Parents taking babies to weddings/matches/concerts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

See there needs to be more parents like you - and less of the wagon on the train last night who walked the screaming brat up and down the aisle - just in case we weren't disturbed enough by the little bollix.

Yeah you're right, she should just lock herself in the house until he's a teenager.
    How dare she inconvenience anyone by using public transport.
    I'm sure she was really relaxed and chilled out, having the time of her life, while her baby screamed for the whole journey.

I get that listening to screaming babies is annoying and frustrating.
    But I don't doubt for a minute that anyone on that train was more stressed about it than the poor woman trying to calm the child. Definitely not you, anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭irelandrover

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Sorry pal. I'll repeat myself. Mothers can breastfeed their babies whenever, wherever they want.

They can't. They can breastfeed wherever they are allowed to go themselves. The woman that wanted to breastfeed at the stadium wanted to do so in the premium seats as far as i remember.

Breastfeeding should not entitle women to special treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Can they ?

Perhaps they can physically but should they ?

What makes parents so selfish that you think we want to be drawn into your domestic life ?

of course they should, the child needs to eat. not feeding a hungry child is abusive and I guarantee the screams from said child will upset you more that the glimpse of a woman's chesticles.

They can't. They can breastfeed wherever they are allowed to go themselves. The woman that wanted to breastfeed at the stadium wanted to do so in the premium seats as far as i remember.

I think the person in question had more of an issue with the woman wanting to breastfeed in public than they did with the baby being at the stadium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

See there needs to be more parents like you - and less of the wagon on the train last night who walked the screaming brat up and down the aisle - just in case we weren't disturbed enough by the little bollix.

Why is she a wagon:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Nobody's looking for special treatment, just fair treatment.

In the case above, it's disingenuous to claim that she wanted to feed the child in the premium seats. She arrived way before anyone else and sat down on a premium seat to do it and was told she couldn't sit there. When she wanted to do it elsewhere was told that she couldn't do it in the stands. Presumably that's a health and safety thing, but at that point the onus is on the ground to accommodate her and suggest a suitable location, within the venue.

She was told explicitly that she had to go to the toilets, which is against the law. She wasn't looking special treatment at all, just reasonable treatment and fairness.

No it's not. Leave the brat with the grandparents
    You and Shane Ross need to learn that not everyone has grandparents, or even grandparents in the same country.
    I came across a photo of my wife and our friend at our wedding with the friends baby.
    It wasn't a problem for us.
    If you look closely at our wedding video, you can see my sister-in-law breastfeeding my now college-going nephew during the speeches. It didn't bother anyone, and was great for the cousins to be able to get together. The other cousins took turns to mind him in a bedroom during the evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,065 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

bigpink wrote: »
    So they can take pics and have kids look cute with the baby ear muff things

My friend was at All Together Now festival said the amount of kids going round with drunk and drugged adults was crazy but it’s ok there middle class

Any comment about the drunk and drugged adults ?? :confused:
    Middle class my arse - Over 21s are middle class now ???
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Make sure to bring earmuffs/plugs for them.

It's a terrifying experience for a newborn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Wish the word 'Entitled' was banned. Fcuking sick of hearing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

LirW wrote: »
    I took my daughter to a wedding in Belfast last year when she was 4 months old, she was still breastfed and we had to do 2 nights stay there. We checked with the couple and it was fine and I left at 8.
    No problem there really.

Since mine came along I go by the motto to not judge others because what I see is a tiny snippet of their lives, I don't care, maybe it suits them, maybe they just realized they made a mistake or they're just thick but it's not really on me to judge and none of my business.

Of course ye loved being the centre of attention with a new baby. Ive seen it so many times and they wont even leave the ceremony when the sprog starts squealing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Edgware wrote: »
    Of course ye loved being the centre of attention with a new baby. Ive seen it so many times and they wont even leave the ceremony when the sprog starts squealing.

Unwarranted responses tbh, and very presumptuous.

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Unwarranted responses tbh, and very presumptuous.

Why is that opinion not valid ?

I can't speak for the other poster but is this one of those "you don't have children you can't POSSIBLY understand" deals ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

I can't speak for the other poster but is this one of those "you don't have children you can't POSSIBLY understand" deals ?
    Well I do have children and I do understand. When I am out for the day at a match or a wedding I dont want to be listening to other peoples squealing sprogs or being moved about to facilitate buggies or prams. I get enough of that the rest of the time ( or "Mind your language there are children around" ****e)

Its not an opinion, its a presumption that @LirW brought her baby to be the center of attention at the wedding, and wouldn't leave if the child became upset and disruptive.
    Nothing in her post indicated that this was the case in her situation, yet you are passing off this unfounded presumption as your "opinion".

And I don't actually have children either.
    You don't need to be a parent to comprehend that its totally ok to feed a baby (be it breast or bottle) in public, and that children should be allowed to use public transport, even if they cry.
    Its called being part of an inclusive society. Not everyone you meet is setting out to purposely ruin your day. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

hipsters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,002 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Those who don't like encountering babies or children should stay at home and lock the door and stay where they soundly belong. I'm sick to death of encountering self-absorbed, selfish, child free moaners complaining about their precious entitlement to a child-free experience.

Well I do have children and I do understand. When I am out for the day at a match or a wedding I dont want to be listening to other peoples squealing sprogs or being moved about to facilitate buggies or prams. I get enough of that the rest of the time ( or "Mind your language there are children around" ****e)

Bless you! I've yet to be told at the footy to moderate my tone as there were children around but I have in the pub after.

Ridiculous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,667 ✭✭✭harr

seamus wrote: »
    Nobody's looking for special treatment, just fair treatment.

