If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Shakey_jake

I genuinely think a petition is the way forward and get it shared

This thread already has a view count of nearly 500k

I dunno, I'm not the best at perhaps wording things in bullet points as to what we are dis satisfied with but perhaps someone here could put together 5/6 points of change we can agree on and work from there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,397 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

This is just another bit of anecdotal evidence which shows how these ****ing leeches in our society are exacerbating existing problems. We hear all the time in the media about the cost of childcare, demand, etc. It is analogous to the housing crisis, where people who actually need the service can't avail of it. There are genuine families who need housing, and who I would have no problem supporting, but they are suffering as a result of the Margaret Cash and her ilk. It is bloody disgraceful and when the election rolls around next year, any politician that calls to me will be told exactly what the issues are.
    See this is the problem, and those are the people I feel most sorry for.
    The real homeless people. People that are leeches like the cashes are ruining it for the real homeless people. If you're homeless you don't go on about "your forever home" you look for a roof over your head and that your children and yourself have food to eat.

The cashes have made it harder for real homeless people as they have created negative sentiment towards homeless people and they have taken a house that should have been allocated to someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,947 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

He’s actually right.

Since I moved to Cork I have met some dole lifer parents.

Kids in the crèche for nearly 4 hours each day, cost €4 is a day.

Is that the ECCE scheme? - all kids are entitled to that parents working or not.

I'm one of the ones that paid in full, through the nose for creche from 11months right up to 5 years. And still pay - now at the much easier rate of €32 per day during the days school is out.

But the reason those kids with non-working parents get a free or very low cost place is to benefit the child, not the parent. Attending a montessori prepares them for school for everything from developing their pencil grip via fun activities to learning how to sit quietly for short periods, even toilet training in many cases.

It's really only offered by the government so that when September rolls kids are ready to sit in a classroom, pay attention to a teacher and learn. The fact it allows wasters to go back to bed until midday is a happy side effect for them.

For working parents, they get up to two years free too - it is only term time, 4 hrs x 5 days a week but it really cuts down your creche bill if your kid is in full time.

If the €4 a day is outwith the ECCE scheme, then it is a good way to get those who do want to go back to work into employment because if you look at the minimum wage rate, more than half of your take home rate would immediately be swallowed up by childcare so it's designed to encourage dolers back into work or people on a very low wage to stay working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,397 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Where do I sign!
    I agree with the post below yours. A petition is the best way to go about this. We could easily get thousands of signatures if even 20% of those who profess to be angry on this thread sign it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,104 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Does anyone know if Ms. Cash got a house in the end?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

Neyite wrote: »
    Is that the ECCE scheme?

No that is creche fees.

The ECCE scheme itself is free.

The hours are from 9am to 12.45 I was told.

Not much time to fit a part time job into that though and if they had a job the contribution goes us of course which many of those people don't like.

Fair play for paying the full whack though, must not be easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

ELM327 wrote: »
    I agree with the post below yours. A petition is the best way to go about this. We could easily get thousands of signatures if even 20% of those who profess to be angry on this thread sign it.
    I agree that it would be a good starting point. We just need someone to draft it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭jay0109

*ECCE scheme is only free in some places, usually outside of major urban areas. I had 1 in a Dublin montessori last year for the 1st of her 2 ECCE years and the top up required was €150 per month. All 4 similar montessori's/creche's near to us had a similar charge!
    To get around the rules, they opened at 8.30am instead of 9am.

I agree that it would be a good starting point. We just need someone to draft it

Online petition by someone who knows their stuff? which I don't :(

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,304 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I'm paying for 2 in Dublin, our choice to have them and its our responsibility to rear them. But we know we could not afford more children so won't be having them, that's the difference in a lot of cases.

jay0109 wrote: »
    *ECCE scheme is only free in some places, usually outside of major urban areas. I had 1 in a Dublin montessori last year for the 1st of her 2 ECCE years and the top up required was €150 per month. All 4 similar montessori's/creche's near to us had a similar charge!
    To get around the rules, they opened at 8.30am instead of 9am.

I stand corrected then possibly.

