What's the obsession middle aged lads have with cycling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

you mean helmet mounted cameras?

No flies on you hai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Plasid

As I am now 40 I guess I can almost qualify as middle aged. I took up running when my football days came to an end.

A good few of the crowd I run with do running, swimming and cycling and enter triathlons. Most seem to ditch running once they get into cycling.

Here is a few points- I don't cycle as I just do not have the time. I run HM and marathons.

Advantages to cycling over running

1. More sociable- you can cycle say 20 miles with a gang have lunch and a beer and cycle back. That ain't happening with running.

2. Yes it is easier on the joints
    3. You can free wheel more if you are tired and still keep moving.

4. You can gels and fuel with you on the bike
    5. A 20 mile cycle is helluva a lot easier than a 20 mile run
    6. I may be wrong on this but when running and preparing for events a runner has to really watch eating and timing of meals leading up to an event. Cyclists I know don't have to watch this as much it seems.

Now this is not a criticism or trolling but cycling is more forgiving than running on the body.

Having said that I do not want to die under a HGV so I'll stick to running.

Running seems (based on my own completely non-science or evidence backed research and observations) to help with weight lose more than cycling as I defo see more (ahem) tubby cyclists than runners but at least they are getting out there.

You cycle twenty miles to get to the start of your cycle if you are in any way serious about it... plenty of muffin tops running about the parks at the weekend but at least they are out doing something about it and hopefully enjoying and not being critiqued by the great public (not your comment btw)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,947 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

ewc78 wrote: »
    I read this first as 'their masterbation attracts bears'

That's probably because you're a sick pervert.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,329 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

No flies on you hai
    i've never seen a helmet mounted camera on a cyclist going for a leisure spin. i very rarely see them on commuter cyclists. yet it's one of the first things you mention which defines these cyclists you dislike. curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭ballyharpat

PandaPoo wrote: »
    There's a loveky cafe in eniskerry that we go to every second weekend or so. We try get there early because around 11 or 12 a swarm of cyclists come in. Their bikes block the path and the exit, they stomp in with their noisy clompy shoes, take up the whole restaurant and outside. It's really annoying.

I'm sure that the cafe owners feel the same way, seeing 12 cyclists coming in and spending €50-100 and only staying for 15-25 minutes, then on their way again. if only they would drive there, then there would be more pollution, need more parking spaces, and I can hear a car motor a lot more than a cyclist that walks to the counter-but what do I know ...... bloody cyclists, filling up inside and outside the restaurants, and I'm pretty sure, that if they were blocking the exit and impeding customers, the owners/management would say it.

Nice perspective though......

In fairness, if your dogs are out cycling on the road, I think the responsibility for the startling is down to your good self.

It's really quite funny when people complain about 'bikes blocking the path' while routinely ignoring the vast amounts of public space blocked up by parked cars, frequently illegally parked on paths.

20150526_174950-823x420.jpg

enniskerry-main.jpg
    29815137775_c02d20d6ff_b.jpg

Have you considered not staring at men's crotches so closely as to notice their mickeys?

I presume you similarly wonder about every driver in a €30k or €50k SUV doing the school run that could just as easily and safely be done in a 1995 Micra?

So a 3-4 hour cycle burning up 3k to 4k calories does nothing for the beer belly? Interesting theory....

What messing round is this? Are the lads driving to their football match 'messing around on the roads'? And the coaches of supporters who dress up in tacky nylon jerseys and sing rebel songs, are they 'messing round on the roads'?

Yeah, all aul lads, young lads and middle-aged wans for sure:
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/tribute-paid-to-cyclist-killed-in-co-kildare-crash-1.2973559

Tell me more about this 'holding up anyone on the roads and obey rules' please, in the context of 80% of motorists breaking speed limits, Irish drivers being 2nd worst in Europe for mobile phone abuse, and the huge traffic jams we see on the roads every day.

So maybe you could try not looking at them? Do you have the same problem with all the middle-aged-mammies in lycra for the school run or their coffee dates with other middle-aged-mammies in lycra? Do they need to change to meet your sartorial standard?

Yeah, it happens every day. I see that most mornings and most evenings. It's such a common and realistic scenario that no-one could think that you're exaggerating or anything.

Yeah, but what about the bloody cyclists?

I think you're starting to get to the grips of the issue now. It is indeed your problem, not their problem.

The breathtaking arrogance is from the ones driving round with an empty armchair beside them and an empty couch behind them complaining about cyclists 'chatting' and taking up space.

QFT

meeeeh wrote: »
    I was not talking about the rules in Ireland, competitive cyclists doing group training are accompanied by a vehicle in Slovenia. As said unless you are overtaking or are part of before mentioned group cycling two abreast is frowned upon and I think illegal on main roads.

I cycled in both countries and I know which I prefer.

Yeah funny that. However with half the population of Ireland and the same number of cycling deaths it seems Slovenia is a much more dangerous place to cycle!

https://www.policija.si/eng/index.php/component/content/article/11/140-bicycle-safety

i've never seen a helmet mounted camera on a cyclist going for a leisure spin. i very rarely see them on commuter cyclists. yet it's one of the first things you mention which defines these cyclists you dislike. curious.

