Happy After Hours Day Everybody!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,288 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Yeah, that just doesn't cut it i'm afraid.

Sometimes kids are told they might be disappointed on Christmas morning if they had high expectations.
    I did the same thing here people were giving warning they may not be happy. No matter what the was some people wouldn't be happy.

Arghus wrote: »
    Okay, in principle, I can see how announcing an "announcement" could be perceived as funny. Well sort of - it's a pretty gammy attempt at a knowing bit of meta humour really. It's lame and not all that genuinely funny.

And if you're on one side of the fence I'm sure there's LOLS to be had in watching people get wound up about a bit of "fun", but that's also a bit weak if you ask me.

If any regular user started a thread similar to this and proceeded to call those who didn't see the point of the whole LOLS whiny fcks the thread would be locked and the OP would probably be banned. But this all seems to be a relative free for all for the mods involved. What's going on, I thought you guys were supposed to be a little bit more grown up than this?

After Hours isn't as much fun or even as interesting as it used to be : wall to wall threads about divisive issues are zero craic to read through. But this attempt to reclaim this "fun" ethos of the place is just stupid at best and downright condescending and disrespectful towards the user base at worst. I'd rather the tinfoil hat brigade banging on about Feminazis than this painfully sad stuff.

And speaking of the tinfoil hat brigade: I would have previously said that the perception of" cliques" in AH and over zealous Mods all was solely the preserve of the tragic and maladjusted, but this thread and the one that preceded it stinks so badly
    of in-jokes and the in-crowd, that even though it's a "joke", I can't help but think it's a depressing reflection on the spirit of this place.

Enjoy your day.

I really don’t get the seriousness stance people have taken on this. I respect it but don’t understand it.

Even in the announcement thread it was treated as a p1ss take by many.

If you have been monitoring Feedback forum and the AH Discussion thread over the last 6 months, you’ll know that AH is likely to split out it’s serious and fun threads into 2 separate forums- at least as a 6 month pilot.
    This sort of nonsense is probably the start of it.

I don’t like freshpopcorn simply because they didn’t thank me and call me out in the OP for the girth I achieved with my batons.
    But I don’t hold a grudge. Hasn’t stopped me being a fool since and contributing Shiite. Popcorn boy has got a major ribbing today- can ye not give him a break now?

Btw, whatcha think? Would ya like a bite of my baton?
    french_bread_2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Just sit back and enjoy both. It is an AfterHours Day tradition after all.

We should do this every year. Or to annoy the people more, every 11 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Make it a date!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,570 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I had a great day so far. Lots could have to but they choose to go down the moaning route but I suppose that's how they are happiest.

I've probably had a better day than you but nothing to do with AH day :D

So tell us, because you havent given any indication so far, what have you actually done today to mark AH day. Did you make and decorate cakes, hang bunting and balloons, discussed boards at the water cooler...... Pics to prove

All this talk, no info and not a single picture posted to prove anyone is actually celebrating anything to do with this cringefest

You tried to have a joke under the guise of an official announcement. Then mods started threatening people with bans for reporting you for trolling, which is exactly what you where at.

You then in turn started telling the user base they are whingers and they should leave the site.

It wasn't a joke it was to see how people react news. Which lead to some people having a wonderful day.
    We have now learnt those who take this site a tad to seriously and those who don't.
    For example: Lots learnt I am a clown who can't spell and is thick.

Seve OB wrote: »

So tell us, because you havent given any indication so far, what have you actually done today to mark AH day. Did you make and decorate cakes, hang bunting and balloons, discussed boards at the water cooler...... Pics to prove

All this talk, no info and not a single picture posted to prove anyone is actually celebrating anything to do with this cringefest

In addition to AH Day 2018 which is tipped to win the boards.ie Rasberry lifetime achievement award in December, can we have a freshpopcorn AMA to finish out the evening? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,570 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

It wasn't a joke it was to see how people react news. Which lead to some people having a wonderful day.
    We have now learnt those who take this site a tad to seriously and those who don't.

Who? Who has had a wonderful day today because of AH day?

You really are a bit immature aren't you

I am actually a farmer and do odd jobs as well. So I don't have a water cooler. I used the office as an example in the post.
    I did my work and bought all the ingredients to go baking. So, in just had a doughnut!

I know right?

I was expecting a parade. Nothing.

Well they say pride started small. And paddy’s day in the US.

In a few years I can see AH day bring bigger than either.

I’m enjoying seeing serious one track minds being played with.

I'd be mixed. I'd be very serious about certain things and mature but very immature with things on this site for example. I don't really take it seriously unless it's a serious thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Honestly if we get even one departure of those whingers. It would be worth it.

Are you Enda Kenny?

I had a great day, had some laughs, killed some time before I can go drinking

You posted all that sh1te sober?:eek:

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭Yester

Is there going to be a Thanos style culling? Please say yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

This is a bit like when Marge suggested Funny Hat Day to Mr Burns in The Simpson's :)

Anyway I thought AH Day was...excellent! :)

You posted all that sh1te sober?:eek:

:p

The real ****e is yet to come, I'm just getting warmed up :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Kinda the same for me, laughed as I killed some people before I can have a few beers.

