Justice Served??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,498 ✭✭✭Wheety

Jack Moore wrote: »
    As the Yong lad who encountered my dogs once told me “I’m sorry I picked the wrong house”
    I’m the funt in the runners I don’t need to outrun the leopard only the other guy
    And so is my village ( we have no crime. Is we wouldn’t report it we’d just be ready next time)

gZXgCZDlOgNI.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 arcticthistle

So what was the problem with punishment beatings and kneecappings for criminality?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

So what was the problem with punishment beatings and kneecappings for criminality?

People ended up using them to settle personal disputes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

endacl wrote: »
    shoplifter-meets-a-marine.jpg?w=980&q=75

Dim curbs are fairly slippery alright! Kinda nearly as bad as when you trip and stumble into a brick wall 17 times, due to the effect of bouncy bricks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

The thing that bugs me about this is this lad will be in A&E/hospital wards taking up space now from other people.
    Then he might be able to get onto some kind of illness benefit for years or even life with no pressure to do courses/etc.
    It might keep him out of this sort of petty criminality depending on how he recovers from his injuries.
    There's also the issue of copy cat attacks which could end up being fatal and the people would have to live with killing somebody which isn't an easy thing to do.
    These people generally come from rough enough families and they could make your and your families he'll if you were involved in the assault.

Agree to a point but the other side is he and most like him or both of them is they will never contribute to society and always have been a drain on resources and always will.

These scum bags will get dole either way and best of health as they will never pay for anything.

Terrorising people in their homes and getting away with it.

I'm glad the met force as our police force are more then useless and have feck all powers to stop this huge problem.

Courts need to be overhauled and a new super prison built to house these a holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,298 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Agree to a point but the other side is he and most like him or both of them is they will never contribute to society and always have been a drain on resources and always will.

These scum bags will get dole either way and best of health as they will never pay for anything.

Terrorising people in their homes and getting away with it.

I'm glad the met force as our police force are more then useless and have feck all powers to stop this huge problem.

Courts need to be overhauled and a new super prison built to house these a holes.

Oh yes I do agree with you.
    I just wouldn't want some person go take the law into their own and end up with a unbearable life afterwords because of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭jon1981

Just saw those photos...quality is poor but does appear to be missing a few fingers but could be mistaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

TomOnBoard wrote: »
    Dim curbs are fairly slippery alright! Kinda nearly as bad as when you trip and stumble into a brick wall 17 times, due to the effect of bouncy bricks...

Them pesky kerbs and good dang them pesky walls you would swear they came out of nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Thoroughly deserved. They weren’t from the area and travelled specifically to carry out burglaries. You can be sure that they weren’t going to stop at just one house. If this happened more often then scumbag travelling criminals might think twice about what they’re doing. I hope it happens more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭Thud

smurgen wrote: »
    Grew up in that part of the city and my mother still lives there. Whoever thought it would be a good idea to rob houses in one of the roughest parts of cork didn't have much of a brain to damage. Lots of rumours going around as to what condition the lads are in but from the pictures i've seen they got a bad bad beating and possibly had fingers lobbed off.
    Why did this gang (from tipp and Dublin so probably well travelled) choose a house on the north of cork city, hardly a rich area?

smells fishy, gang related?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 trik

FTA69 wrote: »
    Also have no sympathy for thieving c*nts robbing working class people. Deserve everything they get.

So you'd have sympathy for thieves who were robbing people who are not working class?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Thud wrote: »
    Grew up in that part of the city and my mother still lives there. Whoever thought it would be a good idea to rob houses in one of the roughest parts of cork didn't have much of a brain to damage. Lots of rumours going around as to what condition the lads are in but from the pictures i've seen they got a bad bad beating and possibly had fingers lobbed off.
    Why did this gang (from tipp and Dublin so probably well travelled) choose a house on the north of cork city, hardly a rich area?

smells fishy, gang related?

From the rumour mill it seems the lads were armed and were disarmed. And were caught literally taking a tv out of the house.also heard it was a guy and his eldery mother living in the house and some tough youngfellas in the estate seen it and decided to get stuck in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭jon1981

trik wrote: »
    So you'd have sympathy for thieves who were robbing people who are not working class?

/popcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Outsiders, Bull! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

A pleasant change from hearing about burglars leaving the elderly injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

From the rumour mill it seems the lads were armed and were disarmed. And were caught literally taking a tv out of the house.also heard it was a guy and his eldery mother living in the house and some tough youngfellas in the estate seen it and decided to get stuck in.

I've zero sympathy anyway. Scumbags got what they deserved, it's only a pity it doesn't happen a bit more often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

endacl wrote: »
    shoplifter-meets-a-marine.jpg?w=980&q=75

Do you even need Snopes to know that last paragraph was made up?

https://www.snopes.com/fact-check/marine-layer/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,063 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Best news I heard all day.

