Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do shops have to let customers use their toilets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

mackeire wrote: »
    Because they're 10 and able to stay somewhere safe for a few minutes on their own.

Unless they of course need to use the toilet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Because they're 10 and able to stay somewhere safe for a few minutes on their own.

What was the hassle bringing them with him though? What was the reasoning for leaving them in the shop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackeire

Try_harder wrote: »
    Surely the child knew he needed to go when the dad guy was leaving, why didn't he tell him then?

IBS, it kinda just comes on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Yet not communicate with the dad that they may need to use the toilet before he goes.

ETA: If he had IBS that should of been communicated as a potential issue.
    Anyway I don't agree he should have left 2 of them even if it was just a mile away.

IBS, it kinda just comes on you.

So now the kids has IBS, surely best not to leave him unattended then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭soups05

really don't get this at all. Why was it a problem for the ten year old to cross the road to the shopping centre toilets?

in the OP it states the kid nearly sh*t himself, hence why some posters called him partially toilet trained. But it appears he is unable to cross the road alone either. Is this kid suffering from a disability not disclosed in the op? if not then he can shag off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Maybe the Dad has no toilet in his house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

I don't think TUSLA would agree.

soups05 wrote: »
    really don't get this at all. Why was it a problem for the ten year old to cross the road to the shopping centre toilets?

in the OP it states the kid nearly sh*t himself, hence why some posters called him partially toilet trained. But it appears he is unable to cross the road alone either. Is this kid suffering from a disability not disclosed in the op? if not then he can shag off.

He has IBS now

cursai wrote: »
    Maybe the Dad has no toilet in his house.

Maybe he didnt want the kid pooing at his house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackeire

Anyway, cheers for the replies, I'll have to go down to the shop myself and have a chat with the manager.

And to the comments slagging off the child, I just hope that real life you isn't like Internet you or you really do have a sad existence!

Peace out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Anyway, cheers for the replies, I'll have to go down to the shop myself and have a chat with the manager.

And to the comments slagging off the child, I just hope that real life you isn't like Internet you or you really do have a sad existence!

Peace out!

You should also report the father for neglect.

Peace out!

Why are you going down? Are you the child's dad? Or the guy that left two young lads in the shop?

Sorry that's ridiculous , this whole thread is ridiculous, is not the responsibility of a shop to provide toilets to customers.. and if the kid had IBS that makes the decision to leave them there even more questionable. What if they did have a toilet for customers but it was out of order?

Sorry that's ridiculous , this whole thread is ridiculous, is not the responsibility of a shop to provide toilets to customers..

there's a whiff off it alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Many moons ago when I was 18 I worked in shop / garage and Frank Carson came in and asked if we had a public toilet. We didn't but I let him use the staff toilet. When he came out he thanked me and said it was a cracker :p

Not enough public toilets around in general though tbf, especially in our towns and cities, might not be the responsibility of a shop but some are far too uptight about letting customers use their facilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Bredabe

I have a sibling who works in an area where there is a lot of drug abuse. His boss is forced by Health Authority to keep the toilets for the shop open, resulting in staff having to clean up all kinds of bodily fluids and drug paraphernalia on an hourly basis.

They get NO training on how to dispose of the paraphernalia or any clue as to where to dispose of it safely, there are no grants for his boss to buy special gloves/masks for them to wear while they clean this up.

While in general, I would be pro shop toilet, only if ppl using it, respect it!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Try_harder wrote: »
    Why are you going down? Are you the child's dad? Or the guy that left two young lads in the shop?

He wants to ask permission to go to the toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭BeerFarts

It's amazing you've got people advocating calling the guards and tusla. There are some seriously deranged people here.

It sucks for the kid but sh!t happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

If you are going to the shop OP be sure to first ask if the toilet is a public one . Because if its a staff toilet I would definitely not be creating any sort of fuss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Jaysus...people being way to harsh here.

Kids would have a great time nosing around in the shop picking out what they wanted till whoever was in charge went and get heir wallet.

Somewhere in that time, child needs to use the loo and doesthe right thing and asks but is refused. Having been told not to leave the shop, again he does what he was told and stays in the shop.

Comments that he's not toilet trained etc are totally un necessary and unhelpful.

I totally understand for reasons outlined above (namely insurance scammers and dirty fckers) why the shop refused and the Dad will just have to accept that as policy, harsh and all as it seems. If the shop staff were told not to let anyone use the staff toilets then they might have gotten into trouble themselves so just give a blanket NO.

What I really don't get though, is the need to slag off a ten year old child.

He's 10 ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,265 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

BeerFarts wrote: »
    It's amazing you've got people advocating calling the guards and tusla. There are some seriously deranged people here.

It sucks for the kid but sh!t happens.

And if the child got hurt while unattended? who's responsibility should it be? leaving 2 10 year olds alone is the irresponsible act here, not refusing access to a bathroom, which sometimes isn't feasible depending onthe shop layout, number of staff etc.

anewme wrote: »
    Jaysus...people being way to harsh here.

Kids would have a great time nosing around in the shop picking out what they wanted till whoever was in charge went and get heir wallet.

Somewhere in that time, child needs to use the loo and doesthe right thing and asks but is refused. Having been told not to leave the shop, again he does what he was told and stays in the shop.

Comments that he's not toilet trained etc are totally un necessary and unhelpful.

I totally understand for reasons outlined above (namely insurance scammers and dirty fckers) why the shop refused and the Dad will just have to accept that as policy, harsh and all as it seems. If the shop staff were told not to let anyone use the staff toilets then they might have gotten into trouble themselves so just give a blanket NO.

What I really don't get though, is the need to slag off a ten year old child.

He's 10 ffs.

Except he also has IBS. I think the fault lies on the guardian for leaving the kid in the situation, and not the shops. If the guardian didn't know, it should of been explained to them by the parent (presuming OP in this situation) so the kid didn't find themselves in an awkward situation. Seems like an excuse to mitigate blame to somebody else, which I have no time for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

What about toilet shops?

soups05 wrote: »

I reckon the kids were told NOT to leave the shop and were just doing what they were told.

Except he also has IBS. I think the fault lies on the guardian for leaving the kid in the situation, and not the shops. If the guardian didn't know, it should of been explained to them by the parent (presuming OP in this situation) so the kid didn't find themselves in an awkward situation. Seems like an excuse to mitigate blame to somebody else, which I have no time for.

I don't think the fault lies with the shop either.

I've said I get their policy. I've said the Dad will just have to accept it.

That's not what I'm saying.

I'm saying there's some very bitchy comments made on here about a ten year old child.

Who has done nothing wrong.

anewme wrote: »
    I don't think the fault lies with the shop either.

I've said I get their policy. I've said the Dad will just have to accept it.

That's not what I'm saying.

I'm saying there's some very bitchy comments made on here about a ten year old child.

Who has done nothing wrong.

I agree that comments blaming the child are out of order alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I hope nobody here was out for a whole day with no toilet around when suddenly the sh1t properly hits you and it feels like you burst.
    Never had an unexpected pressure that just got you?
    Seems like boards is occupied from the poop elite that never had any movements whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Lance Warm Yawn

Left a fella use our jacks in our store room and he nicked wallets/phones and a vodka bottle ... that and insurance probably would mAke shops not allow customers in the back