Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do other first world countries suffer from "junkie/scumbag" problem that Ireland does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

There’s junkies in most cities. Our junkies look hideous though. Irish people tend to be grotesquely ugly, and injecting heroin doesn’t help either.

There is a lot to be said for a well tanned junkie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

It's interesting though how our American friends can point out shortcomings in Ireland but don't see them at home.
    Btw I never mentioned Compton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,466 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Oh good. The thread the other day on the exact same topic slipped off the first page before I could get to post in it.

Thanks, OP.

May you for ever view posh women

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

It must be borne in mind that Dublin CC is quite cramped and small. I can't think of another city which is so cramped with everyone on top of each other.

It is a small cramped city so scumbags are more obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

seamus wrote: »
    Go to San Francisco.

Basically Mecca for homeless and junkies.

Dublin is paradise in comparison, you'll be yearning for the peace and quiet of Talbot St

Just not true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

I imagine your American friends don't live in Washington DC, Baltimore, or Philadelphia.

Potatoeman wrote: »
    Most capital cities push social housing outside the city center making them cleaner. They also put addiction clinics outside the city center too.

This Indo article from 2014 says there are some 17 methodone clinics (still the case now?) located in and around the city centre. Unless these are relocated to the drug addict's home places, this problem won't be sorted in the city centre.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/dublin-city-crime-blamed-on-drug-treatment-centre-30495779.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Morto for ya OP

Imagine being so desperate as to have to make friends with a Yank

There’s junkies in most cities. Our junkies look hideous though. Irish people tend to be grotesquely ugly, and injecting heroin doesn’t help either.

I assumed they were following Kate Moss trends?

The oul' heroin look worked out grand for her

Except for here. SERIOUSLY good Chinese food. Ask for the Chinese menu and choose from the pictures or just ask.
    The stir fried cabbage and Pork. OMG.

Sichuan and Chilli King. 100 Parnell Street.

Chinasea wrote: »
    Except for here. SERIOUSLY good Chinese food. Ask for the Chinese menu and choose from the pictures are just ask.
    The stir fried cabbage and Pork. OMG.

Sichuan and Chilli King. 100 Parnell Street.

Yeah. Great bunch of Opium War lads

Feckin Brits and their imperialist drug dealing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭corner of hells

This Indo article from 2014 says there are some 17 methodone clinics (still the case now?) located in and around the city centre. Unless these are relocated to the drug addict's home places, this problem won't be sorted in the city centre.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/dublin-city-crime-blamed-on-drug-treatment-centre-30495779.html

That's assuming the addicts are not living in the city centre.
    I get the point of moving supports and services out the city , but the reality is , it's not practical , most homeless accommodation is in the city centre , along with psychiatric support , the bigger needle exchanges , drop in centres , counselling services the list of supports is quite long .
    Where would you move them too ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

That's assuming the addicts are not living in the city centre.
    I get the point of moving supports and services out the city , but the reality is , it's not practical , most homeless accommodation is in the city centre , along with psychiatric support , the bigger needle exchanges , drop in centres , counselling services the list of supports is quite long .
    Where would you move them too ?

Designate one of the islands and let them roam free over there. Move the travelers onto another one. Airdrop them supplies every now and then.

But who is flying the flag for the grafting tax payer. Where the hell are we supposed to live while we sponsor the dysfunctional? Crazy, madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Maybe other countrys have a large police presence in tourist area,s .
    Dublin city centre has many drug treatment centres ,
    in the city centre.
    People may see 3 or 4 young people in a street and assume they are junkies ,when the are just dressed in a certain way, trainers ,baseball hats etc
    the average junkie cant afford to live in dublin 4 or middle class area ,s .
    So they tend to just go to the city centre.
    Every western city has x per cent of people who use drugs to excess .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

My American friends who came a week ago say they are a bit disappointed with Dublin only as they say for a capital city, it looks like a "dump".

In b4 "Go to a third world country in Africa and quit complaining". I highly doubt that the slums of SA or Kenya should be the benchmark for Ireland's success. I think we need to get our priorities straight. It's great to have the marriage and abortion referendum, but we need a referendum to kick out the piss poor politicians who tolerate the crap that is the city's abhorrent state and the junkies that walk among us.

Interesting, do you think junkies are the result of our piss poor city or vice versa?

Americans complaining about homeless people and addicts and junkies in Dublin obviously haven't seen much of America. Most major cities in the US are infinitely worse than Dublin ever was or will be. Washington DC has areas that would make slums in Nairobi blush.

