Hungary Scrap Gender Studies Indoctrination Courses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,425 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

See your point but cf Christine Hamilton today - sacked from a charity role for saying if a burka is not sinister why is the KKK - as both cover faces?

And don't talk to me about this dog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

So LLMMLL is this guy a 6 year old girl ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kjC3zBKgL3M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,593 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

TomSweeney wrote: »
    So LLMMLL is this guy a 6 year old girl ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kjC3zBKgL3M

If you weren’t so intent on bashing trans people you might be able to see the difference between her being trans and living as. 6 year old.

When describing being trans she describes it as being unchangeable.

When talking about living as a 6 year old she talks about it as a decision based on her desires, and they can be easily changed with her choosing to move to a different age to accommodate someone else.

So no they’re not the same thing and once again the “can I identify as a unicorn” brigade are grasping at straws.

Trans bashing ?
    Im not trans bashing, I'm just curious where all this can have a line drawn under - do you think it's OK to let other 6 year old girls have play dates with this person?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

TomSweeney wrote: »
    Trans bashing ?
    Im not trans bashing, I'm just curious where all this can have a line drawn under - do you think it's OK to let other 6 year old girls have play dates with this person?

I think it's fine. Don't you?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

LLMMLL wrote: »
    If you weren’t so intent on bashing trans people you might be able to see the difference between her being trans and living as. 6 year old.

When describing being trans she describes it as being unchangeable.

When talking about living as a 6 year old she talks about it as a decision based on her desires, and they can be easily changed with her choosing to move to a different age to accommodate someone else.
    I'm sorry, nobody is going to convince me that this is anything but a suite of mental illnesses masquerading as and expecting to be taken as normal. "Living as a 6 year old". How the holy hell did this become somehow normal and being pushed as same? The only people living as a 6 year old are *crazy thought alert* 6 year olds. Or poor divils with a mental illness or mental incapacity.
    Brian? wrote:
    No. If [insert whatever he identifies as here] wants to go on "play dates" with similar adults, then knock yourself out. However a middle aged cross dressing man, married for decades, the father of no less than seven children, "deciding"/pretending to be a six year old girl going on "play dates" with little kids isn't within an asses roar of being "fine". Christ almighty.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Wibbs wrote: »

No. If [insert whatever he identifies as here] wants to go on "play dates" with similar adults, then knock yourself out. However a middle aged cross dressing man, married for decades, the father of no less than seven children, "deciding"/pretending to be a six year old girl going on "play dates" with little kids isn't within an asses roar of being "fine". Christ almighty.

Why isn't it fine? Why exactly isn't it ok?

You don't agree with this person's right to identify as a 6 year old girl, I completely agree it's ridiculous. But that wasn't the question.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Brian? wrote: »
    I explained that in my post and it's pretty bloody obvious, or should be.
    "If [insert whatever he identifies as here] wants to go on "play dates" with similar adults, then knock yourself out. However a middle aged cross dressing man, married for decades, the father of no less than seven children, "deciding"/pretending to be a six year old girl going on "play dates" with little kids isn't within an asses roar of being "fine"".

If you think it "fine" to have a cross dressing middle aged man with a host of fetishes hanging out with small kids on a "play date", I really don't know what to say to you TBH.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭pleas advice

Will there be a responsible aduld supervising these 'play dates'? I would hope so

You don't agree with this person's right to identify as a 6 year old girl, I completely agree it's ridiculous. But that wasn't the question.

Exactly. All I pointed out was that identifying as a 6 year
    Old and being trans are
    Completely different things.

It’s up to the parents whether they want to allow their child to have play dates with this woman. None of my business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

None of my business.

But it takes a village to raise a ... errr... middle aged male six year old girl who definitely DEFINITELY isn't mental.

I explained that in my post and it's pretty bloody obvious, or should be.

