Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Serena's meltdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,668 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Alpha_zero wrote: »
    Serena didn't back down and carried herself with class.

Nor did she force anyone else to back down. They retained their dignity throughout. As did her very gracious opponent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,916 ✭✭✭lertsnim

How did a black woman become so wealthy in our white patriarchal society?!

Racism and sexism clearly is responsible for her and her sister making millions. The poor things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

The thing that most posters don't seem to be aware of is that all of the top male players have behaved in such a manner and not been penalised. Can see Serena's point when you take that into consideration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

How did a black woman become so wealthy in our white patriarchal society?!

Because you're either good at sport or not - discrimination, prejudice, and whatnot, has less of an impact on outcomes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,671 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Think youv'e mistaken Serena for Osaka

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Ah, another JohnPatrick81 joins us.

batgoat wrote: »
    The thing that most posters don't seem to be aware of is that all of the top male players have behaved in such a manner and not been penalised. Can see Serena's point when you take that into consideration.

nope.........that isn't true.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Alpha_zero

AidoEirE wrote: »
    Think youv'e mistaken Serena for Osaka

What you mean by that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Whatever about the umpire being right or wrong, sexist or not, to say the Serena carried herself with class is nothing short of delusional.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,553 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

and who says she has to a role model for anyone.
    She does. Fairly regularly.

Serena has regularly received preferential treatment over other women. Most recently she was seeded for Wimbledon despite the fact that her world ranking didn't merit one. This meant that the 32nd ranked player in the world missed out on being seeded despite actually deserving it. Had they not done so, the sexist card would have most certainly have been pulled again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

Because you're either good at sport or not - discrimination, prejudice, and whatnot, has less of an impact on outcomes.

I am shocked. Here was me believing I was oppressing Serena for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

Ah, another JohnPatrick81 joins us.

aye, sitting at home with sweaty palms waiting for the next eejit to get suckered by their sad trolling attempts

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Whatever about the umpire being right or wrong, sexist or not, to say the Serena carried herself with class is nothing short of delusional.

I wouldn't bother replying to these clearly provocative posts looking for negative reactions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

What a load of horsesiht, this is the reason no one respects feminists. They're just assholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,671 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

What you mean by that?

Out of the two players on the court, Serna was second class in both cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Rightly or wrongly, she carried herself with the same 'class' as lots of other great sportspeople, for whom "show me a good loser, and I'll show you a loser" seems to be an important mantra.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Alpha_zero

AidoEirE wrote: »
    Out of the two players on the court, Serna was second class in both cases.

Serena comported herself with dignity and class in this situation, a line was crossed and she didn't back down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

batgoat wrote: »

I'm not a huge tennis fan but you seem to know off the top of your head that all of the top male players have behaved the same as Serena did in that match - could you post some links to videos or articles about those players?
    Pretzeluck wrote: »
    She shouldn't be allowed to compete. Just look at her, she's half man from all the testosterone injections. Look at her facial features and tell me that's a woman. Clear signs of extreme testosterone levels in a woman to the point of changing into a man. Men aren't allowed to compete in woman's competition.

Can you not debate the topic at hand without turning to insults and nonsense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,024 ✭✭✭jackboy

Serena comported herself with dignity and class in this situation, a line was crossed and she didn't back down.

Screaming insults at an official and crying is classy now?

erica74 wrote: »
    I'm not a huge tennis fan but you seem to know off the top of your head that all of the top male players have behaved the same as Serena did in that match - could you post some links to videos or articles about those players?

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/tennis/11821604/Nick-Kyrgios-handed-one-month-suspended-ban-and-further-fine-for-Stan-Wawrinka-sledge.html

http://www.espn.com/tennis/story/_/id/20548685/us-open-how-fines-bad-behavior-fabio-fognini-good-tennis

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/07/06/wimbledon-hands-one-biggest-fines-history-tournament-sees-worst/

do you require anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Lost a lot of respect for this woman, an incredibly successful person who felt the need to use a victim card.

Would be saying how pathetic it was if I weren't so shocked by it.

****ing horrible people to act that way towards Osaka.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

Did you post any of your opinions in the Tennis forum?

Did you go to mass today?

