3 star Michelin restaurant

1235»

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

prinzeugen wrote: »
    FYP. Can nobody be arsed to speak proper english now? "Experience" is a lazy or uneducated persons verb.

Experience in that sentence is a noun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,746 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

All sounds a bit pretentious to me, I've things to be doing than feeding people's egos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭notsoyoungwan

I’ve eaten in Enoteca Pinchiorri restaurant in Italy, which has 3 Michelin stars. It was my first time in a Michelin starred restaurant. The whole experience was a real treat, from the location and decor, to the music, service and the food. We went for the tasting menu and the paired wines. AFAIR there were about 8 course, each one better than the next. The food was utterly fabulous, and the presentation was so gorgeous, clearly a lot of thought and work went into it at every step.

It cost €1300 for two, and though I baulked at it, I have to say it was worth it for the whole experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

It cost €1300 for two...

Holy ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I had the taster menu at Gordan Ramseys at Paris in Vegas in January, worth every penny. Was about $770 for 3 of us.

That said, I then tried the taster menu at Top of the World which was about $100 a head and it was just as good. Price does not indicate your level of enjoyment or quality of the food, but there's definitely a threshold. IE, once your past the €70+ mark for a meal, you're into a different level of culinary skill and combined flavours and ingredients you just won't get at a regular restaurant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Went to a couple of Michelin 1 star restaurants, one was an Indian, fantastic food and a decent price too, but for myself to spend 500 yoyo's on a meal would be madness. That's a day's pay ffs.

I'm think I'm getting alzheimers - I read this 3 times as "Went to a couple of Michelin 1 star restaurants, when I was an Indian" Was thinking to myself - and when exactly did you stop being an Indian?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

I had the taster menu at Gordan Ramseys at Paris in Vegas in January, worth every penny. Was about $770 for 3 of us.

That said, I then tried the taster menu at Top of the World which was about $100 a head and it was just as good. Price does not indicate your level of enjoyment or quality of the food, but there's definitely a threshold. IE, once your past the €70+ mark for a meal, you're into a different level of culinary skill and combined flavours and ingredients you just won't get at a regular restaurant.

For that money I'd want Gordon himself to come out and shout out a few fcuks at me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

No stars, but the tasting menu at Nevin Maguires McNean House is excellent! I think it worked out at about 280 for dinner for 2 with wine and cocktails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Arrival

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Seems a little bit crass to talk about Michelin * restaurants when some people are still barely getting by, in my opinion.

Actually one of the most pathetic comments I've seen on this forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

BuboBubo wrote: »
    For that money I'd want Gordon himself to come out and shout out a few fcuks at me ;)

Well we got signed taster menus from the man himself, not so bad. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭catrionanic

Have eaten at a few one stars (my husband is a total foodie), and ate at a two star - the square at Mayfair. Incredible experience. Expensive but worth it, IMO.

Would love to take my husband to The Fat Duck some day (3 stars). It's in England though, so between the expensive food, flights and accommodation, we can't really make it work at this point in our lives with young kids. Maybe for his 40th! 7 years away.

anewme wrote: »
    No stars, but the tasting menu at Nevin Maguires McNean House is excellent! I think it worked out at about 280 for dinner for 2 with wine and cocktails.

That sounds reasonable to me, but anything beyond that I have better things to spend my money on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

mariaalice wrote: »
    That sounds reasonable to me, but anything beyond that I have better things to spend my money on.

I had been given a voucher as a Gift, so happy days. We made a weekend out of it, so overall was worth it. The food really was excellent, as were the wines. Like you, I'd start questioning the value of anything above that.

Im not sure Id like 3 star Restaurants, as someone else said, I think its beyond my appreciation a bit, I liked Chapter One and McNean house, but would not really like to go any more foody than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭miezekatze

I've only been to one star restaurants. Been to L'Ecrivain a few times and it's probably my favourite restaurant in Dublin. It doesn't feel stuck up or pretentious at all, but actually very comfortable. Food is really tasty and plenty of it. The people who say they'd leave the place hungry or wouldn't find anything they would like have clearly never been to a restaurant like that! The food is almost like a work of art, you really can't compare that to a carvery!

