Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Nermal

i can't get over people thinking that the only possible way to fund social welfare is through taxing the working man

someone on reddit made the comparison to the amount of money owed by Apple - the figure is astronomical, it completely dwarves even the most generous estimations of the cost of welfare fraud.

This is not welfare fraud. It should be, but it's not.

Who do you think pays corporation tax? People pay it - customers, workers, those who receive dividends. It is not a magic money tree.

In any case, it doesn't matter how much we raise in taxes - this woman doesn't deserve to receive it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

Lillyfae wrote: »
    Why does no-one ever question why the parents have 6/10/13 children?? I have one, would like to have another one but myself and my partner think we can't afford it, even both working full time on pretty average wages. We couldn't even in our wildest dreams afford 3.
    Not to mention where the hell are the fathers??

If I went to the bank for a mortgage with 6 kids, they factor that into capacity to repay and I very much doubt I'd even get a mortgage. Yet for public housing they don't even dare to question how many children you have???

This woman is on the house list 11 years and her oldest is 11 so she literally popped one out and went straight on a list. So obviously since child 1 she couldn't afford her own housing needs... But yeah let's have, not 1, not 2, not even 3 but 5 more kids. This is after its blatantly obvious she couldn't manage after the first

So now, we have to pay for a large and expensive 5 bed (or 6 bed if theres even any) house for her

If you go on the list with 1 child, it should be capped that you'll get a house suited to that need. You want to have more kids after that, then you can bear the financial cost yourself. Otherwise we're allowing people to get themselves into unsustainable situations like the woman in question, and many more like her

No subtext here - yes I would rather sponging, pointless, layabouts did not exist.

The country would flourish.

No it won't. According to the Irish Fiscal Advisory Council, the unemployment rate may fall to 4.5% next year, ie, a state of full employment will be reached, so chasing cases like this (and solving them?) will make no difference in the grand scheme of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,085 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

not all hard-working taxpayers think like you, praise be.

Am I right in thinking you are happy with the current situation that herself and many others just take from society and don’t contribute to anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,085 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

No it won't. According to the Irish Fiscal Advisory Council, the unemployment rate may fall to 4.5% next year, ie, a state of full employment will be reached, so chasing cases like this (and solving them?) will make no difference in the grand scheme of things.

But it will make a difference. It would lay down a marker that this kind of carry on is no longer acceptable. Hard working tax payers will no longer accept cases that aren’t genuine, sponging off the state, in fact harming the state.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

No subtext here - yes I would rather sponging, pointless, layabouts did not exist.

The country would flourish.

So not having to spend billions with no return will do nothing for our economy???

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    It's fascism is fascism.

If fascism has now been redefined to not gifting feckless criminals multiples of the average wage, I will happily be called a facist.

Nermal wrote: »
    It's fascism is fascism.

If fascism has now been redefined to not gifting feckless criminals multiples of the average wage, I will happily be called a facist.

I've a dodgy hip but if one can goose limp I'll give it a try.

Seriously some people really need to look at the big picture here.

The 4.5% figure refers to people actively seeking but unable to find work.

You think that's the category she's in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

First if you're going to call someone a Nazi then it's wise to know how to spell it.

I am dyslexic and autistic. Does it make you feel a bigger person pointing out someone's disadvantages?
    Sleeper12 wrote:
    It doesn't matter what colour or race she is or isn't. It's fascism is fascism. Like I say just like natzi Germany

Do you actually even know what you are talking about now. Being a traveller makes no difference whatsoever. The fact that she has never worked never will, never contributed to anything in this country yet 'earns' thousands more than a worker in a well paying job is what is infuriating people. Yet she is castigating the very government that are throwing a thousand euros tax free at her a week

Please read my post that you quoted. I clearly say that it makes no difference what race or colour she is. It's still fascist to suggest forcing a woman to have surgery so she can't have more children.

I get that people like this woman costs us 50k a year & rising but it's still fascist to suggest forced surgery. In other words the poster has a valid point about us getting screwed as taxpayers but that doesn't excuse fascist remarks or using the term "breading". As pointed out above I am limited in the words I can use due to a minor disability yet I am intelligent enough to be able to avoid racist, degrading & fascist remarks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭22michael44

tom1ie wrote: »
    Am I right in thinking you are happy with the current situation that herself and many others just take from society and don’t contribute to anything?

no.

tom1ie wrote: »

no.

Then start being part of the solution.

(And no one bother trying to be funny and say "final". It's trite and lame)

I am dyslexic and autistic. Does it make you feel a bigger person pointing out someone's disadvantages?

Please read my post that you quoted. I clearly say that it makes no difference what race or colour she is. It's still fascist to suggest forcing a woman to have surgery so she can't have more children.

