Deirdre Jacob missing twenty years Today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

Muahahaha wrote: »
    KRW Law in Belfast specialise in human rights and cases of miscarriages of justice so it is not surprising that they represent both Mary Boyles sister and Jo Dollards family. They also represent the Hooded Men as well as other victims of the war up north. KRW Law are the type of law firm people go to when all other avenues are exhausted, they take on these types of cases that other firms would pass up on.

I think it is quite surprising, see nothing about them being a last resort to clients when all else fails and I think it looks like Gemma O Doherty's conspiracy theory handiwork is all over both cases now with her having advised both families to resort to this firm.

http://krw-law.ie/chambers-guide-entry/

Here is O'Doherty's take on the Dollard case, on speculation about garda misbehaviour in the Jo Jo case.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DBboosKW0AAtuBz?format=jpg

DBboosKW0AAtuBz?format=jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭ACAguy

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/family-missing-jo-jo-dullard-9984097

https://www.irishcentral.com/news/victims-sister-says-larry-murphy-is-innocent-101151229-237711391

Even JoJos sister doesn't think it it was a certain person

Probably easy for people in an form of influence of power to push someone with a record into the frame via the media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Day Lewin wrote: »
    And the borders of Laois/Carlow isn't such a big area - it's mostly the river Barrow.
    That's a very rural area: one might hazard that the person's job was selling something to the agricultural community. (A wild guess, I admit it)

I know it very well....., at the northern end, starting at Newgardens->Bestfield->Carlow town/Graiguecullen->past Dolmen Hotel and onto the very rural area of Bilboa

It's about 10-miles. But the thing I find interesting about the mention of it is the aforementioned Newgardens is very close to Beaconstown, Maganey which was the first spot where LM raped the lady he abducted from Carlow. And he really REALLY had to know the very minor backroads in the area in order to know to take the woman to that spot!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

dense wrote: »
    It's new news to me and there's a lot more than that report linked to on the site.

What happened to the hoax caller?
    Was he prosecuted for making them?

Yes, he was from Fermanagh, I remember at the time they played the recording of the phone call on the RTE news. He was tracked down pretty quickly but not sure what prosecution or any followed, I think there were mental issues.

Ah the old mental card. Did Larry ever play that one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I think it is quite surprising, see nothing about them being a last resort to clients when all else fails and I think it looks like Gemma O Doherty's conspiracy theory handiwork is all over both cases now with her having advised both families to resort to this firm.

I know KRW Law to be a last resort for clients from a family relation in the legal game- other legal firms refer cases to them that they cant take on due to lack of expertise & specialisation.

Im not sure what you mean about oDochertys conspiracy handiwork- the Irish Mirror link above directly quotes JoJos parents (Mary & Martin) as saying that a Garda told them that a Fine Gael farmer was the main suspect and that her body is buried on his farm.
    A senior Garda told Mary and her husband Martin at a meeting in 1996 officers knew the identity of the man who abducted, raped and killed Jo Jo.
    He was able to give disturbing details of how the psycho disposed of her body, saying she was “wrapped in plastic and buried 10ft underground” using a digger. But he also told them the investigation “won’t go anywhere”.

Jo Jo’s family believes he was telling the truth but was later warned to toe the official line that the case was being fully investigated.They also allege gardai engaged in a “smear campaign just like they did to Maurice McCabe” to quieten public interest in the case. Described by her family as a “quiet girl” who held down several part-time jobs and had been studying beauty therapy, Mary insists officers painted her in a bad light – even leaking details of an abortion.

She said: “They said all kinds of horrible things about Jo. They said she was drinking, taking drugs. They drove her down to dirt. I’ll never get over the smear campaign. “Jo was a lovely girl, a quiet girl she didn’t deserve that. It (the abortion) was her own personal thing. “Destroying her reputation was what they did to make people stop looking for her, to stop asking questions, to make it go away.”

