Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,420 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    What has any of that to do with her turning down accommodation & staying in the Garda station. It has no bearing on the case & it has no bering on the social welfare assessment. Even criminals get housed & dole. This isn't new news nor is it news.

I've cut out the stuff not relevant to my point. My point is, I have missed ONE month's work in my 20 years of employment, straight out of school, and haven't been able to get on the 'property ladder' yet but I'm not expecting/feel entitled to a free house. It's just not in mine or many other's mindsets but for some, sure, fcuk it, go on the housing list at 17?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,101 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

one of the reasons i mentioned the way Boylan is perceived is that we have a problem with discourse at the moment where everything has to be split down the middle, where one side (usually on twitter) sticks their fingers in their ears and shouts 'nazis!' and the other (usually in comment sections or here) similarly has a bloody-minded point of view and vehemently defends it. Any objective person coming into this thread can see that certain posters have their mind made up, have all the answers and are not open to anything contradicting their point of view - you'd wonder why they're even in here, such is their level of conviction. maybe it's for the backslapping? i've expressed many different views in this thread but the only ones people are responding to are the ones they can jump on and ridicule.
    but i digress, it's a serious problem, because it means that the only people who ask the uncomfortable questions are people like Boylan, who's made a career out of being 'edgy' and 'offensive'. so it re-inforces this sense of two extremes that can't interact with eachother without calling eachother names. yes, i'm aware i just did exactly that by labelling him a 'bigot', but bigotry is an intolerance towards other opinions that contradict your own. and the left are just as bad at this, twitter has been unbearable the last couple of days with pandering hot-takes that make you wonder if they've even thought about this case beyond 'homeless bad! housing good!' there's no attempt to understand why people are so frustrated with the system and why they're projecting that frustration.

anyway blah blah, i'll just sit back and wait for someone to snip a few words out of this post and jump on them.

I get what your saying and I usually try and see both sides of the story. But this case...... in her defense she feels she’s entitled to that house as that is how most people she knows and probably members of her family get a roof over their heads.
    Now, in my opinion, she and politicians in general have vastly underestimated the kickback that ordinary working people will deal out. People can only take so much of the high tax and poor value for money we are getting in every facet of the government, so when this story comes along, with its in your face obvious bull****, it could be the proverbial straw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭22michael44

tom1ie wrote: »
    I get what your saying and I usually try and see both sides of the story. But this case...... in her defense she feels she’s entitled to that house as that is how most people she knows and probably members of her family get a roof over their heads.
    Now, in my opinion, she and politicians in general have vastly underestimated the kickback that ordinary working people will deal out. People can only take so much of the high tax and poor value for money we are getting in every facet of the government, so when this story comes along, with its in your face obvious bull****, it could be the proverbial straw.

yeah i completely get that. and it pisses me off that viewpoints like yours are mocked or dismissed by 'lefties' or bleeding-hearts or whatever. it's a mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

I'll ask me boss will he donate a 16 seater transit to help her into the future the poor lass :pac:

If she accepts at least you could say she is planning for the future

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Birneybau wrote: »
    What has any of that to do with her turning down accommodation & staying in the Garda station. It has no bearing on the case & it has no bering on the social welfare assessment. Even criminals get housed & dole. This isn't new news nor is it news.

I've cut out the stuff not relevant to my point. My point is, I have missed ONE month's work in my 20 years of employment, straight out of school, and haven't been able to get on the 'property ladder' yet but I'm not expecting/feel entitled to a free house. It's just not in mine or many other's mindsets but for some, sure, fcuk it, go on the housing list at 17?!?!

I still feel guilty taking four weeks off after the mother passed in 1993.

Didn't sign on as I'd been temping before but once I felt up to it I was back. Just how I was reared, nothing unusual.

Or it wasnt, by the time I'm done with this go round I reckon there'll be more her than us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

There is probably a premium for being a member of the Travelling Community also.

They have Pavee Point (anyone heard anything from them about this yet?)

