Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

jr86 wrote: »
    I certainly wouldn't write off someone 'left-field' coming into contention myself, and I personally don't think its as straightforward as Solan getting it by default

I see one of the rags are even linking Jack O'Connor to it

There's a lot of focus on the negative aspects of the job, but its still a team who have been in contention for the All Ireland for the last 6/7 years until this year (and who may just benefit from this break), there's a once in a generation talent pool of players, an opportunity to go down in folklore for getting them over the line etc. I can't see a massive shortage of candidates to be honest!
    Jack O’ Connor would be a great get but I suppose he is in line for the Kerry job .

Is this Mayo team past its best ? A few probably are .

PARlance wrote: »
    Can't really agree with that tbh.

If you back the manager, then you back:
    1. That he will have his team in place in good time AND
    2. That he will pick a good backroom team.

You don't go around giving him public deadlines, at a time when an awful lot of potential candidates are caught up in Club Championship. You don't go having a meeting, to have a meeting, to interview his backroom team.

The book should stop with the manager. If you trust them to be manager, then let them manage.

It's clear from Horan's quotes that he feels the County Board don't operate this way. Connolly wants to have far too much influence and attention.
    They , certainly some of them wanted him out . Rockford was left with no alternative in that situation .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

blinding wrote: »
    They , certainly some of them wanted him out . Rockford was left with no alternative in that situation .

Rockford?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I know where you are coming from. I don't know why. Except that people may not have been comfortable sharing the facts. I won't either in case they are wrong. Cora apparently said last night that it will all come out eventually. It will make more sense then.

They are not comfortable sharing facts with the people who are specifically there to investigate their grievances and who will do so in (presumably) a safe, secure and private environment? But they are ok with it all coming out in drips and drabs over time & being discussed all over the media & by randomers on the internet? That sounds like a great plan to further posion the waters of a pretty toxic well.

Am not getting in a dig at you btw, but if that is the players mindset, I've lost even more respect for them/her/Cora.

Kalyke wrote: »
    Rockford?
    It would take Jim Rockford to take on the Mayo County Board .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

blinding wrote: »

Is this Mayo team past its best ? A few probably are .

Overall, yes

However as the 2017 final and semi replay showed there are still days where they reach their "peak" level, even if its on a much more inconsistent basis.

In truth, we were lucky not to be ran by either Derry, Cork or Roscommon last year and potentially having all these conversations then. Gone are the days of strolling through Connacht

However the depth of competition really isn't that strong nowadays, so there's every reason for a new manager to feel with a few tweaks that Mayo can go deep again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Whitehorse

naughto wrote: »
    Yes all county managers would be a nice wack. Horan with Westport is on a tidy sum breaffy, Mitchell’s are all forking out for there managers

Why do you think Maugham is gone to Offaly

Don't think the Mitchell's managers get anything. They are all club men. Spend money on s/c ,gyms, video analysis, pool sessions etc. It has worked well for them in recent years. Some other clubs paying big expenses to managers with little or nothing to show for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Very surprised that Liam McHale isn't being considered as a front runner for the job. Ticks alot of boxes.

Letting John Maughan go to Offaly also a mistake. Brought the county the closest ever to an All Ireland win and doing well at club level. Will bring Offaly on alot.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

djPSB wrote: »
    Very surprised that Liam McHale isn't being considered as a front runner for the job. Ticks alot of boxes.

Letting John Maughan go to Offaly also a mistake. Brought the county the closest ever to an All Ireland win and doing well at club level. Will bring Offaly on alot.

Id say satan himself would have a better chance. McHale has burnt the bridge, pilaged the village and kidnapped the wives and kids of the County board. ;)

JM could have been interesting, but the game has changed a lot since his last inter county involvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

yop wrote: »
    Id say satan himself would have a better chance. McHale has burnt the bridge, pilaged the village and kidnapped the wives and kids of the County board. ;)

JM could have been interesting, but the game has changed a lot since his last inter county involvement.