There is 1 place on the southside of Cork City, the place this couple told me about, that does €4 a day for creche at 3 days a week and ECCE for 2 years which is completely free once all the forms are returns and the all clear is given by the relative bodies.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,304 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Community Creche seems more formalised now as I look it up (my friends little one is 3 now) so may have changed some in those years

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/education/pre_school_education_and_childcare/community_childcare_subvention_programme.html

pc7 wrote: »
    I'm paying for 2 in Dublin, our choice to have them and its our responsibility to rear them. But we know we could not afford more children so won't be having them, that's the difference in a lot of cases.

I commend you also. It must not be easy. No doubt had you chosen the lifestyle of Ms Cash you'd have probably gained and saved more at the same time. Children are very costly I can see clearly based on people's experiences, but for people to see them as financial assets is very wrong.

, but for people to see them as financial assets is very wrong.

For the welfare system to make it more attractive and beneficial to have kids and not work is what is wrong. As per the posts earlier in the thread adding up the benefits in terms of rent allowance, medical cards etc. it doesn't incentivise some cohorts into the work place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭jay0109

I stand corrected then possibly.

There is 1 place on the southside of Cork City, the place this couple told me about, that does €4 a day for creche at 3 days a week and ECCE for 2 years which is completely free once all the forms are returns and the all clear is given by the relative bodies.

No, I think your right about free ceche places for children up to the age of 3 (when they then get ECCE). That's usually in community creches and paid for by the rest of us. I've read about a few of them in inner-city Dublin.
    But your average mortgage slave wouldn't have access to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,634 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Neyite wrote: »
    Is that the ECCE scheme? - all kids are entitled to that parents working or not.

No, the Childcare Subvention Scheme.
    But the reason those kids with non-working parents get a free or very low cost place is to benefit the child, not the parent. Attending a montessori prepares them for school for everything from developing their pencil grip via fun activities to learning how to sit quietly for short periods, even toilet training in many cases.

It's really only offered by the government so that when September rolls kids are ready to sit in a classroom, pay attention to a teacher and learn.
    It covers 'kids' up to age 15 - just about time for them to start thinking of starting a family of their own!

If the €4 a day is outwith the ECCE scheme, then it is a good way to get those who do want to go back to work into employment because if you look at the minimum wage rate, more than half of your take home rate would immediately be swallowed up by childcare so it's designed to encourage dolers back into work or people on a very low wage to stay working.
    Agreed, if that was the way it worked in practicality, but it isn't, as per the post above. Bear in mind as well that most of the social schemes that qualify for the highest rate of payment are those which necessarily preclude the parent from working - Disability Allowance etc (which any dosser worth their salt is on - Jobseekers is the equivalent of the scrounger L plate).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,947 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

We were a fair bit stretched all right. I'm so glad it's over. My first ever monthly payment was something like €890.

We needed IVF if we were ever going to have #2. We tried the lower cost fertility treatments but they didn't work. But with creche bills like that making ends not even meet, how do you find the money to gamble on IVF then if you are successful and have a baby, then pay double what you can barely afford in creche fees for #2.

I've no idea how parents of more than one do it at all.

Looked up my creche fees there I try ignore it. For 2 kids, with sibling discount, ECCE discount (sept-june), subvention for other smallie, total fees €1765 (without the discounts would be €2,200). We use the €280 child benefit towards it too, so in reality €1500 per month. I just tell myself it won't be forever.

Neyite that's tough, IVF is so expensive nevermind the emotional side of it x.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

People are correct.

If kids have parents who are “looking for work” they get free crèche places.

Believe me I’ve seen it first hand.

Single mothers who don’t work dropping off their kids in crèche and supposed to be out trying to get a job.

It’s a joke.

• Site Banned Posts: 210 ✭✭Sardine

My 2 friends were home from Germany recently, both from Dublin but have lived in Munich for about 15 years now. They were telling me all about incentives over there to get working people to have more kids. I think it's 18 months or 2 years maternity leave, shared between both parents. Creches are subsidised and easily affordable for most people. They've been Germanised having been there for so long and were shocked at this whole Cash saga. That entitlement culture doesn't exist over there. They'll never move back here because of things like this. It's just such a poorly run country in many ways, for all the money that's coming in we should be doing a lot better, not just with helping working parents, but things like public transport, municipal facilities etc.