What do you reckon it means? Or sheer idle curiousity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,947 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Patww79 wrote: »

If you've ever used 'cycle lanes' in the city, they're not really great in cycling in. Most cyclists that use these cycle lanes really just want something to cycle on that is suitable to cycle on.

I'm not A Cyclist. Just someone who cycles in these painted bits of shítty road quite a bit.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,329 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i wasn't sure if you meant a helmet mounted camera or a handlebar mounted camera. hence the question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,540 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

murpho999 wrote: »
    You may think it's bollocks and bull **** but the truth is that if a cyclist breaks a red light, which I agree is totally wrong, they generally don't "barrel" through as you put it but generally do so with some caution.

Either way, they will come the worst off in a collision in all cases.

That's the way the law is in The Netherlands and it's quite logical if you think about it.

No it should be the person that broke the law that should be held responsible.
    What if a cyclist breaks a light and cuts out in front of me and I end up hitting another car trying to avoid him? I wonder how my car insurance will be affected?
    We all use the roads and therefore should be responsible for our own actions.

I just came up the N20 there and met about 10 cyclists in a group.
    Every one of them was single file, a max of 3 per group and spaced out between each group. And cycling in the hard shoulder.
    You know what was the one thing in common with them?
    They were foreign so didn’t have the Irish chip on their shoulder about how they have as much right to be on the road as other users.
    I’m pretty sure what they were thinking was “I’m sure as hell going to be careful on there roads with these lunatics and give them plenty of space to pass me out”

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I'm going to share a story of what it's like being out on a bike. This is from my most recent spin.

I was going from Swords Village up towards the back of the airport. The road narrows and there is a small stretch of cycle track on Forrest Road which I fully intended on using.

Here's how it starts:
    https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.453149,-6.2260893,3a,75y,194.2h,70.38t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sCarOcMSYGj9uKEFg4z82JA!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

Note the gentlemans position here. Now instead of him, there was a group of people there (stationary) blocking access to the cycle lane so I had to use the road. They were also blocking the lowered section of the kerb, it was a pretty big group and lots of buggies.

So as I was cycling along, I was aware that there were 3 or 4 cars lined up behind me. The first 2 waited patiently to overtake which was grand.

The 3rd decided to start to overtake me, beep at me while driving past which scared the bejaysus out of me, started shouting at my to use the cycle lane and then swerved into me to avoid oncoming traffic.

So in the space of 2 seconds, I got the fright of my life twice with the beep and nearly crashing into me, nevermind being distracted from the road ahead all because some loon in a car wanted to make a point whereas they didn't have the full facts.
    The car then sped of, broke red lights further ahead when making a right turn.

This was not all motorists, this was just 1 person who thought they owned the road.
    But, in nearly every cycle, I would nearly encounter one person like this, well probably not as extreme, but one that would endanger me.

I do also encounter these folk while I'm driving as well, but I feel much safer inside the cage and wouldn't give me the fright that I experience on a bike.

have you wondered *why* a cyclist might choose not to use a piece of cycling infrastructure?
    there are a few cycle paths on my commute i refuse to use; most of them i'm happy to use, but a few would place me in greater danger. motorists beep at me occasionally on one stretch, but i can live with that.

the notion that i would refuse to use a cycle lane which would be safer for me to use, simply so i could piss off motorists, is a little weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭amcalester

Yes and if the person being a dick has two bikes attached to their car and after several miles of speeding and attempting to overtake dangerously on bendy country roads, that person gets out id the car and starts removing the bikes while talking loudly about how thank God they made it in time for the bike race, I actually feel pretty ok about saying "that cyclist was driving like a prick". Ditto if someone attaches a bike to a car after one of said races, gets in the car and takes off driving aggressively.

Edit: and also if they have the same face and voice as the guy who's been ****eing on in the pub all weekend about the race and personal bests and sure amn't I mad. Slightly less firm ground in that one maybe, it could be his evil motorist twin I suppose.

You have it the wrong way round, it was a motorist driving like a prick.

You wouldn't say someone who walked to his car and then started driving like a prick was a pedestrian driving like a prick, makes no sense.

Were you speeding too or how do you know he was speeding for several miles while also being able to hear him speak once he got to his destination? Seems unlikely.

You can get yourself tested here:

https://www.joe.ie/life-style/pricktest-603610

If cycling infrastructure was better i'd imagine cycling behaviour would be better. I'm a non-motorist and occasional cyclist and cyclists are my least favourite group with whom to share the road (or footpath, or wherever they feel like being at any given moment) in an urban setting, more evenly split when I'm home up the country.

Like another poster above I come from an area which attracts a lot of weekend cyclists and races. A few years ago it'd gotten completely out of hand, the area had managed with a mix of local, agricultural and tourist traffic for decades and the cyclists made sh1t of the situation over about two years.

Now these weren't "people who cycle a bike" these were very much cyclists. Head cams. Probably get Christmas presents of mugs that awkwardly try to crowbar the words "dad" "cycling" and "coffee" into the same pun. Probably post on cycling forums. Middle aged, middle class, male and obnoxious. The amount of dangerous and aggressive driving I saw from them before and after races was crazy too.