You didn’t explain. You explained the what, not the why. It was little more than hand wringing and shouting “won’t someone think of the children”.
    If you think it "fine" to have a cross dressing middle aged man with a host of fetishes hanging out with small kids on a "play date", I really don't know what to say to you TBH.

You don’t know what to say to me? How about you logically explain your objection like I asked. Then I would counter with my own opinion. If we are lucky a reasonable discussion would break out where people with different opinions exchanged ideas. You know, pretty much what boards was designed for. Call me an idealist, but that’s what I’d like.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rory28

You didn’t explain. You explained the what, not the why. It was little more than hand wringing and shouting “won’t someone think of the children”.

You don’t know what to say to me? How about you logically explain your objection like I asked. Then I would counter with my own opinion. If we are lucky a reasonable discussion would break out where people with different opinions exchanged ideas. You know, pretty much what boards was designed for. Call me an idealist, but that’s what I’d like.

It is entirely unhealthy to entertain this lunacy. He is a grown adult that wants to play at being a kid(I'm assuming the best in this case but it screams weird pedo to me). If he wants to be a she fair enough but at least act your age.

Rory28 wrote: »
    It is entirely unhealthy to entertain this lunacy. He is a grown adult that wants to play at being a kid(I'm assuming the best in this case but it screams weird pedo to me). If he wants to be a she fair enough but at least act your age.

I really don’t see the issue with a small group of people, One woman and one family, living a very niche lifestyle.

Nobody is entertaining it apart from the three adults involved.

It’s not a societal issue.

Also the pedo reference is a little silly. Not every odd behaviour around children is about having sex with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rory28

I really don’t see the issue with a small group of people, One woman and one family, living a very niche lifestyle.

Also the pedo reference is a little silly. Not every odd behaviour around children is about having sex with them.

Its screams alarm bells to me. I am fairly open minded but this is a step too far. You cant just start identifying as a child. We have responsibilities as adults and this one has 7 kids already. Does he get to duck out of all that now he is a 6 year old girl?

This may come as a shock to you, but someone thinking of the children is not always a lazy internet meme masquerading as an argument.
    As if this requires logic... A middle aged person in a child's dress pretending to be a six year old as a "lifestyle choice" is one thing. At best it's a fetish and fine, so long as you keep the hell away from me, because there's only so much creepy weirdo I can absorb. However when you're introducing young children to this nonsense it quite reasonably asks the question of WTF?

Let's take it from another angle.. Would you have any objections to this person identifying as a small child and having play dates with other small children?

1411291097234_wps_5_https_www_facebook_com_pa.jpg

Maybe you wouldn't, but again I return to my previous position of not knowing what the hell to say to you. Maybe I'm the one on the crazy pills here, because it seems bloody obvious.

So you do see it as odd eh? Be careful there. That's judgement. Never mind that out of your "small group of people" you fail to mention the children involved.

Rory28 wrote: »
    Its screams alarm bells to me. I am fairly open minded but this is a step too far. You cant just start identifying as a child. We have responsibilities as adults and this one has 7 kids already. Does he get to duck out of all that now he is a 6 year old girl?

I don’t know. I don’t know the circumstances at all beyond the few news reports about her.

Given that she behaved like an adult In The video interview, I’m assuming that she chooses to behave like a child temporarily. Could be just a few hours a week she interacts with this family. She could have a full time job and pay child support. We’ve no real idea.

This strikes me as similar to that “otherkin” stuff that planespeeking posted earlier in the thread, where people “identify” with an animal. From the article she posted none of these people actually seem to believe they are the animal in question. They seem to choose to act like the animal temporarily. My guess is that it’s a way of dealing with anxiety and stress.

So “identifying” as a child or animal is completely different from a trans woman “identifying” as a woman.

To sum up: This particular case has nothing to do with trans issues, it’s an extremely niche case, he can identify as a child (as in there’s nothing anyone can do to stop him), and any “won’t somebody please think of the children” comments are a little hysterical.

So you do see it as odd eh? Be careful there. That's judgement. Never mind that out of your "small group of people" you fail to mention the children involved.

