Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boy racers

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,990 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I don't miss car ads like "Glanza 1.3 Turbo - 1.3 on the log book".

You'd need to be a bit dim not to understand the insinuation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I'm trying to think of any positive contribution that boy racers make to anything, but I'm struggling.....

They keep a lot of car accessories shops in business. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Plenty of econo box early 2000's Audi A4's still knocking about with the RS4 badges super glued on the back. The Honda civic generation is dead now years.. When did you last see a properly shagged out 1.4 civic with all the bells and whistles? I don't remember... Iffy young lads with big teeth and caps tend to spend all their money trying to look the business in a low spec 2 grand Audi or BMW with the higher spec badges on the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Simple answer is young people cant afford them.

Back about 12 years ago when I was first on the road a buddy of mine, who was an electrician had an imported Toyota Levin with a sh*te bodykit and he paid about 10k for it, it was nearly undriveable it was too low and the wheels would rub on the tiniest of bumps, it wouldnt go over speed bump at all, it had about 180bhp but back then you'd swear it was closer to 400bhp the way he drove it, of course back then it was the norm as every other fella under 21 had either a tarted up Levin or Civic and would drive around the city doing laps of the same street for hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Yep, if insurers are keeping arseholes off the road, fair play to them

But they're not. They come out uninsured.

I know a few, uninsured and running on the green.

The beauty of a smart phone to alert others to a squad in the area. Leggit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭firstlight

Yes I agree to a certain degree they are higher risk
    So what age by insurance company standards does a male become a responsible driver?
    Are you still considered a boy racer by your insurance company?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Back in the day when The Fast and Furious was released you had:

Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6 tarted up to look like Paul Walker's
    Subaru Imprezas (same as above)
    Toyota Starlets
    Honda Civics
    etc.

Then when the crash came they changed to and are still in:

VW Bora/Passats
    Audi A4 (RS4 TDi)
    BMW E60 520d
    Toyota AE86 (which I think is the only petrol they still go with)
    etc.

All of which are skangerised to the hilt as were the copious amounts of Civics back in the day.

Can't see them going back to their F&F days unless they start driving around in tanks :D
    firstlight wrote: »
    So what age by insurance company standards does a male become a responsible driver?

Between 68 and 70 :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,990 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

firstlight wrote: »

No idea, and I'd have to ask them but I doubt it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

cena wrote: »
    When did the trend of boy racers die?

In the interest of this thread, as the OP can you define what you refer to as a 'Boy Racer'?

To me a 'Boy Racer' is the 'person' that drives like a lunatic (day or night).

Someone that spends the money buying & maintaining a modded car that drives within the law is not a boy racer imo.

Sligo Metalhead

Did you know that the term "boy racer" was in fact coined to describe girls who got into the scene and wanted to race the boys?

BronsonTB wrote: »
    In the interest of this thread, as the OP can you define what you refer to as a 'Boy Racer'?

To me a 'Boy Racer' is the 'person' that drives like a lunatic (day or night).

Someone that spends the money buying & maintaining a modded car that drives within the law is not a boy racer imo.

Exactly what I was thinking
    You will be labelled one though
    By others and insurance companies ,Get a sticker for your window,Legal boy racer,Could be a good seller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,047 ✭✭✭Inviere

Starlet Turbo’s, Glanza’s, and Levin’s...gas, years since I’ve seen any of them driving around. They used to be ten a penny. Agreed with several posters above, they’ve all migrated to ****box VAG diesels.

Inviere wrote: »
    Starlet Turbo’s, Glanza’s, and Levin’s...gas, years since I’ve seen any of them driving around. They used to be ten a penny. Agreed with several posters above, they’ve all migrated to ****box VAG diesels.

What luxurious limo you driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

One of the downsides to having my E36 is I attract an awful amount of negative attention from lads in altezzas and such. I was roared at in Killorglin last week by a load of young lads to "limit it" which I took to mean they wanted me to spin the wheels. Losers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

It's simple alot of the very fast cars now are very understated. Might be a badge of a difference.

Eg. Gf has a 2l turbo petrol a5.

How do ya tell the difference between that at a 1.8 petrol or a diesel one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭conor2469

DaveyDave wrote: »
    who was with a lad in his late 20s with a debadged Altezza going around pretending he drove a Lexus.

They actually prefer the Altezza to the IS200, the Altezza had the more powerful 4 cylinder engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭jim salter

Currently 8 drive an Evo 7 as my daily. This is my 5th VII and all have passed the NCT first time. So, for car enthusiasts it's not the NCT.
    My insurance is under €500/yr (yes it is properly insured).
    I know lots of others with Evo's as daily drivers (3 in Blanch alone) also know a lot of Type R owners and Skyline owners that daily their cars.
    Oh sorry! BOY RACERS????!
    Yeah, they all died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,191 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

jim salter wrote: »
    Currently 8 drive an Evo 7 as my daily. This is my 5th VII and all have passed the NCT first time. So, for car enthusiasts it's not the NCT.
    I know lots of others with Evo's as daily drivers (3 in Blanch alone) also know a lot of Type R owners and Skyline owners that daily their cars.
    Yeah, they all died.

