Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Ever heard of "Blood Street"? Kilkenny people on Waterford

• 28-08-2018 1:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭

RECKLESS TO BE IN "BLOOD STREET" AT THREE IN THE MORNING.

Rose's drinking spree in John Street until 3 AM.
    - Then she sinks the good name of Kilkenny by falsely attributing racism in national media.

- But "The Kilkenny Journal" leaps to the city's defence.

by Michael McGrath.

Certainly if it happened real racial abuse should not be tolerated - but what was a young woman of her age doing out in the street, a street notorious for low life and their drunken violence, actually nicknamed as "Blood Street" at three in the morning after a Saturday night on the town. The Gardai face real violence and have even faced a murder we know of after pub hours on that street.

Where was the drinking going on until 3.00 AM in the morning, what pub did she come from? Surely this is not behaviour worthy of a Rose to be "going around the streets at night", especially in such a notorious area on such a mad time of night. What else would anybody expect on John Street at Three in the Morning - you could get stabbed or raped , for God's sake. So why all this fuss about a load of shyte from some drunk in a chipper at that hour of the morning?

Surely she should have simply left and went home. The chipper itself is worse to be open at that ungodly hour - we all know of the violence that can erupt at chippers after hours. It's not a time of the morning for the newspapers to be expecting polite behaviour. People who frequent Blood Street at such a dangerous hour are reckless as to their own safety.

Instead we get sermons from the idiotic liberals of the media about some words from people drunk, probably drugged out of their heads as well. Kersten should thank her lucky stars it wasn't a lot worse and be more sensible in future about where she frequents and drinks at such a dangerous hour - because you can't argue with drunks who are out of their heads and she should know that.

No careful young ladies would allow themselves to be near that place at that hour and that is the truth of it. No young woman from our own family would dare be caught over there late on a Saturday night. John Street is a lovely place for the rest of the week. But late on Saturday night you risk getting your face smashed in for no reason whatsoever, because there is no reason in existence over there at that time of the morning.

As regards some racial remarks that was a real let-off for her if that's all that happened, and from the Garda statement it would appear so. We note that she did not allege to the gardai that any violence was threatened but chippers in the early hours of the morning after the pubs have closed are very dangerous places to frequent. Nice girls do not in fact enter there at such an hour. It's the same everywhere, you have to use your own cop on and be prepared to have to fight your way out and run if attacked. That's no place for any decent woman to be. Not even grown men would be over there at that hour after a Saturday night out.

Happily it ended peacefully without any injury. There's the old saying about "sticks and stones" - to get out of Blood Street at that hour on a Saturday morning is an achievement to be thankful for in itself.

Now you can go on to read all the song and dance the mainstream media made about it - without ever pointing out how grateful Kersten should be - and especially to the gardai - for getting away alive and unhurt.

But her only reaction was to phone the national media and bring national odium down on Kilkenny - though the entire city is blameless, for we were all at home and in our beds and sound asleep during that drunken episode in the chipper.

Here, just read the Dickhead in the Sun raving on without ever realising the danger that lurks always in such places at such ungodly hours wherever in the world one may be.
    And as regards racism, surely expressions of it happen in daylight hours and not when all good citizens are asleep in our beds at 3 AM. in the morning,
    https://www.facebook.com/KilkennyJournal/posts/1802383139829018

Ladies, lock yourselves at homes, for your own safety.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭914

Blood Street

"What else would anybody expect on John Street at Three in the Morning - you could get stabbed or raped , for God's sake"

And people think waterford is gone to the dogs!

I also love this post on the story by kilkenny journal...

"We respectfully suggest that she 'socialise' in Waterford at all hours instead of Kilkenny - after all she is their Rose.
    Then Kilkenny won't be unfairly loaded with the brunt of all the unsavoury criticism from the national media such as we paste as an example here."

• Registered Users Posts: 19,384 ✭✭✭✭road_high

This is the Kilkenny Journal ffs- makes the Sun look like the Irish Times. Your man is a dangerous fruit loop always for new racist angles. I thought he'd disappeared after the referendum but sadly not.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭914

road_high wrote: »
    This is the Kilkenny Journal ffs- makes the Sun look like the Irish Times. Your man is a dangerous fruit loop always for new racist angles. I thought he'd disappeared after the referendum but sadly not.

He seems a bit mad alright, in part he is "defending our city" and in the next he is saying your likely to be "stabbed or raped", what a nutter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I take it the Kilkenny Journal is a an A4 photocopied freesheet?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭granturismo

He's unhinged and an embarrassment;

https://kilkennyjournal.wordpress.com/

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/druid-accused-of-disorderly-acts-1.105454

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Dum_Dum

I take it the Kilkenny Journal is a an A4 photocopied freesheet?