And ethnicity/racism legislation behind them too. No one dares to question them.

one of the reasons i mentioned the way Boylan is perceived is that we have a problem with discourse at the moment where everything has to be split down the middle, where one side (usually on twitter) sticks their fingers in their ears and shouts 'nazis!' and the other (usually in comment sections or here) similarly has a bloody-minded point of view and vehemently defends it. Any objective person coming into this thread can see that certain posters have their mind made up, have all the answers and are not open to anything contradicting their point of view - you'd wonder why they're even in here, such is their level of conviction. maybe it's for the backslapping? i've expressed many different views in this thread but the only ones people are responding to are the ones they can jump on and ridicule.
    but i digress, it's a serious problem, because it means that the only people who ask the uncomfortable questions are people like Boylan, who's made a career out of being 'edgy' and 'offensive'. so it re-inforces this sense of two extremes that can't interact with eachother without calling eachother names. yes, i'm aware i just did exactly that by labelling him a 'bigot', but bigotry is an intolerance towards other opinions that contradict your own. and the left are just as bad at this, twitter has been unbearable the last couple of days with pandering hot-takes that make you wonder if they've even thought about this case beyond 'homeless bad! housing good!' there's no attempt to understand why people are so frustrated with the system and why they're projecting that frustration.

anyway blah blah, i'll just sit back and wait for someone to snip a few words out of this post and jump on them.

No, I get ya. There is a problem with homelessness but this lady and her family are not the faces of it.

Just wish the media took some time to research it before running with the “woman FORCED to spend night in Garda Station.” I’m mad at the media tbh. There’s real people struggling tonight who need to be heard much more than Ms Loadsacash

well done on completely missing the point.

Thanks. What's my prize? Is it a free gaff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

Between radio, tv and print media the overwhelming theme is sympathy towards her and her situation. None of them appear to have attempted to ask the ‘hard questions’.

It’s completely at odds with this thread where I’d say 20% of the posts seem to be supportive of her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭FFred

Build it and they will come.

The system is there and people will abuse it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

Omackeral wrote: »
    Thanks. What's my prize? Is it a free gaff?

No no no, you worked and paid your taxes.

Your prize is to get out there and make a donation to the Ms Cash homeless trust first thing tomorrow morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

No, I get ya. There is a problem with homelessness but this lady and her family are not the faces of it.

Just wish the media took some time to research it before running with the “woman FORCED to spend night in Garda Station.” I’m mad at the media tbh. There’s real people struggling tonight who need to be heard much more than Ms Loadsacash

Agree, most people in difficult circumstances are dignified and will not ever pull a stunt like Cash did.

She has let the side down IMO.

But has opened up a debate too. Own goal though.

If only our media would report both sides.... but that's not happening is it. sigh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

calm down. bigot is hardly on the same level as nazi, and the reason i'm referring to him as such has nothing to do with the welfare issue (when people snip out the rest of your post are they admitting they haven't actually read the whole thing?). I'm just describing how he's perceived. He's a 'shock-jock' presenter with a frequently appalling social media manner. Yes he's made some good points in this instance but don't be fooled into thinking he's an intelligent, fearless social analyst.

Ah, but he is. You never answered my question.
    Are you a friend of mags?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

Previously 1 in 7 never worked a day in Ireland, what is that figure today?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/one-in-seven-people-on-the-dole-has-never-worked-a-single-day-29278033.html

anewme wrote: »
    Well sorry but I disagree about the Communion dress.

The daughter was dressed up to the nines.

The mother was dressed up to the nines.

if you are homeless , this is not your priority.

Buying crates of Coors and bottles of Vodka last week is a cheek too.

This scammer CLEARS nearly 50k a year, double what Many families I know earn. She expects to spend that 50k on herself and for the rest of us to pay for her.

Not sure where you got moneylenders from?

She says she Saved for the Communion.

Most working families have no savings but yet homeless people can Save and then spend extravagantly. There is something seriously wrong here.

You forgot about her post on buy and sell Tallaght looking for a 7 seater car in February for 10 grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭anewme

deco nate wrote: »
    You forgot about her post on buy and sell Tallaght looking for a 7 seater car in February for 10 grand!

