If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I am furious , where could I highlight this and make it known ?

Nowhere it seems - the media have their spin and they ain't budging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭jay0109

The Indo must have moved in with her so as to get the 1st headline on every utterance

Homeless mother-of-seven Margaret Cash to move into new home today following 'genuine mix-up'
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/homeless-motherofseven-margaret-cash-to-move-into-new-home-today-following-genuine-mixup-37247887.html
    Homeless mother-of-seven Margaret Cash is to move into a new home in north Dublin today after she had to leave her temporary accommodation following a "genuine mix up"....
    South Dublin County Council will now work towards securing Ms Cash a more permanent home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭arleitiss

****ing rat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

I have just come across a huge anomaly and discrimination on the social welfare system that angers me

I only wish it were an anomaly.

But it seems to be the rule in Ireland that people who never worked a day in their lives get treated better under the welfare system than everyone else.

I'd warrant that Ms. Cash has more disposable income and a better chance of a nice home in Dublin than many PhDs, thanks to her talent for having unprotected sex and popping out babies at a record pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I only wish it were an anomaly.

But it seems to be the rule in Ireland that people who never worked a day in their lives get treated better under the welfare system than everyone else.

I'd warrant that Ms. Cash has more disposable income and a better chance of a nice home in Dublin than many PhDs, thanks to her talent for having unprotected sex and popping out babies at a record pace.

I am formulating an e mail right now and will send it to Regina Doherty , Leo Varadker and all my local TDs .I am shocked to see this discrimination .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,495 ✭✭✭Wheety

I had a conversation a few years ago with a friend who believed that everyone is entitled to a home and the homeless should be picked up off the streets and given houses. I explained that if this were to happen, you would have people becoming homeless for a few months to get their free house. I said it would be never ending and the working people would resent having to work and pay taxes and mortgages/rent. He said to me a few weeks later that he has changed his way of thinking on that. (The conversation wasn't that simple but that was the jist).

I think a long time ago when houses were maybe 3 x a persons salary, there may have been merit in housing people who couldn't afford it. My Father worked very long hours and my Mother was at home looking after us. People didn't have a problem with social housing.

However as the cost of houses have gone through the roof, not just this boom but since the 2000s, you now have people purposely taking advantage of social housing. When houses are 10 x one person's salary some have decided to have children and apply for housing. I know of people receiving over €1000 a month towards their rent.

You have working couples and they are putting off having kids because they can't afford it. They're both working flat out and coming home and seeing their neighbours playing with their kids in the garden. When they think they can afford to have a kid they pay €1000+ for creche.

For many young people growing up now, they see this as their only way to afford a house. The numbers seeking 'free' housing are only going to go up. What's the solution? I don't know the answer but Regina Doherty will have to come up with something better than 'tax the workers'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭autumnbelle

I have just come across a huge anomaly and discrimination on the social welfare system that angers me

Job seekers benefit is for those who have worked and paid credits and tax ,But they now take the history of pay for that person from 2016 .So lets say a person age 30 earned less in 2016 for any reason ie maternity benefit , looking after a sick child etc .His benefit is reduced in 2018 because of that .He is now reduced to €155 a week

Weekly Jobseeker's Benefit payment from 22 March 2018

Average weekly earnings Personal rate

€150 - €219.99 €127.80
    €220 - €299.99 €155.10
    €300 or more €198.00

Now take Job seekers Allowance .Given to those with not enough credits , never worked a day , never paid tax .Age 30

Jobseeker's Allowance rates from 21 March 2018
    Age Maximum personal rate I
    Aged 26 and over €198.00
    Aged 25 €152.80
    Aged 18-24 €107.70

So the one who worked for 10 years and earned a bit less in 2016 gets less money than the one who never worked a day in their life .
    This is an absolute disgrace , its discrimination towards the one who worked and now finds themselves without a job due to circumstances .

Is this for real

• Site Banned Posts: 210 ✭✭Sardine

I am formulating an e mail right now and will send it to Regina Doherty , Leo Varadker and all my local TDs .I am shocked to see this discrimination .

I've mailed Reggie D too. Tell her you wont vote for her or her party and try and convince everyone you know not to. I implore the rest of you who are unhappy with this situation to do the same. It will only take a minute.

regina.doherty@oir.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Wheety wrote: »
    You have working couples and they are putting off having kids because they can't afford it. They're both working flat out and coming home and seeing their neighbours playing with their kids in the garden. When they think they can afford to have a kid they pay €1000+ for creche.

For many young people growing up now, they see this as their only way to afford a house. The numbers seeking 'free' housing are only going to go up. What's the solution? I don't know the answer but Regina Doherty will have to come up with something better than 'tax the workers'.

I think it's very dangerous to have a system like this. Consider a 16-year-old who followed the standard parental and teacherly advice to study hard, get a good Leaving Cert, go to college, get a job, work hard, and avoid getting pregnant until she has the means to support a child. After more than a decade of doing things the "right" way, she potentially winds up in her 30s despairing of ever being able to afford children or buy a house in Dublin.