I remember back in the day you would all be going mad being called a boy racer, I thought you were all modified car driver's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

jim salter wrote: »
    Yeah, they all died.

why have you had 5 evo 7's ? maybe 2 id understand but why 5 of them, they haven't had that many revisions and facelifts.

also with insurance at 500 I'm going to have a stab at saying you're over 30, this thread is really asking about the <25 group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

My theory on it is

1) Young people aren't driving as much (huge concern for auto makers, its why they sell cars as 'tools to go anywhere and have experiences' rather than sell the car itself as cool , young people are more concerned with taking Instagram pics to look cool rather than be seen around the town in some premium metal.

2) Rear wheel drive cars dying out because of the EU's fuel economy demands. FWD cars aren't as fun.

3) Jap imports being almost universally banned by most insurers.

4) 15 year limits on car age by some insurers, have to spend the money buying an 08 golf instead of keeping your 02 one and putting a massive sound system in it

5) The internet has kind of shown these people that if you look like a tool and somebody takes a photo, people worldwide are going to call you a prick, so the weird colour tint paints and stupid spoilers on corsa's are getting less likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,905 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

You're only a true Boy Racer

if you have a hot girl in the passenger seat, otherwise you're just a tool with a car.

WYkkhAm.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Philb76

If you buy a modern hot hatch likes of golf gti focus st any of the fast renaults and so on they have so much power and look the part maybe thers no need to modify cars anymore see a lot of middle aged racers now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 597 ✭✭✭clfy39tzve8njq

Higher rates reflect higher risks presumably?

Ha ha good one. Cars become death traps on their 10th birthday according to the vultures that are insurance companies

Begs the question why do insurance companies insure classic cars if that's the case?

Clearly not but young people driving older performance cars is not an area of the market insurers are looking to compete for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

One of the downsides to having my E36 is I attract an awful amount of negative attention from lads in altezzas and such. I was roared at in Killorglin last week by a load of young lads to "limit it" which I took to mean they wanted me to spin the wheels. Losers.

That would be bottom of my list of owning an E36 tbh!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭jim salter

why have you had 5 evo 7's ? maybe 2 id understand but why 5 of them, they haven't had that many revisions and facelifts.

also with insurance at 500 I'm going to have a stab at saying you're over 30, this thread is really asking about the <25 group.

Well, there has been 10 iterations of the Evo and each iteration had different models and trims (GSR, RS, RSII, GT and FQ models). Of the VII's I've had, there has been 2xGSR's, 1xRSII and 2xFQ's.

Yes, I am a tad over 30 :P:D but I'm still only a boy :p

But yeah, the 'boy racer' of the early and mid naughties has died off a little. I remember being down in Ballymount (as a spectator) which was sheer lunacy and 'cruises' which invariable deteriorated into dangerous street racing and burnouts.

In the Dublin 15 area I regularly hear the roar of ricers and the likes on the N3 at night but little in and around the estates.

What I do see around is fiestas with kits and air suspension and of course the TDi's.

Insurance is a big factor in to ownership of a high powered car and in todays financial services dominated world owning a car such as an Evo is not financially viable for a lot under 30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,191 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

The issue is that people where buying cheap old cars and insuring them 3rd party and then "crashing" into another vehicle full of passengers who all get 5 or 6 figure payouts.

I was looking for insurance for my parents both >10 year old cars. The quotes for 3rd party where double or triple their fully comprehensive quotes. So the insurance companies have no bother with fully comp policies, but people buying cheaper older cars and insuring 3rd party is the issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

I passed a 'young fella' and his dad a few weeks ago, they had what I suppose you'd call a ratrodded early noughties Colt with a bosozuoku style exhaust, lowered, CB aerial, roof mounted lightbar, mismatched panels. Proper harked back to prime boy racer period.

I thought it was deadly and told him so at the next roundabout.

I don't really know where I was going with that, I've always wondered what the story is with the 'felt spec' lads and terrible driving positions. Its hard to project an image of being some sort of racing driver with your left hand on the wheel, leaning against the b-pillar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Paudee wrote: »

I don't really know where I was going with that, I've always wondered what the story is with the 'felt spec' lads and terrible driving positions. Its hard to project an image of being some sort of racing driver with your left hand on the wheel, leaning against the b-pillar.

Is felt spec still a thing in Magherafelt even, so many questions.....
    I still see a few yellow Irish regs.