How well do you know your Neighbours?

• 05-08-2018 10:35PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,291 ✭✭✭✭

I live on a country road and know all my neigbhours names and know what most of them work as and some of their (past times mainly see this in the local paper).
    We don't have this stereotypical rural Ireland thing where everybody just walks into one another house and we wouldn't be one's into visiting one another but we'd chat on the road/in town etc.
    I wouldn't really have a bad word to say about any of my neigbhours to be honest apart from one who can be a little loud and is always giving out about stuff.
    If any of my neigbhours killed anybody I'd be surprised but I suppose you never know what somebody is capable of.
    How well do you know your Neighbours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I know my neighbours first names on the right. Husband only on the left. I know which kids live in which houses for two houses either side.

Living there for 12 years now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Our situation is almost identical to your own. Rural area with a good neighbours but we don't live in each other's pockets. There when we need each other and always friendly and pleasant to each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

My new neighbour's the living reincarnation of Ilse Koch. That's all I need to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭J. Smith

Steve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

I live in rural area too and I don't really know anybody, don't want to know either. But I know this.....if I've been out on either a date, holiday, any half pleasure exotic excursion of any kind, all these rural witchcraft piseog neighbour f**kwankers know all about it. And will let you know they know all about it too.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,948 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

J. Smith wrote: »
    Steve.

It definitely isn't Alan?

Steve and Alan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭munster87

Very well. Walls are paper thin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

One side has never spoken so much as one word to us in four years and the other side only bothers when they want to complain that there's a stray leaf in the hedge or something.

I wouldn't give either the skin off my ****e.

_

Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Stigura wrote: »
    My new neighbour's the living reincarnation of Ilse Koch. That's all I need to know.

Jesus wept.

Jesus wept.

Believe me. There's far more truth in that statement than ye'll ever know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I live in an appartment on the top floor and its the only one on this floor so I don't really have neighbors? There's a few appartments on the floor below me but I don't really know them. Id say hello to them if I meet them in the lift or the carpark but thats about it.

I grew up near a couple of farms and one of the old farmers was a Dutch Nazi.
    Frightened the bejaysus out of is too.

This one's the living fcuking Image of Koch! Seriously; First time I laid eyes on her ~ and she laid into me! I thought; I Know this bitch! Came home and, through some unconscious retention of facts, googled 'The Bitch of Buchenwald'. Bang! :eek: There she was!

Her husband's fcuking terrified of her. And she has the towering arrogance to be telling her 'home schooled' son that, when she's finished with him? He'll be a Professor!!!

Thankfully, they're hundreds of yards away and I need have nothing to do with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Live on a rural lane and know all the neighbours. Like most rural areas, everyone respects each other's privacy but are available 24/7 if there's an emergency.

I'd never move back to Dublin let alone London where in 3 years I still didn't know the name of any neighbours except one. But she was Scottish :)

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Live on a rural lane and know all the neighbours. Like most rural areas, everyone respects each other's privacy but are available 24/7 if there's an emergency.

I'd never move back to Dublin let alone London where in 3 years I still didn't know the name of any neighbours except one. But she was Scottish :)

Elspeth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭FrKurtFahrt

This is how well I know my neighbours. I'm in this house 30 years, rural, and I have one neighbouring house, about 50 yards away on the other side of the road. On Thursday night, 11 pm, I hear the alarm go off, so I rang to see if all way ok, and if any help was needed. Paddy answered the phone and said it was fine, something spooked the alarm....grand job. 2 Minutes later I see the Guards drive into his place. Happy enough, I thought no more of it.

The following morning Paddy came over to thank me for caring enough to call etc etc, and told me that it was his drunken brother-in-law who tripped the alarm and then had the balls to answer the phone to me when I did my caring neighbour act.

My one neighbour for 30 years, and I didn't realise it was someone else I was talking to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,963 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Usually in apartment complexes people don't know their neighbours very well but its the opposite where I live and I'm glad of that. I know the people livung in the apts either side of me (decent folk) above me (loud but friendly) and the guy on the top floor (very decent and I often call in for a cuppa and a chat about maps and geographical issues and current affairs).

