Feile Classical camping

• 12-09-2018 03:51PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭

Hello, anyone else going to Feile Classical?

I checked out the official camping options and wasn't impressed.
    The reasons being, although we are riding high on the Celtic tiger again, I don't want to spend hundreds on camping for a night (based on 2 of us going). Although the camping is for two nights I only have a ticket for one night.
    So, just wondering if anyone else knows of an unofficial campsite within walking distance of the main event?

Maybe I'm asking too much, I don't fancy a few hours on a bus after it, or spending the price of a European weekend away to rent a tent for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Navilluso

I’m in the same boat - I have all the camping gear, a family tent we spent a fortune on (and used for past few summers). I can’t honestly hand over €80 a head for a pre pitched tent for four of us - is there anyone with a field looking for a few bob? We’re only coming for one night and all seasoned campers who’d happily go ‘no frills’ for a night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Mossess

I just double checked it. It's 290 for two people in a 2 person unfurnished tent for one night. :eek:
    I honestly think it's just taking the biscuit.
    Since there is still availability I can only assume they didn’t sell out.

We'd also be happy with a field to pitch up in, or even an ingenious B&B owners back garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 The Face Man

Did you get any luck finding alternative campsites? I have no interest in their Glamping offers given that I have a perfectly useable tent. I was thinking of trying to find a field near the racecourse or not to far away that could be used. I don;t know Thurles that well, so not sure how sensible an idea that would be. But i am sure there are plently of people trying to do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭selfbuildache

In the same boat here. Have a campervan these days :). My partner, who's a big GAA head (been to lots of matches) assures me there'll be a plethora of local farmers renting out their fields... We're going on spec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Navilluso wrote: »
    I’m in the same boat.
    In the same boat here.

Well that's your first mistake lads, bringing boats to Thurles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,331 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

No pitch standing what a fecking joke, you need to watch the gig with binoculars. :)

Dno31m-XoAEtvlB.jpg

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,985 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

No pitch standing what a fecking joke, you need to watch the gig with binoculars. :)

Dno31m-XoAEtvlB.jpg

Pathetic!! Really glad I decided to give this a miss. I have the memories of the original ‘93 and ‘94 Feiles to cherish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Lol!!
    Would be better watching that on TV at home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭nim1bdeh38l2cw

Sure you could see that from Ticketmaster when buying tickets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Eventually the crowd jumped the barriers (/ stepped onto the pitch) as the Gardai laughed apparently...

IMG_20180922_130228.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 The Face Man

Yeah, it was a great night to be fair. Although they should have had 3 times the number of food stalls and beer tents than they had, the bands were great and the crowd really got into it after the pitch invasion.