Growing Old Disgracefully

• 05-08-2018 12:14PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,779 ✭✭✭✭

Hope I still have the energy and enthusiasm these lads have when I reach an old age.

They escape the nursing home to attend a heavy metal gig.

https://metalheadzone.com/elderly-metalheads-escape-nursing-home-to-go-to-heavy-metal-festival/

My favourite line:

"The men were reluctant to leave the four-day festival so police escorted them home with the help of a taxi and a patrol car"

Think you will grow old like your parents and grandparents or will you be acting like these two lads?

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Whocanibe

:D:D Fair play to them. Life is too short to be sitting in a cardi and slippers ;)

Wolf :D

Perhaps they should have got front row seats, so they could hear it ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Is the the two pictured? One on the left looks a little like my Mother.

Can you keep them in the home for life... can you hide them from the wacken world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I love everything about that story.
    Also anyone who ever attempted to get to Wacken knows it's logistically not the easiest thing so fair play to them.
    Can't blame them being reluctant to leave either with that line-up.

And found at 3 am... Rock on, aul lads, rock on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

There are many many ways to grow old " rebelliously" as the experts would call it... Not conforming to current ideas of how we "should " spend our precious last years. When I moved once, to a remote cottage, a neighbour ( retired nurse!) marched in on me and told me there was an excellent sheltered accommodation unit in the town .. when she heard "someone old"was coming, she ASKED THE BOSS If THERE WAS ROOM and he said yes...

They were making a patchwork quilt together for an exhibition...

I heard the prison doors slamming shut :eek:

I would not go to rock concerts etc but i will walk the wild beaches and fight the wind and winter...until I drop dead! Preferably on the beach, watching the seals... Rather than in prison... :eek:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 13,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Well done lads.
    Wearing purple is no longer enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Deadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,749 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

You are never too old to rock. Fair play to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

:mad: Who the Hell do they think they are, dragging these two perfectly happy and Bloody mature people away from where they very clearly Wanted to be?!

Jesus H Christ! They'd clearly made up their minds They wanted to be there. They had it about them to Get there. Probably enjoying the best time they'll ever have a chance of again. But; No. Send out a search party and drag them, screaming, back to the central heating and tartan blankets over their knees.

Then, when the cancer hits? They'll do everything in their power to ensure the poor sods live every last possible day of it!

Treat an animal like that and ye'll be had up!

Stigura wrote: »
    :mad: Who the Hell do they think they are, dragging these two perfectly happy and Bloody mature people away from where they very clearly Wanted to be?!

Jesus H Christ! They'd clearly made up their minds They wanted to be there. They had it about them to Get there. Probably enjoying the best time they'll ever have a chance of again. But; No. Send out a search party and drag them, screaming, back to the central heating and tartan blankets over their knees.

Then, when the cancer hits? They'll do everything in their power to ensure the poor sods live every last possible day of it!

Treat an animal like that and ye'll be had up!

lol... to be realisitic, it was probably a relief to be back safe. Stamina is very very limited in old age... A short rebellion is grand and makes the point...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

🤘🤘🤘

Graces7 wrote: »
    lol... to be realisitic, it was probably a relief to be back safe. Stamina is very very limited in old age... A short rebellion is grand and makes the point...
    Well yes, but they should have been given the chance to phone "home" when they'd had enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

The Grayed Escape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I dread the idea of turning into my father. He was 43 when I was born but he always seemed even older than that. He was constantly complaining. All music made after about 1950 was shite as far as he was concerned even though he was about the right age to be a rock and roll fan.

I think he enjoyed complaining. If you were watching something on television he'd ask if you were watching it, then either complain until you told him to go ahead and change the channel or he would tell you he was changing it anyway, whichever came first. Then he'd moan and complain about the program he'd put on himself.

I'm around the same age now as he was when I was born.

Well yes, but they should have been given the chance to phone "home" when they'd had enough.

Pride would have prevailed; believe me, I know this! "Let them come for us!!" Rather than crawl back !

The Grayed Escape.

Reminds me;have you heard of the Grey Nomads in Australia?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1tSARHRkA1o

"we've arranged our funerals" Love it!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_s0aCKK5dDo

Once considered it myself..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Absolutely. Growing old doesn't necessarily mean growing decrepit and incapable. I know several in nursing homes who go out and do as they please all day. We can grow old as we wish and deciding to move to sheltered accommodation doesn't mark the end of our freedom or independence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,730 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Legends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Your original headbanger would be getting into their 70s now anyway if they survived at all

The man had no business turfing the two of them out

Your original headbanger would be getting into their 70s now anyway if they survived at all

Shur the lads in Sabbath are all in their 70's now, I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,779 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Shur the lads in Sabbath are all in their 70's now, I think

69-70. I have no idea how those lads are still alive after that lifetime of drugs.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

69-70. I have no idea how those lads are still alive after that lifetime of drugs.

oh id imagine its left its demons

Star Bingo wrote: »
    Is the the two pictured? One on the left looks a little like my Mother.

Can you keep them in the home for life... can you hide them from the wacken world

Two MEN?

And depends why they are in the home? Nursing homes have a "duty of care" to residents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

Absolutely. Growing old doesn't necessarily mean growing decrepit and incapable. I know several in nursing homes who go out and do as they please all day. We can grow old as we wish and deciding to move to sheltered accommodation doesn't mark the end of our freedom or independence.

Exactly, I have a neighbour who moved from our area to sheltered accommodation in a nearby village two years ago, he now lives in a lovely warm one bedroom bungalow with all the mod cons from his old damp cottage that didn't even have a working shower. To be frank he was lonely and isolated and as much as us neighbours would call to check on him etc he had become scared of living on his own. He is as happy as a pig in s%*t now, there are two pubs in the village, a shop, church, post office, community hall, he goes for a couple of glasses of Guinness every evening, goes down to the GAA pitch if there's a match on, plays cards in the community hall every Wednesday night, can walk to the church on a Sunday morning for mass. Having said all that I know it wouldn't be for everyone but in this man's case it's given him a new lease of life in his later years (he's 82 now and has never looked better).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Reminds me of the old woman who went to a Hells Angels clubhouse and told the president she wanted to joined their club.

Nothing wishing to offend the old lady the president asked her a few questions which he thought would trip her up.

"You do have a Harley Davidson?".. "Yes, its parked outside" said Bridget (89).

Thinking hard and the club president wondered about a police record.

"Have you ever been pulled by the fuzz?" asked the pres.

"No" says Bridget "but I've been swung around by the tits"

The club pres lost his shit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Nobody goes to the pub for a couple of glasses of Guinness, even in Healy-Raeland.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

Esel wrote: »
    Nobody goes to the pub for a couple of glasses of Guinness, even in Healy-Raeland.

This man does, he's 82, he can make two glasses of Guinness last two hours, he only goes to the pub for the company and walks home 200 metres to his house, hard as that may be to believe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'd often take a book into the pub and sit over two or three pints and have a good read, its nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

i have started to and 'm only in my early 40's. i used to be in-capable of going out for anything less then 4 pints and even that was a struggle as i'd go home longing for a few more.

now though i can go to the pub, and have a pint, then ill have a glass and then ill go home. its very liberating, this would be just a casual visit on my own on a week night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I plan on growing old very disgracefully indeed. Why not?