I like watching Chef's Table on Netflix, some amazing chefs/restaurants are featured on that! Would love to try a 2 or 3 star restaurant sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭TheShow

Patrick Guildbauds is excellent, but I tell you what, Chapter One is not far behind it and the Greenhouse on Dawson street is top notch too.

500/600 for dinner is too much for me, but in these places you are probably getting 20 courses over a good few hours with wine et all.

The only thing I draw the line at is moss. seems to be creeping onto menus everywhere. No Thanks.

The difference between 2 and 3 stars is the experience I guess. Look at what the Rocca brothers are doing in Spain or Massimo in Modena, or even Heston across the water. They are reinventing the wheel with food and challenging the tastes and senses of what you would normally expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭snowbabe

Oh I love food and have been very lucky to have had the opportunity to visit George's Blancs 3 star restraunt in France .Its actually a whole village with all things "Blancs" , bakery, cheaper 1 star restraunt, wine etc, amazing to see and eat of course. Just a quick note on the stars, it's not the restraunt that is Michelin starred but the chefs, so if a chef has a star he keeps it, and brings it with him so to speak, as far as I'm aware. I've also eaten some of the best Michelin dimsums in Hong Kong , really reasonable too,where you bought your cans of beer down the road ! The taster menus are brilliant with each tiny mouthful an explosion to the senses! I've seen the one and two star lads working in the kitchen perfecting their unbelievable skills with such passion and the determination of an Olympian . It is a huge treat and maybe only once in a lifetime as life often gets in the way . As for me I'm thrilled when my poached eggs come out just right lol
    P.S I love carverys too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,366 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

snowbabe wrote: »
    Oh I love food and have been very lucky to have had the opportunity to visit George's Blancs 3 star restraunt in France .Its actually a whole village with all things "Blancs" , bakery, cheaper 1 star restraunt, wine etc, amazing to see and eat of course. Just a quick note on the stars, it's not the restraunt that is Michelin starred but the chefs, so if a chef has a star he keeps it, and brings it with him so to speak, as far as I'm aware. I've also eaten some of the best Michelin dimsums in Hong Kong , really reasonable too,where you bought your cans of beer down the road ! The taster menus are brilliant with each tiny mouthful an explosion to the senses! I've seen the one and two star lads working in the kitchen perfecting their unbelievable skills with such passion and the determination of an Olympian . It is a huge treat and maybe only once in a lifetime as life often gets in the way . As for me I'm thrilled when my poached eggs come out just right lol
    P.S I love carverys too

The stars are awarded to the restaurant not to the chef.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭snowbabe

The stars are awarded to the restaurant not to the chef.

I stand corrected ...... thank you . Almost forgot, went to a great place in Vietnam too where the chef is training underprivileged girls and boys to train as Michelin chefs , menu limited but fab , it's giving back to the community, can't remember the name of it though , it was on Francis tour of Vietnam and I needed to go while on holidays .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭elbyrneo

Have eaten in a good few one star, a handful of two stars, and just the one three star (the fat duck). Many moons ago had disposable cash while working in Luxembourg and splashed out every few weeks- at the time was Michelin star restaurants a plenty there.

Now it's a very rare treat and generally just lunch menu, though cashing in a chapter one gift voucher next week, excited!

Find it fascinating how many people here will come and post how it's such a waste of money when they haven't experienced it. I adore the experience - the tastes, smells, service. It's heaven for a foodie.

I wonder tho why people feel the need to post such negativity about what some people truly enjoy?

Do they feel the need to post when someone comments on designer clothes? Sure isn't Penneys or Dunnes grand? Do they feel the need to comment on luxury or sports cars? Isn't a Dacia Duster perfectly functional? Do they spend 150eur on a night out and barely remember it the next day, dying from hangover? Isn't that a bigger waste??

Foodie and proud (and broke!)