Hungary Scrap Gender Studies Indoctrination Courses

Brian? wrote: »
    I wanted written because I wanted to understand your reasons and my own. This is all very rational. I can’t honestly argue with any of it. Thanks.

I don’t know. I’m not trying to be awkward. But your answer has given me pause for thought. I was prepared for the standard associations with paedophilia, the bathroom outrage and so on. I wasn’t actually prepared for some to give a thought provoking answer. Damn you!

I don't equate transgender issues with paedophilia whatsoever. They're apples and oranges. Don't care who goes to the toilet where. My gaff has a unisex toilet, so do plenty of offices.

LLMMLL wrote: »
    cis women.

Or as they're more commonly known, women.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I wasn’t actually prepared for some to give a thought provoking answer. Damn you!
    Eh, the fact that something this bloody obvious seems not to have occurred to you and you consider that a "thought provoking answer" is the question you should maybe ask yourself?
    Do you really think six year old kids should be exposed to a grown arsed person dressed as another six year old? Do you not think this may be just a tad confusing for them?
    I would be far happier about the gimp TBH, as at least they're parading their fetish around similarly inclined adults. They're not sitting down for a kids "play date". Can you tell the difference between those yet,
    A middle aged person in a child's dress pretending to be a six year old as a "lifestyle choice" is one thing. At best it's a fetish and fine, so long as you keep the hell away from me, because there's only so much creepy weirdo I can absorb. However when you're introducing young children to this nonsense it quite reasonably asks the question of WTF?

Maybe some need it spelled out why children are protected by society and parents. Yes it's because they're children.
    Omackeral wrote:
    I don't equate transgender issues with paedophilia whatsoever. They're apples and oranges. Don't care who goes to the toilet where. My gaff has a unisex toilet, so do plenty of offices.
    Ditto on both counts and the toilet thing is mostly a red herring.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Would you like to see it actively discouraged?

I wouldn’t. Live and let live.

Live and let live until there's a grown ass man in your kids group looking to play truth or dare. That's gonna be kosher I'm sure. Live and let live is so easy to say and to type.

There’s no need to encourage or discourage it. One case out of how many billions of parents? There is no sign that it’s anything other than 3 adults with an extremely unconventional lifestyle.

Yep. That's fair. If all parties are of consenting age with all their faculties about them, then knock yourselves out fam!

Wibbs wrote: »
    Ditto on both counts and the toilet thing is mostly a red herring.

Did you just assume that fish's colour and species?

Ah well, it seems like the last couple of years it's in the public consciousness..since the gay marriage referendum funnily enough..this is a thread about it..it seems very much ideologically driven..it's pushing boundaries..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,593 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

Ah well, it seems like the last couple of years it's in the public consciousness..since the gay marriage referendum funnily enough..this is a thread about it..it seems very much ideologically driven..it's pushing boundaries..

I don’t see why a gender studies course would have any interest in someone playing as a 6 year old.

Maybe age is just a social construct..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I dunno why people insist on referring it as "gender studies". It kicked off as Women's studies, heavily influenced and driven by feminist theory and became more and more influenced by same, with heaps of added post-structuralism* What "men's studies" research there was, again was heavily influenced and driven by feminist theory(you couldn't make this shite up). As a field of "study" it's extremely politically influenced. Which is fine some other courses are similar, but at least call it for what it is. Put it this way: if a general politics course/degree only concentrated on capitalism, it would be a farce to describe it as general politics.

*often conflated a bit inaccurately with post modernism.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Omackeral wrote: »

That’s grand. You can see many people do though. Including people posting in this thread.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Maybe age is just a social construct..

Or maybe this is just pointless whataboutery brining the 6 year old into it

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Wibbs wrote: »
    I dunno why people insist on referring it as "gender studies". It kicked off as Women's studies, heavily influenced and driven by feminist theory and became more and more influenced by same, with heaps of added post-structuralism* What "men's studies" research there was, again was heavily influenced and driven by feminist theory(you couldn't make this shite up). As a field of "study" it's extremely politically influenced. Which is fine some other courses are similar, but at least call it for what it is. Put it this way: if a general politics course/degree only concentrated on capitalism, it would be a farce to describe it as general politics.

*often conflated a bit inaccurately with post modernism.

Who’s insisting it be called anything? I think this is the most whataboutery argument I’ve ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

This strikes me as similar to that “otherkin” stuff that planespeeking posted earlier in the thread, where people “identify” with an animal. From the article she posted none of these people actually seem to believe they are the animal in question. They seem to choose to act like the animal temporarily. My guess is that it’s a way of dealing with anxiety and stress.

