When did you realise you weren’t really a young person anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Climbing over fences. Wondering if clothes you're about to buy are comfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

When you look at a festival lineup and don't recognise a single name on it

Most people going to EP haven't a notion who's playing.

Festivals in Ireland have been terrible the last few years.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

When dying my hair became necessary to cover the greys, as opposed to just when I felt like changing the colour.

When Tesco stopped asking me for ID if I'm buying booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,796 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

when you go to a party , wedding etc and work out where to sit based on how far from the noise you can get.

or parking the car so you can go home at a reasonable time and not get parked behind.

the biggest on for me was a few months ago. i was in a chipper and talking to the women behind the counter . got onto films. someone mentioned shrek and the young woman says oh i love old films like that. turns out the film was older than she was. i remember going to see that film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,911 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

When hairs started growing out of my ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,053 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

The sports stars for me. You see these professionals who are raking in the cash, called Veterans, professonals, etc etc.

I was 18 or 19. One minute it's like 'boom, the Leaving Cert is done!'. The next 'these guys have booming professions, and I'm looking for a job'. I annoy people tho, I'm a total dreamer, as in complete fantasist, love my imagination.

I've been lucky, I tend to pace myself when drinking, always have, so hangovers weren't an issue. All you have to do is drink liquids and sleep well. Always prided myself on being able to handle alcohol better than others, older and younger, but then again I've never over done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

When I was able to leaf through a broadsheet newspaper tidily without it turning into some unfoldable mass of creases with half the pages falling out.

I'm still young and I can't do that. I have to have the paper flat on the table to read it.

I always feel old when I hear some of the younger girls at work talking about lads and I'm instinctively like "oh, who's this now?" before realising they're in TY or something and I'm too old to know anyone in their year :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

For me it was when I heard Eminem being played on the radio.

The Larry Gogan golden hour. Died a little inside that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

When me and Mrs smartinmartina were invited to a 21st a couple of years ago. We were sitting down about a half hour when it suddenly dawned on me, "Fcuk, we're seated at the old people's table!". Really hated that. Still do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,053 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Kitty6277 wrote: »
    I'm still young and I can't do that. I have to have the paper flat on the table to read it.

I always feel old when I hear some of the younger girls at work talking about lads and I'm instinctively like "oh, who's this now?" before realising they're in TY or something and I'm too old to know anyone in their year :o

I had to try and hold it together (not laugh) when I heard a girl, who had just turned 18 shout 'I am so OLD!!!!'.

I was only a few years older than her, and was kind of laughing at it. Then realised, oh wait, I'm a guy-society treats us a lot differently. So for her, 20 is gonna feel middle aged. While a guy at 50 will be like 'Time to hit the bars'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

When I see young members of an Garda and wonder are they old enough to be driving that car :D
    When filling out an on line application and having to scroll down forever to find my birth year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Stared blankly into space sitting around a fire reciting tales to a few mid 20s folk and said "Back in my day".

I'm 31 ffs, too early for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

When in the shower and each time there's enough hair in the bottom to line a birds nest.

I'm 45 and still have long hair and wear AC/DC t-shirts and "try" to keep living the rocker lifestyle. But it's getting harder......can't drink as much as I used to and the bones creak if I've been sitting down too long.

Jeez, this is getting depressing! Have to break open a bottle of JD and turn the radio up to maybe 6. Can't put it too loud - it's 2:20am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,293 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I'm in the early half of my late twenties.
    I recently saw videos on YouTube when they played music for teenagers and they had to say if they knew the song or not.
    They had no idea who Snow Patrol, Kylie Minogue, etc were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

When someone offered to loan me the latest Now That's What I Call Music compilation, in case I wanted to copy the CDs or rip some MP3s. I recognised about 4 songs.

When I started seeing teenage girls wearing the same sort of ripped denim jeans, shoes and t-shirts I wore in the late 1980s...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭jimmy180sx

In rave in the woods

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 thewolfisloose

When the page 3 girls were younger than me; that freaked me right out. A more real example would be getting on the bus and the driver is younger than you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

When your dentist looks like a teenager.

when an actual young person went by me with the ball and i blew my knee out trying to catch him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

Making noises every time I stand up or sit down, this old fogey creaks.

When I'm listening to an "old school" music show on the radio and the dj plays a song and I think to myself "sure, what's that doing on there, that was out when I was young..."

When I have to input my date of birth on an online form and it calculates my age, obviously I know my age but seeing it there in black and white hits me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I don't pay a whole lot of attention to the fact that I am on the wrong side of 30. I believe it's an privilege to grow older, a privilege that is denied to many. I feel that deep down, nobody has a clue what they are doing or where they are going, at any age. Nobody fully has their sh!t together. We are all in the same race, young and old. Only difference is that some of us are smiling.

It's worth remembering that when you were say 19/20 or younger, you probably didn't spare much thought for the **** feelings people in their late 20s or older definitely would have felt about being out of touch with the culture and experience of people your age. Some things in life are simple, and the fact that it is better to be younger rather than older is one of them. I was in a bad way during what should have been the best years of my life and it still eats me up that I missed out. Those of us lucky enough to live past 24 got one chance to experience life aged 24 and younger (to place a rough figure on what the best years clearly are) and if you don't get to enjoy them for whatever reason, it's a harsh fact that you can never have another "go" at it.

It occurred to me recently that most of the people who did their Leaving Cert this year wouldn't have been born when I did mine.

Ah well, dead soon.
    I just did the maths on mine now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

when i was on the flat of my back . watching the surgeon on the screens overhead putting a stent in and doing a bit of plumbing work on smaller blockages . BIG dose of reality hit that day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

I spent the entirety of my 20's going to bed at 2am, up for 7.

Now it's bed for 12, up for 7:30, and i'm still knackered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Yieldcurve wrote: »
    Why do people consider it a bad thing to get older? What's so bad about it? I turn 34 in a couple of months and I don't see the big deal. Maybe 80 is bad because your body will begin to fail, but it just seems ridiculous that anyone under 40 would have a problem with feeling old.
    So you consider over 40 old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Millennium babies started getting learner permits for tractors and mopeds in 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭Dante

When I started developing intolerences to pretty much every food and drink I once loved in life.

No bread, no beer, no milk. I'm a shell of my former self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

CruelCoin wrote: »
    I spent the entirety of my 20's going to bed at 2am, up for 7.

Now it's bed for 12, up for 7:30, and i'm still knackered.

What age are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

When I politely asked a teenager to put the dumbbells he had finished using back onto the rack in the gym and he said to me “F*ck off OLD MAN”. I’m 45, and look younger (not a humblebrag before anyone suggests that!). It really hit me, was pretty much speechless; I guess as much for his reaction as to what he actually said. I’m not the violent type, but if he reacts like this to everyone he encounters he’s going to get his ass handed to him at some stage.