Autochange wrote: »
    Designate one of the islands and let them roam free over there. Move the travelers onto another one. Airdrop them supplies every now and then.

I'm just wondering did you manage to read what I posted ?

I'll help ya a little , I was enquiring where we could move the various supports not the individual addicts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

San Fran was grim. NY too

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

I'll help ya a little , I was enquiring where we could move the various supports not the individual addicts.

I went above and beyond. I gave you a solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Froshtbit

Chinasea wrote: »
    But who is flying the flag for the grafting tax payer.  Where the hell are we supposed to live while we sponsor the dysfunctional?   Crazy, madness.
    It's a fair point.

riclad wrote: »
    Maybe other countrys have a large police presence in tourist area,s .
    Dublin city centre has many drug treatment centres ,
    in the city centre.
    People may see 3 or 4 young people in a street and assume they are junkies ,when the are just dressed in a certain way, trainers ,baseball hats etc
    the average junkie cant afford to live in dublin 4 or middle class area ,s .
    So they tend to just go to the city centre.
    Every western city has x per cent of people who use drugs to excess .

It has a lot of supports for addicts , actual detox and residential treatment centres tend to be outside the city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,223 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Potatoeman wrote: »
    They also put addiction clinics outside the city center too.

This.

This is the single biggest act of self vandalism (that's what it is) in Dublin and it is never discussed.

Every junkie in Dublin, if not Leinster, goes to the city center on a weekly basis for services. The problem is huge but it's condensed in to such a small area that it looks really bad for visitors and locals.

And where you get junkies you lower the tone and like flies on sh!t the casual scummers arrive too.

It's a mess.

And there are real consequences. A couple of years back an American stockbroker had his back broken on the boardwalk in an unprovoked attacked by scumbags hours after arriving at the airport.

Getting the clinics out of the city center would do wonders for the city's image, feel and reputation.

This.

This is the single biggest act of self vandalism (that's what it is) in Dublin and it is never discussed.

Every junkie in Dublin, if not Leinster, goes to the city center on a weekly basis for services. The problem is huge but it's condensed in to such a small area that it looks really bad for visitors and locals.

And where you get junkies you lower the tone and like flies on sh!t the casual scummers arrive too.

It's a mess.

Getting the clinics out of the city center would do wonders for the city's image, feel and reputation.

It's not just moving the clinics , Kermit , a multitude of services would have to move.

Everything from dental , HIV support , specialist medical , accommodation .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭mvl

why not retreats to more ... rural areas ? would think cheaper rent/services would go with that. city centre is small/crowded even without this issue.

are we saying homeless people follow the services (put in place to support them), or follow the tourists, or another option ?

- just seeing Dublin region has 74% of homeless people, wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Dublin is the worst. There are junkies in Cork, Belfast and Galway etc. but the dubs are by far the most brazen, when it comes to using in public, creating a scene etc..
    They all tend to gather in a big group in the same area waiting for their methadone so it would look pretty bad to a passerby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Ah come on! Where's your sense of loyalty?? They're OUR junkies you're putting down!

Dublin is the worst. There are junkies in Cork, Belfast and Galway etc. but the dubs are by far the most brazen, when it comes to using in public, creating a scene etc..
    They all tend to gather in a big group in the same area waiting for their methadone so it would look pretty bad to a passerby.

You do realise methadone is prescribed from various locations not just in one spot and that an addict doesn't necessarily have to attend their clinic/chemist daily.

mvl wrote: »
    why not retreats to more ... rural areas ? would think cheaper rent/services would go with that. city centre is small/crowded even without this issue.

are we saying homeless people follow the services (put in place to support them), or follow the tourists, or another option ?

- just seeing Dublin region has 74% of homeless people, wow.

Where would you move the services too ?

Would you be comfortable with a low threshold hostel near where you live ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Heebie

Every country where drugs are illegal tends to have a problem.
    Every country where drug addiction is looked on as a serious personal failing rather than as an illness tends to have a problem.
    Legalise, tax, and regulate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭mvl

Where would you move the services too ?

Would you be comfortable with a low threshold hostel near where you live ?

what is a low threshold hostel ? is it a special homeless hostel - where general public is not allowed (also cause its not safe ?!?). maybe its just terminology (as I thought accommodation for homeless people is called homeless shelter).

anyway, what do they care how far from city centre this is, as long as they reach there on provided transport, a bed/dinner waits for them ?

I suggested retreat in a more rural space, closer to nature. on this, as purpose is similar in a way: as this country had sanatoriums in the 50'es-60'es - so where were they based, where they not in Dublin's vicinity - so not in city centre ?