I guess it is. Isn't the Kilkenny People the main paper up there anyway?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭robwen

Dum_Dum wrote: »
    I guess it is. Isn't the Kilkenny People the main paper up there anyway?

The Kilkenny Journal is not a real newspaper its the work of one loon Michael McGrath online only, he puts made up names (Ross Nichols etc) on some of the articles he writes to make it seem ike he has staff working for him, sadly plenty of people are falling for it

A little flavour of the man

https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/2ow5oa/i_couldnt_believe_that_this_want_a_satirical/

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057363666

http://www.politicalworld.org/showthread.php?16684-Identity-Ireland-Ireland-s-First-Openly-Racist-Political-Party

• Registered Users Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭dzilla

He sounds like he is from a black and white movie.

Hardly worth the space on the Waterford thread. Mods shut it down please :pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

I don't think he was mentioning anything about Waterford. It was John street in Kilkenny he was referring too.

Plus the guys an idiot.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Deiseen

Combine this with the furore over the Mosque and it doesn't look good for Kilkenny.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Unfortunately the internet and our propensity for clickbait gives fcukeneejits like this fella a platform and a sense of importance. Back in the day, he'd have been sitting on a bar stool with a 10 ft circle around him. Don't give him the oxygen of publicity!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,459 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Seriously I wish people would stop giving this muppet air, even creating this thread is driving traffic to his site and improving his visibility on Google.

He constantly makes up all sorts of nonsense and spreads false info, even the nickname of blood street is his creation. I've never ever heard this in KIlkenny,
    utter fairytale nonsense

Cabaal wrote: »
    Seriously I wish people would stop giving this muppet air, even creating this thread is driving traffic to his site and improving his visibility on Google.

He constantly makes up all sorts of nonsense and spreads false info, even the nickname of blood street is his creation. I've never ever heard this in KIlkenny,
    utter fairytale nonsense

There does seem to be an issue here.

Someone racially abused the rose of Tralee, you have this guy spouting nonsense (and somr KK people obviously listening) along with people going absolutely mental over a potential mosque.

Are you trying to say there isn't an issue in Kilkenny?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭granturismo

Deiseen wrote: »

Someone racially abused the rose of Tralee, you have this guy spouting nonsense (and somr KK people obviously listening) along with people going absolutely mental over a potential mosque.

Kilkenny has the same issues as any other urban area in the country. I dont see anything in the post you quoted trying to downplay attitudes unique to Kilkenny.

If you check out the racist rants of the 'joural' referred to in previous posts you will see he has like minded morons supporting his rants, in all parts of Ireland and abroad, not just 'and somre KK people obviously listening'

Ok some drunk guy called the rose of tralee names. I've seen altercations fights etc in both waterford and kilkenny. I've seen people racially abuse the Africans that used to work in night club bathrooms in Waterford on a number of occasions. This is just Anti Social behaviour caused by drunkness which is a problem all over Ireland. Why would you try make it out to be more.

Heres a story that was in the news not in the distant past about Waterford.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/behind-the-news-anti-roma-protests-in-waterford-1.1983698

https://www.todayfm.com/Waterford-Family-Tell-Of-Racist-Attacks-

My point about this is you can always find something to suggest issues with an area.

kilkenny31 wrote: »

Ok some drunk guy called the rose of tralee names. I've seen altercations fights etc in both waterford and kilkenny. I've seen people racially abuse the Africans that used to work in night club bathrooms in Waterford on a number of occasions. This is just Anti Social behaviour caused by drunkness which is a problem all over Ireland. Why would you try make it out to be more.

Heres a story that was in the news not in the distant past about Waterford.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/behind-the-news-anti-roma-protests-in-waterford-1.1983698

My point about this is you can always find something to suggest issues with an area.

Oh I know there's a huge problem in Ireland with racism. HUGE. We like to pretend we are the best lads in the world but we are far from it. And I know Waterford is no different.

But for such a small place, Kilkenny now seems to have a number of incidents that have taken place and maybe this guy is the cause of it all. Additionally, I saw in some news comments that some Asian tourists were spat on, could be BS but this carry on needs to be sorted out otherwise Kilkenny will get itself a bad name. Which is not good for the SE.

Seem to remember uproar a few years ago in Waterford with Roma families living in the city- are you trying to say that racist issues are somehow unique to Kilkenny over and above other places?