I judge people or behaviours as odd all the time. Never claimed I didn’t.

I left out the child because I wouldn’t view a child as being in a position to make adult judgments about behaviour i.e. entertain that behaviour. So from my point of view there are only three people “entertaining” this situation.

I left out the child because I wouldn’t view a child as being in a position to make adult judgments about behaviour i.e. entertain that behaviour.
    But you're apparently OK with a child as you say not in a position to make adult judgments about behaviour being exposed to some middle aged person dressed up like a child? OK.

1amtvd.jpg

But you're apparently OK with a child as you say not in a position to make adult judgments about behaviour being exposed to some middle aged person dressed up like a child? OK.

1amtvd.jpg

Yeah I don’t assume paedophilia or abuse are the end result of every odd behaviour.

I read news stories all the time about parents incorporating their children into their niche lifestyles. Unless actual abuse is occurring then I don’t give a crap what these parents do.

They are extremely niche situations with zero societal implications.

Bootlegger wrote: »
    It's seriously creepy how you keep referring to a grown man pretending to be a little girl as 'she'.

Should 'she' be allowed into the girls changing room?

Yes trans women should be able to use women’s changing rooms and trans men should be able to use men’s changing rooms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭Thomas_IV

Great news coming out of Hungary. Victor Orban's government have stopped universities offering courses in Gender Studies. It's about time these courses were exposed for the unscientific propaganda vehicles they are.

https://www.haaretz.com/world-news/europe/orban-bans-gender-studies-courses-in-hungary-report-says-1.6365826

I presume that you've read the whole Content of this article as you agree with all what is written there. Well, I strongly disagree with you and the Orban Regime. That is because of the quoted passages from the article as follows:
    According to the government, such courses are not economically viable as they take resources away from other academic fields and produce undesirable graduates for the Hungarian job market, the report said.
    Eotvos Lorand University in Budapest, one of the only institutions in the country to offer the classes in Hungarian, will take the largest hit. Lorinc Nacsa, Orban's coalition partner, described gender studies as a "wasteful luxury" and "destructive" in a letter to ELTE's rector last year, Hungarian Free Press reported.

The language used to defend that 'ban' tells much about the real intentions of the Orban Regime. Quite in line with the old damned fecking Communist attitude, which is always shared by fecking Nazis as well or any other stupid authoritarian minded people, what questions the regime has no place in society and must be forbidden.

But it is getting even better as the other stupid Person gets more concrete about the meaning which is behind the ban which is:
    "We must raise awareness to the fact that these programs are doing nothing to lift up our nation. In fact, they are destroying the values-centered mode of thinking that is still present in the countries of Central Europe," Nacsa was quoted as writing.

Orban was recently reelected in an April election fought on a fiercely anti-immigration platform that demonized Jewish American billionaire George Soros and liberal NGOs he backs. Days before his reelection, Orban approved a draft education bill that critics said targeted a university founded by Soros.

Those 'values' this person speaks of are that of the old Fascist ideology, in which women have only a limited purpose on this earth which is to become a wife that becomes a mother of as many children as she can 'produce'. Women have to shut up and do as being told by their husband who is to be the head of the Family and decides about everything. In contrast to this stands the Communist ideology in which a woman has the same rights and the same duties like men and that included Military Service. Both ideologies are of not just of authoritarian but more of totalitarian basis and both are enemies of every freedom loving and free thinking human being, no matter the gender.

I am not in the slightest surprised that the old antisemitism which is still alive in Hungary and other countries adds up to the way Orban runs his Country. Even Communists were antisemitic and you should be aware of the time period your Hungarian anti-immigrant hero grew up and what shaped him in his young life and afterwards, making him to what he is today.

