Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Not defending this publicity stunt at all but:
    You can not claim job seekers and lone parents . Tis one or the other. Plus lone parents only til the child reaches 7. So definitely not €3000 pm.

That is so sad a statistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Only here it has, people still want Leo’s blood.

It's actually Endas fault but we'll leave that for another night :)

I am sick to the back teeth of seeing and hearing Provisional Harry Potter (Eoin O'Broin of SF) pontificating.

I will offer a shiny new donkey to the journo who asks him about Northern Ireland having 18.5k homeless people off a population of 1.8m and not a peep out of SF about it. RoI rate (still too high) for comparison is 9.8k off a population of 4.8m

He is applying himself to a certain demographic. And like Ms Cash, they will just lap it up and demand their entitlements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

Sardonicat wrote:
    Not defending this publicity stunt at all but: You can not claim job seekers and lone parents . Tis one or the other. Plus lone parents only til the child reaches 7. So definitely not €3000 pm.

Do you actually believe that these two benefits are not claimed simultaneously, fraudulently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,788 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Edgware wrote: »
    If South Dublin Council give in to this stunt there will be a queue a mile long outside Tallaght Garda station.
    Fair is fair the ordinary decent people on the housing list mustn't be pushed back by this type of behaviour

This one will get something, watch and see.

It worked for Erica Fleming, sure she became the poster girl for those living in hotels, even though she was offered different accommodation, but she wanted her 'forever home'.

She then got it, and was in the media celebrating, with even the likes of Michael Martin congratulating her on her new home.....fast forward a month or two and she was all over social media complaining about draughty windows and asking who was going to fix them.

Thats what we are up against.

I'd say that the Traveller revelation has put a new angle on this for a section of both detractors and defenders of this woman. They'll double down now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

China is the only country that I know of which tried to control family size with a 1 child policy in the 1970's.

It served only to increase the number of male children as opposed to female children with a now disastrous imbalance between the genders in that country.

Other countries have fallen below replacement level in the childbirth numbers also with negative social consequences in the future.

The discourse concerning this woman with 6 children certainly begs the question, where are the fathers????

Why are the not being pursued for child support as would happen in any other modern Western democracy????

Does society have to house this woman because of the presence of 6 kids. Does she get in ahead of single males or other solitary homeless people because she has six kids.

She definitely needs to be held to account for her irresponsibility but so also do the partner or partners who gave rise to the children and have apparently got off free and not having any responsibility for their upbringing and support.

It’s not been outed though.

Only here it has, people still want Leo’s blood.

No its hasn't...not until its discussed on RTE Radio 1, LiveLine, Newstalk, The Last Word etc....and they show this cheating bag up for what she is...but these shows won't dare question her, for fear of the wrath of the SJWs....

Its a sad world we live in now. Any councillor or politician who would question this woman may as well resign and start looking for another job.

doolox wrote: »
    The discourse concerning this woman with 6 children certainly begs the question, where are the fathers????

Why are the not being pursued for child support as would happen in any other modern Western democracy????

As I said to another poster who asked the same question earlier.

YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED ASK THESE QUESTIONS :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Omackeral wrote:
    I'd say that the Traveller revelation has put a new angle on this for a section of both detractors and defenders of this woman. They'll double down now.

In fairness her being a traveller should not come into it. I thought that she was a scam artist and a terrible mother long before it was reported here that she was a traveller. That new news didn't alter my opinion of her one way or the other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭SirChenjin

anewme wrote: »
    I'm the person who is a victim of burglary despite working ny arse off and paying thousands In tax in a month. My Garda station was taken away due to lack of funds so the village is being is being rifled.

youll have to excuse me for having zero sympathy for someone who fails to turn up for NUMEROUS bench warrants for receiving stolen property. That stolen property is what is forcibly taken from our homes when we are in work, or in our beds leaving us in fear in our own homes.

Anyone not seeing through this scam is a complete fool.

Well said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,147 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

China tried to control it because the population was wildly out of control - now it's back under control a bit they have gone back on the policy. But that was a law passed on everyone regardless
    There is a certain sub section of society who we certainly should not be relying on to repopulate the populace (tho that whole baloney of no one to pay the pensions is just utter twaddle peddled out by economists - more and more jobs being lost to technology every year so even less jobs for people in the future)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

turbbo wrote: »
    Wheres the kids father/fathers? Rte are quick to blame the state what about the families surely the state isn't responsible for this mess. What a gombeen of a woman. Kids should be taken off her.

on what grounds should the kids be taken off her, using up already over-stretched resources of social services?
    simple question EOTR

who is more "entitled" to live in Dublin?

