Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we protest against the pope's visit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,934 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

seamus wrote: »
    :D:D

The poor guy. All he gets is a palace to live in, assistants to attend to his every need, food, clothing, heat, light, telecommunications, domestic and international travel, five-star, celebrity treatment, diplomatic immunity and absolute dictatorial power over a small country until the day he dies.

And he doesn't see a bean in payment for it.

dont forget the silk slippers. Does the new guy still go for the silk slippers? I know the last guy was very fond of this very expensive silk slippers. Vow of poverty my arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

But hey, he got rid of the golden throne and replaced it with a regular throne. That shows he's serious about this poverty thing.

a regular throne for a regular guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Just so everyone is clear, got rid means "put into storage, and waiting for the time to bring it back out" not "Stuck it on donedeal, and gave the money to charity."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

dont forget the silk slippers. Does the new guy still go for the silk slippers? I know the last guy was very fond of this very expensive silk slippers. Vow of poverty my arse.

The previous chap, Ben did wear red leather slippers/loafers, from his personal cobbler, made in a similar style to Prada's luxury collection.

One of Ben's nicknames was 'the Prada Pope' due to the accessories.
    'The devil wears Prada' apparently, some would say.

Previous to this JP2 used to wear a Rolex (DateJust) likely worth enough $6,000, to feed an entire small African village for a year.

Think Francis has wisely turned down most luxury accessories, opting for simpler black leather shoes. He also prefers a simple Casio or Swatch watches. After all a watches primary purpose if simply to tell the time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 424 ✭✭An_Toirpin

Benedict didnt take a vow of poverty. Why should he be obligated too? If you think Benedict was motivated by money to join the clergy you simply dont know the man.

And what do you propose? What is your suggestion? You do realise the Vatican is bound by law with Italy not to sell off the Vatican. Furthermore there wouldnt be any buyers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

An_Toirpin wrote:
    Benedict didnt take a vow of poverty. Why should he be obligated too? If you think Benedict was motivated by money to join the clergy you simply dont know the man.

Thought these lads claimed to follow Christ, according to the big book of fairy tales he wasn't into the trappings of wealth and possessions. The church see.s to be built on wealth quite a lot of it ill gotten.

Previous to this JP2 used to wear a Rolex (DateJust) likely worth enough $6,000, to feed an entire small African village for a year.
    African villages don't need our food. They are more than capable of producing their own, as many of the worlds fastest growing economies are African.

An_Toirpin wrote:
    African villages don't need our food. They are more than capable of producing their own, as many of the worlds fastest growing economies are African.

The people of Darfur may disagree with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

A six grand Rolex! Jesus would be turning in his grave!

Rolex about it, sure it was the 80's

Everyone had a two-tone, yellow-gold, Rolex Datejust on a 36mm Jubilee Bracelet, according to rolexmagazine, sure the Dalai Lama sported one also. Mother Theresa didn't feel the need however.

If When I win the Euro millions will still be wearing my trusty Casio, and dedicate the 130m or so towards good causes, in spite of the temptation to accept the seven deadly sins including pride, greed and promotion of the ego. I.e. Lust, Gluttony, Greed, Sloth, Wrath, Envy, Pride.

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    The people of Darfur may disagree with you.
    They need investment, trade ideally free trade not food hand outs. Food shotages still occur but only seasonal every few years. It is shocking how many people seem to unware Africa has changed since 1985.

An_Toirpin wrote: »
    They need investment, trade ideally free trade not food hand outs. Food shotages still occur but only seasonal every few years. It is shocking how many people seem to unware Africa has changed since 1985.

Would a $6,000 Rolex trade-in worth of investment be of any use then, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Let them starve for God. Its what mother Theresa would have wanted.

An_Toirpin wrote:

In the immediate term they need food and since they are destitute they need free food.

Would a $6,000 Rolex trade-in worth of investment be of any use then, no?
    If someone doesnt do ever possible thing at every time for a cause then clearly they are insincere hypocrities. How do you even believe that?

