Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018 pt3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,360 ✭✭✭limnam

Giggsy11 wrote: »

Klopp had Lovren, Klavan, Matip as his CB options, Moreno as LB and Karius and Mignolet as GKs at the start of last season and even for first 2-3 months. He also had players like Milner, Henderson, Wijnaldum, Can for midfield. Did that stop him playing attacking football?

But they came 4th.

We drew away and beat them at home.

Playing attractive football for the sake of it is pointless.

We've gone over this ground before. SAF filled midfifleds with players like park/fetcher. Put rooney on the wing. All against big teams. People didn't care. we won things.

It's not just about having good players, it's about attitude of the coach. Few coaches want their team to play on front foot which masks most of the weakness in the team, like SAF did with us. Jose wants us to play defensive game and rely on individuals to create and score.

We must be watching different matches. The amount of times we pounded down the doors last two years and came away with SFA or a draw had nothing to do with playing defensively. For the most post part they were going out to hammer the riff raff and change for bigger games.

Then when you take the big games our record last year against top 6 was pretty damn good. Only City's was better

To put in simple words, we don't play as a team. Questions should be asked about the manager who was in charge of the team for 2 years, our players look far worse than they are because of lack of system.

Edit: Btw I don't hate Jose. In fact I like him for taking over after Van Gaal and steadying the ship. Just that I don't agree with so many posts who always talk about signings and never once question why we haven't played like a team in 2 years.

How can a team come 2nd in the premiership
    2nd best defensive record last year.
    Win a number of trophies and not play like a team

I'm all for having a crack of jose.
    Whining about signings.
    Wonder why martial goes on like a 12yr child etc

But stop talking utter rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

The Mirror claim United are looking at Jose Giminez from Atletico Madrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

The Mirror claim United are looking at Jose Giminez from Atletico Madrid.

Said it here weeks ago, should go after a player like him instead of Maguire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

On this whole Pogba thing I feel like Melania Trump.....

I don’t really care, do you.

If they straight swapped Dembele with us id do the deal. Only cause i think we could use him and Pogba would rather be gone if true.

I’m delighted the transfer window closes early for English teams. If it didn’t then this **** would be happening 3 weeks into the season instead of now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,079 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

Really good defender Gimenez.....but he signed a new 5 year contract for Atletico only in June.

I can't see this happening unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

GSPfan wrote: »

I’m delighted the transfer window closes early for English teams. If it didn’t then this **** would be happening 3 weeks into the season instead of now.

That's what will happen though, Barca could spend the next 3 weeks tapping him up as they could still sign him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Again if Pogba is pushing to leave we should be getting rid of him at a time that suits us. If Barcelona or any club outside of England (tbh I don't think he'd want to stay in a league that highlights his shortcomings so regularly) make a decent offer for him(a bag of chips and two squad players doesn't cut it obviously) we should take their hands off, once we have a replacement lined up.
    Pogba has never had any respect for Manchester United during either spell at the club and Ferguson's assessment of the player would appear to have been correct at least in terms of Manchester United.
    I would have been happy to see him go at the beginning of June once an alternative had been sourced and terms agreed, this last minute attempt to leave the club just before the season starts is poor form from a man who knows a thing or two about poor form on the pitch.
    I'm sick of his stupid step overs and flicks, looking for clips for YouTube highlights videos, brand Pogba does nothing for me. The praise he received for his world cup performances baffles me, Deschamps obviously told him to cop on and stop pricking around and that's all, he was functional. We paid a crazy money for a player that wouldn't make it in to any of our title winning sides of the past and now we're straddled with a sulky child who can't be arsed to show the smallest amount of respect for the club. I hope he's benched and sold after Christmas because he isn't anything like Ronaldo (publicly wanted out but still banged in goals every week and performed like a professional) it would be hard to miss Pogba if he didn't get his game, we'd only be missing a gaping hole in our midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    That's what will happen though, Barca could spend the next 3 weeks tapping him up as they could still sign him.

With 3 years left on his contract United don't have to sell and can(and IMO should) play hardball with the player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Rossi IRL wrote: »

If any English team sold in that period then it is either because they really want to or they are going bankrupt. Otherwise there’s no chance. We won’t sell anyone after Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,625 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

astradave wrote: »
    “I want more money lining my pockets”

https://twitter.com/mailsport/status/1026582329094037504?s=21

But before we start lambasting Riaola, nail to the head here

https://twitter.com/adamcrafton_/status/1026586561767518208?s=21

The first link, with the I want Pogba out of Manchester United headline appears to be a complete fabrication by the "journalist". I know, shocking.