A: this wan.
    or
    B: some poor mug from Clondalkin, working in Sandymount, paying off a negative equity mortgage for a 3 bed semi D in Gorey because he cant afford to live in Dublin, getting up before 6 for the daily commute, not seeing his family until about 8 that night, and driving past your wan in A, while she snoozes off last nights over-indulgences on the PAYE man's coin, in her free gaff, before rising at 3 for whats left of the afternoon TV...

you live where you can afford applies to workers only it seems.
    you live where you want applies to those that do not want to work.

the chap in gorey is going to own his own house. this woman and her partner will never have that. the chap in gorey will be in a much much better position then these people could ever be.
    It’s a sad fact that children in this country are bred like cattle so as to collect child benefit and social housing. These children are let run wild and go on to have more children in their teens and the cycle begins again and again. On the Council estate up the road from my house there’s 4 teenage girls under 16 pregnant. One of these girls and her scummy boyfriend stole my neighbours chainsaw last year. Impunity from prosecution if you’re a scumbag it seems.

I worked for a town council for over 3 years and shared an office with the housing section. I seen sick/disabled people getting turned away whilst there’s no end to the investment in housing the above.

What needs to happen is child benefits scrapped and paid in lieu of vouchers dispensed by national/secondary schools tied to attendance.

No more family housing built by local authorities. One bed/two bed flats/houses instead allocated to single/couples/disabled/elderly.

If you want to have 7 children then you can go source accommodation in the private market.

you can't no . family housing has to be provided for families who can't afford to house themselves, to insure the children have a roof over their heads. people who are unable to afford to house themselves sourcing accommodation in the private rental market costs us way to much, and as we are seeing isn't working.

anewme wrote: »
    He's not, because they never even caught the cowardly scum who kicked in the front door of a 5f 5 woman in her own home to try to take what I've worked for. They probably tried to pass my bits and pieces to the likes of Ms. cash.

But yet the Govt are happy to take 4/lk month from me in taxes and give me nothing back.

this is bul***, I'm more annoyed at people falling for it.

so you don't get roads? you don't get all be it far from perfect, a health service? you get nothing? at all?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

on what grounds should the kids be taken off her, using up already over-stretched resources of social services?

the chap in gorey is going to own his own house. this woman and her partner will never have that. the chap in gorey will be in a much much better position then these people could ever be.

you can't no . family housing has to be provided for families who can't afford to house themselves, to insure the children have a roof over their heads. people who are unable to afford to house themselves sourcing accommodation in the private rental market costs us way to much, and as we are seeing isn't working.

so you don't get roads? you don't get all be it far from perfect, a health service? you get nothing? at all?

That's horsesh1t pal. Sorry but if you dont pay into the system you go to the back of the queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,194 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Where were they all living before last night?

You are spouting a load of sh*te . Social services are overstretched because of the likes of her .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

All this publicity will end up getting left wing morons voted in and then the **** really hits the fan.

Bring it on I say.

Big dose of reality.

Can I ask when this story hit the media? What time today?

Was it discussed on LiveLine, News at 1, Last Word etc?

Or was it later in day?

and if it was later, will be interesting to see if its addressed on any of those shows tomorrow, minus the facts of course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Wheeliebin30 you've no idea how happy you just made me feel. I've been very uncomfortable arguing on this side of the fence all day. I've seen your name pop up and I'm praying that you don't say something that I agree with. We have a perfect relationship where we disagree on homelessness. The status quo still exists. :)
    Thing is Sleeper ( as you have said yourself, this sham has done a serious disservice to genuinely homeless people) how many of the supposed 10,000 homeless people are scamming the system and just haven't been caught out yet?

Jack. Flogging a dead horse springs to mind.

I'm more informed on this case than most. Without ever seeing her Facebook page I knew it would hang her. Without prior knowledge I knew she turned down offers of accommodation. Poster child's are all alike. Their lies trip them up quickly enough. This woman is no more homeless than you or I. She has lied & cheated to try steal someone else's place on the housing list. She has tried to make a fool out of us all.

I'm genuinely gobsmacked that you will continue to try defend her knowing that she is trying to manipulate herself into someone else's spot on the housing list. You can now see how she has exploited her children in the process.

I don't know why I keep repeating this but I believe that FG are the party of homelessness. They have ignored it for years and are now trying to juggle the figures to keep them below 10k when they are closer to 11k. We have shocking homeless statistics. This woman isn't one of them. She tried to jump the queue where in reality she should be sent to the bottom of the queue. She doesn't represent homelessness in any shape or form. She is not a poster child & should be kept away from the homeless champagne

how are you more informed on this case then most? how without knowledge did you know she turned down accommodation?
    i wouldn't be relying on facebook to try and proves anything, tbh. people put lots of nonsense up there and it's hard to know at times what is and isn't true. so it's not a reliable source for anything.
    how is jack defending her? how has he defended her? by pointing out that you already have a particular opinion and are using facebook as something to confirm that opinion? that doesn't equal defending someone.
    Dictionary definition of exploit :
    make use of (a situation) in a way considered unfair or underhand.

"the company was exploiting a legal loophole

She exploited her children by making them homeless for her Facebook photo shoot when they could /should have been asleep in a safe bed that I help pay for.