I get that people like this woman costs us 50k a year & rising but it's still fascist to suggest forced surgery. In other words the poster has a valid point about us getting screwed as taxpayers but that doesn't excuse fascist remarks or using the term "breading". As pointed out above I am limited in the words I can use due to a minor disability yet I am intelligent enough to be able to avoid racist, degrading & fascist remarks.

well said. another thing i've noticed is that people arguing against the prevailing mood in this thread are willing to acknowledge the other side's arguments, as you have done here. yet the dominant side on here refuse to budge an inch on anything. it's not a good look.

Then start being part of the solution.

(And no one bother trying to be funny and say "final". It's trite and lame)

not going to be part of your advocated solution, cheers all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

We have to attack the children’s allowance!

Percentage paid out based on school attendance .
    If attendance drops below 80% then children allowance is chopped.
    No children’s allowance after the 3rd child bit you can get the equivalent on tax relief .
    Therefore a genuine working family won’t be penalized if they want to have the fourth and should stop these sponges from having any more.

I think that woman needs to get a house but either it’s a 3 bed in Dublin or a 4/5 bed in another county. The line has to be drawn somewhere. The Media handled this very poorly. There is people traveling 100 to Dublin every day for work and it is completely unfair for this free loader to live in county Dublin for free

well said. another thing i've noticed is that people arguing against the prevailing mood in this thread are willing to acknowledge the other side's arguments, as you have done here. yet the dominant side on here refuse to budge an inch on anything. it's not a good look.

Budge on what???

She's allowed 40k ?? 5 kids are fine???

There is no "budging" against such a monumental wrong.

Budge on what???

She's allowed 40k ?? 5 kids are fine???

There is no "budging" against such a monumental wrong.

i think i'm done replying to you but feel free to keep screeching at me.

Bowlardo wrote: »
    We have to attack the children’s allowance!

Percentage paid out based on school attendance .
    If attendance drops below 80% then children allowance is chopped.
    No children’s allowance after the 3rd child bit you can get the equivalent on tax relief .
    Therefore a genuine working family won’t be penalized if they want to have the fourth and should stop these sponges from having any more.

I think that woman needs to get a house but either it’s a 3 bed in Dublin or a 4/5 bed in another county. The line has to be drawn somewhere. The Media handled this very poorly. There is people traveling 100 to Dublin every day for work and it is completely unfair for this free loader to live in county Dublin for free

It's always a delight of an evening to get a LUAS full of drunks and junkies to a station camped out by more drunks and junkies- to take an 85 minute train journey home to end a 13 hour day.

Seriously some people really need to look at the big picture here.

I don't get this at all. I already said that it's a valid point /argument that she is royaly screwing the taxpayers. I have no problem with this opinion and I have the same opinion.

I am only referring to the ugly racist, degrading and fascist comments.

I am not arguing about the cost to the taxpayer. There is no argument there. 50k is a shocking amount of money. Plus rent allowance plus I have no idea how many visits to the welfare officer. Welfare officer cou be pay thousands more in one off expenses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Let's give her a house in a rural town. What does she need to be in Dublin for?

eviltwin wrote: »

I'm sure that she'd be very happy in Rathkeale

So not having to spend billions with no return will do nothing for our economy???

Cases like hers cost 'billions'? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

eviltwin wrote: »

She needs to be close to a grave yard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Lando Griffins OTHER HALF

If gestation was halved she'd have 12 kids. That's the problem when children's allowance has no limit on kids for people who are on the free train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

I don't get this at all. I already said that it's a valid point /argument that she is royaly screwing the taxpayers. I have no problem with this opinion and I have the same opinion.

I am only referring to the ugly racist, degrading and fascist comments.

I am not arguing about the cost to the taxpayer. There is no argument there. 50k is a shocking amount of money. Plus rent allowance plus I have no idea how many visits to the welfare officer. Welfare officer cou be pay thousands more in one off expenses

Electricity & gas allowance, rent allowance, free travel, medical card, T.V. licence, back to school allowance, free books, social welfare, children's allowance.

These maybe do not cover every possible entitlement but they are not one off payments and with so many children they will undoubtedly follow the same line!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Gatling wrote: »
    She needs to be close to a grave yard

Only fair, if you paid for something that looks like this
    https://i.pinimg.com/originals/72/ac/e7/72ace7b0769ffaac04b7659eacdac8d6.jpg
    you would want to be within walking distance of it too.

Reading the thread from the start you'll see plenty of posters from both sides. What usually happens is one side drops out & let the right wing posters continue clapping themselves on the back & agreeing with everything each other says as if people in the real world actually talk like this.

I'd love to know do posters actually talk about forcing women to "get their tubes tied" with their own family? Do they describe their own wives and daughters as "breading"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,692 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

If she lived in Gilead, she'd be their best asset.

To thine own self be true

If she lived in Gilead, she'd be their best asset.

God no, Aunt Lydia has standards! She'd be in the Colonies shot after 12 seconds for refusing to work!

I'd love to know do posters actually talk about forcing women to "get their tubes tied" with their own family? Do they describe their own wives and daughters as "breading"?

No, I reserve that commentary for criminal freeloaders.