I didn't know about it till later.

WTF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,766 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I posted earlier about giving to homeless charities.
    I know a nice few people and they are tired of them for various reasons.
    Being quilted/made feel bad for being successful.
    Seeing people benefit from them who squander the money/food.
    Hearing about houses being turned down for various reasons.
    Seeing people who are homeless with expensive items.
    Plus several other things.

How big a hole can you dig? Keep digging

I'm actually shocked it's that high.

So much for people slagging me off saying the dole is not a lifestyle choice for anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭Shpud2

Sorry, prisoner not punisher.
    Does anyone know how to embed the link above? It’s an image

This one?
    458048.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,302 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Omackeral wrote:
    Yep. Sleepers12, end of the road and your good self.

Just so we are clear. Like every one else I don't think she should be getting 50k per year. A few more kids and it'll be 75k a year and a 6 bed house.
    I'm at a comfortable stage in my life but a friend remortgaged in 2007. Borrowed more than he should. I saw him really suffer for a few years. It wasn't a bank. I can't remember the company but they specialised in people already refused. They charged higher rates too. They rang him dozens of times a day. Literally dozens of times day and night. The pressure they put him under was unreal. I worried he'd die of stress or kill himself. They changed the law and they couldn't call him all the time & it made it harder to take the house off him. They started to work with him & he's back on track now. I have seen the pressure people are under to pay their own way. It's not right that someone should get so much from social welfare. I truly get that. My only gripe here is the made up stories and the degrading terms people used in some posts.

Even the communion dress. The welfare officer would have given a few hundred towards the day. If they didn't svp would help out.

Feck ya deco. I’m on phone and it took ages to go back and find that post lol

LOL, sorry. I saved it to my phone to share on Messenger with mates. We know friends of hers.
    And they are all playing the state, while we are working to keep our heads above water.

Just an edit:I didn't know they were friends till I was sent a screenshot of her friends list. Crazy stuff.
    I won't say more for now.
    But I have some in the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,597 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

A few more kids and it'll be 75k a year and a 6 bed house.

My only gripe here is the made up stories...

Stop contributing to the made up stories then? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,302 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I can beat you there. Three days for my father's funeral and not a single sick day in over 30 years. I'm self employed. I usually work 6 days a week with 2 or three weeks of per year. My son is autistic & in his early 20s. He could be on permanent disability. Instead I support him. I believe that welfare should be for those in need and not a lifestyle choice. I'm totally behind you. I object to some misleading posts and degrading posts.

Edit :my wife just reminded me that I worked the morning of our wedding.

Easy enough to spot alright.

Ignore button is your friend though. Means those with brains and the capability to put points across can just get on with it :D

I have said this before, but that is not the thing to do.
    Posts from all sides need to be questioned, so blocking someone adds to the other side.

I still feel guilty taking four weeks off after the mother passed in 1993.

I can beat you there. Three days for my father's funeral and not a single sick day in over 30 years. I'm self employed. I usually work 6 days a week with 2 or three weeks of per year. My son is autistic & in his early 20s. He could be on permanent disability. Instead I support him. I believe that welfare should be for those in need and not a lifestyle choice. I'm totally behind you. I object to some misleading posts and degrading posts.

Genuine kudos to you. The self employed get a ****ty deal when they need a bit of help. Not on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,466 ✭✭✭blackwhite

You can't get the probation act if you already have a conviction. Therefore she can't have 30 add convictions. If she has 30 odd previous charges & I have yet to see a link to this then she was not convicted of them.

I'm not trying to convince anyone of what she did. "Handling stolen goods" aren't my words. It's what she was charged with. That's a fact. The Garda said in court that she did not steal them. She got the probation act for this.

Again she got the probation act. She has NO criminal record to report. They can't make one up just to please boards.ie members

You need to drop the lies - it’s as transparent as hell. You selectively pick stuff from the reporting of her court case, and then ignore ye bits that don’t suit the yarn you are trying to spin.

She has multiple prior convictions - for Road Traffic Offences. This was stated by the prosecuting Garda during her trial, but you are determined to lie and pretend otherwise - despite referring repeatedly to the record of her conviction.

