Deirdre Jacob missing twenty years Today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

He supposedly told the carlow survivor details of his life and that she was not the first he’d attacked. She knew after he had told her such details that he fully intended to kill her that night except by sheer luck/Fate those men arrived on the scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭jonbravo

He'd have killed the carlow woman if not caught.

Yes... Badly
    I'm thinking a serial killer would use a blunt object.
    He repeated raping 3 or more time.
    Time enough to kill.... Just not enough time to weaken and repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

STB. wrote: »
    In the case of JoJo Dullard the case was dealth with badly by AGS. There was confidential and private information given to them that was released to the newspapers. It has been alleged that this was an attempt to sully the character of the victim. Gemma O Doherty who I see has put herself forward for the presidency has written extensively and has alleged A Garda Coverup because of political connections.

https://mobile.twitter.com/gemmaod1/status/1007716663008092176

Her family have long since maintained that they know who the killer is and that they were told by a senior inestigating Garda that they knew who he was, that she had been murdered and buried in plastic with a particular Hymac digger on the land belonging to the suspected killer in Wicklow. They also claim that this guard says that the investigation would go nowhere due to political intervention.

It is also alleged that this man was the last person to see JoJo alive as he was the man who gave her a lift from castledermot to moone having been in Offaly earlier that day.

It has also been suggested that a private investigator on behalf of the family visited this man at the time and that he had visible scratch marks on his face.

It is also claimed that he was inconsistent with his stories to AGS in interviews at the time and that his car was professionally cleaned shortly afterwards.

Gemma O Doherty attempted to question this man recently and her story is below.

https://mobile.twitter.com/gemmaod1/status/871139365816291331

What an absolute load of ****e completely unsubstantiated in any manner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Who is John crear?

Phyllis Murphy (RIP) body found raped and strangled in 1979 in the Wicklow Gap.
    Unsolved at the time. But evidence and samples were retained. Due to advances in DNA science a positive match was made in 1997 I think. Led to the conviction a few years later of retired Army Sergeant John Crerar from Kildare.

He then became a person of interest and was questioned in connection with the disappearances of other women in Leinster in the 1990s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Gemma odoherty has a lot of theories and most of them are crack pot.

She turns up to a house to question someone. They have no obligation to talk to her whatsoever.

Nothing sinister about shuting the door in her face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Edgware wrote: »

Although all of that stuff has been mentioned before in this thread, it is nonsense

Not least because a person thumbing a lift from Dublin to Kilkenny would be traveling in the wrong direction if accepting a lift from Castledermot to Moone :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Ande1975

LM would have been between the ages of 27 and 32 approx when the women went missing.

I just think I believe the prisoner’s account that LM admitted to DJ’s abduction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

How so ?

These are claims made by the family and by journalists covering the story.

How so ?

Which are not substantiated in any way to be fair.

Laois_Man wrote: »

Although all of that stuff has been mentioned before in this thread, it is nonsense

Not least because a person thumbing a lift from Dublin to Kilkenny would be traveling in the wrong direction if accepting a lift from Castledermot to Moone :cool:

I read this thread from start to finish. You are one of the more fascinating posters on thread by the way as you seem quite familiar with some of these investigations.

I've read extensive articles on the claimd made by the family that make quite serious allegations. Why have these allegations not been investigated ? They have been repeated by journalists who clearly have the name of the suspect.

It seems strange to me that the last person to have seen JoJo alive has been reluctant to discuss the matter ever. At least I have never seen an article.

Btw. It was me who got the starting point of the last know hitched lift. It was Kilcullen to Moone. There were subsequent claimed sighting in castledermot which is further on towards kilkenny.

I read this thread from start to finish. You are one of the more fascinating posters on thread by the way as you seem quite familiar with some of these investigations.

I've read extensive articles on the claimd made by the family that make quite serious allegations. Why have these allegations not been investigated ? They have been repeated by journalists who clearly have the name of the suspect.

It seems strange to me that the last person to have seen JoJo alive has been reluctant to discuss the matter ever. At least I have never seen an article.

The last person to alledgedly see jojo alive.

Which are not substantiated in any way to be fair.

Substantiated ?

Where the allegations even investigated ?

Substantiated ?

Where the allegations even investigated ?

Well i presume there would need to be substantiated evidence for gardai to investigate the allegations.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

You’ve never seen an interview with the last couple who saw Deirdre Jacob alive either. There’s no interpretation on it.

Jojo was picked up from the phone box by someone who knew she was thumbing even tho she wasn’t thumbing at the time. So it was somebody she had conversed with beforehand, which may very well be the person who brought her to Moone. But there’s a bit too much nonsense about a digger being suspicious on a building site. There were loads of other rumors too about a derelict cottage, a slurry tank etc

It might be alleged that this someone she knew was the same person who had given her the lift from Kilcullen to Moone ?

I would find it hard to believe that she knew anyone in this small village. She had hitchhiked her way in at least two cars at that stage ?