If he does well with Offaly, I wonder does he become relevant for Mayo again in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

ProudDUB wrote:
    Am not getting in a dig at you btw, but if that is the players mindset, I've lost even more respect for them/her/Cora.

I agree with you. That's why I said I have sympathy for both sides. It's a mess from start to finish with a lot of ego in the mix too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭WanderlustIre

I agree with you. That's why I said I have sympathy for both sides. It's a mess from start to finish with a lot of ego in the mix too.

Only county I know that all men Women and Underages are off the wall with egos. Something needs to be done.

Come on lads ye are from Castlebar and Ballina- Yer not from Dublin, Wind it in.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

If he does well with Offaly, I wonder does he become relevant for Mayo again in the future.

If Offaly win a Lenister and topple Dublin then Ill drive up for him myself. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭blowitupref

djPSB wrote: »

I don't think the current Mayo group of players wants anything to do with McHale. Maughan wanted to manage Mayo U21s a few years ago and the county board said no to him as they picked a younger and more modern manager than him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Think it’s time for the cb and Rochford to kiss and make up.A new manager has no chance with this current group.One more year for Rochford........it could be the greatest ever!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    Think it’s time for the cb and Rochford to kiss and make up.A new manager has no chance with this current group.One more year for Rochford........it could be the greatest ever!!

As it turned out Rochford's last year was Mayo's worst year since John O'Mahony was manager. If Horan doesn't return it tells me that he knows Mayo are going into transition period with little or no chance of reaching All Ireland final next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

Pity there's a Kerry job going too, I'd love jack O'Connor to get the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Has Jack O Connor's stock not fallen significantly?

Oft accused of only taking on a squad on the way up.How would he handle a possibly in transition Mayo team?

Some poor results at underage in recent years.

That under 21 semi final against Galway in particular comes to mind.

I doubt he'd get a third opportunity to take the reins in Kerry.It appears that a lot of Kerry supporters don't want him.

The minor manager Peter Keane seems to be the front runner.

Can't see Jack travelling up here.Pie in the sky.

In his favour I'd imagine is his Il Duce modus operandi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭muddle84

Only county I know that all men Women and Underages are off the wall with egos. Something needs to be done.

Come on lads ye are from Castlebar and Ballina- Yer not from Dublin, Wind it in.

Everybody that plays football in Mayo is from Castlebar and Ballina?

muddle84 wrote: »
    Everybody that plays football in Mayo is from Castlebar and Ballina?

Sorry Belmullet, Davitts, Breaffy and every other club represented, Youre all ****e.

Are we just s***e or is it the egos thats the problem? Im confused

im joking just a smarmy reply to your smarmy post.

No egos have been an issue for years in Mayo.

im joking just a smarmy reply to your smarmy post.

No egos have been an issue for years in Mayo.

I toke your first post to be quite smarmy so fair enough. We will leave it at egos so!

PLayers in the panel not near good enough, not there on Merit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

The auld egos argument is back
    Good times

km79 wrote: »
    The auld egos argument is back
    Good times

So you dont think there has ever been egos?

PLayers in the panel not near good enough, not there on Merit.

Back to s***e so. But you might have a point there, you are suggesting there is players in Mayo that are better than the players on the panel. Which players on the panel are you referring to?

David Drake,Conor O Shea and perhaps a tad harsh Evan Regan.

He's had numerous chances and it's just not happened thus far.

Off top of my head I would list both these:

Think Conor Loftus doesnt deserve to be there, Dont think hes ready just yet.
    Brendan Harrison think he is poor for a side that is there and for what is ahead of him., although he has an All star.

seligehgit wrote: »
    David Drake,Conor O Shea and perhaps a tad harsh Evan Regan.

He's had numerous chances and it's just not happened thus far.

Id have COS too.

Off top of my head I would list both these:

Think Conor Loftus doesnt deserve to be there, Dont think hes ready just yet.
    Brendan Harrison think he is poor for a side that is there and for what is ahead of him., although he has an All star.

Conor Loftus will hopefully develop into a top top player given more regular playtime.

Brendan Harrison is an outstanding corner back when fully fit.