Oh I know there's a huge problem in Ireland with racism. HUGE. We like to pretend we are the best lads in the world but we are far from it. And I know Waterford is no different.

But for such a small place, Kilkenny now seems to have a number of incidents that have taken place and maybe this guy is the cause of it all. Additionally, I saw in some news comments that some Asian tourists were spat on, could be BS but this carry on needs to be sorted out otherwise Kilkenny will get itself a bad name. Which is not good for the SE.

You appear to have a not very subtle obsession with Kilkenny and appear to relish any opportunity to badmouth and belittle the place. Kilkenny is very safe but like anywhere that attracts huge crowds things can boil over at times.

What are you talking about? When have I ever badmouthed it???

Seem to remember uproar a few years ago in Waterford with Roma families living in the city- are you trying to say that racist issues are somehow unique to Kilkenny over and above other places?
    Can you read my other comment where I said that Ireland has a major issue with racism in general, and that Waterford is no different.
    My point is that it should be proportional and Kilkenny seems to have had a disproportionate amount of issues over the last while. I'm asking is there a problem, I never badmouthed the place, I love Kilkenny!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,459 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Kilkenny is no different to any other area of the country, the mosque thing was also driven by lots and lots of false info and lies spread by the same website that has created the blood street nonsense and it got a small minority of idiots upset, the vast majority in Kilkenny have and had no issue with it...in fairness they were already setup on the Freshford Road in KIlkenny.

Yes a racial issue occurred in John street in relation to the rose, yes it should be handled properly by the gardai and action should be taken under the law and any racist or bigot dealt with. but thats it,

There isn't anything super special otherwise about Kilkenny, people in Kilkenny interact with people from all over the world daily and thats not just tourists and its not limited to just the city either.

Kilkenny is no different to any other area of the country, the mosque thing was also driven by lots and lots of false info and lies spread by the same website that has created the blood street nonsense and it got a small minority of idiots upset, the vast majority in Kilkenny have and had no issue with it...in fairness they were already setup on the Freshford Road in KIlkenny.

Yes a racial issue occurred in John street in relation to the rose, yes it should be handled properly by the gardai and action should be taken under the law and any racist or bigot dealt with. but thats it,

There isn't anything super special otherwise about Kilkenny, people in Kilkenny interact with people from all over the world daily and thats not just tourists and its not limited to just the city either.

See, that's all I was asking!

I had a good feeling there might be a connection between these incidents and this guy's website.

Would not be surprised if the rose of Tralee incident also had its roots with this fellas paper.

This is a problem that needs to be sorted. These people feel enabled when they read an "established" source of news that feeds into their beliefs. This problem will only get worse down the road. But what can you do?

• Registered Users Posts: 894 ✭✭✭azimuth17

Don't know why anyone is even bothered with this sh**e.

azimuth17 wrote: »
    Don't know why anyone is even bothered with this sh**e.

some people like drama and hate, the same people also read "shudder"....theliberal.ie
    Another hate filled little website with an awful misleading name, its far from liberal

Can you read my other comment where I said that Ireland has a major issue with racism in general, and that Waterford is no different.
    My point is that it should be proportional and Kilkenny seems to have had a disproportionate amount of issues over the last while. I'm asking is there a problem, I never badmouthed the place, I love Kilkenny!

But how can you say that. Look the point is the rose of tralee got abused by a drunk person because of the colour of her skin. Which is horrific. But people of colour are possibly getting abused up and down the country by drunk people every night of the week. You can't then say that Kilkenny has a disproportionate level of these things. If she wasn't the rose of tralee it wouldn't be in the news.

Two years ago Kilkenny wad voted the friendliest city in the world by a Japanese travel magazine. So the many tourists from that country obviously experience no incidents and felt very welcome.

Ireland has a problem with racism the same as every country in the world. But to highlight one place because of one incident is ridiculous and to say that Kilkenny had disproportionatly more incidents is laughable. What about an evidence based approach to this. Maybe come back to us with some figures that show Kilkenny has a disproportionate number of racist incidents. I've given you two examples from Waterford, if I find two more I could say that racism appears to be an epidemic in Waterford even tho it's not the case.

kilkenny31 wrote: »

But how can you say that. Look the point is the rose of tralee got abused by a drunk person because of the colour of her skin. Which is horrific. But people of colour are possibly getting abused up and down the country by drunk people every night of the week. You can't then say that Kilkenny has a disproportionate level of these things. If she wasn't the rose of tralee it wouldn't be in the news.

Two years ago Kilkenny wad voted the friendliest city in the world by a Japanese travel magazine. So the many tourists from that country obviously experience no incidents and felt very welcome.

