Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So who's going to see the Pope?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,388 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

awec wrote: »
    Or people outraged by institutional abuse, paedophilia and subsequent cover up by an organisation that still refuses to make amends, that still acts like it has a shred of moral authority and that still behaves like it should have any influence in modern Ireland.

But I'll let you decide for yourself.

Said people have no problem whatsoever dishing out harsh criticisms in all directions.....not too fond on receiving any though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,084 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Discodog wrote: »
    Most Muslims I have met are far more christian than the church goers.

The same muslims who pass kids around for everyone to have a go on the kid?

Yeah much better raped by a gang. Hipster tendencies trump kids safety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

Well I have looked at most of the religions in the World & the RC Church would be right at the bottom of my list.

Ha ha
    Ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Rosie2018 wrote: »
    Too bad dog.

Too bad that the RC will barely exist in Ireland. It's a fast decline

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

You can't prove they are wrong and that Christianity and other religions had a role in 'taming the savage nature of man' as the Greek philosophers used say.

You can see nothing good in Christianity and never will. It's myopic.

Well religion obviously refined man, from the very first animal gods to modern religion. Its why humans survived

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 160 ✭✭Rosie2018

That's not how it works.

Well I'm afraid it does. I gave you factual changes post Christianity. You gave me opinion.

Ha ha
    Ha ha

Glad you agree

• Administrators Posts: 55,068 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Well I'm afraid it does. I gave you factual changes post Christianity. You gave me opinion.
    No no. You gave me opinion, do not get confused and think otherwise.

I don't have to prove you wrong. That is like me saying I am jesus himself, you must prove me wrong otherwise I am unquestionably correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,678 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

irishman86 wrote: »
    Well religion obviously refined man, from the very first animal gods to modern religion. Its why humans survived

Was that what all those religious wars and butchery that went on, was for? Refining men? Who knew!

• Administrators Posts: 55,068 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

More nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,084 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Glad you agree

It was a great joke tbf. Didn't know you did comedy.

Religion had to exist. People had to be scared in order to obey. But that has changed, we have the law now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,225 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Serious question..

Why are all these anti pope Francis visit people watching him on tv??

What kind of 'revolutionaries' are ye?

This thread is nothing, the loonies over in Twitter want Francis locked up, the cops must have been scratching their heads when that popped up on their Twitter feed.

pjohnson wrote: »
    It was a great joke tbf. Didn't know you did comedy.

How christian is dismissing other faiths ?

Too bad that the RC will barely exist in Ireland. It's a fast decline

Look it's survived for a millennium and a half. You're commenting from 1 year, 2018. It may decline, revive. It's faced stern tests. Don't put your house on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

What a farce, this man sitting there like a king in the medieval ages.

It’s embarrassing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

Look it's survived for a millennium and a half. You're commenting from 1 year, 2018. It may decline, revive. It's faced stern tests. Don't put your house on it.

It will die off.

Oh I don't need to. Where are you going to get the priests from ? Oh we can ordain women - wait maybe not.

Gay marriage, abortion, you can't stop the tide

Autochange wrote: »
    There was no argument. I did it and some can't accept it.

How do you know you prevented 35 people from attending the Phoenix Park event who were pro the pope? You may have stopped 35 going who wanted to protest against this "poison" as you so eloquently put it. At the end of the day your action was selfish and not based on principle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,719 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Throw in a tarmac deal for the Vatican

A traveller grandmother is speaking now. She's speaking very well.

No no. You gave me opinion, do not get confused and think otherwise.

I don't have to prove you wrong. That is like me saying I am jesus himself, you must prove me wrong otherwise I am unquestionably correct.

Totally different. Charting evolution of learning in early Christian Europe etc and your opinion that things would happen 'spontaneously'. Out of your depth son, just because you're a mod doesn't mean you can talk crap, absolute crap here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Thats fairly unremarkable in the grand scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,678 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

It’s embarrassing.

Well the structure hasn't changed in a very very long time. RC's seem happy with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

Glad you agree

Allah fcuking Akhbar bud. That is all.

HA HA- A selfie with the Pope - brilliant. :D

It’s embarrassing.

Middle ages Kings thought they were chosen by God, so does the Pope. Proof if ever needed that God doesn't exist :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

seamus wrote: »
    Thats fairly unremarkable in the grand scheme.

1,500 years? Pretty long lasting.

Allah fcuking Akhbar bud. That is all.

Oh dear. half a pint too many ?

Oh I don't need to. Where are you going to get the priests from ? Oh we can ordain women - wait maybe not.

Gay marriage, abortion, you can't stop the tide

Married priests will come about through time, women priests, Africa, Asia.

P.s. The Tide goes out after it comes in.