Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So who's going to see the Pope?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Hearing from my friends there’s a fairly low turnout at the protest event

Must say, I’m surprised. I thought there’d be a huge crowd protesting. But no, seemingly not.

It hasn’t started yet.

Btw, it’s not a protest.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Where can I see what you are all watching

• Registered Users Posts: 12,393 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

I want the job of standing on the side of a car doing security.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

Beechwood to shortly claim a million in Phoenix Park with a wonderful atmosphere

• Registered Users Posts: 19,388 ✭✭✭✭road_high

RTE One

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I actually don't object to the €32m spend if on reflection it turns out to be a massive overreaction on the part of authorities, and they come to properly realise just how little the Irish people care about Catholicism any more.

I've been driving around the Dublin suburbs yesterday and today, and the Garda presence is huge but the traffic is light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

road_high wrote: »
    The security are quite heavy handed. Shouldering women and children out of the way :eek:
    Not very Christian is it?

In fairness, there was a lot of gobdaws not getting out of the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,894 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

RTE Player. If you haven't got TV like me!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭emo72

turn out looks really bad. that high camera rte has really giving the game away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭jrkb

Looks like a very disappointing turnout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

Overhead camera on phoenix park makes the crowd look very sparse indeed...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,087 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Looks like the begrudgers didn’t get their way.
    Huge turnout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Plague Maiden

Poor turnout in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 67,013 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Gael23 wrote: »
    Huge turnout

What????????? :D:D:D

Jaysus.

906_C1282-81_E0-4_FEF-_AA15-8_BD09069_D4_B9.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

batgoat wrote: »
    Beechwood to shortly claim a million in Phoenix Park with a wonderful atmosphere

07-minister.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 23,491 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The commentator on Sky News has done alot of research and really knows his stuff!

jrkb wrote: »
    Looks like a very disappointing turnout.

Weather crap, logistics very difficult for many. Hours of hanging around, walking in the rain, and BACK again. A bit offputting for many.

I know of no one in mine or my mum's generation going, and we are close enough to the venue too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

Its filling up bit by bit I'd say

• Registered Users Posts: 24,288 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Weather crap, logistics very difficult for many. Hours of hanging around, walking in the rain, and BACK again. A bit offputting for many.

I know of no one in mine or my mum's generation going, and we are close enough to the venue too!

Fair-weather catholics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Gael23 wrote:
    Looks like the begrudgers didn’t get their way. Huge turnout

The footage on TV and online contradicts you but hey if it makes you feel better.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Jaysus.

906_C1282-81_E0-4_FEF-_AA15-8_BD09069_D4_B9.jpg

"The most attended Papal mass ever" - Sean Spicer

Gael23 wrote: »
    Huge turnout

You must be watching Metallica at the Rock am Ring festival. Switch over to the Pope on RTE1.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Must be a sign from above then

Hasn't rained this much in months ....

The rain hasn't been that bad in Leinster this morning. Though yesterday would have been the ideal day to have the outdoor stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Anyone able to guess what the turnout is? Doesn't look anything close to half a million

Excuses, excuses. ;)

Sounds like Glastonbury which sells out in 4 minutes every year.

emo72 wrote: »
    turn out looks really bad. that high camera rte has really giving the game away.

They have been quick to move on from that angle each time!

road_high wrote: »
    The rain hasn't been that bad in Leinster this morning. Though yesterday would have been the ideal day to have the outdoor stuff.

God spoke first though didn't he for today, if you believe in all that.