If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Let's all take Blindboy seriously now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

Wibbs wrote: »
    Oh I'm sorry, are people not allowed to ask questions of your idol when he platforms his personal opinions in the media?

Eh I didn't say he did. He did suggest more than once that these were answers and explanations for the rise in mental health issues among young men.

"I personally think that what these young men need is feminism – because when I’m down in Limerick speaking to lads that I know who are suffering from mental health issues, when I actually speak to them and get to the core of ‘what’s bothering you man?’ what they always say to me is ‘I have nothing to offer a woman’." "The fact of the matter is that is a patriarchal attitude that is no longer relevant to us in the 21st Century.".

Forget the feminism stuff for a second, from his own mouth his opinion is that the "lads" he knows who suffer mental illness the core of it no less is down to they have nothing to offer a woman. A monumentally simplistic to the point of stupidity statement, that is more about a newly converted politic he's eager to speak about. Never mind that it completely ignores the young men who are in good relationships, are egalitarian in their views and have an otherwise "great life" who suffer from mental illness. Look at the current and very good AMA thread featuring a chap who has suffered from mental illness. Had a great career, a wife and an understanding and loving one at that, who now earns more than him(which he thinks is great) and yet he needed extensive treatment for depression and ADHD. It's almost a cliche about the man(or woman for that matter) with the Great Life, who surprises all when it comes out they suffer from mental illness.

To be fair comparing him to a bunch of media whores like the Kardashians is more than a bit of a stretch. Though their freak show taken seriously success says much about what is askew with many in the world today. Or they may be a surreal release valve along the lines of "jaysus, we're bad, but not nearly as fcuked up as those muppets". Hard to call.

There is ample evidence and any psychologist worth their salt will tell you that gender stereotypes can have a deleterious effect on the mental health [be they male or female] of those who take these stereotypes seriously. But there are many other reasons also why someone might run into difficulties which he talks about at length in his podcasts. So if you ll just accept that he never said that all men have mental health issues due to male stereotypes and that he was talking about one aspect of the problem and also that he was taking feminism to be the traditional meaning i.e equality then you don t really have any arguing to do because you ll be essentially agreeing with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,630 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Dannyriver wrote: »
    He s not a media personality he s a writer and a musician who happens to be in the public spotlight due to his success at being a writer and a musician ... you do understand how this **** works yeah?

He has become a media personality because of his very niche talent, he rarely talks about his music or writing...he has become some kind of social commentator...his own ego is an issue for him which has escaped his wisdom somehow!

I don't really have a problem with the work of the Rubberbandits but it hasn't yielded huge financial success for the lads, the man described Boards as a sewer, it's funny, the Irish "celebs" that don't like Boards tend to be the one's whose fame/talent is very shallow verses the amount of media exposure they receive.

He has become a media personality because of his very niche talent, he rarely talks about his music or writing...he has become some kind of social commentator...his own ego is an issue for him which has escaped his wisdom somehow!

I don't really have a problem with the work of the Rubberbandits but it hasn't yielded huge financial success for the lads, the man described Boards as a sewer, it's funny, the Irish "celebs" that don't like Boards tend to be the one's whose fame/talent is very shallow verses the amount of media exposure they receive.

He always talks about his music and writing. His podcasts are not about social commentary. His book sold 30 000 copies at an average of about 12 quid a copy. That adds up to a few Bob, Id say. Do the maths.

Is being a writer and musician 'a niche talent' ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

Dannyriver wrote: »
    Is being a writer and musician 'a niche talent' ?

I think calling him a musician is generous

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,052 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Because it has happened before in many fields. It's amazing how willing you are to swallow whatever figures of authority tell you.

Is it amazing?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

I think calling him a musician is generous

I presume this is tongue in cheek. Otherwise you actually haven't a clue what your talking about.

He's not exactly Mozart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

Because it has happened before in many fields. It's amazing how willing you are to swallow whatever figures of authority tell you.
    The basic concept of peer reviewed research is that it is not accepted based on the authority of the writer. It is scrutinized and challenged as appropriate, both when it is published and later in further studies and literature reviews. If you refuse to consider ita reliable source of information you must discount everything else as well and commit to a perpetual state of bewilderment.

He's not exactly Mozart

Neither is 99% of musicians

It was a joke. I consider his "music" to be trashy garbage for teenagers, but if you like then fair enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,771 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

He's not exactly Mozart

No but he's a highly decent blues guitarist, musician and hip hop producer

It was a joke. I consider his "music" to be trashy garbage for teenagers, but if you like then fair enough

I don't particularly like his music but he is definitely a very good producer.

Trashy garbage for teenagers eh?

https://youtu.be/f4WfDafHijY

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Brian? wrote: »

Well that was terrible. Are people paying for this stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Christ that was awful. Desperate stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

I think everyone in that video are friends or family of the rubberbandits. Some of them are pretty talented in their own right. I think it's a decent track personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Christ that was awful. Desperate stuff.

The vocals sound like a donkey is being interfered with from behind.

Something you have experience with, John?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,328 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

While I appreciate the sentiment behind it and if it does reach guys in whatever audience they have then cool stuff and fair play, but as music? Jesus Christ.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Something you have experience with, John?

Absolutely not. My only experience with donkeys is mistaking them for horses when I bet on them in Leopardstown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

lol that's not real is it?

Well that was terrible. Are people paying for this stuff?

I don’t care whether you like it or not. As usual you migrate from your original position. Is that “trashy garbage for teenagers”?

I happen to like it a lot. I enjoy a lot of electronic music and enjoy they fusion of electro and traditional music in that track. But there’s no accounting for taste. Just because you don’t like something, doesn’t mean it had no value. This is especially true for music.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Wibbs wrote: »
    While I appreciate the sentiment behind it and if it does reach guys in whatever audience they have then cool stuff and fair play, but as music? Jesus Christ.

That’s called differing tastes. I wasn’t presenting it as music all would enjoy. I was presenting it as evidence all the Rubberbandits music isn’t “trashy garbage for teenagers”.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

What kind of Irish person uses the phrase “trashy garbage” in anyways. Call it a load of bleeding bollocks.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

That’s called differing tastes. I wasn’t presenting it as music all would enjoy. I was presenting it as evidence all the Rubberbandits music isn’t “trashy garbage for teenagers”.
    I'd honestly only imagine particularly dimwitted teenagers would like that. Nodding along with its lyrics sagely before turning to their equally dimwitted friend, both agreeing on how "like, deep it is, like" before rolling a massive three skinner.

Brian?;107649767]I don’t care whether you like it or not. As usual you migrate from your original position. Is that “trashy garbage for teenagers”?
    No, it's even worse than I thought. It's probably the most awful thing I've ever heard.
    I happen to like it a lot. I enjoy a lot of electronic music and enjoy they fusion of electro and traditional music in that track. But there’s no accounting for taste. Just because you don’t like something, doesn’t mean it had no value. This is especially true for music.

Sure isn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Afro celt sound system

Wouldn't be a massive fan of Sonny myself, Up da Ra is my fav, and I'm quite Republican

I do think they tapped in to a certain irish youth culture in a way that no else really managed to recently, one that's really not represented well on Boards which is predominantly older people, but is quite common on Reddit and facebook. They were funny, provocative, music was good and most importantly they are really distinctly irish, in a way that speaks to people. Like Roddy Doyle and Father Ted before them imo (although they never got the mainstream appeal of those)

Has some form of collective insanity descended on some people here? It is awful, awful dross and shouldn't be classed as music. Call it Noise if you're going to call it something.