Were the late 90s the best of times?

Try_harder wrote:
    The eighties were poverty and recession to me

They were for most of us. The only thing was that we never knew boom times so though we knew it was bad we never knew how bad. By the mid to last 80's almost all of my friends had emigrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

I remember the late 90’s as a time when loads of jobs suddenly appeared which resulted in plenty of young people with money burning a hole in their pocket every Friday night. Every weekend that I went out it was open warfare up and down places like Camden Street and Harcourt Street. Lads boxing the head off each other. Not scumbags but lads who just couldn’t handle their drink. Mad time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

I remember the late 90s as a time when loads of jobs suddenly appeared which resulted in plenty of young people with money burning a hole in their pocket every Friday night. Every weekend that I went out it was open warfare up and down places like Camden Street and Harcourt Street. Lads boxing the head off each other. Not scumbags but lads who just couldnt handle their drink. Mad time.

Drink or something stronger?

Mad yokes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

I born in early 80's and had very austere childhood, eating loads of chayote that used to grow like plague. Thanks to Argentina, USA removed their installed military regimes along South America, changing for the democracy. Then a great time on the 90's before the confirmation that democracies doesn't work in some countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Late 90s/early 00s I remember every Thursday Friday sat and sun night ppl were spending money like crazy in pubs/socialising. Ppl had disposable income for maybe the first time ever.

I remember my mobile bills around then were huge! Now I go mad if its more than 20 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Late 90's it was all turning to sh1te drugs music etc

But it was 100% better than the Ireland of today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'd have just started my teenage years in 2000.
    I remember things being cheaper, penny sweets actually costing a penny.
    Stingers and refreshers which actually tasted better.
    The punt would get further than a euro.
    I do slightly remember traffic becoming more and more a problem.
    Whereas say in 1995 around our area you'd see nearly nothing.
    If I remember correctly the summer of 99 was actually a good one.
    Got my first ps1 during the christmas winter storm of 98 and couldn't play cause the electricity failed.
    In a way it's sad how nearly 20 years has passed since we said goodbye to the 90s.
    The 00s was just a decade of stress tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Mid nineties were the best. 94 - 97

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

The entire decade was great!

"The robin in the garden,

That was me,

I'm still here, Loving you..

Until we meet again. "

bear1 wrote: »
    I'd have just started my teenage years in 2000.
    I remember things being cheaper, penny sweets actually costing a penny.
    Stingers and refreshers which actually tasted better.
    The punt would get further than a euro.
    I do slightly remember traffic becoming more and more a problem.
    Whereas say in 1995 around our area you'd see nearly nothing.
    If I remember correctly the summer of 99 was actually a good one.
    Got my first ps1 during the christmas winter storm of 98 and couldn't play cause the electricity failed.
    In a way it's sad how nearly 20 years has passed since we said goodbye to the 90s.
    The 00s was just a decade of stress tbh.

The punt was 1.27Euro so was always going further
    The Euro wasnt in circulation in the 90s tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Feck off grandad. It's past your bedtime. You and your old war stories :pac:

but I lived to tell the tale - and thers still some fight left in the old dog ;)

ps they were great times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Try_harder wrote: »
    Drink or something stronger?

Mad yokes!

It was mostly drink. But it was mental. A couple of lads would walk down the street and walk by another couple and it would just kick offf. Literally boxing the head off each other in traffic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

The punt was 1.27Euro so was always going further
    The Euro wasnt in circulation in the 90s tho

I know I meant that it felt that the punt would get you way more and as you pointed out would get you 0.27 more but still.. I miss the punts :(
    The notes were class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,129 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Anyone else finish school in 1999 and had this song played at the ceremony?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

jacksie66 wrote: »
    The rise of Nu Metal..

left me disillusioned.

Very exciting if you’re 13 I’d imagine but I was into my 20’s at that point?! Cavalera’s reemergence with pink hair and Adidas stripes was the final nail for me. Hanneman thought he could adapt to it too - fail.....