Mary “thought long and hard” before bringing medical notes on the procedure to gardai but was desperate to do everything to help find her. She added: “They swore on the bible it would be kept confidential, but then they went and told a newspaper. “That was nothing to do with her death. It was a conscious attempt to stop me pushing Jo Jo’s case. Smearing her was to stop me speaking out.”

Im not sure why the parents of Jojo would fabricate a story about a senior Garda telling them about how the main suspect had buried her body on his farm and was being protected because of Fine Gael connections. If they are making that up then all they would be doing is obstructing the investigation into their own daughters death which is pretty unlikely that parents would do such a thing. Perhaps Gemma oDocherty is on to something here, the parents of JoJo certainly seem positive foul play is involved and that Larry Murphy has been used as a convenient smokescreen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Ah the old mental card. Did Larry ever play that one?

It's not a defense. You can wind up in the Central Mental Hospital at Dundrum if you are found "guilty but insane"

Conditions may be slightly nicer than at Arbour Hill; but Murphy never appeared insane - just calculating and wicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

Here is O'Doherty's take on the Dollard case, on speculation about garda misbehaviour in the Jo Jo case.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DBboosKW0AAtuBz?format=jpg

Was he related to some minister in the FG party, A brother maybe, that they went to such lengths to protect him, or is it all specualtion

re: conspiracy theories.

Do you know anyone - anyone - so blindly loyal to a TD or a political party that they would connive in the concealment of a crime as evil as this one?
    We're not talking gangs or guerillas: just ordinary citizens, unconnected with serious crime. And the families of the victims have nothing to lose. What possible threat could warn them to keep silent? I mean, why would they?

"Don't say a word about this murderer at large or the local TD will block your Old Age Pension?"

"Fine Gael will be very annoyed..."

"Oh, sure, Guard: In that case you can stop hunting for the kidnapper of my daughter"...

For Fex Ake. They'll go on searching until their last breath and they won't keep silent for any stupid politician. They won't care if some rural cop loses his reputation. If your daughter or sister was disappeared, presumed raped and murdered, would you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

Do you know anyone - anyone - so blindly loyal to a TD or a political party that they would connive in the concealment of a crime as evil as this one?
    We're not talking gangs or guerillas: just ordinary citizens, unconnected with serious crime. And the families of the victims have nothing to lose. What possible threat could warn them to keep silent? I mean, why would they?

"Don't say a word about this murderer at large or the local TD will block your Old Age Pension?"

"Oh, sure, Guard: In that case you can stop hunting for the kidnapper of my daughter"...

For Fex Ake. They'll go on searching until their last breath and they won't keep silent for any stupid politician. They won't care if some rural cop loses his reputation. If your daughter or sister was disappeared, presumed raped and murdered, would you?

Maybe if the murderer was your son and you had a reputation to keep! ;-)
    This country has a lot of secrets!

Sundew wrote: »
    Maybe if the murderer was your son and you had a reputation to keep! ;-)
    This country has a lot of secrets!

Well, yes: in that one case, a parent would probably be unwilling to *believe* that their son could do such a thing.
    But that's not the same as hinting darkly at corrupt politicians and police. Nobody "in extremis" is really afraid of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭julyjane

Laois_Man wrote: »
    Jojo Dullard is re-emerging in the news today also with details about the ex-girlfriend of the family's main suspect who wrote a letter to the family in Kilkenny saying she believed he was capable of murder

What I can't make out from the article is if this letter is the only reason he's the main suspect to them - or if there is other, more significant evidence about it.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/jo-jo-dullard-missing-mystery-13092669

I saw the paper in a shop earlier but unfortunately it's hard to tell if it's the paper equivalent of clickbait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭starbaby2003

I can’t believe you don’t believe that people would cover up a murder ! Look at Donegal or Mary Boyle. The Dalkey house of horrors , the list goes on.This does happen. There are many reasons people keep secrets. To protect people. To protect themselves. A person may have leverage over them or their families

Ok: fair point.
    But the guards do seem to be enthusiastically investigating the Jacob case, as well as the Jojo and Mc Carrick and Raonaid cases, and Philip Cairns...I mean, if they knew but don't want to admit it, why go on investigating?

