Roseanne fired but Sarah Jeong hired?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

It’s a bit odd someone using American vocabulary like “white privilege”, “alt right” etc to claim that we are “Americanised”.

I’m of the Irish centre left. Pro moderate immigration (married to one), pro porogessive tax, pro increase in inheritance tax, opppsed to neo liberalism, and in particular the US imperialism. I rarely see the supposed socialists on this site opposing that bythe way. What’s Brian?’s view on Syria? Who knows?

However if an American imperialist starts ranting about the “whites” and normalising anti european rhetoric via the channels of its indoctrinated ideologically controlled vassals like you, that’s a worry. It’s something to resist.

Conversely if Sarah Jeong is so pro POC she may want to oppose the wars in Yemen, the wars in the Middle East, the attempted overthrow of the Venezuelan President, the actions of US supported Israel etc. She doesn’t probably even know about them.

This would be ok if she meant “American whites” and maybe she does, but as you have just demonstrated in your previous posts - indoctrinated American controlled minds like yours will blame all people with white skin for the actions of some of them. #resist

You've the start of a great point here.

Why the feck are the left spending so much energy on identity politics these days when there are far larger issues to deal with.

My opinion on Syria? It's a whole pile of complicated mess.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Wibbs wrote: »
    Suggesting of all people someone like Omackeral is "radicalized right" is both hilarious and ridiculous. :D TBH O, I'd not worry about it. Name calling only hits home if there's any truth to it. The more ranting a reply the more likely a nerve has been hit a bit too close to home. Like you I was also a yes for SSM and the 9th and divorce and all such votes. We're practically damned commies to some. And nazis to others. A fairly good sign we're somewhere in the middle with an old style "liberal" bias.

Do you know what sickens my hole Wibbs? These people would genuinely have you sometimes embarrassed to say you lean to the left. I've said here before that I feel they're pushing me closer to the right and I actually regret saying it because it gives off the impression that I care enough about them to redefine my thoughts and outlooks. There are always shades of grey to be had and those on either extreme end would have you feel guilty for thinking that if they could.

Brian? wrote: »
    Do you need the petty name calling? I'm happy to debate this to the death if we keep it polite.

I take it back. It was honestly tongue in cheek though with our talk of critical analysis and all that. Sorry if it came of sarky.

Omackeral wrote: »
    I take it back. It was honestly tongue in cheek though with our talk of critical analysis and all that. Sorry if it came of sarky.

No worries. I was probably being a bit sensitive.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭keffiyeh

You said I was on the extreme far, or alt right. Post one thing I've ever said that will lend legitimacy to that claim. Go on, still waiting.

Your entire dialogue is textbook radicalized right (albeit a closet case "I swear I'm not!"). 'Both sides', 'leftists' etc. Go onto any RR source and they all swear up and down that they 'lean left' because of some silly quiz/graph thing that they flaunt around... except it doesn't ask any questions about race/gender so it's just them being completely disingenuous. Dogwhistling is the radicalized right's M.O. and one of the only thing that separates them from old school far right skinheads. The other thing would be cowardice, a skinhead would have a go no problem, the RR, with the exception of the Incel who've been perpetrating mass shootings, just stay home and whine online and harass behind burner Twitter accounts.

TomSweeney wrote: »
    Incredible, just incredible - the mental illness here is astounding, AntiFa are nothing but thugs - they are the new blackshirts.

It’s controversial to say “**** white supremacy” now?

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

I disagree they (far right and far left) are as bad as each other and don't fully understand why you think they are.

I think they are because they're both unwilling to compromise, are stubborn and leave no room for debate. I've seen abhorrent violence flare up from both sides also. To me, the extreme left and extreme right are strange bedfellows. I've no time for either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,448 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I think they are because they're both unwilling to compromise, are stubborn and leave no room for debate. I've seen abhorrent violence flare up from both sides also. To me, the extreme left and extreme right are strange bedfellows. I've no time for either.

It depends on how rational their views are. The far right holocaust deniers for example. If i refuse to compromise with them am I far left? the same goes for birthers, the people who believe sandyhook was staged and all the other loons.

keffiyeh wrote: »
    Your entire dialogue is textbook radicalized right. 'Both sides', 'leftists' etc.

So that's a no then. Not one quote could you offer. Thought so. Anyway, there are two sides of the political spectrum broadly speaking. Nearly anyone will tell you that. It's hardly the language of ... hang on. How can you say I'm radicalised right without their being an opposing side?!!? Right of what?!!? Jesus you are posting some crap.
    Yiz aren't American.

By the way, we tend to spell it as radicalised over here. Using the 'z' is very American.

Anybody comparing AntiFa to Blackshirts is just hilariously transparent. They'd be much closer to French Resistance, quite literally. Although I do always enjoy the racist/sexist/fascistic (literally even adopting the look) radicalized right trying to pin the tail on the enemy donkey instead. It may be futile, but it's dogwhistling at its purest, which I do still find mildly entertaining.

So that's a no then.

It's also textbook radicalized right to hear what you want to hear. They do love their confirmation bias and being able to dismiss a moderate as quickly as possible.

It's also textbook radicalized right to hear what you want to hear.

Maybe you're right about me so because I definitely know what I don't want to hear ever again and that's any morsel of garbage being uttered by you. My word you are a poor debater. Twice you were asked to back up what you said said and twice you couldn't. You accuse other users of importing American jargon yet you're here using words such as 'incel'? Absolutely unreal.