I forgot to add they've had 2 German born kids so they know the ropes over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,509 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Sardine wrote: »
    My 2 friends were home from Germany recently, both from Dublin but have lived in Munich for about 15 years now. They were telling me all about incentives over there to get working people to have more kids. I think it's 18 months or 2 years maternity leave, shared between both parents. Creches are subsidised and easily affordable for most people. They've been Germanised having been there for so long and were shocked at this whole Cash saga. That entitlement culture doesn't exist over there. They'll never move back here because of things like this. It's just such a poorly run country in many ways, for all the money that's coming in we should be doing a lot better, not just with helping working parents, but things like public transport, municipal facilities etc.

I forgot to add they've had 2 German born kids so they know the ropes over there.

You know what...being controlled by Germany doesn’t seem so bad now.
    At least ze Germans would crack down on lazy ****ers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Shakey_jake

As i said before a petition needs to be drafted, we can all post here and complain but that wont change anything

Somewhere along the line it became more attractive not to work and that needs changing,

Blazer wrote: »
    You know what...being controlled by Germany doesn’t seem so bad now.
    At least ze Germans would crack down on lazy ****ers.

I've always said that. I'm not a fan of nationalism or any of that jazz so why not just outsource our Government and Civil Service to Zee Churmans? Least they know how to run a country.

Oh also in Germany if one of your kids is sick you just get a day off, you don't have to use your own holidays. They were unaware that was the case here!
    Jesus like the Government really need to start helping good working people out with incentives to have kids. I know so many smart intelligent good guys like myself (I'm 38), with no kids and good jobs, but any local scumbag knacker from my area has had a litter of them ages ago. There's going to be a huge underclass developing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,522 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Oh also in Germany if one of your kids is sick you just get a day off, you don't have to use your own holidays. They were unaware that was the case here!
    Jesus like the Government really need to start helping good working people out with incentives to have kids. I know so many smart intelligent good guys like myself (I'm 38), with no kids and good jobs, but any local scumbag knacker from my area has had a litter of them ages ago. There's going to be a huge underclass developing.
    Imagine Ireland followed the lead of a properly run country. No folks, the morons running the show here, will be further ballooning the welfare budget in October...

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Imagine Ireland followed the lead of a properly run country. No folks, the morons running the show here, will be further ballooning the welfare budget in October...

What's in it for them to boost welfare? Just to win votes? I can't imagine Mags Cash and her ilk voting?
    I doubt there'll be anyone I can vote for in the next election, we shall wait and see.

What's in it for them to boost welfare? Just to win votes? I can't imagine Mags Cash and her ilk voting?
    I doubt there'll be anyone I can vote for in the next election, we shall wait and see.

ok, the vast majority of the electorate contribute very little in direct taxes. Those in welfare wonderland, all they hear from the media (telling them what they want to hear) is how its so awful here. Yeah thats exactly what I expect to happen, further welfare increases, exacerbating the situation.

There are some insane graphs and stats on just how much the higher income earners here and crucified, Ill see if I can dig it out later and Ill post it up here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Social welfare isn't just the dole and lone parents' allowance. It also includes payments like child benefit and the state pension. Politicians love to buy the "gray vote" with increases to the state pension. They know that older people vote in heavy numbers, while young people are the least likely to go to the polls -- which is one reason why older people get far more from the state than the young do. Note for instance how the state pension was protected all through the recession years when the dole for under-25s was slashed to €100 a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Yep, I would imagine that the government ministers have some very well-educated (and well-paid) people working behind the scenes (in think tanks or whatever) who know how the electorate will respond to certain policies. Similar to how an economist can predict how a market will respond to changes, I bet there are socio-economic models to predict voting patterns. Or maybe I'm giving them too much credit! :D Anyway, the government are aware of the zeitgeist, which is that the PC brigade are currently voting in big numbers. Therefore, more liberal welfare policies will be embraced with open arms by them, thus ensuring more votes for the government.

That's my take anyway. I guess that theory is predicated on the PC brigade/left outnumbering the right in the voting stakes, so I'm not sure how accurate that is.

Sardine, take a read of the below.Christine Lagarde also wrote a great article on this scandal a few months ago.... Ill see if I can find that article later and will link to it...

http://www.davidmcwilliams.ie/in-ireland-the-old-get-richer-and-the-young-grow-poorer/

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/lagarde-calls-for-wealth-tax-to-span-income-gap-between-young-and-old-1.3366742