Anyways, the local councils sorted it out eventually. And like I say I cycle myself, don't want to tar everyone with the same brush.

The multi-quoting, "well ackshully", wagon circling defensiveness from cyclists here doesn't do a huge amount to win people over btw.

Is it wagon circling cyclists or male wagon circling cyclist you hate?

This post just reads like misandry to me. but hey ho

amcalester wrote: »
    You have it the wrong way round, it was a motorist driving like a prick.

You wouldn't say someone who walked to his car and then started driving like a prick was a pedestrian driving like a prick, makes no sense.

Were you speeding too or how do you know he was speeding for several miles while also being able to hear him speak once he got to his destination? Seems unlikely.

I got out of the car to fcuk him out of it. EDIT:
    I wasn't speeding, the car I was passenger in I ended up behind him several times over a ten mile journey because the west of Ireland roads and traffic would repeatedly mean he was unable, despite manic efforts, to go over the limit and overtake. That was the beauty of it, for all his effort, I got there while he was still unpacking the bikes :D

It was a cyclist driving like a prick. Gway with the semantics, if I'm acting the maggot over on holidays in Tenerife am I am unruly Spaniard?. I bet if he was asked ten words to describe himself motorist wouldn't feature.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

If there's one thing these cyclist vs motorist threads makes me realise, it's that there's a lot of seriously angry people out there.

Life's too short folks.

I got out of the car to fcuk him out of it.

It was a cyclist driving like a prick. Gway with the semantics, if I'm acting the maggot over on holidays in Tenerife am I am unruly Spaniard?. I bet if he was asked ten words to describe himself motorist wouldn't feature.

I don't know, motorist seems to fit better.
    noun
    a person who drives or travels in a privately owned automobile.

What has nationality got to do with any of this?

Anyway, what you should have done was pull over to the side of the road and let the motorist past.

Its really ignorant to hold up other road users for no reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I got out of the car to fcuk him out of it. EDIT:
    I wasn't speeding, I ended up behind him several times over a ten mile journey because the west of Ireland roads and traffic would repeatedly mean he was unable, despite manic efforts, to go over the limit and overtake. That was the beauty of it, for all his effort, I got there while he was still unpacking the bikes :D

It was a prick driving like a prick. Pricks gonna prick irrespective of their mode of transportation

Is it wagon circling cyclists or male wagon circling cyclist you hate?

This post just reads like misandry to me. but hey ho

Well the bar for that's got pretty low if all it takes is using the words dad and male in a two hundred word post.

Their wives were awful too if that makes it better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Yeah funny that. However with half the population of Ireland and the same number of cycling deaths it seems Slovenia is a much more dangerous place to cycle!

https://www.policija.si/eng/index.php/component/content/article/11/140-bicycle-safety
    Wow excellent reading of stats. Do you have anything on how many people cycle in Ireland or there. Btw they attribute more than half deaths to the behaviour of cyclist.

I can assume from the stats (high number of deaths in over 54 bracket) that a lot of cyclists involved are older people. Cycling is extremely popular among pensioners but they can be a bit of a mess on the roads. The difference is that on the bike they are mostly just danger to themselves but in the cars they can endanger others.

P_1 wrote: »
    It was a prick driving like a prick. Pricks gonna prick irrespective of their mode of transportation

Yeah, and this prick happened to be a cyclist, whose driving behaviour in that instance was directly related to his being a cyclist.

It was more the irony of the fact of the amount of complaints you hear from cyclists (quite rightly a lot of the time) about motorist behaviour and responsibility, and then this guy, very into cycling, driving like a fcuking maniac to be in time for his cycle.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

If there's one thing these cyclist vs motorist threads makes me realise, it's that there's a lot of seriously angry people out there.

Life's too short folks.

I'd like to see at least one cyclist and one motorist learn something new from each of these threads and admit it :)

Yeah, and this prick happened to be a cyclist, whose driving behaviour in that instance was directly related to his being a cyclist.

It was more the irony of the fact of the amount of complaints you hear from cyclists (quite rightly a lot of the time) about motorist behaviour and responsibility, and then this guy, very into cycling, driving like a fcuking maniac to be in time for his cycle.

Because he's probably just a prick, not because he's a cyclist or a motorist.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I'd like to see at least one cyclist and one motorist learn something new from each of these threads and admit it :)
    most of the cyclists are probably motorists too. less likely for the converse to be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Read the first few pages yesterday and there were short witty comments

Come back today and it’s a few posters writing books and full of rage while most others moved onto something else

Like most debates on boards :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,540 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Read the first few pages yesterday and there were short witty comments

Come back today and it’s a few posters writing books and full of rage while most others moved onto something else

Like most debates on boards :D

Exactly, what we need is more cycling babe pics!!!

amcalester wrote: »
    Because he's probably just a prick, not because he's a cyclist or a motorist.

Of course. I wasn't aware i'd given the impression I thought cycling magically made people into pricks.

This particular group of people were particularly prickish, but there's no causative relationship with cycling obviously. But I would have had to be blind not to see the correlation.