I tell you one thing which is that as that equal rights for both genders have to prevail and that in every aspect of life, every aspect of business and employment, equal pay for equal work, equal chances in all aspects of education, chances in profession and that it all should be based on the qualifications and abilities of the person, no matter what gender, colour of the skin or social background because it is the individual and its character that should stand at the centre of it, not anything else like nationality, religion, sex or even that sort of orientation. It is the itellect that counts and it is the latter what people who applaud and follow authoritarian leaders lack most of all.

In cases where such gender studies are the tool to expose the discrimination of women by their gender, the studies have their right to exist and to expose every case of discrimination to be dealt with and to finally root out this so much by myself hated macho idiocy which puts the worst bullies in a way of power to Harass others and bully them the way they seem fit just because of their gender. That is not right, it never was and it never will be. But it is the quintessence of all Fascists who love to subdue women to feel surperior over them and this disgusts me.

To be a man means to respect and treat a woman in such a way and that means on equal terms, in good and bad conditions. It means total equality, with all the consequences because a women is a fellow human being to me, not a 'second class' one or one I would have to claim a right over her, not even in marriage. It takes more strenght and self-consciousness to lead such a way of life with a femal partner but it works, on a compromise basis but it works because a wife is still her own person and one has to treat her as such with respect. Anything else is subjugation but that is what all the authoritarian idiots have in mind. They can't and won't treat women as equal partners and that is because they are weak themselves. The perfect bully characters that they are.
    One of the Gender studies lecturers in UCD has taken the news well.

https://twitter.com/MaryMcAuliffe4/status/1027934366180286465
    Curious enough, I was able to read that twitter message and I think that others can read that too, if they even bother to read it.

DickSwiveller Returns;107766916
    Odd - never heard of her but already blocked on her on Twitter!!!

The snowflakes must have put you on repeal shield. Both my personal account and my troll account are blocked by her too.

Well, when someone starts with calling others 'snowflakes' and thus trying to discredit other peoples opinions, it says a lot of himself. As I utterly detest the likes of your writings and also the ideology which stands behind it, I welcome you to my ignore list.

Wow!

Speechless, I just can't articulate what to say - ah thanks Wibbs , you've saved me the hassle :D

Thomas_IV wrote: »
    In contrast to this stands the Communist ideology in which a woman has the same rights and the same duties like men and that included Military Service.
    What's wrong with that part?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,286 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Yes trans women should be able to use women’s changing rooms and trans men should be able to use men’s changing rooms.

Women should use women’s changing rooms and men should use men’s changing rooms.

Geuze wrote: »
    Women should use women’s changing rooms and men should use men’s changing rooms.

I agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,389 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Great news - perhaps students can now get back to actual learning and not this rubbish.

Gender Studies Degree ? 20 grand in debt at 22 with a piece of paper not worth a cent.

Not strictly true, if you spend another 20k on a social studies degree you can be a social worker in the area of gender studies

It was little more than hand wringing and shouting “won’t someone think of the children”.

This, for once, literally applies. I hope to god someone is thinking of the children. A 52 year old wants to play with 6 year old little girls on ''play-dates''? That's nice and normal yep. Fcuking hell.

Geuze wrote: »

Agreed. And there should be a third option, unisex or whatever you want to call it, for those people who don't care. If transgender people want to mix freely, fine, but the opinions of those who don't should also be respected.

Frankly, this mad rush to make everything open and available makes little sense to me. It's not as if the Transgender situation was commonplace or that we already had a few decades to get used to the idea. Instead, it's here (in minor numbers) and we must all bend over backwards to immediately accept them. No consideration for them accepting our own preference not to, of course. Instead, anyone that admits any hesitation to immediately agree is being unreasonable and discriminatory.

I'm curious. Has there been any research into the opinions of women as to whether they're willing to share their changing rooms, or shower spaces with men? After all, a change in gender doesn't automatically change sexual orientation or the thoughts of the people themselves. Have we seen any evidence to show that women will want to share their private areas? (considering the rise of private or safe spaces where men are not allowed, it seems strange that Transgender people would be an acceptable alternative)