In the immediate term they need food and since they are destitute they need free food.
    As someone who has worked in the huamnitarian sector in Africa, food isnt sent to Africa. It just isnt. It is a myth that people are starving for want of food. Disease and malnutrition is the problem.

An_Toirpin wrote:
    As someone who has worked in the huamnitarian sector in Africa, food isnt sent to Africa. It just isnt. It is a myth that people are starving for want of food. Disease and malnutrition is the problem.

You do know malnutrition is defined as not having enough to eat? Btw it's humanitarian.

If someone doesnt do ever possible thing at every time for a cause then clearly they are insincere hypocrities. How do you even believe that?

By someone you mean the leader of eternal salvation on Earth, well yes 99% of the time?

To be fair to Francis, unlike other previous leaders he chooses a functional cheap Casio watch, like myself.

Addressing the UN in 2014 he also called for state-led global initiative to close the widening gap between rich and poor through redistribution.

e.g. PJP2 could have distributed 1 single $6,000 watch, into 4,000 watches and distributed to those in need who currently rely on the position of the sun to tend their crops in Africa and send their children to school on time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

Did this happen to every priest with an accusation against them? Or did the church just move priests on to a different parish so they could abuse again?
    So if they didnt always do the right thing they clearly had no care what so ever to victims. What an absurd argument. Yes there was awful cover up but many did care about the welfare of victims.

The question is did Rome move paedophile priests to other parishes again and again knowing they would sexually abuse more and more children?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭Giraffe Box

And Emporio Armani finest underwear for men I believe.

you have to be a parody account.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,992 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Every priest with accusations who has been forced to have no contact with children is an examples of RCC caring for victums.
    Forcing priests to have no contact with children is only a recent action made when people found out what the traditional culture within the RCC was when it came to managing paedophiles. The RCC did not volunteer to take this approach. They were forced to because they had been exposed.
    And you seriously think that is a caring attitude towards victims?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,992 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

So if they didnt always do the right thing they clearly had no care what so ever to victims. What an absurd argument. Yes there was awful cover up but many did care about the welfare of victims.
    Did they speak out?
    Did they go to the gardai?
    Did they approach the media about the abuse?
    Did they progress through the ranks of the RCC?
    With regard to the last question, I'd love if you could remind us of an archbishop who went public about abuse within the RCC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

True and this is why when abuse happens nowadays it is mostly in a family setting where there is no one to ask questions.

Wow your drivel never stops. It doesn't happen in the church because what idiot would trust a man that has chosen celibacy in a misogynistic self serving cult that views the human body and sex as something dirty (original sin). You are full of facts but very short on references.
    Your strongly held belief that all the abusers are gone out of the church and that papal "administration" is not responsible is very wrong. I can only compare you to a holocaust denier.

True and this is why when abuse happens nowadays it is mostly in a family setting where there is no one to ask questions.
    Every priest with accusations who has been forced to have no contact with children is an examples of RCC caring for victums.

If the RCC is only about money how is that priests get paid so little and why do so many like our Jesuit Pope take no salary with their vow of poverty. What a joke of an interpretation.

More drivel. The RCC is not only about money but it is all about money AND power. Priests get paid little as the money they feed goes to their cult the RCCmaking the monster more powerful and resourceful. The pope with no salary and vow of poverty really lives a poor life doesn't he in the little palaces of the Vatican surrounded by incalculable wealth he controls. He must feel so humble and hungry!!!!!

If it is so easy why don't more do it.
    Because it is a sham and a scam and a cult. People are not idiots. The only reason to join it is you were duped by your indoctrination or you are actually from a poor background and see it as better than your other options...Thus all the 2nd and 3rd world success of the church and previous success in Ireland. Makes you wonder what they are up to in these other countries....and all the other religious "charities"

:D:D

The poor guy. All he gets is a palace to live in, assistants to attend to his every need, food, clothing, heat, light, telecommunications, domestic and international travel, five-star, celebrity treatment, diplomatic immunity and absolute dictatorial power over a small country until the day he dies.

And he doesn't see a bean in payment for it.

I wish I had your way with words very good. Poor popey

Don't forget control.

And the aqueducts.