A brother in the Dáil really doesn't impress anyone that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I think Day Lewin is making the opposite point - s/he is asking rhetorically what missing persons family would actually cover up for a TD. It took me two readings before I copped it !
    Day Lewin For Fex Ake. They'll go on searching until their last breath and they won't keep silent for any stupid politician. They won't care if some rural cop loses his reputation. If your daughter or sister was disappeared, presumed raped and murdered, would you?

Ok: fair point.
    But the guards do seem to be enthusiastically investigating the Jacob case, as well as the Jojo and Mc Carrick and Raonaid cases, and Philip Cairns...I mean, if they knew but don't want to admit it, why go on investigating?

A brother in the Dáil really doesn't impress anyone that much.
    Certainly the Jacob / Cairns cases. However I do think that this was not the case initially for jojo Dollard. A lot was made of her lifestyle. Ireland was a different place then and I don’t think the investigation was as thorough as it should have been. Now I think a cold case team are fully investigating it yes.

I think Day Lewin is making the opposite point - s/he is asking rhetorically what missing persons family would actually cover up for a TD. It took me two readings before I copped it !

I don’t think he was.

A brother in the D really doesn't impress anyone that much.

On the date Jojo Dullard went missing, a certain female Dublin North TD from Fine Gael was Minister for Justice

So if your brother/father is a Fine Gael TD, and is in the ear of his mate who happens to be minister for justice, it's not that far fetched that Gardai will be told to keep things on the down low, and that they might comply!

There was only one FG TD at the time from the town frequently mentioned, now deceased and who did happen to have a farming background.

On the date Jojo Dullard went missing, a certain female Dublin North TD from Fine Gael was Minister for Justice

So if your brother/father is a Fine Gael TD, and is in the ear of his mate who happens to be minister for justice, it's not that far fetched that Gardai will be told to keep things on the down low, and that they might comply!

There was only one FG TD at the time from the town frequently mentioned, now deceased and who did happen to have a farming background.

I'm not convinced. Why?
    Wouldn't a detective immediately say, "why does this TD want something hushed up? It's not a speeding fine, this is a very serious case."
    and also
    "If we push this investigation on, the said Minister (or whoever) has a lot more to lose than I do".

Or do you think the police are all simpletons who are intimidated by a famous name?

Myself I think that muttering "It's all a cover-up!" is a catch-all excuse that is trotted out whenever something is hard to solve.

But this one WILL be solved. Put your shirt on that.

I'm not convinced. Why?
    Wouldn't a detective immediately say, "why does this TD want something hushed up? It's not a speeding fine, this is a very serious case."
    and also
    "If we push this investigation on, the said Minister (or whoever) has a lot more to lose than I do".

Or do you think the police are all simpletons who are intimidated by a famous name?

Myself I think that muttering "It's all a cover-up!" is a catch-all excuse that is trotted out whenever something is hard to solve.

But this one WILL be solved. Put your shirt on that.

Are detectives intimidated by a famous person? Probably not. Are they intimidated by their ultimate boss, the minister for justice....very possibly

I’m just thinking out loud so to speak. I’m not saying I believe it. But I will say, I don’t believe it will be solved any time in my lifetime

It's not a defense. You can wind up in the Central Mental Hospital at Dundrum if you are found "guilty but insane"

Conditions may be slightly nicer than at Arbour Hill; but Murphy never appeared insane - just calculating and wicked.

Of course, but nothing seems to have happened to the hoax caller that anyone can recall in terms of being dealt with by the justice system.

He was found guilty of nothing as far as I'm aware.

And I'm kind of wondering how their mental state excuse seems to have been accepted without question and with no consideration for the effect it must have had on DJ's family, cruelly leading them up the garden path.