Social services need to take a long look at her.

they really don't. there is no good reason for them to do so.
    Because she had an offer of safe beds for her children but she choose to prop them up on chairs in the Garda station. She made her children homeless when they did not need to be.

the accommodation was unable to take her and the children. it was only able to take some of the children. i don't believe for one second that this would be grounds for social services to get involved, and nor should it, especially when there are actual serious cases to be dealt with.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

People who are unable to house themselves SHOULD NOT HAVE 7 KIDS
    Wake up .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,269 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Where were they all living before last night?

Haven't read most of this thread but heard an interview with her on Newstalk earlier on. I'm sure this may have been covered.

They've been homeless for a year. Were in private rental accommodation before that but her landlord went bankrupt and the house was repossessed.

She's on the housing list 11 years. 28 years old I think she said.

The issue last night was that the accommodation offered was in Meath but with no transport to get there (this was at 9pm) and meant splitting up the family. Those staying behind weren't sorted for anything.

Didn't know she was a traveller until I read it here but to be honest, when I heard 7 kids at that age it did occur to me. I was more thinking about how irresponsible it was having that many kids nowadays anyway.

Apparently they've been sorted for somewhere to stay until early next week by the homeless charity they were in with today.

Or take a roof over your head down the country or a train/bus ride away from your Mammy. Plenty of people who are working hard and paying for themselves have had to do this.

Entitled is a word too.

not viable. their support network is where they are and they have the opportunities and services they need. implement dublin levels of everything in the country and then they can come down here. until then, they are your problem.
    others haven't "had" to do anything, they have chosen to do it because there is a benefit for them by making that choice.
    Leitrim is a very unspoilt part of the country.

Anyway doesn't have to be that far from Dublin either. And the sunk cost will be minimal in the long run. But I gather there is some rule that local Authorities cannot place people on their housing list outside their area or something.

If that is true, well then Eoghan Murphy needs a kick up the eighties or something like that

on what basis do you state that the sunk cost will be minimal in the long run?
    All three of them are champagne socialists. One is a former Aer Lingus employee, one is a teacher, and another is a Law graduate who attended a private school.

But Hey for the workers and taxpayers dontcha know! Can't pay, won't pay. LOL

so because they had or have a good job and 1 attended a private school, they can't stand up for workers? come on now.
    Not near the relatives in some other enclave I suspect.

I will say it again, if you don't work you are not entitled to a premium property in Dublin. End of story.

you are if that is all the council can find that is availible. if you don't want people in premium properties, then you need to call on the government to get building social housing.
    Why would you be so entitled, and have others pay for you who may have to commute further than Meath anyway?

because for various reasons they can't afford to pay for themselves.

I sometimes feel we are living in a dictatorship of SJWs and PC speak. It is unreal!

I never thought that our media would be so unbalanced in its reporting of issues such as this, but everyone appears to be terrified of upsetting someone on the PC side of things.

How did this come about? Why?

Is free speech no longer allowed in this country. I understand the racism angle, but honestly everything else should be up for grabs in an open democracy. But it is not.

That kind of scares me. The wheel has turned full circle and we cannot espouse our views unless they conform to the PC view of things.

Does anyone else feel throttled and silenced? I hope I am overreacting, but I don't think I am. Judging by the wall to wall reporting of this total scam today. Do not challenge us, this is the reality, question us and you will be ignored.

Whoa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

All this publicity will end up getting left wing morons voted in and then the **** really hits the fan.

Bring it on I say.

Big dose of reality.

They won’t break the back of the fg/ff vote. The best/worst that will happen is sf as a coalition partner. And like every other political party they’ll talk the talk antil they have to walk the walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

Was the woman living in tents down in cork with 13 kids a traveller too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

I sometimes feel we are living in a dictatorship of SJWs and PC speak. It is unreal!

I never thought that our media would be so unbalanced in its reporting of issues such as this, but everyone appears to be terrified of upsetting someone on the PC side of things.

How did this come about? Why?

Is free speech no longer allowed in this country. I understand the racism angle, but honestly everything else should be up for grabs in an open democracy. But it is not.

That kind of scares me. The wheel has turned full circle and we cannot espouse our views unless they conform to the PC view of things.

Does anyone else feel throttled and silenced? I hope I am overreacting, but I don't think I am. Judging by the wall to wall reporting of this total scam today. Do not challenge us, this is the reality, question us and you will be ignored.

Whoa!

And we wonder why and how Americans can vote for Donald Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

tomofson wrote: »
    Was the woman leaving in tents down in cork with 13 kids a traveller too?

I think so. Her Facebook page friend's list has several Traveler surnames on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

this woman and her partner will never have that.

Partner? Where's the big man hiding? Where did he sleep and why isn't he paying for his children?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

I think so. Her Facebook page friend's list has several Traveler surnames on it.

Just checked her facebook there and yeah they have pictures of the family in a halting site.