The neck of you calling people yank-wannabes when you come out with the stuff like that. You honestly don't do irony or self-awareness do you?

How thick do you have to be to not understand that as this thing started online, that it's global? You do realize you can get the internet outside of America right?

You accuse other users of importing American jargon yet you're here using words such as 'incel'? Absolutely unreal.

It's literally a proper noun. Do you realize they still call apples apples in America? You're not the sharpest lad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Maybe you're right about me so because I definitely know what I don't want to hear ever again and that's any morsel of garbage being uttered by you. My word you are a poor debater. Twice you were asked to back up what you said said and twice you couldn't. You accuse other users of importing American jargon yet you're here using words such as 'incel'? Absolutely unreal.

Forgive the ignorance but what in the name of God is an "incel" - sounds like Dennis O'Brien's new wifi firm!

Involuntary Celibate. People who hate women because they can't get laid. A number of mass shootings on the north American continent have been attributed to them.

So, morons then ? Right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I do.

I’ve made the case that you can’t have hate speech laws in a society that espouses freedom of expression a good few times lately.

This wasn’t always my view, I’ve evolved my position on it.

I’m sure someone can travel through my posting history to find examples of me taking both positions, to save you all time, I used to believe in hate speech laws but changed my mind.

Yea was genuinely curious, fair play

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'm not sure you really fully understand the word 'irony' right now. It's like you heard someone else use it and have a faint idea, but aren't all the way there.
    With nigh on every post of yours you provide a pretty good definition of it for anyone unsure of the meaning. Good Christ, you're the gift that keeps on giving. :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Keffiyeh having an absolute mare here :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

If you're not with us, you're against us. Very fascist sounding.

How are you gonna label me a far-right radical when all I've done here is label a racist a racist. Feel free to point out any far-right (or alt-right or whatever it is this week) posts or points I've ever made on this website. I hate racists. Absolutely detest them. This far right nut job can be seen advocating a YES vote for Same Sex Marriage on this website. Ditto for Repeal the 8th. So extreme amn't I? So go on, quote my far right posts. I'll wait. Here's a spoiler, you won't be able to because I never have. You're a liar.

I think i would describe you as a liberal. i don't think Repeal the 8th and gay marriage are necessarily causes of the 'left'. What I consider left would be the trade union movement; local community groups trying to engineer change; opposition to high levels of inequality etc. My father is a lifelong Union member and always voted Labour but is very socially conservative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

There you go again. It's that type of sh*te that does you no favours. Why are you bringing gender in to it? Do you know the sex of each and every poster?

The posters to whom I was referring are, as far as I'm aware, all men. Very serious ones too.

Wibbs wrote: »
    I'm not sure you really fully understand the word 'irony' right now. It's like you heard someone else use it and have a faint idea, but aren't all the way there.
    With nigh on every post of yours you provide a pretty good definition of it for anyone unsure of the meaning. Good Christ, you're the gift that keeps on giving. :D

God love ye, it's like you need the 'no u' or you'd shrivel up and cry. The radicalized right are the biggest snowflakes.

• Site Banned Posts: 120 ✭✭Lash Into The Pints

Why can't the left just admit non white people can be lousy hate filled people too?

Lads, drop the white saviour complex.

" i don't think Repeal the 8th and gay marriage are necessarily causes of the 'left'. "

Exactly right, thought the exact same thing. Being for rights like abortion wouldn't mean you're not radicalized right.

Why can't the left just admit non white people can be lousy hate filled people too?

Lads, drop the white saviour complex.

Why can't Irish people stop talking like Sean The Gob****e Hannity?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

God love ye, it's like you need the 'no u' or you'd shrivel up and cry.
    ...And giving...
    The radicalized right are the biggest snowflakes.
    Woohoo! I'm a nazi too!

278.jpg
    Exactly right, thought the exact same thing. Being for rights like abortion wouldn't mean you're not radicalized right.
    So you reckon being supportive of Gay rights and marriage and abortion would sit well with the most of the highly conservative "radicalized(sic) right"? Do you even know what these extreme right wingers you see everywhere are and what they tend to support?

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

You do realize you can get the internet outside of America right?

You do realise it's ''realise'' outside of America, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

Anybody comparing AntiFa to Blackshirts is just hilariously transparent. They'd be much closer to French Resistance, quite literally. Although I do always enjoy the racist/sexist/fascistic (literally even adopting the look) radicalized right trying to pin the tail on the enemy donkey instead. It may be futile, but it's dogwhistling at its purest, which I do still find mildly entertaining.

French Resistance? Hahahahahahah! Sorry, but that is just laugh out loudable. then again, it is an interesting insight into the heads of one such person. You honestly consider these spoilt upper middle class thugs with too much time on their hands and too much idiotic science denying ideology in their heads are like the French Resistence? :D:D:D

Malayalam wrote: »
    French Resistance? Hahahahahahah! Sorry, but that is just laugh out loudable. then again, it is an interesting insight into the heads of one such person. You honestly consider these spoilt upper middle class thugs with too much time on their hands and too much idiotic science denying ideology in their heads are like the French Resistence? :D:D:D

He's got a point - if you mean the Resistance as portrayed in Allo Allo, inept idiots that couldn't wipe their own arses without a You Tube video.

Violette Szabo and her like? Million miles away from these brave guys.