I don't like Violence as much as next person but if your going steal, rob or hurt someone else and it comes back in your face then no sympathy.

People have a right to defend their property or valuables that they have worked for.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

No. I don't agree with thievery full stop. However as someone from a working-class background, there is a special lowness to those who prey on people they know full well have very little in life and these type of scumbags contribute to communities like mine going to sh*t. They affect these areas far disproportionately with their antics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

With all the bad news in the world, this is a nice story to read about in the morning.

Like most people, I'm generally against violence but in this case, I have zero sympathy for the burglars and I believe that the locals did the world a favour. You can be sure that these burglars weren't on their first burglary nor were they going to stop after this one. The action taken by the locals provided both a punishment for what they did in the past as well as a deterrent against what they were planning to do in the future. I have a feeling that there will have been a better lesson learned here than any suspended sentence would have given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

With all the bad news in the world, this is a nice story to read about in the morning.

Like most people, I'm generally against violence but in this case, I have zero sympathy for the burglars and I believe that the locals did the world a favour. You can be sure that these burglars weren't on their first burglary nor were they going to stop after this one. The action taken by the locals provided both a punishment for what they did in the past as well as a deterrent against what they were planning to do in the future. I have a feeling that there will have been a better lesson learned here than any suspended sentence would have given.

This is it. I think items like this are an unfortunate outcome of the suspended sentence/legal aid culture that's become lucrative for the court and legal system in this country. It's failing communities vulnerable to criminal and undermining the authority of the Gardai also. The Gardai are risking life and limb to abprehend these scumbags only to have solicitors and judged do the whole bad upbringing,in rehab, slap on the wrist dance in court. This outcome is inevitable really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,498 ✭✭✭Wheety

Concurrent sentences need to go too. How can you commit 3 serious crimes and get 2 years, 2 years and 3 years and this adds up to 3, getting out in a year and a half?

I was just reading about some ex-soldier who battered his girlfriend, sentenced to 3 years. While in prison he received 2 further sentences, one for threatening to kill someone and one for clocking a car (he sold cars too) and ended up getting nothing added to his original sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

I wouldn't like to see a criminal murdered or beaten up too severely, simply because I wouldn't be happy for the vigilante to go to jail or get in too much trouble but a slap and detained until the gardai arrive is sufficient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,820 ✭✭✭oceanman

the state could be saved a lot of money here.... if everyone did similar to this when we see a crime being committed then we would need only about quarter the police force we have now, then again we would need way more hospital beds so probably it would just itself cancel out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

Have to admit, I did have a grin reading the article. It's difficult to have any sympathy for the "alleged" burglars.

Looking at the bigger picture though, I'm not at all comfortable with a mob of people dishing out their own punishment. I'd see that as distinct from violence to protect your health or belongings.

We had too many years of "punishment beatings" on this island, there's no point swapping one set of perpetrators for another.

(I'm still grinning though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

This is it. I think items like this are an unfortunate outcome of the suspended sentence/legal aid culture that's become lucrative for the court and legal system in this country. It's failing communities vulnerable to criminal and undermining the authority of the Gardai also. The Gardai are risking life and limb to abprehend these scumbags only to have solicitors and judged do the whole bad upbringing,in rehab, slap on the wrist dance in court. This outcome is inevitable really.

Exactly. Everyone knows this and the only ones who defend this system are legal professionals and a few bleeding hearts who aren't affected.

It's obvious that the system isn't working when it comes to burglary. It's a serious crime that has a traumatic effect on the victims but the sentences are extremely lenient, particularly when burglary isn't generally a once-off activity.

I know that what happened in Cork won't put much of a dent in in the burglary statistics but there are now a bunch of households who would have otherwise been burgled by these guys and now won't be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Great to see the scumbags getting a taste of their own medicine for once.

I wouldn't go looking to start something but if someone comes into my home with criminal intent I will do whatever I can do protect it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭corks finest

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/locals-serve-brutal-street-justice-13222599

"Here is an alleged burglar who suffered brutal street justice after locals caught him leaving a burgled house in an Irish estate.

Sources said that the man was one of two alleged burglars who had kicked in the door of a house at Churchfield Greens, on the north side of Cork city, on Sunday night."

Does AH people think they deserved it?Or is it step in the wrong direction for Irish society?

I'd say yes, people won't ring the gardai,as you'd be dead by the time they arrived.
    Should have kneecapped the bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Ah now, that's quite the leap.

They never said that at all - they didn't even imply it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,448 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I know this will go against the grain but I think it's horrible. I fully understand why people want to see this happen, part of me does too. But you can't have vigilante justice. We have laws for a reason, mob justice is terrible. The people who did that should be charged.