Happy AH day everyone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

So this was an "experiment" of yours to see how people react? Well that was fcuking stupid.

It was a double edged sword though, users found out a lot about Mods too and what they think of the users.

Calling users whingers, being too serious and that we are free to leave the site...this is what your "experiment" was run for?

We are meant to be guided to be better posters by you and when we fcuk up we get disciplined by you.

Why would any of us bother playing by the rules now if the rules are being enforced by you? You have lost credibility.

Lets cut the bull****. 'After Hours Day' would have been fine if the clusterfcuk of an announcment thread didnt happen. I know I would have been onboard with it.

Nobody is annoyed at the concept of 'After Hours Day'. People are annoyed at your announcement thread and the way you have dealt with the fallout.

Have the craic all you want, you have done youself, your fellow Mods and this site a disservice.

Enjoy your day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,967 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

At this stage, this thread/"joke" is just embarrassing the entire site the longer it goes on.

It's obvious that the "joke" died on its arse the moment it was announced but we have a mod who just won't stop digging the hole he's been standing in since yesterday and now telling people who are both baffled and annoyed by the muppetry to feck off elsewhere.

The frankly pathetic reasoning of "its AH. What do you expect?" is about as valid as people who bring up that Facekicker guy who was banned or whatever. It belongs in the past and doesn't reflect the reality that the majority of the posters who've commented here are completely disgusted at this latest screw-up and even more by the reactions of those involved to being called out on it.

If the higher ups can't see the damage this shyte has caused then it's even more serious to be honest.. But I fully expect that just as with all feedback that doesn't just validate the latest screw-up, this too will be ignored.

deco nate wrote: »
    Kinda the same for me, laughed as I killed some people before I can have a few beers.

Happy AH day everyone...

Happy AH day deco nate:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭indioblack

We'll laugh at this tomorrow.
    No we won't.
    Yes we will.

I'm at the station being charge with d&d and shoving cake into peoples faces. They haven't even heard of AH day. As soon as I get out, I'll do it again. Bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

... I still don't get the big outrage though.

Poster opens thread, thinks "that looks stupid", goes back to other threads.

There's no harm in that ?

Re-cliques, I haven't really seen that many in-jokes. Posters might know each other from elsewhere and it might come across cliquey at times, just like many other fora like the sports ones, the gamers' ones, the Werewolf one, the ...

When I happen on a forum like that, either I'm really interested and will in turn want to know who's who there, or I'm not so interested and I grab my information and leave.

You can't claim to enter a "community" and know everyone equally from day 1, and again, in any community you are going to have groupuscules who share the same interests or frequent the same places, it has to be accepted as being part of a community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Right so.
    There was supposed to be a big announcement, according to FreshPopcorn.
    Everybody's hopes were up, and curiosity piqued.

FreshPopcorn's announcement was that today was Happy AH's day.

People got very angry and said that the announcement was just not good enough, especially coming from a Mod. It was a betrayal of sorts, and the thread was crap anyway.

You see, while all this was unfolding, a group of posters started seeing the irony in it, and making Mammies and Daddies' jokes*, and posting silly gifs, just for the fun of it, so that kept the thread going a long time, it even spilled into this/a second thread.

(*as in, not good jokes)

So the thread kept going and going, and the intelligent serious posters kept reading and getting angrier and angrier, and the silly-go-lucky posters kept posting gifs and mentioning cake, and the angry posters got very cross and denounced this as pathetic. There, you have it, pa.the.tic.

And unworthy of AH, which is a notion that frankly, I find hard to define.

HTH :)

edit : oh, and Happy After Hours Day !

I'm more confused now.

It's actually very weird.

There was news of a big announcement but as the announcement was fairly rubbish now some people are writing Gettysburg address type posts similar to vicious political speeches while others are talking about baking a cake.

The joke was not funny. Here is a big announcement, and then it's codswallop. i suppose it's better than I thought it was, as I originally thought it was going to be more GDPR crap.

The photos of the cakes are not funny .

The over dramatic narky posts are the best bit, but all in all this is a thread about nothing.

I don't get the joke(s) and I don't get the meltdowns.

I think it's meant to be wacky humour, but it's more funny HAHA (screw loose) than funny haha.

At least it was not more GDPR though.

anewme wrote: »
    I'm more confused now.

It's actually very weird.

There was news of a big announcement but as the announcement was fairly rubbish now some people are writing Gettysburg address type posts similar to vicious political speeches while others are talking about baking a cake.

The joke was not funny. Here is a big announcement, and then it's codswallop. i suppose it's better than I thought it was, as I originally thought it was going to be more GDPR crap.

The photos of the cakes are not funny .

The over dramatic narky posts are the best bit, but all in all this is a thread about nothing.

I don't get the joke(s) and I don't get the meltdowns.

I think it's meant to be wacky humour, but it's more funny HAHA (screw loose) than funny haha.

At least it was not more GDPR though.
    Bastards

I lost a full stop

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,543 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Seriously guys - if you don't like the thread there's no-one forcing you to look at it or post, and there are plenty more threads to post in (or indeed start)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,537 ✭✭✭brevity

Yester wrote: »
    I lost a full stop

Is this it?
    Yester wrote: »