If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

Sardine wrote: »
    I looked at her Facebook last week. Some girl with a foreign surname commented on why she had so many kids, or why she doesn't work, and Mags's friends went bananas at the girl for being foreign and coming over here taking all our jobs etc.
    The irony!

Sweet jesus the ironing.
    tom1ie wrote: »
    How do ya know that?

Because she's basically giving an interview to the sun and/or the mirror every second day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

erica74 wrote: »
    Sweet jesus the ironing.

Because she's basically giving an interview to the sun and/or the mirror every second day.

She's probably getting a bit of coin for those interviews too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

There is a VAST VAST difference between pure eugenics to wipe out a race and family planning/limitation measures for people who refuse to show responsibility and expect everyone to pay for their chosen life.

It's very difficult to enforce family planning measures.

How does the state make Ms. Cash go on the pill, or force Mr. Cash to wear a condom? What if they say that it's against their (presumably Catholic) religion to use contraception, and take the state to court for violation of their religious liberty?

Regulating family size would also fall afoul of numerous UN declarations, such as that "any choice and decision with regard to the size of the family must inevitably rest with the family itself, and cannot be made by anyone else" (1966 Declaration on Population).

Contraception is never 100% effective anyway. So even if you could make them use it, they would just continue to have "accidental" pregnancies.

What the state can do is put a cap on how much any one family can receive in welfare. As soon as an additional child becomes a liability rather than an asset, the calculus around continued reproduction will shift.

• Site Banned Posts: 160 ✭✭dermo888

Sardine wrote: »
    Foreigners are always an easy target to the underclass.

I want her (the friend) and her ilk out of the country.

Yeah it's mad, I live near the Lidl beside Darndale and a few times there's been kids running around knocking things off shelves calling the security guard "n*gger" to his face and running off. Nothing the poor guy can do.
    - That breaks my heart. You've got these guys migrating here, working to make an honest living and get ahead. Meanwhile, the Irish version of Donald Trump supporters. Deplorables. Crackers. White Trash go and engage in this type of abuse.

We need labour camps for these skangers, run by the Army.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

She could pay rent at market rates with the amount she's getting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭bobbyss

JohnCleary wrote:
    When I was a landlord, and also when I was a tenant, in the Lease that I would sign, it ALWAYS stated that posters / fixings etc. were NOT to be put on the walls, as it could damage the paint etc.

JohnCleary wrote:
    I presume Ms. Cash will have painted the walls where the posters would have left marks.

JohnCleary wrote:
    Also, they're not THEIR walls, they're the Landlords walls.

Putting up posters is not a trivial thing as you have rightly pointed out. It can prove an expensive business to repair walls and paint and so on. That's why there are contracts.

With that in mind I was wondering would tenants like M Cash have to sign such a contract with such stipulations for emergency housing? Is that monitored?

I am not quite sure if she has to leave the apartment in Parnell Street as I think someone said (may be herself?) that the landlord wanted to rent it from early September. I don't know the ins and outs of this but why couldn't he rent it to her? How can the landlord in a sense evict her ? Is that legal? If you were a landlord again, how would you feel about renting to her long-term?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

bobbyss wrote: »
    Putting up posters is not a trivial thing as you have rightly pointed out. It can prove an expensive business to repair walls and paint and so on. That's why there are contracts.

With that in mind I was wondering would tenants like M Cash have to sign such a contract with such stipulations for emergency housing? Is that monitored?

I am not quite sure if she has to leave the apartment in Parnell Street as I think someone said (may be herself?) that the landlord wanted to rent it from early September. I don't know the ins and outs of this but why couldn't he rent it to her? How can the landlord in a sense evict her ? Is that legal? If you were a landlord again, how would you feel about renting to her long-term?
    It was a month to month tenancy. He is well within his rights. Why should he rent it to her if he has arranged to rent it to other people from September? Should they loose out because of her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,893 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

She could pay rent at market rates with the amount she's getting

She probably could if she could bring herself to live within a tight budget.

Having said that, she's a barely functioning adult with not much more than a primary school education so it's an unlikely option realistically speaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

padd b1975 wrote: »
    She probably could if she could bring herself to live within a tight budget.