We all look out for each other but also keep to ourselves most times. I feel fortunate. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,836 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Courteous to my neighbours but more than happy to avoid them also. I prefer family and friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,987 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

We live in the back ass of nowhere on a road that doesn't lead anywhere important so all the traffic on it is residential not through way.
    I know each and every person within a 2 mile radius. I could name their previous generations ancestors along with their occupations and car models.
    In younger years when memory was better, I could recite you their car registration plates.
    And in case you think I'm nosey, I don't think so. It's just the way it is around here.
    A community.
    If I run out of milk, I borrow a pint from the lady next door.
    I have the keys for 2 neighbours houses for emergency.
    We pulled together as a neighbourhood in the snow with my house being the cut off point for traffic to get to on the impassible roads so people abandoned cars here. Our farmer friends in jeeps brought groceries to us from the shop.
    I wouldn't have it any other way.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

We live in a cul de sac in a nice estate. There's a few houses that hate each other's guts, sometimes they have screaming matches on the road, which is funny because everyone is quite posh. It's always over stupid stuff like leaves blowing into someone's garden.

The ones to the right of us are lovely, we both have 2 kids the same age. We help each other with anything needed, jump starting cars to lending bottle openers, minding the kids, lifts to work etc.

Sometimes on sunny days we all grab some chairs and sit out with some beer/wine and chat. More neighbours come along and usually there's loads of us yapping away

The ones on the other side are a bit odd. He's a very angry man and shouts a lot. He's feuding with the neighbours on his other side .

There s an elderly lady across the road, shes deaf and her husband died last year. I call in to her a lot to see if she needs anything and just for a chat. The time of the snow I was worried about her, called over to tell her I would bring her dinner over and if her power goes to come over to our house. Sure she had her tablet with films on it, stew in the slow cooker, a glass of brandy and the fire blazing :D

Really lucky with our neighbours I have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

I know them on a "hello, lovely day isn't it" basis. I neither like nor dislike them.

I live on a rural area, but there's a lot of families living here. They all have kids, we don't - therefore we don't move in the same circles as them. It's all football/hurling/soccer/panto stuff for them, Mr Bubo and i aren't involved in anything locally at all. No interest tbh. :)

One particular neighbour is a terrible gossip monger. I always act dumb when I encounter her. It's best if she really believes I don't know anyone at all in the community, because I have no interest in anything she has to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

I like all my neighbors to the right. Not the ones to the left (the ones that don't own their own house's).

I see what you just did there! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭bertsmom

I live in a semi detached house the same neighbours for around ten years in the house attached to mine. I know them to say hello comment on the weather and I sometimes take in parcels for them from courier. Pleasant people but don't want any relationship other than the friendly terms we are on. House on the other side I don't bother with nor want anything to do with. They are loud and let their dog poop everywhere however I'm sure they are not bad people just a bit inconsiderate so I don't even bother with pleasantries I have no interest.
    Th I'm not hugely bothered with my immediate neighbourhood for me it's all about family and friends that matter however I am happy that we all just respect each other's right to just be left alone and enjoy the privacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

still on a learning curve here on a small island.. Sometimes newcomers think they are unfriendly but it is that there is a deep and needful respect for privacy and "personal space" ( hate that phrase but it fits here .

As someone said to me y'day, the one thing you cannot do on a small island is fall out with anyone. So we are careful and protective of each other's privacy.

So we do not walk into each other's houses, but if there is need it is different. We limit need to real need.

My nearest house is the ferryman. Reliable but not intrusive.
    We have wonderful conversations on the ferry!

And today, being Bank Holiday, his 2 small nephews will insist on visiting me! ( Must find small gifts...) Already this has become a custom; been here less than a year. Joys me!

It is sincere. Far happier than with the previous situations. Rural life tends to have more layers than an onion.

Sometimes I meet others, but it is very much ships that pass in the night and that is fine too. A good chat on a windy lane is great!

You rarely hear what they think of you! Last month I went out as I heard voices and my farming neighbour the ferryman was there in his tractor, chatting to a walker.

The subject of my epic winter with no power came up and he told her. " We realised that this one was tough, not soft." lol... shaking my head !

I asked help as rarely as possible and it was always given,

I am learning to be where and what I am needed. Which is at the heart of neighbourliness ... The hens was a prime example. when /if I get an "island car" life will be wider..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

We live in a quiet little cul de sac. I know my immediate neighbours and a few dotted around the road and would regularly have a quick chat in passing......I’m terrible with names though, couldn’t tell you a single one - actually the cat next door is named Hobbs

Having nice neighbours is great especially if your kids are similar ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭jethrothe2nd

We live in a fairly large estate but in our own row of houses we would know almost everyone. I suppose we have all been brought together given that most have kids around the same age that play on the green together. There is a nice sense of community without it being intrusive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Minier81

We live in a small estate in Dublin and know all of our neighbours well. We are quiet private people but would stop for chat with any of them walking in and out and any if them would check out an alarm going off etc. Was pleasantly surprised by this - being culchies as we hadn't expected it moving in!