The midlands - say something nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭liam7831

Bog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

It may be full of farmers, but those farmers are more important to the country than some cityslicker that cannot contribute anything other than a stupid accent and a useless opinion on just about anything that moves..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

beertons wrote: »
    More lads selling munching turf.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭StereoSound

The Mullingar traveling community are supposed to be very nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

biko wrote: »
    It may be full of farmers, but those farmers are more important to the country than some cityslicker that cannot contribute anything other than a stupid accent and a useless opinion on just about anything that moves..

You shouldn’t have to resort to putting people and areas down to make your area look good Biko, this name calling only lets yourself down. Nobodies more important than anyone no matter who pulls in the money or who gets the subsidies.

My tuppence;

Inland Waterways, canals, lakes and rivers
    Craic
    Baking summers
    Beef
    Wildlife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

OOnegative wrote: »
    What counties are you defining as the Midlands?
    The ones that used to be at the bottom of the prehistoric lake left after the ice age.

Bogland and such.

It's great to get back there evenings and weekends away from scummy Dubs.

Is the Dublin city motto ACTUALLY "2 euro for a hostel ?"

There’s something else nice to say; some of ye actually remember to go home instead of competing with Dubs for housing in Dublin, all the while moaning about Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭Feisar

I don't know why but yer post made me think about this song:

I'm from the Gar and no, no they are not a nice bunch.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭Feisar

I don't know why but yer post made me think about this song:

I'm from the Gar and no, no they are not a nice bunch.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Generally speaking the absence of scripted speech by staff in restaurants , pubs. This does my nut in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭NOVA MCMXCIV

The midlands, unlike RTE – is not b*stardful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

Auld Maggie Cashs relations are generally around in the AM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Can anyone talk about the Midlands without talking about the capital?

This is a thread about the nice things in the Midlands and all ye lot can talk about is Dublin!! I'm a Dub and I've better things to say about the Midlands than you lot!!

I live there. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Can anyone talk about the Midlands without talking about the capital?

This is a thread about the nice things in the Midlands and all ye lot can talk about is Dublin!! I'm a Dub and I've better things to say about the Midlands!!

Bits of Dublin are in the East Midlands.

It's the other way around bro. Bits or the Midlands are considered "Dublin commuter towns"!!

Anyway, more about the midlands!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

It's quite good for cyclists

It's got a telescope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I've never heard anyone say the midlands is full of d*ckheads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I've never heard anyone say the midlands is full of d*ckheads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 70 ✭✭warsaw2018

down de bohom a de rooaaad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

That sculpture on the M6 that looks like the various stages of Pacman eating a ghost, and the one on the M4 that looks like a giant polo mint making a break for it by rolling down a hill.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 70 ✭✭warsaw2018

croagh patrick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

At least it's not Cork.

Reported.
    You fcuking langer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭satguy

Been living in the Midlands for 25years,, Last 12years in Portlaoise, Have been very very happy.

If Portlaoise had an airport, I would never have drive up the M7 again..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Mailcoachinn

Slieve Bloom Mountains,
    A beach (no, really I’m serious),
    Emo Court & Gardens,
    Tracey’s Bar,
    Rathdaire Lake,
    The Heath,
    Abbeyleix,
    Stradbally,
    Eddie Kirwan’s Pub,
    Kavanagh’s,
    Swimming in the Nore in Castletown,

That’s County Laois alone & even then I could go on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

No jellyfish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭satguy

No M50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Newbridge is a handy town for shopping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Ian OB

I live there. :P

Me too. It's great!ðŸ‘