Then look at people like Ms. Cash, who didn't even go to secondary school. She has never worked, and has devoted herself since age 16 to getting pregnant and having kids. She's raking in the welfare payments, and now has South Dublin County Council bending over backwards to find her a permanent home in an area of her choosing. She'll undoubtedly go on to have more kids, meaning more welfare.

Given this calculus, how do we explain to young people why they should live responsible lives? What's their incentive to study, work, and get up at 7 every morning only to wake up in their 30s and feel like the only people who get rewarded in society are those who refuse to contribute and demand everything for free?

This is simply not a healthy society. Those who defend it in the interests of "fairness" are ignoring the fact that it's not fair to have one sector of society who contribute everything and get nothing, and another sector of society who contribute nothing and get everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Is this for real

Yes . Look it up . Its in black and white for all to figure out . Dreadful discrimination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

What I am sending to Regina

Dear Minister Doherty,

I am a Meath East constituent who voted for you in the last general election. I have worked at a senior level in multinational companies in Ireland for many years and have supported significant job creation and retention. As I write to you today I am incensed by the blatant unfairness in the Irish social welfare and taxation systems.

The recent coverage of the Margaret Cash affair has highlighted the ridiculous entitlement culture that exists among a significant subsection of our population. While I have great sympathy for her children Ms Cash deserves no such sympathy. A convicted criminal with access to significant disposable income but no will to support herself or her children. The liberal media in Ireland are fawning over Ms Cash with our state broadcaster at the forefront. Where is the hardworking tax payer, who pays for Ms Cash’s lifestyle represented. The answer is that they are not, neither by our public representatives or the main stream media.

It has recently been reported that you and the government intend to raise PRSI in the upcoming budget, presumably to pay for ne’er do wells such as Ms Cash and other citizens who have never worked a day in their life or contributed a penny to the social welfare system continue to bleed the hard working citizens dry.

The anger among the working public is palpable! Regarding social welfare I have specific questions I would like answered:-

1. What are the government’s plans to create a fair social welfare system where contribution to the public purse is rewarded and people are weaned off long term benefits?
    2. What do you intend to do about social welfare fraud?
    3. How will you reduce the social welfare burden on the tax payer?

Secondly regarding taxation.

I would like to highlight a portion of the Irish Tax Institute’s 2016 report regarding the “progressiveness” of the Irish tax system

A worker on €120,000:
    Earns 6.7 times the amount of a person on €18,000 and pays over 83 times the amount of tax.
    Earns almost 4.8 times the salary of a person on €25,000 but pays 14.8 times the tax.
    Earns almost 3.4 times the salary of a person on €35,000 but pays 7.6 times the tax.

While the figures will have changed very slightly they are broadly the same in 2018. What are your thoughts on this topic. How much more can the working public pay? When will we see success and hard work rewarded. There is no strong voice supporting the hard working public however we have AAA/PBP Sinn Fein and others constantly suggesting people earning €100k + are “wealthy” and should be taxed more. Who will stand up for us?

Unfortunately based on some of your extremely left leaning policies, and I refer to you specifically, I will be unable to vote for you in any upcoming election and will encourage other working people to do the same. However I believe if someone/some party stands up for those generating the funds which support Ms Cash and others like her they will achieve a landslide victory in the next election.

I await your reply.

Yours faithfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Is this for real
    It is technically correct but the applicant can opt for the means tested JSA payment instead of the non means test and prsi related JSB payment. You should only get the lower JSB rate if you have means e.g. over 20k in the bank or another property, a working spouse etc.

• Site Banned Posts: 210 ✭✭Sardine

jjmcclure wrote: »
    What I am sending to Regina

Dear Minister Doherty...

Good man, more of the same please lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Shakey_jake

Just sent that to all my local td's in Dublin bay north

ta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,640 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Job seekers benefit is for those who have worked and paid credits and tax ,But they now take the history of pay for that person from 2016 .So lets say a person age 30 earned less in 2016 for any reason ie maternity benefit , looking after a sick child etc .His benefit is reduced in 2018 because of that .He is now reduced to €155 a week

Weekly Jobseeker's Benefit payment from 22 March 2018

Average weekly earnings Personal rate

€150 - €219.99 €127.80
    €220 - €299.99 €155.10
    €300 or more €198.00

Now take Job seekers Allowance .Given to those with not enough credits , never worked a day , never paid tax .Age 30

Jobseeker's Allowance rates from 21 March 2018
    Age Maximum personal rate I
    Aged 26 and over €198.00
    Aged 25 €152.80
    Aged 18-24 €107.70

So the one who worked for 10 years and earned a bit less in 2016 gets less money than the one who never worked a day in their life .
    This is an absolute disgrace , its discrimination towards the one who worked and now finds themselves without a job due to circumstances .

