Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

I am not sure I follow. We should not be whining about this woman who went whining to the media because the free house was not big enough?

Yeah, you need to go out and work harder to pay more tax so she gets that bigger house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Everyone should abandon ship. When its Paul Murphy and 2M benefits lifers on the island things will come to a head real quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

By the same logic, instead of constantly winning in the media about how hard done by they are, why don't these people go out, pull themselves up by the bootstraps and earn more money?

I don't see them posting in this thread, it's directed at the constant moaners.

It's a Saturday, if you don't have an extra job on the weekends, you should. It's an easy way for the "squeezed middle" to earn an extra few bob. At least we can get a bit more tax out of you.

I blame the government and the media for creating this entitlement culture. You can see it clearly on display in this thread.

Micko from the squeezed middle pays a few thousand in taxes every year and now he thinks he's Jeff Bezos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

dav3 wrote: »
    I don't see them posting in this thread, it's directed at the constant moaners.

It's a Saturday, if you don't have an extra job on the weekends, you should. It's an easy way for the "squeezed middle" to earn an extra few bob. At least we can get a bit more tax out of you.

I blame the government and the media for creating this entitlement culture. You can see it clearly on display in this thread.

Micko from the squeezed middle pays a few thousand in taxes every year and now he thinks he's Jeff Bezos.

Few thousand?

I pay 21k tax a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭22michael44

can't believe you're all falling for an obvious joke post. and you say i'm slow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

can't believe you're all falling for an obvious joke post. and you say i'm slow

This lad has form for this left wing gibberish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭22michael44

This lad has form for this left wing gibberish.

how is that left wing though! if anything he's taking the personal responsibility argument and driving it to a ridiculously over-the-top extreme.

this : 'until you're paying millions in tax you're not contributing anything to the country'

it's clearly not a serious post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Nermal

ED E wrote: »
    Everyone should abandon ship. When its Paul Murphy and 2M benefits lifers on the island things will come to a head real quick.

How can we speed up the process?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Nermal wrote: »
    How can we speed up the process?

Mass emigration.

Few thousand?

I pay 21k tax a year.

That is a few thousand and you should be paying more. That won't even cover the pope's dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,085 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Here’s a question. Which political party or even politician do we have in Ireland that has the ideology to change the system to stop this rom continuing? We have left and hard left, even the centre party’s seem to be slightly left. Are fg not supposed to be centre right? Not one of them have had the bollocks to call this what it is.
    I seriously think if you had a party that vowed to reform the welfare state that has been created, especially with this weeks goings on and the fact an election is probably just around the corner, theyd end up with a majority- despite the media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Tax the rich... Rich being anyone making more than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,085 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

That is a few thousand and you should be paying more. That won't even cover the pope's dinner.

How much tax does miss cash pay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

tom1ie wrote: »

€0, but spends like Howard Hughes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Trailer parks,food stamps which excludes the sale of alcohol and cigarettes and any Doley leech being greater than 6 months on the dole being forced to partake in a 39 hours a week voluntary role in a work environment.
    If they were forced to do 39 hours voluntary they wouldn't be long getting cute to the fact that they could earn a wage for doing the same thing if they got off their useless arse.thats my idea for a solution.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Poster on ignore there for obvious reasons and another report added now.

Don't know about the rest of you workers but I'm doing the household chores I'm too knackered to do during the week and getting ready for a 4.45am alarm call Monday to start it over again.

Saturday job??? Ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

dav3 wrote:

Feckin pope's visit will actually make more homeless. He plans to visit a homeless charity.

Oh the iorny of it all!

Here’s a question. Which political party or even politician do we have in Ireland that has the ideology to change the system to stop this rom continuing? We have left and hard left, even the centre party’s seem to be slightly left. Are fg not supposed to be centre right? Not one of them have had the bollocks to call this what it is.
    I seriously think if you had a party that vowed to reform the welfare state that has been created, especially with this weeks goings on and the fact an election is probably just around the corner, theyd end up with a majority- despite the media.

It's true, what are the figures again? Something like half the population receiving some form of welfare. That means around half the people posting in this thread are welfare scum.

I know the thinking in certain places would be to execute them all, but I would at least give them a chance at trying to educate themselves or finding a job. The other half on here should just work harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Has anyone asked what happened to the child benefit she picked up the previous day?
    Could she have used ther children's allowance to put a roof over her children's heads for the night instead of dragging them through a media circus?

Poster on ignore there for obvious reasons and another report added now.

Don't know about the rest of you workers but I'm doing the household chores I'm too knackered to do during the week and getting ready for a 4.45am alarm call Monday to start it over again.

Saturday job??? Ffs.

There are people trying to help you out with ideas on how you can make more money. If you're just going to throw in back in people's faces, I'm not sure what can be done for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭tintin67

Would she have gone on Late Late Show or Ray D'Arcy show if they were on for an RTE weepathon?

Hopefully Turgidy invites her onto the Late Late Valentine's Special where they give out free johnnies for everybody in the audience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

No idea why they are wearing school uniforms in August.[/quote]

Sure the children have nothing else to wear boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,050 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Feckin pope's visit will actually make more homeless. He plans to visit a homeless charity.

Oh the iorny of it all!

It won't as they are already classed as homeless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

KevinCavan wrote: »
    No idea why they are wearing school uniforms in August.

Sure the children have nothing else to wear boss.[/quote]

*Childer.

Just listening to the Niall Boylan podcast on this topic. 4FM have gained a new listener in me and I will stop listening to Newstalk which I've been listening to for years. He's not perfect but at least he is challenging this fiasco unlike all of the presenters on Newstalk, Today FM and RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Has anyone asked what happened to the child benefit she picked up the previous day?
    Could she have used ther children's allowance to put a roof over her children's heads for the night instead of dragging them through a media circus?

She probably had to pay the interest on her quick quid loan she used on a holiday and got herself a dolphin tattoo with the change.thats the sh1te they are into

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

We need a Bedroom Tax like the UK have- course you want to hear the whining about that!!!!

So Ms Cash can get the house she always wanted. It’s just getting them to breed more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

A few usually means three or four.
    https://law.marquette.edu/facultyblog/2014/07/20/commonly-confused-words-a-couple-a-few-some-several-or-many/comment-page-1/

Shows up your own ignorance when you can't even troll correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Any sign of the father (or fathers) of these 7 children showing an interest in their welfare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Sleeper12 wrote: »

Oh the iorny of it all!

It's not all bad...there's a bitta work going as well....

https://ie.indeed.com/viewjob?jk=9846848488a79671&tk=1ckkhl0km17dh0ev&from=company

It'll be interesting to see the demographic of those applying .... ;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)