Random pointless question time is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

What I find the most annoying about this is the fact she had time to calm down and still couldn't understand she was completely. That brings the arrogance to whole new level. She geniunely believes she owns tennis. Also watch she'll get her way, that umpire will never do a match with her again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭john123470

[font=FranklinITCProLight, HelveticaNeue, "Helvetica Neue Light", "Helvetica Neue", Helvetica, Arial, "Lucida Grande", sans-serif]It was tragic that Ms Osaka was made to feel so bad she had to apologise for winning and that all the attention went to a sore loser. ''Its not the result that WE wanted'' indeed. [/font]
    [font=FranklinITCProLight, HelveticaNeue, "Helvetica Neue Light", "Helvetica Neue", Helvetica, Arial, "Lucida Grande", sans-serif]HTF is that sportsmanlike !!!  Self entitled brat. [/font]
    [font=FranklinITCProLight, HelveticaNeue, "Helvetica Neue Light", "Helvetica Neue", Helvetica, Arial, "Lucida Grande", sans-serif]That was the greatest tragedy of this tennis match. [/font]

[font=FranklinITCProLight, HelveticaNeue, "Helvetica Neue Light", "Helvetica Neue", Helvetica, Arial, "Lucida Grande", sans-serif]The other was that such a great champion as Serena Williams had to end such an incredible career in such a knacker way. She needs counselling to sort out her ego. Its just a game. [/font]

[font=FranklinITCProLight, HelveticaNeue, "Helvetica Neue Light", "Helvetica Neue", Helvetica, Arial, "Lucida Grande", sans-serif]After all the great fortune that tennis has bestowed upon her, she should have jumped the net and embraced the Japanese woman with an outburst of joy and genuine warmth that someone else was sharing in that.  But no - Its all ME ME ME (too) these days. [/font]

[font=FranklinITCProLight, HelveticaNeue, Helvetica Neue Light, Helvetica Neue, Helvetica, Arial, Lucida Grande, sans-serif]Old dinosaur - move over.  You really tossed your toys out the pram on this one.  One fears for her daughter .. what if perhaps theres just 1 nappy too many to change on a bad hair day.  Yikers !![/font]

She geniunely believes she owns tennis. Also watch she'll get her way, that umpire will never do a match with her again.

its the beginning of the end for Serena

too many other young hungry players on the horizon

pity that she added this debacle to her legacy

but then again if she had to hold her hands up and apologize when the red mist lifted, this would not be such an issue today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Not the first time her opponents have left the court in tears. She's been a bully on the courts for many years, full of dislikable gamesmanship and used to getting her own way. Well past time to retire and let a younger generation a place in the sun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭per aspera ad astra

The world is becoming desperately polarised. They're winning – whoever they are. Soon there will be a war, man versus woman. Fools. That's what they want – whoever they are. Don't you realise we already are all the same? Do you not have mothers and fathers, brothers and sisters? Are we really so far apart? Are 50% of all people really your enemy? Fools. They're trying to divide us, men and woman. Trying to make us hate each-other – but I'm on to them, and they won't infect me. We are all the same, even with our differences, even if you can't see it. We've evolved, loved and lived together for billions of years – are we really enemies? Or are we just two halves that equal one?

'I'm crying and she's crying and I'm not sure if those are happy tears,' Williams said after the match. 'I was thinking this definitely wasn't how I felt when I won my first grand slam.'

Because when you won your first grand slam, the other player accepted defeat with some dignity and allowed you to enjoy your moment.
    At one point Williams even took the microphone and asked the crowd to stop booing.

'I know you guys were here rooting and I was rooting too but let's make this the best moment we can,' she said.

The ego.

She said some other vomit inducing nonsense about being a "strong woman" as further defence of her actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

erica74 wrote: »
    Because when you won your first grand slam, the other player accepted defeat with some dignity and allowed you to enjoy your moment.

The ego.

She said some other vomit inducing nonsense about being a "strong woman" as further defence of her actions.

And she's a mother. The mens' final tonight should really be decided by who has the most children

squawker wrote: »

Not only was he fined, he was also suspended.

Also fined and suspended.

Fined.
    do you require anymore?

Well I'm not sure what point you're trying to make, all of those male players were fined and/or suspended, equal to or worse than how Serena was treated so it doesn't really back up Serena's point about sexism as that poster was claiming.