jr86 wrote: » I certainly wouldn't write off someone 'left-field' coming into contention myself, and I personally don't think its as straightforward as Solan getting it by default I see one of the rags are even linking Jack O'Connor to it There's a lot of focus on the negative aspects of the job, but its still a team who have been in contention for the All Ireland for the last 6/7 years until this year (and who may just benefit from this break), there's a once in a generation talent pool of players, an opportunity to go down in folklore for getting them over the line etc. I can't see a massive shortage of candidates to be honest!
PARlance wrote: » Can't really agree with that tbh. If you back the manager, then you back: 1. That he will have his team in place in good time AND 2. That he will pick a good backroom team. You don't go around giving him public deadlines, at a time when an awful lot of potential candidates are caught up in Club Championship. You don't go having a meeting, to have a meeting, to interview his backroom team. The book should stop with the manager. If you trust them to be manager, then let them manage. It's clear from Horan's quotes that he feels the County Board don't operate this way. Connolly wants to have far too much influence and attention.
blinding wrote: » They , certainly some of them wanted him out . Rockford was left with no alternative in that situation .
Westernyelp wrote: » I know where you are coming from. I don't know why. Except that people may not have been comfortable sharing the facts. I won't either in case they are wrong. Cora apparently said last night that it will all come out eventually. It will make more sense then.
Kalyke wrote: » Rockford?
blinding wrote: » Is this Mayo team past its best ? A few probably are .
naughto wrote: » Yes all county managers would be a nice wack. Horan with Westport is on a tidy sum breaffy, Mitchell’s are all forking out for there managers Why do you think Maugham is gone to Offaly
djPSB wrote: » Very surprised that Liam McHale isn't being considered as a front runner for the job. Ticks alot of boxes. Letting John Maughan go to Offaly also a mistake. Brought the county the closest ever to an All Ireland win and doing well at club level. Will bring Offaly on alot.
yop wrote: » Id say satan himself would have a better chance. McHale has burnt the bridge, pilaged the village and kidnapped the wives and kids of the County board. JM could have been interesting, but the game has changed a lot since his last inter county involvement.
ProudDUB wrote: Am not getting in a dig at you btw, but if that is the players mindset, I've lost even more respect for them/her/Cora.
Westernyelp wrote: » I agree with you. That's why I said I have sympathy for both sides. It's a mess from start to finish with a lot of ego in the mix too.
TCDStudent1 wrote: » If he does well with Offaly, I wonder does he become relevant for Mayo again in the future.
BENDYBINN wrote: » Think it’s time for the cb and Rochford to kiss and make up.A new manager has no chance with this current group.One more year for Rochford........it could be the greatest ever!!
WanderlustIre wrote: » Westernyelp wrote: » I agree with you. That's why I said I have sympathy for both sides. It's a mess from start to finish with a lot of ego in the mix too. Only county I know that all men Women and Underages are off the wall with egos. Something needs to be done. Come on lads ye are from Castlebar and Ballina- Yer not from Dublin, Wind it in.
WanderlustIre wrote: » muddle84 wrote: » Everybody that plays football in Mayo is from Castlebar and Ballina? Sorry Belmullet, Davitts, Breaffy and every other club represented, Youre all ****e.
muddle84 wrote: » Everybody that plays football in Mayo is from Castlebar and Ballina?
muddle84 wrote: » Are we just s***e or is it the egos thats the problem? Im confused
WanderlustIre wrote: » muddle84 wrote: » Are we just s***e or is it the egos thats the problem? Im confused im joking just a smarmy reply to your smarmy post. No egos have been an issue for years in Mayo.
muddle84 wrote: » I toke your first post to be quite smarmy so fair enough. We will leave it at egos so!
km79 wrote: » The auld egos argument is back Good times
WanderlustIre wrote: » muddle84 wrote: » I toke your first post to be quite smarmy so fair enough. We will leave it at egos so! PLayers in the panel not near good enough, not there on Merit.
muddle84 wrote: » Back to s***e so. But you might have a point there, you are suggesting there is players in Mayo that are better than the players on the panel. Which players on the panel are you referring to?
seligehgit wrote: » David Drake,Conor O Shea and perhaps a tad harsh Evan Regan. He's had numerous chances and it's just not happened thus far.
WanderlustIre wrote: » Off top of my head I would list both these: Think Conor Loftus doesnt deserve to be there, Dont think hes ready just yet. Brendan Harrison think he is poor for a side that is there and for what is ahead of him., although he has an All star.