Having said that, she's a barely functioning adult with not much more than a primary school education so it's an unlikely option realistically speaking.

Give her and others like her life skill classes .(no attending no payments)

Here is a card that can be used in multiple stores that only covers the bare basics ,if you want more, earn more and pay for anything else you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Gatling wrote:

Here is a card that can be used in multiple stores that only covers the bare basics ,if you want more earn more and pay for anything else you want

Damn good idea. Sensible. Easy to implement. Why hasn't something like that been implemented before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

She's probably getting a bit of coin for those interviews too.

Enough to put her over the income threshold? :pac:
    Gatling wrote: »

Here is a card that can be used in multiple stores that only covers the bare basics ,if you want more earn more and pay for anything else you want

That's what people like her need, she is beyond traditional education but needs some life skills and common sense - common sense to teach her that if she can't afford one child and if she can't raise one child well, then she shouldn't have 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,407 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Which Garda station is she going to go to on Friday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,816 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Someone mentioned the German welfare system earlier and it's stringent implications.
    Anyone care to explain it to me?

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

It's very difficult to enforce family planning measures.

It's rather easy. Only pay children's allowance for 2 kids. Nothing after that

Few questions guys.
    If we were to cap child benefit after the second kid would people want it just to cut children's allowance or the weekly payment they'd get off social welfare of they were unemployed?
    Would they want back to school allowance and medical cards also cut for the 3rd/4th child etc.
    Would you also deny them a college Grant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Few questions guys.
    If we were to cap child benefit after the second kid would people want it just to cut children's allowance or the weekly payment they'd get off social welfare of they were unemployed?
    Would they want back to school allowance and medical cards also cut for the 3rd/4th child etc.

Yes.

Kids should be a privilege to have and something you really want and can afford. If you can't afford them, don't have them. If it's easy to do, you can probably allow for exceptions such as if person is made unemployed that they might get extra support for children for 12 months or something, but outside of that, government shouldn't be subsidising people to have kids.

Yes, I am aware of the looming pension crisis and an aging workforce, but I really don't think kicking the can down the road by encouraging more children is an effective solution to combating that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,629 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Few questions guys.

If the parents went out to work, or if they couldn’t get a job, actively took part in community service than they would be entitled to all benefits.

Thanks for the replies.
    I was just wondering how the whole thing would work out if benefits were drastically cut.
    Would kids simply end up in care or foster homes which also costs a packet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,094 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Yes but it wouldn't create the benefit trap. Fostinering 1000 kids is cheaper than supporting 100000 through dole allowances and housing.

Nobody wants to cause any minor hardship bit the current setup is wholly unsustainable in any country.

Fingers crossed they'll allow married women enter the Rose of Tralee next year.
    Margaret could be our Dublin Rose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭Icsics

Fingers crossed they'll allow married women enter the Rose of Tralee next year.
    Margaret could be our Dublin Rose!
    And if she's not picked it'll be because she's a traveller!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 70 ✭✭warsaw2018

this thread should be shut down
    leave johnny cash alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

warsaw2018 wrote: »
    this thread should be shut down
    leave johnny cash alone

Johnny needs a Johnny for his own Johnny cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭Icsics

Margaret's back in the news (Indo) this am, council lied to her, what'll she tell her kids etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Silent Running

Ancient Chinese proverb.... if you can't feed them, don't breed them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Icsics wrote: »
    Margaret's back in the news (Indo) this am, council lied to her, what'll she tell her kids etc etc

I hear they’re preparing a YouTube video.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭pleas advice

And if she's not picked it'll be because she's a traveller!

That'll be the next thing now, they had the lesbian rose, then the Black Rose, Gypsy Rose is surely next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/what-do-i-tell-my-kids-i-feel-heartbroken-mumofseven-margaret-cash-told-she-must-leave-home-given-to-her-by-council-37240086.html

I’m guessing What happened there was that the landlord found out who the council put into his apartment and said no ****ing way. Drumcondra next stop. I’d expect a similar reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Skelet0n

Ancient Chinese proverb.... if you can't feed them, don't breed them.

Thoughtful that they made it rhyme in English too.

The Chinese, a great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,489 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Few questions guys.
    Yes, no funding past second child for anyone, across the board, for all allowances.