There are missing pieces in the reporting the most glaring for me is what the discrepancies in the interviews with the suspect were.

The claims of the private investigator employed by the family were surely investigated by AGS at the time given these so called inconsistencies ?

What about the letter to the family by an ex girlfriend of the suspect who said what the suspect might be capable of. This letter was also handed in to AGS.

Did Gemma o Doherty really mention the word sinister when attempting to interview the suspect at his home in Wicklow recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭jonbravo

Time to bring these girls home.

Dig boardie's Dig!

Thanks for info all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭allenview

Has it ever been established what type of car LM was driving at the time DJ went missing.

It might be alleged that this someone she knew was the same person who had given her the lift from Kilcullen to Moone ?

I would find it hard to believe that she knew anyone in this small village. She had hitchhiked her way in at least two cars at that stage ?

There are missing pieces in the reporting the most glaring for me is what the discrepancies in the interviews with the suspect were.

The claims of the private investigator employed by the family were surely investigated by AGS at the time given these so called inconsistencies ?

What about the letter to the family by an ex girlfriend of the suspect who said what the suspect might be capable of. This letter was also handed in to AGS.

Did Gemma o Doherty really mention the word sinister when attempting to interview the suspect at his home in Wicklow recently?

We don’t know who else Jojo spoke to in Moone village....if anyone

Jojo’s sister also claimed the removal of the phone box was part of the conspiracy - even though every phone box in the country was being removed around that time....the turn of the millennium. There were no and still are no prominent FG politicians from that part of Kildare / Wicklow and the notion that the culprit told daddy with connections that he murdered soneone....and daddy told those connections, who instructed Gardai to let it go.....and all agreed to work together to make sure he got away with it....ludicrous!

Laois_Man wrote: »

We don’t know who else Jojo spoke to in Moone village....if anyone

Jojo’s sister also claimed the removal of the phone box was part of the conspiracy - even though every phone box in the country was being removed around that time....the turn of the millennium. There were no and still are no prominent FG politicians from that part of Kildare / Wicklow and the notion that the culprit told daddy with connections that he murdered soneone....and daddy told those connections, who instructed Gardai to let it go.....and all agreed to work together to make sure he got away with it....ludicrous!

Is the person who gave JoJo a lift from Kilcullen to Moone not known (as in interviewed) to Gardai ? I think he was.

Wasn't he interviewed at least twice ? Isn't this the last confirmed person to have seen her ?

Is it a case that this man has nothing to answer for ? It may well be but it is not me that has made these allegations but the victim's family and some journalists.

And I agree that some of these allegations seem quite far fetched. However if Maurice McCabe has thought us anything, everything is possible. There are quite a stack of questions that arise from the allegations put forward.

The most pertinant of which might be whether AGS satisfied themselves that there is no case to answer and if so why not make a statement to that affect for the sake of all including the alleged unnamed suspect.

Is the person who gave JoJo a lift from Kilcullen to Moone not known (as in interviewed) to Gardai ? I think he was.

Wasn't he interviewed at least twice ? Isn't this the last confirmed person to have seen her ?

Is it a case that this man has nothing to answer for ? It may well be but it is not me that has made these allegations but the victim's family and some journalists.

And I agree that some of these allegations seem quite far fetched. However if Maurice McCabe has thought us anything, everything is possible. There are quite a stack of questions that arise from the allegations put forward.

The most pertinant of which might be whether AGS satisfied themselves that there is no case to answer and if so why not make a statement to that affect for the sake of all including the alleged unnamed suspect.

The person who gave Jojo a lift from Kilcullen to Moone voluntarily came forward. He was not uncovered by any masterful investigation or third party informant

There is evidence that she made it to Castledermot close to midnight but the person who gave her that lift never came forward and it has never been confirmed it actually was Jojo.

She was attempting to thumb while talking in the Moone phone box but that box was on the wrong side of the road from where she needed to be thumbing from....awkward.

I personally believe it was LM even more so than in the DJ case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,267 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I just remembered this now. In 2012 the Gardai searched and removed the concrete base of some cabin Larry in regard the missing women.
    I remember at the time people were really expecting an outcome as well.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/cabin-at-centre-of-search-for-missing-women-179704.html

You'd think though how did the wife not notice something if indeed he is a serial killer.

Gemma Dwyer knew precisely nothing of her killer husband Graham Dwyer's sick side. These calculating fcuks are capable of leading double lives. He stabbed multiple women and killed one that we know of in poor Elaine O Hara.

That creep Mark Hennessy had a family too. They found out like the rest of us.

I'm sure there are umpteen examples of wives/partners etc finding out horrible revelations after arrests happen.

They are victims too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

How so ?

Claims. Thats all they are. No evidence that would stand up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Ande1975

There doesn’t seem to be a whole lot of information about the disappearance of Jo Jo with details of coverups and conspiracies.