There’s no requirement in the Probation Act for the offender to have a clean prior record, the section that was applied for her is quoted below.

A few posts earlier you said you didn’t know what the law is - now your are proclaiming that your flawed interpretation of what it might be is the actual law. The actual law is quoted below and doesn’t contain any of the BS that you are pretending that it does.

She had section 1.2 of the Probation Act applied. That means that a criminal conviction is recorded, but any other punishment is waived by the court. She has a criminal record from that, before you consider her other numerous convictions that were referred to in her trial (that you are determined to try and erase).

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1907/act/17/enacted/en/print
    Where any person has been convicted on indictment of any offence punishable with imprisonment, and the court is of opinion that, having regard to the character, antecedents, age, health, or mental condition of the person charged, or to the trivial nature of the offence, or to the extenuating circumstances under which the offence was committed, it is inexpedient to inflict any punishment or any other than a nominal punishment, or that it is expedient to release the offender on probation, the court may, in lieu of imposing a sentence of imprisonment, make an order discharging the offender conditionally on his entering into a recognizance, with or without sureties, to be of good behaviour and to appear for sentence when called on at any time during such period, not exceeding three years, as may be specified in the order.

When bending over backwards to defend a criminal scumbag it’s better not to make claims that can easily be proven to be utter BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,597 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Genuine kudos to you. The self employed get a ****ty deal when they need a bit of help. Not on.

What do you mean by the self-employed get a shìtty deal when they need a bit of help? They have the same entitlement to assistance from the State as anyone else when they need a bit of help, even each and every martyr in this thread.

I’ll hang on so while you explain why you were telling everyone else her story was bad enough without making up stuff about her, yet that’s exactly what you did yourself claiming she’d likely be hiding her Facebook in the future so we wouldn’t see the photos of the trip to Disneyland??

And as was explained to you at the time - that’s just not how the housing list operates. It simply isn’t possible for her to cheat anyone out of a place on the housing list. You can read more about it here -

Applying for local authority/social housing

Nothing wrong with it at all, but it misses the point she was making. It’s simply inadequate and inappropriate that she was on the housing list in the first place for the length of time she was on it, and then to be put up in a hotel room having her children sleep head to toe. It’s simply not good enough in this day and age, and I say that as one of these “hard working taxpayers” that everyone cribbing about this case keeps referring to. There’s 10,000 more cases like it. This woman isn’t even the tip of the iceberg. It’s 2018, not 1818 ffs.

No, everything you said wasn’t true, and you didn’t only deal with the night in question. You speculated about her future and all the rest of it, you weren’t even aware of her circumstances, but that didn’t stop you. To be fair to you, you didn’t come out with some of the more ridiculous stuff I’ve read in this thread (like the ever increasing amount she’s “getting into her hand from the State”, where are we now, €87k? Be up to €100k by the morning :pac:). All that’s happened is now the story’s gone beyond your control and people are pointing to the fact that she’s a traveller, building their own narratives around that aspect of her life, no different to the way you did when you started the thread. I can understand why that doesn’t suit your narrative, but that’s what happens when things go beyond your control, as they did with the woman in this case. Rather than trying to play down the fact that she’s a traveller because it isn’t good “PR” for this “homeless cause” you mentioned, you’re better off acknowledging that she represents every single one of the 10,000 people on the homeless list who will have pasts of their own that’ll be dug up if they were ever to go public with their stories.

(Apologies for the dodgy edit, still getting used to this new iPhone, first world problems :pac:)

Ok, about the ****e you posted about people saying the money has gone up from 50 grand to 80-100 grand. And people are making things up about her, that is bull****.

She is raking in over 51 grand. That equals a working Joe on a wage of about 85 grand BEFORE Tax.
    Can we stop the bs now?
    No, it's not gonna happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Edit :my wife just reminded me that I worked the morning of our wedding.

This woman is nothing but a cheat, liar and a criminal.

By pandering to her and constantly excusing her behaviour you do a grave injustice to those who genuinely need help.