On the second bit, even though the headline click bait was made up Raiola has always been right down the bottom of the totem pole for me when it comes to agents (super agents anyway) It is a shame we have dealt with him recently. Can't stand the guy.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,442 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

The first link, with the I want Pogba out of Manchester United headline appears to be a complete fabrication by the "journalist". I know, shocking.

On the second bit, even though the headline click bait was made up Raiola has always been right down the bottom of the totem pole for me when it comes to agents (super agents anyway) It is a shame we have dealt with him recently. Can't stand the guy.

There are plenty of places running that Pogba is unhappy that Jose criticised him during the WC, which really is bullshît when you look at the quotes that they are running, just take ESPN’s take on it. These are the quotes that supposedly made Pogba want to leave
    "I don't think it's about us getting the best out of him," Mourinho told ESPN FC. "It's about him giving the best he has to give. I think the World Cup is the perfect habitat for a player like him to give the best.

"Why? Because it's closed for a month, where he can only think about football. Where he's with his team on the training camp, completely isolated from the external world, where they focus just on football, where the dimensions of the game can only motivate.

"During a season, you can have a big match then a smaller match, then one even smaller, then you can lose your focus, you can lose your concentration, then comes a big match again."

From here :

https://twitter.com/espnfc/status/1026606772390379520?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

limnam wrote: »
    But they came 4th.
    We drew away and beat them at home.
    Playing attractive football for the sake of it is pointless.
    We've gone over this ground before. SAF filled midfifleds with players like park/fetcher. Put rooney on the wing. All against big teams. People didn't care. we won things.

And made CL finals, we won **** all and embarrassed by Sevilla and played **** football. Apart from that, it wasn't even discussion about winning or losing, it's about replacing average players, at least check the context before stating with nonsense.
    We must be watching different matches. The amount of times we pounded down the doors last two years and came away with SFA or a draw had nothing to do with playing defensively. For the most post part they were going out to hammer the riff raff and change for bigger games.

Then when you take the big games our record last year against top 6 was pretty damn good. Only City's was better

Obviously watching different sport. Yeah playing defensive game once in bluemoon is same as playing against every good team. Even when we played defensively, we were superb counter attacking team, not the **** hoof ball like we play now.

How can a team come 2nd in the premiership
    2nd best defensive record last year.
    Win a number of trophies and not play like a team

I'm all for having a crack of jose.
    Whining about signings.
    Wonder why martial goes on like a 12yr child etc

But stop talking utter rubbish.

Bit rich coming from you. Finishing second doesn't mean we played as a team. In top 4, there isn't any team that is as disjointed as ours. I have given reasons why we are not a team, which is way beyond your level. So stop the nonsense. Yeah, it's harsh and disrespectful but posts like yours don't deserve any better.

Drumpot wrote: »
    Yeh, This is exactly the point I have been making. Pogba wasn’t bought for Jose he was bought for other reasons. Same as 3 of the 4 transfers thus summer where not first team Jose priorities.

Repeat the lie so many times in a hope that few might believe it's true. Every single transfer is Jose's signing. Only player who is doubtful is Mkhitaryan.

Jose was always a big fan for Pogba and wanted to sign him at Chelsea.
    Pogba is one of the top players in the world. Pogba goes to any team and improves that team automatically.
    "I think everybody has an interest in Pogba. But there are things you can do and things you cannot do. I love the Eiffel Tower but I can’t have the Eiffel Tower in my garden. I can’t even have the Eiffel Tower of Las Vegas.”

Before this summer signings.
    1. Zlatan - Only reason he signed was because Jose was ManUtd manager

2. Bailly
    “I was in the Ivory Coast, I got called from a *Portuguese number, he *introduced himself but I just didn’t *believe it at first,” smiled Bailly.

“Before I came to Man United, it was City who had been watching me. In my mind, I was going there. But then everything changed.
    "It felt like Mourinho was the one who really wanted me. He showed more interest, he rang me and that’s why I’m at Man United.

3. Mkhitaryan -

4. Pogba - Jose wanted him even when he was at Chelsea but said deal was impossible. ManUtd made it happen for him.

5. Lindelof
    According to sources familiar with the negotiations, Lindelof is first on a list of central defenders drawn up by Jose Mourinho to strengthen a back four that has proved problematic during the new Old Trafford manager's initial months at the club.

