if you went to Hollyhead or up to Newry you bought a stash of proper English porn backs back with you, and cherished them.

Anyone ever sent to the van to buy a loose, or fags for your parents with butter vouchers?.

And chipper vans.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,659 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Let’s face it, for most people, well certainly adults, the 1970s and 80s was sh*te compared to today. Less freedom, less means, more controlled, more miserable. The only pluses I can think of were better summer weather and less pressured work environments for most (for those lucky enough to have a steady job back then).

For many kids it was a happy time but I remember kids who were abused at home and were also miserable. People tend to look back with Rose-tinted specs. There really were no “good old days” IMO - just very selective memories.

That said, I really do think the 90s was a great time to come of age here - end of the Cold War, growing prosperity, rapidly changing social mores, the collapse of the church and great music. :) A temporal “sweet spot” if one ever such existed.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,111 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If (this will likely upset someone, its not my intention) but there was always someone with a black dog named N*gger (for real).
    True enough. I knew two dogs of that name growing up. It was quite the popular name for a black dog here and in the UK, though it lasted longer here. If you ever watch the 50's film "The Dambusters", the squadron leader's dog is called that, because that was his name in real life. An uncle of mine was in the RAF in the last war and their dog(she belonged to everyone. Just turned up at the base one day), a huge black mutt of indeterminate parentage also had the same name.
    And all dog poo was white for some reason.
    IIRC it was because dog food had more bonemeal in it back then. These days commercial dog food is more like meat flavoured cereal.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Baybay wrote: »
    Gerry, then Mark After Dark til 01.50ish.
    And Amelia Golightly with her advice at 1.30:D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I lived in ballymun, i had a vcr , there was a video rental shop in the shopping centre,
    they had a book, you could look through , it listed 100,s of adult movies to rent.
    There were no adult films on display ,it more of an under the counter operation.It was probably illegal to rent out xx rated films at that time .
    The only films on display were the usual action, comedy, drama,s
    you,d see in the cinema .
    I think at some point a law was brought in so adults only stores could sell
    xx rated films.
    i mostly rented films from extravision.
    There used to be small local shops around dublin,
    they might have only 2-300 films avaidable to rent.This was before extravison opened shops in every suburb.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Strumpet City.
    Fawlty Towers.
    Edge of Darkness.
    Lisdoonvarna festival.

Myself and my brother went on a trip up the West with our uncle when we were 8 and 9 years old in 73 the festival was on in Lisdoonvarna and he stopped off for 2 pints but we had to stay in the car because no children were allowed in pubs back then, proper order too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Hands, Brilliant TV programme even as a teenager just like a moment of meditation, mut have watched a repeat in the 80's cause it looked old then

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Let’s face it, for most people, well certainly adults, the 1970s and 80s was sh*te compared to today. Less freedom, less means, more controlled, more miserable. The only pluses I can think of were better summer weather and less pressured work environments for most (for those lucky enough to have a steady job back then).

For many kids it was a happy time but I remember kids who were abused at home and were also miserable. People tend to look back with Rose-tinted specs. There really were no “good old days” IMO - just very selective memories.

That said, I really do think the 90s was a great time to come of age here - end of the Cold War, growing prosperity, rapidly changing social mores, the collapse of the church and great music. :) A temporal “sweet spot” if one ever such existed.

Ah Jaysus you’re painting a right bleak picture it wasn’t that bad.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,659 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Good Friday was anything but good.
    - Interminably long church service and standing for ages.
    - No shops open aside from the odd petrol station.
    - Not allowed eat anything between meals (which themselves were particularly plain on that day)

I grew up in a pretty devout Catholic household in the 80s and went to mass weekly as a child but I never ever remember going to mass or any church service on Good Friday. We never ate meat on Good Friday but also never went to mass that day.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I grew up in a pretty devout Catholic household in the 80s and went to mass weekly as a child but I never ever remember going to mass or any church service on Good Friday. We never ate meat on Good Friday but also never went to mass that day.

There was no mass on Good Friday. The service started at 3.00pm and they had the long gospel that was also done on Passion Sunday. No communion either and sometimes you would have to kiss the cross afterwards.
    I remember being told it wasn't a holy day of obligation but we always went.

• Registered Users Posts: 519 ✭✭✭freddie1970

Dakota Dan wrote: »

ah it was pretty bad alright

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

The slow set in the dancehall and know you are in business when she moves in and rubs the bulge in the trousers.

ah it was pretty bad alright

Where were you? I used to go out 4 nights a week during the 80's and head off on weekends and plenty more did likewise. I didn't have a great paying job either, partying was a lot cheaper back then. Towns full of pubs that always were full of people, the same towns today have most of those pubs derelict or converted to something else. Drive through those towns at midnight any weekend and they look deserted compared to the 80's. Anyone that weren't fortunate enough to have a job emigrated

Edgware wrote: »
    The slow set in the dancehall and know you are in business when she moves in and rubs the bulge in the trousers.

Any young fella that got a horn during a slow dance must not have been getting much action.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,790 ✭✭✭griffin100

riclad wrote: »
    I lived in ballymun, i had a vcr , there was a video rental shop in the shopping centre,
    they had a book, you could look through , it listed 100,s of adult movies to rent.
    There were no adult films on display ,it more of an under the counter operation.It was probably illegal to rent out xx rated films at that time .
    The only films on display were the usual action, comedy, drama,s
    you,d see in the cinema .
    I think at some point a law was brought in so adults only stores could sell
    xx rated films.
    i mostly rented films from extravision.
    There used to be small local shops around dublin,
    they might have only 2-300 films avaidable to rent.This was before extravison opened shops in every suburb.

In the 80s we had a ‘video man’ who would call to the house once a week to rent pirated videos from the boot of his car. He had a wide selection of pornos as well, all bush and real boobs, managed to catch sight of a couple in a friends house ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

griffin100 wrote: »
    In the 80s we had a ‘video man’ who would call to the house once a week to rent pirated videos from the boot of his car. He had a wide selection of pornos as well, all bush and real boobs, managed to catch sight of a couple in a friends house ;)

"A friends house"

G'wan away would ya, ya were his best customer :pac::D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

Strumpet City.
    Fawlty Towers.
    Edge of Darkness.
    Lisdoonvarna festival.

I remember staying up late to watch to watch an episode of that, never saw the full series. This bit that sticks in my mind is where a guy is shot in the face at point blank range with a sawn off shotgun and the shooter is showered with blood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

He came of age in the 90s so it was a sweet spot. I was in college mid 1990s and I thought it was a boring decade myself with little or no advances in anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Leave It to Mrs O'Brien

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Any young fella that got a horn during a slow dance must not have been getting much action.
    The slow dance was the start of it then out the back of the hall for a bit of fingering. That would warm her up