Wibbs wrote: » Oh I'm sorry, are people not allowed to ask questions of your idol when he platforms his personal opinions in the media? Eh I didn't say he did. He did suggest more than once that these were answers and explanations for the rise in mental health issues among young men."I personally think that what these young men need is feminism – because when I’m down in Limerick speaking to lads that I know who are suffering from mental health issues, when I actually speak to them and get to the core of ‘what’s bothering you man?’ what they always say to me is ‘I have nothing to offer a woman’." "The fact of the matter is that is a patriarchal attitude that is no longer relevant to us in the 21st Century.". Forget the feminism stuff for a second, from his own mouth his opinion is that the "lads" he knows who suffer mental illness the core of it no less is down to they have nothing to offer a woman. A monumentally simplistic to the point of stupidity statement, that is more about a newly converted politic he's eager to speak about. Never mind that it completely ignores the young men who are in good relationships, are egalitarian in their views and have an otherwise "great life" who suffer from mental illness. Look at the current and very good AMA thread featuring a chap who has suffered from mental illness. Had a great career, a wife and an understanding and loving one at that, who now earns more than him(which he thinks is great) and yet he needed extensive treatment for depression and ADHD. It's almost a cliche about the man(or woman for that matter) with the Great Life, who surprises all when it comes out they suffer from mental illness. To be fair comparing him to a bunch of media whores like the Kardashians is more than a bit of a stretch. Though their freak show taken seriously success says much about what is askew with many in the world today. Or they may be a surreal release valve along the lines of "jaysus, we're bad, but not nearly as fcuked up as those muppets". Hard to call.
Dannyriver wrote: » He s not a media personality he s a writer and a musician who happens to be in the public spotlight due to his success at being a writer and a musician ... you do understand how this **** works yeah?
Silentcorner wrote: » He has become a media personality because of his very niche talent, he rarely talks about his music or writing...he has become some kind of social commentator...his own ego is an issue for him which has escaped his wisdom somehow! I don't really have a problem with the work of the Rubberbandits but it hasn't yielded huge financial success for the lads, the man described Boards as a sewer, it's funny, the Irish "celebs" that don't like Boards tend to be the one's whose fame/talent is very shallow verses the amount of media exposure they receive.
Dannyriver wrote: » Is being a writer and musician 'a niche talent' ?
DickSwiveller Returns wrote: » Because it has happened before in many fields. It's amazing how willing you are to swallow whatever figures of authority tell you.
DickSwiveller Returns wrote: » I think calling him a musician is generous
Deleted User wrote: » I presume this is tongue in cheek. Otherwise you actually haven't a clue what your talking about.
DickSwiveller Returns wrote: » He's not exactly Mozart
Deleted User wrote: » Neither is 99% of musicians
DickSwiveller Returns wrote: » It was a joke. I consider his "music" to be trashy garbage for teenagers, but if you like then fair enough
Brian? wrote: » Trashy garbage for teenagers eh?https://youtu.be/f4WfDafHijY
Pintman Paddy Losty wrote: » Christ that was awful. Desperate stuff.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » The vocals sound like a donkey is being interfered with from behind.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Something you have experience with, John?
DickSwiveller Returns wrote: » Well that was terrible. Are people paying for this stuff?
Wibbs wrote: » While I appreciate the sentiment behind it and if it does reach guys in whatever audience they have then cool stuff and fair play, but as music? Jesus Christ.
Brian? wrote: » That’s called differing tastes. I wasn’t presenting it as music all would enjoy. I was presenting it as evidence all the Rubberbandits music isn’t “trashy garbage for teenagers”.
Brian?;107649767]I don’t care whether you like it or not. As usual you migrate from your original position. Is that “trashy garbage for teenagers”?
I happen to like it a lot. I enjoy a lot of electronic music and enjoy they fusion of electro and traditional music in that track. But there’s no accounting for taste. Just because you don’t like something, doesn’t mean it had no value. This is especially true for music.