In the case above, it's disingenuous to claim that she wanted to feed the child in the premium seats. She arrived way before anyone else and sat down on a premium seat to do it and was told she couldn't sit there. When she wanted to do it elsewhere was told that she couldn't do it in the stands. Presumably that's a health and safety thing, but at that point the onus is on the ground to accommodate her and suggest a suitable location, within the venue.

She was told explicitly that she had to go to the toilets, which is against the law. She wasn't looking special treatment at all, just reasonable treatment and fairness.

This case it was more of a misunderstanding than anything.
    The lady in question arrived early from mayo, well nearly two hours before game infact.
    Instead of feeding the baby in the car or finding a quiet restaurant nearby which there are plenty she attempted to gain access to the VIP seats with a buggy and other children.
    Of course the elderly steward should have directed her to another part of the Stand instead of the toilets.
    She was well looked after once a more senior member of security became involved.
    Keep in mind the stadium was virtually empty when she arrived so she could have had her pick of seats in any other part of the stand instead of heading for the reserved seats.
    Newbridge is definitely not a ground I would choose to spend nearly fours in with a newborn and then have to drive back up to mayo.
    Just because you are entitled to breastfeed in public doesn’t give you an entitlement to go where you like using that as an excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

You and Shane Ross need to learn that not everyone has grandparents, or even grandparents in the same country.

If you look closely at our wedding video, you can see my sister-in-law breastfeeding my now college-going nephew during the speeches. It didn't bother anyone, and was great for the cousins to be able to get together. The other cousins took turns to mind him in a bedroom during the evening.

Why are you looking closely at that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

harr wrote: »
    This case it was more of a misunderstanding than anything.
    The lady in question arrived early from mayo, well nearly two hours before game infact.
    Instead of feeding the baby in the car or finding a quiet restaurant nearby which there are plenty she attempted to gain access to the VIP seats with a buggy and other children.
    Of course the elderly steward should have directed her to another part of the Stand instead of the toilets.
    She was well looked after once a more senior member of security became involved.
    Keep in mind the stadium was virtually empty when she arrived so she could have had her pick of seats in any other part of the stand instead of heading for the reserved seats.
    Newbridge is definitely not a ground I would choose to spend nearly fours in with a newborn and then have to drive back up to mayo.
    Just because you are entitled to breastfeed in public doesn’t give you an entitlement to go where you like using that as an excuse.

Lol. Har's version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,202 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I was reading on RTE that a woman isn't happy that she'll have to buy a ticket for her 16 week old son to get him into the Gaelic football final. He's been to 7 games already this season and it got me thinking. My girl I know used to take her newborn to the cinema, a neighbour of mine who moonlights as a wedding photographer said it's a nightmare these days with the amount of really young babies at weddings and the parents of said kids are almost taking over his time by getting him to take pics of the child. Half the time he says the parents barely know the couple and there was a bit of a kerfuffle in Cork recently where a couple had a very young child at a concert. I find it a bit strange taking babies to these events.

As a parent of three ones under five I always view these parents with a sort of bemused admiration.. couldn't imagine anything more of a ball ache than bringing kids into events like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

There were other people with babys/ toddlers, because the guests were quite international and many had to travel. It didn't bother anyone, the baby didn't stand out and it was all fine. Some people really have some stick up their ar5e when they see a small child anywhere outside their home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

It's not up to you is it. If a couple is happy to invite children to the wedding or if babies are allowed to the sporting or music events then it is up to you to decide if you want to attend or not. If you want to avoid children then go to adult only events.

That being said I much prefer to dump kids on their grandparents and enjoy some time without them. There were a few exceptions, our wedding, my brothers wedding where I had no option of childcare and was breastfeeding our 12 weeks old daughter and OH's sister's wedding where they were part of bridal party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

LirW wrote: »
    There were other people with babys/ toddlers, because the guests were quite international and many had to travel. It didn't bother anyone, the baby didn't stand out and it was all fine. Some people really have some stick up their ar5e when they see a small child anywhere outside their home.

It's a special form of self entitlement. Everything should be tailored to their needs and f*** everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

meeeeh wrote: »
    It's a special form of self entitlement. Everything should be tailored to their needs and f*** everyone else.

I often wonder where it comes from. Is it our historical pub culture that has certain Irish people feel that kids shouldn’t be with adults?

It’s perfectly normal in most other countries for kids to be in restaurants at night time, on flights, at games, at weddings etc… Kids that have gone to restaurants and social occasions from an early age are used to them and generally behave themselves.

I very very rarely see kids “running around screaming” in restaurants, but the “child free” gang seem to see this every time they’re in the company of children.

I can only assume they dine out very rarely and when they do, they go to fast food “restaurants" that serve burgers and “fries”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,667 ✭✭✭harr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭mvl

John_Rambo wrote: »
    It’s perfectly normal in most other countries for kids to be in restaurants at night time, on flights, at games, at weddings etc… Kids that have gone to restaurants and social occasions from an early age are used to them and generally behave themselves.
    ha at the behaving part, might be true.
    or another option: while I was a child in the 80es, I remember my parents did bring me wherever they were going: restaurants, indoor theatre & music shows (no matches though)... so maybe I am repeating with my child what I've seen my parents doing. anyway, I find this suits us too now (with the note that I wouldn't bring my child in a place where there too many drunk people or drugs, too innocent for that)

but the flights thingy ... now that I call entitlement: various "responsible" adults, complaining about kids behavior on flights - be it economy or business class // same **** to me. think such ppl should complain to the airline company for not getting enough information about who goes on their flights ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Weddings are a celebration for the family and you want them all there young and old

Concerts matches etc no