Jose's mouthpiece reporting that Lindelof was first in list of CBs Jose wanted and it was reported 6 months before we signed the player

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/manchester-united-target-benficas-victor-9377256

6. Lukaku
    He sees the maturity that has grown throughout the years, so I'm really thankful for the opportunity he gave me again.
    However, when Manchester United and Jose Mourinho come knocking at the door it is an opportunity of a lifetime and one that I could not turn down.

7. Matic
    "To work with Jose Mourinho once again was an opportunity I couldn't turn down. I cannot wait to meet my new team-mates and to start training with them.

Jose on Matic
    Nemanja is a Manchester United player and a Jose Mourinho player. He represents everything we want in a footballer; loyalty, consistency, ambition, team player.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,442 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Lord TSC wrote: »

Mata’s Goal to win it :pac:

So great craic going on there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Lord TSC wrote: »

Thank god we didn’t lose. This place would have went into meltdown.

So much nonsense is posted about Pogba, it's just unreal. Not only this thread (just by 1 or 2 posters btw), that summer transfer thread is just wumhole. So many don't even watch any games, just go by twitter bs.

Anyways, amazing how Pogba never had any problems with Conte, Allegri, Deschamps - managers who are known for discipline but has problems with only Jose, a manager who has history of falling out with so many players at every club except Inter (not sure at Porto).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,761 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I'm going with Clinton Morrison's theory on whole thing.

Honestly though I have never cared so little about Per season as I have this one.

The thing is we have the players bar a decent FB and CB but you don't win leagues unless you have a solid CB partnership

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,689 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

We have no right winger that is good enough to provide service.

We have two full backs who are awful going forward.

Smalling and Jones don't have the ability on the ball to bring the ball out and start attacks.

Defenders are so important to starting attacks and we have no quality.

We need a cb and lb but it doesn't look likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,625 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

astradave wrote: »
    There are plenty of places running that Pogba is unhappy that Jose criticised him during the WC, which really is bullshît when you look at the quotes that they are running, just take ESPN’s take on it. These are the quotes that supposedly made Pogba want to leave

From here :

https://twitter.com/espnfc/status/1026606772390379520?s=21

Jose was complimetary to him during the world cup, they seem to get along fine going in any actual evidence we have (video evidence to boot!)

I don't see the quote I said was fabricated being run anywhere though I do see the guy who posted the headline getting a lot of flak for his bull****.

I have no comment on whether pogba is happy or unhappy. Frankly I don't care, he isn't going to be sold at this stage so he needs to buckle down and play to a consistent level. If he wants to go next summer good luck to him. The manager deserving criticism doesn't excuse players who clearly don't put in 100%.

My suspicion is that he is fine, that there is no big rift and that he is going to have a very good season this year. Hopefully it Matic back sooner rather than later cause I am very happy with our midfield options this season with him in as the anchor.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

[Simon Stone] Unsurprisingly @ManUtd not interested in letting Paul Pogba go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,785 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

As interesting as it could be and is fun to speculate we aren't realistically letting Pogba go.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,897 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

I reckon this is so Mino can get Pogba a new contract.

Inevitable with Sanchez wage costs.

De Gea will also cost a lot to keep. Wage explosion within the current group may partly explain clubs reluctance to buy, buy, buy.

Fekir also being linked with a move to United or Chelsea now,link is pretty tenuous to be fair.

Speaking of Chelsea, they've gotten Kovacic on loan from Madrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

This isn't even a headline on skysports, tells you how much you should read into the story.

https://twitter.com/MirrorFootball/status/1026763848550895617

Manchester United 'to rival Arsenal for Barcelona's Ousmane Dembele'https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/ousmane-dembele-wanted-manchester-united-13043240

Well, with the Pogba "not for sale to Barcelona" stuff,we know how this is going to pan out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Fekir also being linked with a move to United or Chelsea now,link is pretty tenuous to be fair.

Speaking of Chelsea, they've gotten Kovacic on loan from Madrid.
    Kovacic most overrated midfielder on the planet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Manchester United 'to rival Arsenal for Barcelona's Ousmane Dembele'https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/ousmane-dembele-wanted-manchester-united-13043240

Well, with the Pogba "not for sale to Barcelona" stuff,we know how this is going to pan out.

Im telling ya, we are not in for mina, sneaky ed is actually trying for a deal for dembele. Toby is done imo

There are other reports in Spain that Barca could be willing to offer Dembele and Rakatic for Pogba.. could is the main word there though..

beno619 wrote: »
    This isn't even a headline on skysports, tells you how much you should read into the story.

:pac: so we should believe it!