Is it true she was moving home from Dublin that night? She lived in Harold’s cross. If she missed her bus I would have thought she would sleep on someone’s floor. She was out with friends. I am the same age as Jo Jo... no way would I have chanced that.

Interesting she was later seen leaning in the back of a dark Toyota carolla, LM alluded that he picked DJ in a dark red saloon ( albeit 3 years later)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭julyjane

I find it very strange that the gardai "know" such details about JJDs disappearance, wrapped in plastic and a digger used etc. but can't prove any of it. Another article linked above refers to "a traveller with a history of violent crime" being a chief person of interest. So a traveller who's family are also big landowners who are very well connected politically, to FG? it stinks to me of gardai leaking different bits and pieces and the media swallowing anything they can get.

Claims. Thats all they are. No evidence that would stand up

Unless you are a member of the investigating team or the DPP you will not know that. Are you ?

I gather the biggest issue in this case is that the claims have not been investigated by AGS. It's why other posters have expressed varying degrees of unease with the AGS investigation. Another factor here is that the gardai should really put to bed the invalid claims that have been made. It's unhelpful to all to keepth quoting the words it's an ongoing investigation. It's ongoing 20 years.

I found your one line dismissal of these claims and articles as unhelpful and quite defensive.

Aside from that I watched an interview with the now departed relative of JoJo in which she claimed that the chief suspect in the Fiona pender case and the chief suspect in the JoJo dullard case where known to each other through college. I haven't seen those claims printed anywhere.

She also said that the chief suspect was interviewed 3 times.

Ande1975 wrote: »
    There doesn’t seem to be a whole lot of information about the disappearance of Jo Jo with details of coverups and conspiracies.

Is it true she was moving home from Dublin that night? She lived in Harold’s cross. If she missed her bus I would have thought she would sleep on someone’s floor. She was out with friends. I am the same age as Jo Jo... no way would I have chanced that.

Interesting she was later seen leaning in the back of a dark Toyota carolla, LM alluded that he picked DJ in a dark red saloon ( albeit 3 years later)

It was 1995, people thumbed places all the time, lads mainly but it was not uncommon to see single girls out thumbing at anytime day or night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,466 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Ande1975 wrote: »

The reason you wouldn't consider hitching is because of Jo Jo.

Hitching was a very common way of getting around and while many wouldn't consider Hitching at night plenty still did and sometimes if you were a long time waiting for a lift you could find yourself unintentionally thumbing a lift in the dark. Or your connecting bus could fly right past you at the bus stop or not show up at all. That was pretty common in rural areas amd happenef to me more than once.So, you'd be left with no choice but to hitch sometimes.
    Most drivers were and still are very decent folk just looking to help out and for a bit of company.
    But after Jo Jo disappeared hitching as a common means of transport just stopped here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭xalot

Not wanting to drag the thread off topic but the disappearance of JoJo is different to Deirdre Jacob in that Deirdre seems to have disappeared into thin air whereas there are two separate leads with Jo Jo (according to books written Alan Bailey and Barry Cummins - the former far superior imo). I summarized below but it's very long!

There were witnesses that saw jo jo on the phone with the phone box door open so thumbing at the same time as talking to her friend at 11.40pm, she was on the phone for approx 2 mins so she didn't have to know the the people who picked her up as she was openly thumbing. She had planned to spend the night with an ex and they had booked a hotel room but his current girlfriend spotted them and put a halt to that. She had missed the last bus home so had to take the bus to Naas and thumb for there.

After that she took a lift part of the way from a person who came forward and was ruled out. She then took a second lift from this 'politically related person'. Who dropped her at Moone. The first theory is is that that person circled round and came back for her. The family believe this person killed her as he was sketchy when interviewed, they hired a private detective (6 months later) who observed a scar on his face, which could mean anything. He was building a property where they believe Jo Jo is buried, however according to Alan Bailey these works were completed before Jo Jo was taken.

The interesting thing about the politician angle is why did the guards force a woman to say she took a lift with JoJo to Carlow. Why deliberately try to move the investigation away from Moone? Was it just a publicity issue or more sinister. Also, why tarnish her name by leaking her previous abortion?

The second possibility, the 'Traveller' story I find more plausible. A woman saw JoJo getting into a car in Moone, in the back seat - which implies there were two people already in the front of the car. Separately (a year later) a taxi driver came forward to say that he saw a car with english reg plates pulled up at the side of the road, one guy was taking a wizz, he saw a girl with no shoes run from the car only to be dragged back in by her hair by a second male. This was Ireland in the 90's and he thought he should 'mind his own business'.

Separately, a female member of the travelling community who was incarcerated (and looking for a deal) came forward to say that she was coming back from Dublin with friends and two men who were driving one of the cars picked up a girl and brought her back to their house where they raped and killed her. The body was disposed in Kerry a few days later. She brought guards to random area in Kerry but nothing was found as she couldn't pinpoint location.

Of course there's always the possibility LM just happened to be driving by, or any other creep for that matter. But there are definitely more leads than in poor Deirdre's case.