Metal was suddenly music for kids instead and made me feel like I was getting on. I couldn’t aspire to those guys no more but here’s no doubt metal hit a rut and officially ceased to be thee definitive street culture at that point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭ISOP

zapitastas wrote: »
    The asylum and UFO were the highlight of the 90s
    some great times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I was a kid in Primary school and was happy enough!
    Anything felt possible but I suppose that was part of being a kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Slane 98 was pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭TheShow

Double doves and Mitsubishis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

TheShow wrote: »
    Double doves and Mitsubishis!

if only we had the foresight to hoard them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭realitykeeper

Everything seemed better then. Things were on the up, positivity reigned and little doomsday talk

The late 80s were the best of times. I recall the collapse of Communism fondly in November 89. Those 1980s Coca Cola ads were awesome.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C4qf5wbIgjQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_8GHchvvzms

Then, like now, most music was dire but the good stuff was better then.

Up until Hill Street Blues started, there were some great TV series. Hill Street Blues heralded the start of bad tv. Gritty i.e. cheap, started with Hill street blues but before that there were so many great shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Make the 90s great again

For me the late 90s will forever be associated with the best hurling ever. The best of the best years as Clare arose from nowhere to beat all and sundry. Limerick, too, was on the rise as was Offaly. With no connection to Clare but regular breaks to Doolin for the trad, I decided to attend as many Clare matches as possible just to see them beat all the goliaths. I remember the excitement of being in Cusack Park for a match against Gaillimh and all sorts of strangers offering me sandwiches out of tin foil along with a cup of tea from their flask. The Net Nitrate fertiliser bags in the Clare colours used as flags!

The craic, music and characters everywhere. The sense that all of Ireland bar Cork, Kilkenny, Tipp etc were behind them. The characters like Ger Loughnane and his soundbites and of course Davy Fitz. The big fight in 1998. Ollie Baker. Jamesie O'Connor, Anthony Daly, Brian Lohan...

This song and video captures those years so well:

1998 was the best year ever! I was 18, coincidence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

zapitastas wrote: »
    The asylum and UFO were the highlight of the 90s

Just after thinking of another 90s club. Small place at the top of McGraths on O'Connell street. I think it was called the 13th floor. Great little place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,093 ✭✭✭✭briany

Star Bingo wrote: »
    left me disillusioned.

Very exciting if you’re 13 I’d imagine but I was into my 20’s at that point?! Cavalera’s reemergence with pink hair and Adidas stripes was the final nail for me. Hanneman thought he could adapt to it too - fail.....

Metal was suddenly music for kids instead and made me feel like I was getting on. I couldn’t aspire to those guys no more but here’s no doubt metal hit a rut and officially ceased to be thee definitive street culture at that point

Nu Metal was mostly terrible. There's a small handful of songs out of it that I'd still listen to, but the rest has been consigned to the trash heap of history, and good riddance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

I remember the 90's fondly. I was in my teens, pre 911, The Prodigy, Oasis, Nirvana, Smashing Pumpkins. I had a Fiesta XR2.
    T'was a good time for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

We all have a soft spot for that time when we were coming of age, but despite the fact that time was the mid to late 90's for me too, I think that time was objectively great.

It's probably got something to do with Irish society still being "old Ireland" - The time before the ostentatious wealth of the tiger years changed us forever. The times when people still holidayed in a caravan in wexford and drove older cars. When kids spent their summers making their own fun outdoors. When people went to Feile in baggy jumpers and jeans and just lived in the moment at a concert. No hipsters gurning into camera phones for the perfect social media selfie every 3 minutes.

I'm not knocking cheap flights, new cars, and people having disposable income but there was something to be said for those innocent days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Around 1998 I was about 14, my best pal and i were experimenting with cigarettes a bit and we were always worried about the smell of it so we'd buy chewing gums but that didn't stop it from getting on your hands :/ Anyway one day she came up with the ingenious idea to use a peg from a washing line to hold it!

I remember some lads that were friends of ours coming down the lane and saying "wtf are yas doing with the smoke in a peg???" and we were like "yea well the jokes on you when you get caught" :pac:

Ah no I did love the 90's. I think it was a good decade for us. Also we made some good movies, did well in the Eurovision and alright in the World Cup!