It gets even better. Jobseekers Benefit - which of course is the initial 'dole' for someone who has worked enough to have sufficient PRSI credits - was reduced from a max of 12 months to 9 months a few years ago. This was a 25% reduction in dole entitlement which only affected those who had worked up to that point. Yet at the same time Jobseekers Allowance - the dosser's dole - wasn't touched! I was shocked when this went through yet there was barely a mention in the media or online, not to mind any criticism.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

It gets even better. Jobseekers Benefit - which of course is the initial 'dole' for someone who has worked enough to have sufficient PRSI credits - was reduced from a max of 12 months to 9 months a few years ago. This was a 25% reduction in dole entitlement which only affected those who had worked up to that point. Yet at the same time Jobseekers Allowance - the dosser's dole - wasn't touched! I was shocked when this went through yet there was barely a mention in the media or online, not to mind any criticism.

I remember when Unemployment Benefit was changed to Jobseekers.

A former colleague (sadly still working there God help him!) asked "Can we give that to someone not looking for work ?" and was told "Everyone without a job is looking for one".

Stay off drugs kids!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

A message from Ms Cash and her ilk to us workers :mad:

2wnbdpv.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Post it here so we can do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,516 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

make sure Pascal's copied on it..he's the lad in charge of our taxes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭VonZan

Not only should people be writing to their local TDs about this, they should also be contacting the Independent for their biased and unbalanced reporting on this issue.

VonZan wrote: »
    Not only should people be writing to their local TDs about this, they should also be contacting the Independent for their biased and unbalanced reporting on this issue.

practically every newspaper.
    I have a relation working for the journal and there hasn't been a single peep from her on this.
    I'm telling you we need either a paper or radio boycott to teach them a lesson. They won't be long copping on when their viewing/listening figures drop for a prime program or paper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Blazer wrote: »

Paschal Donohoe can be found here: paschal.donohoe@oireachtas.ie
    And the Ministerial office at the Department of Finance & Public Expenditure and Reform is here: minister@per.gov.ie

He's on twitter as well @pascald but that's only 280 characters of writing

I doubt they even read twitter. Regina's been getting dogs abuse ever since this story broke and she's ignored it all completely.
    Same goes for the Independent and Miriam.

If enough people supported boycott we could refuse to buy the independent, remove their app,change the radio channel in the morning from newstalk to someone else, uninstall the journal app, ask people not to retweet anything from rte, miriam, independent, journal etc.
    In other words...hit them where it hurts..once figures start dropping for them they're going to take a huge advertising hit..who's going to paid for ads on newwtalk if no one is listening to the prime slot in the morning etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

If she was already being housed through the SDCC, why are the other councils getting involved?

I’d say it’s already been asked in here but that’s a lot of posts to sift through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

I doubt they even read twitter. Regina's been getting dogs abuse ever since this story broke and she's ignored it all completely.
    Same goes for the Independent and Miriam.

If enough people supported boycott we could refuse to buy the independent, remove their app,change the radio channel in the morning from newstalk to someone else, uninstall the journal app, ask people not to retweet anything from rte, miriam, independent, journal etc.
    In other words...hit them where it hurts..once figures start dropping for them they're going to take a huge advertising hit..who's going to paid for ads on newwtalk if no one is listening to the prime slot in the morning etc?

Surprisingly enough ........ this would work.
    But the emphasis should be on the advertisers.

RTE and Newstalk do not give a crap about regular folk (contributors to society), but if people started contacting their advertisers and mentioned the word Boycott, then the tune would start to change.

If she was already being housed through the SDCC, why are the other councils getting involved?

I’d say it’s already been asked in here but that’s a lot of posts to sift through.

I have no doubt that other councils are getting nervous as they will have 'Ms Cash's' of their own to contend with now as a result of this.

Or should I say 'Ms Jones' & 'Ms O'Driscoll' in Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭tretorn

I dont understand either how she can be offered an apartment in the City Centre and a house in North Dublin.

Can you be on housing lists in different local authorities. It looks like the local authorities are moving mountains to house this woman and her brood because of her ability to manipulate the media, this is very unfair to the other people waiting patiently to be housed.

tretorn wrote: »
    I dont understand either how she can be offered an apartment in the City Centre and a house in North Dublin.

Can you be on housing lists in different local authorities. It looks like the local authorities are moving mountains to house this woman and her brood because of her ability to manipulate the media, this is very unfair to the other people waiting patiently to be housed.

It’s opening the chancer floodgates now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

tretorn wrote: »

I haven't followed this story closely, but it could be through homeless services, not local authority housing, and you can only be on 1 waiting list at a time.

The media have to take the lions share of blame here without question, they love a good 'housing crisis' story and this fits the bill perfectly. They're preteneding to present this wasters sob story in a balanced, objective manner when in reality they couldn't care less about her, her children, the homeless etc etc, it's all about rating, nothing more.

The reality is, this story should never have been reported, it was a publicity stunt by a leech on society and now the local authorities and homeless services are shrambling around to accommodate this useless cúnt just so they don't look bad.