Ireland has a problem with racism the same as every country in the world. But to highlight one place because of one incident is ridiculous and to say that Kilkenny had disproportionatly more incidents is laughable. What about an evidence based approach to this. Maybe come back to us with some figures that show Kilkenny has a disproportionate number of racist incidents. I've given you two examples from Waterford, if I find two more I could say that racism appears to be an epidemic in Waterford even tho it's not the case.

I can say disproportionate because there's been a number of news events involving Kilkenny, maybe unluckily, but telling me that I'm talking out of my backside, just because I'm asking questions is not the way to address this.

Kilkenny is the 11th biggest urban centre in Ireland so should have very little in terms of this kind of nonsense, at least in the news.

Waterford has had incidents, I'm not saying it hasn't or that they were in any way acceptable. But for a place less than half the size of Waterford you have 3/4 events in the news. I didn't put them there, all I'm doing is asking a question about where the issue is coming from (and it seems obvious that it is this newspaper) and you are all losing your mind rather than accept that this guy is giving Kilkenny a bad name.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

Haven't seen any stats on racist incidents per county but we all know there are dopes everywhere, kk and Waterford.

Waterford has had incidents, I'm not saying it hasn't or that they were in any way acceptable. But for a place less than half the size of Waterford you have 3/4 events in the news. I didn't put them there, all I'm doing is asking a question about where the issue is coming from (and it seems obvious that it is this newspaper) and you are all losing your mind rather than accept that this guy is giving Kilkenny a bad name.

But you're asking a question with little more then two news articles behind it, in all honesty you appear to be actually trying to make this bigger then it is. :confused:

You can find stories about Waterford if you look, they are far far worse ends to them then what you are talking about in Kilkenny.

Thats not trying to excuse the racist idiots in Kilkenny or for that matter anywhere else but if you want to get proper numbers the base it on the CSO......not news reports as they are simply no where near accurate enough to get a proper picture.

For those Waterford stories, check out for example

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/waterford-anti-roma-protests-criticised-as-cowardly-and-racist-1.1978572
    Anti-Roma protests in Waterford city over the weekend have been described as “cowardly, prejudiced and racist” by Minister of State for Equality, Aodhán Ó Ríordáin........upwards of 60 people gathered outside their house in the Manor Street area on Saturday evening, chanting “Roma, out, out, out”. Windows were smashed and a door was kicked in, it was reported.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/brazilian-factory-worker-guilty-of-manslaughter-over-stabbing-of-man-on-waterford-street-36246579.html
    A Brazilian meat factory worker who stabbed to death a man who had assaulted and racially abused him was found not guilty of murder but guilty of manslaughter by a jury this evening.

But you're asking a question with little more then two news articles behind it, in all honesty you appear to be actually trying to make this bigger then it is. :confused:

You can find stories about Waterford if you look, they are far far worse ends to them then what you are talking about in Kilkenny.

Thats not trying to excuse the racist idiots in Kilkenny or for that matter anywhere else but if you want to get proper numbers the base it on the CSO......not news reports as they are simply no where near accurate.

For those Waterford stories, check out for example

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/waterford-anti-roma-protests-criticised-as-cowardly-and-racist-1.1978572
    Anti-Roma protests in Waterford city over the weekend have been described as “cowardly, prejudiced and racist” by Minister of State for Equality, Aodhán Ó Ríordáin........upwards of 60 people gathered outside their house in the Manor Street area on Saturday evening, chanting “Roma, out, out, out”. Windows were smashed and a door was kicked in, it was reported.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/brazilian-factory-worker-guilty-of-manslaughter-over-stabbing-of-man-on-waterford-street-36246579.html
    A Brazilian meat factory worker who stabbed to death a man who had assaulted and racially abused him was found not guilty of murder but guilty of manslaughter by a jury this evening.

We are getting rightly regional now as the guy who was racist towards the Brazilian, was actually from Wexford! I'm not saying Waterford is any better but it is bigger so you do expect some of these incidents.

Lads, if you cannot see that this Kilkenny journal guy is causing damage to Kilkenny then there's no point in discussing. You seem more annoyed with me for saying it.

Go onto Twitter or Facebook and see what people are saying, I'm not the one saying bad things about Kilkenny or making it bigger than it is because there are plenty others doing that right now as we speak.

Lads, if you cannot see that this Kilkenny journal guy is causing damage to Kilkenny then there's no point in discussing. You seem more annoyed with me for saying it.

The guy who the more air time you give to the more you benefit him, he is best off ignored and nobody should even comment on his website/facebook page etc