I know KRW Law to be a last resort for clients from a family relation in the legal game- other legal firms refer cases to them that they cant take on due to lack of expertise & specialisation.

Im not sure what you mean about oDochertys conspiracy handiwork- the Irish Mirror link above directly quotes JoJos parents (Mary & Martin) as saying that a Garda told them that a Fine Gael farmer was the main suspect and that her body is buried on his farm.

Im not sure why the parents of Jojo would fabricate a story about a senior Garda telling them about how the main suspect had buried her body on his farm and was being protected because of Fine Gael connections. If they are making that up then all they would be doing is obstructing the investigation into their own daughters death which is pretty unlikely that parents would do such a thing. Perhaps Gemma oDocherty is on to something here, the parents of JoJo certainly seem positive foul play is involved and that Larry Murphy has been used as a convenient smokescreen.

Yeah, I actually have time for G O'D but find the KRW angle in these two cases little more than photo opportunitiies.

Like apart from the photo of Mary Boyles twin sister and JoJos relative beside a solicitor what is the point of it?

Unless someone is going to talk 20 or 40 years later they can't actually fabricate remains or evidence to progress these cases against a system which appears to be concerned with covering for itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

FFS. Thats fair defamatory. Can you defame a dead person though. Not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭kerry cow

If it was my farm , i would say dig away and i want a public apology afterwards if nothing is found .
    Nothing to hide , dont be afraid .

But it begs questions now .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭screamer

I remember reading about the person with FG links who allegedly gave Jo Jo Dollard a lift on that last night. A few months ago he was even named in some of the reports, but now, nada...,. Seems to have all been removed thanks to data protection laws I'd bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭screamer

kerry cow wrote: »
    If it was my farm , i would say dig away and i want a public apology afterwards if nothing is found .
    Nothing to hide , dont be afraid .

But it begs questions now .
    Bit hard to dig through sheds and concrete......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭kerry cow

screamer wrote:
    Bit hard to dig through sheds and concrete......

Ya , but its do able if the will is there .
    Like i said , if the garda want to do it and they replace it .
    If it gets the world off your back .
    Well , dig away lads .

FFS. Thats fair defamatory. Can you defame a dead person though. Not sure.

Firstly, it hasn't named anyone
    Secondly, it hasn't named the town
    Thirdly, the deceased TD isn't even the one rumored to have harmed Jojo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

reg114 wrote: »
    So 2 weeks after the 20 year anniversary of the disappearance of this girl the Gardai suddenly change the status of this case to a murder case ? I think this is kite flying by the gardai , pure and simple.

If as has been written, the chief suspect is in the UK and would be collared the minute he stepped on to Irish soil then why dont the gardai extradite him based on the 'new information' that has come to light ? Extradition exists in the EU so why not employ it in this case, subsequent to employing a european arrest warrant?

No I dont believe the gardai have anything other than hearsay and conjecture to work on, primarily because the person who committed this crime most probably worked alone and divulged details to no one.

The dogs in the street have implicated the chief suspect for years, a case strengthened by the apparent cessation of these disappearances during his incarceration and his subsequent departure from the country.

Sadly I dont share peoples' confidence in Irish law enforcement or the judicial system. This chief suspect was only caught because he was literally caught red handed but two local men who could identify him and even at that stage he only served 9.5 years in jail and has been free to roam ever since.

The reclassification of this woman's disappearance to a murder guarantees one thing, that he wont set foot on irish soil willingly again, as for new evidence, I think in the absence of an extradition its sadly nonsense.

Agree totally what your saying and the two guys had to say they were fox shooting instead of poaching or LM would have got off on lighter sentence and that poor girls body would never have being found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Firstly, it hasn't named anyone
    Secondly, it hasn't named the town
    Thirdly, the deceased TD isn't even the one rumored to have harmed Jojo

The politician, who's family member, the rumours were about was never a TD. Murphy's name will always be connected with JJD's disappearance, until the case is solved, as he was living in a rented house a few miles away from her last known sightings