Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

mikemac2 wrote: »
    The Facebook is hilarious , loads of mush to read through

If you have a foreign sounding name and dare to comment the stole our houses and jobs line gets thrown at you hmmm

Can you post a link please

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

I see the crowd who chant "we should look our after own first" have changed to say "yeah **** our own altogether"

Not in the slightest and congratulations on missing the point spectacularly.

There would be a lot more funding to go round to the GENUINE needy if a good 50 grand wasn't meekly handed over to useless scammers like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

And I'm not necessarily criticising them, but the state could save an enormous amount of money in the long-term by building enough houses to remove them from the equation altogether.
    Are you saying to leave landlords houses idle and build more houses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭heretothere

And I'm not necessarily criticising them, but the state could save an enormous amount of money in the long-term by building enough houses to remove them from the equation altogether.

Fair enough, I don't think they should be building social welfare estates though. That would create a divide, 'that's the council estate' I think a good way to create balance would be for the council to be offered the chance to buy 10% of all new estates at cost which they could then rent out at reduced rates to people who need them. I know what sort of airy fairy world do I think we can create!

I grew up on a council estate, not loads of detached houses neither - prewar terraces.

No harm done there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭ShadyAcres

Can you post a link please

Margret Elizabeth cash. Comments are disabled now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

ShadyAcres wrote: »
    Margret Elizabeth cash. Comments are disabled now..

Her surname suits her well. She's all about getting some cash handed to her by the taxpayer. No itnerest in working to support her family.

They could save an enormous amount of money by encouraging Apartment blocks instead of houses... and that anyone receiving a "house" or apartment should be given a mortgage to pay off, just like the rest of us have to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭ShadyAcres

MarkY91 wrote:
    Her surname suits her well. She's all about getting some cash handed to her by the taxpayer. No itnerest in working to support her family.

She's made her FB page private now I see... She doesn't want Joe public seeing what she gets up to for entertainment.

Good luck unringing that bell love!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

A working person would have to earn over 80k to have 54,000 net income.

Makes a mockery of everybody who's up and out early every morning.

It's inspired me to bugger off at half four instead of 5, so I might make it into the house before 7.

Enjoy the weekend everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

is there any reported circumstances of why or how they became homeless? one of the links suggests they were being made homeless last december when she was in court, so thats 8 months ago.

usual issues are lease was up and rent went up/landlord sold house/not paid the rent etc etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Riskymove wrote: »
    Child benefit and the allowances are not taxable

Yet maternity benefit is. Hitting the worker again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭DublinHun72

It's inspired me to bugger off at half four instead of 5, so I might make it into the house before 7.

Enjoy the weekend everyone!
    that made me lol - I'm doing the exact same. I'll say a prayer for her whilst sitting on the 2 hour bus journey home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

Has she something to hide?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Are you saying to leave landlords houses idle and build more houses?

No, I'm saying build more state-owned houses and allow the market to continue doing its thing with the privately-owned ones.

To avoid creating any such divide, there should (a) be enough council houses to ensure security of tenure for anyone who needs one, and (b) they should be rented to anybody, and not just social welfare recipients and very low earners. The Workers' Party has some very good proposals on this.
    They could save an enormous amount of money by encouraging Apartment blocks instead of houses... and that anyone receiving a "house" or apartment should be given a mortgage to pay off, just like the rest of us have to do.

The rest of us don't 'have to' pay off a mortgage - some of us are paying off our landlords' mortgages instead. :) Not everybody wants or needs to buy their own home. What people do want is affordability and security of tenure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Tweeter wrote: »
    And track the fathers down and sterilise them also

Get the local vet to de ball them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

October 2007 i remember hearing an interview on Tipp Today with Seamus Martin about a woman in Thurles with mental health issues who was genuinely homeless referred to the Garda station and left sitting on the bench until the town council opened the next day. This was a few years before a shelter opened in Thurles.

The woman ended up living in a tent iirc up the mall riverwalk. No offers for the most needy. Largish town that would've have had empty properties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

And it takes all the tax paid combined by say ... everyone working in a little local shop to pay Little Ms. 50k

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Has she something to hide?
    Posts of bottles of cans and naggins, bragging about going on a sesh, extravagant communion dresses, fake tans, buying Waterford crystal, saying she got a new house 3 weeks ago for starters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,470 ✭✭✭McGrath5

What's this "Qualified child allowance" payment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

McGrath5 wrote: »
    What's this "Qualified child allowance" payment?

A child of a person getting a welfare claim

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,374 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Just done a quick calc - I take home just a nudge below 30k.

For a 60 hour week and a bitch of a commute.

So so wrong that wasters are getting that.

Almost 30 years of teaching and paying lots of tax etc., I get 300 a week pension.
    I should have popped a few out, not bothered finishing school and gone on the rob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

It doesnt appeal as an existence to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

This story is just making my blood boil.

I’m an accidental landlord.... bought a one bed at height of boom ( on 2 wages) started family...wasn’t feasible to continue living in one bed ( too small).
    OH a native of the city,decided to get new job outside Dublin ( due to property prices and rising rents for bigger properties). we relocated and moved in with family. I had to resign from my job of nearly 20 years in Dublin to facilitate the move!

The Goverment just built one and 2 bed apartments so they could have us, working eejits, as drones, working to pay for the likes of this one, breeding like a rabbit, and getting all her freebies. Medical card etc.
    The housing crisis/ rental prices has now been an ongoing problem since at least 2003 so this lady would have known well that having 6/7 kids without a permanent income and depending on handouts, was not going to be in her best interests. I dont mind my taxes going to folks who need them but supporting spongers like this makes me sick! The hardship and sacrifices some people are going through to actually put a roof over their head,whilst she refuses emergency accommodation in a neighbouring county.
    Currently I am renting my apartment out to a fantastic foreign couple ( both working and who have started a family in the one bed). They work hard and no doubt are saving to either buy or relocate home.

When I started working after college there was just an indigenous work population where I started...by the time I left I had work mates from at least 20 countries.....not one of them “ workshy”. Some didn’t even have good English when they started but they all mucked in, learnt English, did the overtime and bettered themselves...and then to hear about this one who feels she is entitled to get a house in Tallaght, whilst she has done absoutely zilch to better herself....and the sad thing is, the kids will know no better. The 11 year old will be looking for a free house in 7 years time, whilst I will have to fork out rent and fees for my young one going to college!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

OK, we've all had good whinge about it now and we rightly are screwed by this behaviour. What can actually do? We can't just complain on a forum and not do anything. There must be a list of items we can do and push back on this crap. Can people help me compile the list?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Reati wrote: »
    OK, we've all had good whinge about it now and we rightly are screwed by this behaviour. What can actually do? We can't just complain on a forum and not do anything. There must be a list of items we can do and push back on this crap. Can people help me compile the list?

Well we could make her disappear...Saves the taxpayer 50k a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,435 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Don't worry, the Pope will be over here soon, encouraging babies and spreading Jewish gold to keep the good Catholics in the style they've become accustomed to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭Pegmatite

First thing we can do is cap childrens allowance.
    Second thing is offer proper sex education in school.
    Third thing we can do is get the state to start to build social housing again
    Fourth thing we can do is stop giving this emotional blackmail any airtime.