So “identifying” as a child or animal is completely different from a trans woman “identifying” as a woman.

I believe that it is not so cut and dried in the trans community as you suggest regarding otherkins or furries. There is a lobby there that considers trans species to be just as valid and entitled to rights and protection as self ID transgenderism. Just as some PC parents feel obliged now to raise their children as theybes it is absolutely not outside the bounds of possibility that future culture may embrace species neutral children. I can't wait actually for the first campaign by otherkin parents for the right to raise their children as rabbits or dragons.

Or maybe this is just pointless whataboutery brining the 56 year old man into it

fyp..

Malayalam wrote: »
    I believe that it is not so cut and dried in the trans community as you suggest regarding otherkins or furries. There is a lobby there that considers trans species to be just as valid and entitled to rights and protection as self ID transgenderism. Just as some PC parents feel obliged now to raise their children as theybes it is absolutely not outside the bounds of possibility that future culture may embrace species neutral children. I can't wait actually for the first campaign by otherkin parents for the right to raise their children as rabbits or dragons.

Yeah yeah heard it all before "campaign for marrying horses" etc

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

fyp..

Still pointless whataboutery.

Terry Pratchet

I wouldn’t take trans people’s views on otherkins as having more weight than anyone else’s.

What does it matter if there’s a small minority of trans people who believe otherkins should have rights around species neutrality?

Has anyone campaigned to raise their children as a different species?

Still pointless whataboutery.

I didn't bring him into it, but where's the line?..

Like, if I identify as a women it's appreciated and encouraged, and others should go along with it, but if I think I'm Jesus I'm mentally ill..

I didn't bring him into it, but where's the line?..

Like, if I identify as a women it's appreciated and encouraged, and others should go along with it, but if I think I'm Jesus I'm mentally ill..

Where do you draw the line between gay people and people who are in love with rollercoasters?

I wouldn’t take trans people’s views on otherkins as having more weight than anyone else’s.

What does it matter if there’s a small minority of trans people who believe otherkins should have rights around species neutrality?

Has anyone campaigned to raise their children as a different species?

See, everyone has a line in the sand, don't they, and everyone thinks the other persons line in the sand is in the wrong place.

Where do you draw the line between gay people and people who are in love with rollercoasters?

Ah here, rollercoasters are class..

In and around Ronan Keating.

See, everyone has a line in the sand, don't they, and everyone thinks the other persons line in the sand is in the wrong place.

Right because everyone’s line in the sand is open to analysis and criticism.

I’ve already demonstrated why trans issues are different from otherkin and identifying as a different age.

If you want to ignore that and fal back on “everyone has their own opinion” that’s fine but it is the most bland point of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,477 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Otherkins? Furries.? Theybes? Species neutral?
    I'm starting to feel that I'm living in a Philip K Dick novel.

Right because everyone’s line in the sand is open to analysis and criticism.

I’ve already demonstrated why trans issues are different from otherkin and identifying as a different age.

If you want to ignore that and fal back on “everyone has their own opinion” that’s fine but it is the most bland point of all time.

I didn't notice you demonstrating a compelling difference. You demonstrated your opinion, that's all. It's all on the self identification trajectory even if some of it has embarrassingly overshot your acceptable line in the sand

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 70 ✭✭warsaw2018

God bless hungary

I didn't notice you demonstrating a compelling difference. You demonstrated your opinion, that's all. It's all on the self identification trajectory even if some of it has embarrassingly overshot your acceptable line in the sand

Yeah yeah - gender studies has nothing to do with any of that stuff but do keep droning on

Terry Pratchet

I didn’t say it was unacceptable. Simply that it’s clearly different from trans issues.

I don’t know much about otherkin so feel free to correct me but in that article planespeeking posted, and in the interview with the trans woman who identifies as a 6 year old girl, both are presented as choices. The trans woman talks and behaves and seems to think like an adult. She is able to change her identified age from 8 to 6. The otherkins seemed similar. Most in the article saying they identified WITH the animal rather than AS the animal.

Now I have never heard a trans person talk that way about their own experience. In fact it seems to be much closer to how I’ve heard some cross dressing men talk about themselves. That they sometimes like to indulge their feminine side etc.

Yeah yeah - gender studies has nothing to do with any of that stuff but do keep droning on

Transablism, transagism, transspeciesm, transethnicism (excuse spellings) may be the weird, embarrassing, woo end of things but along with gender studies they contribute as a minority to the debates around identity politics and people in that domain are going to have to do a bit better than yeah, yeah, nothing to do with us when it comes to dealing with the contradictions those identifications pose for you.