What's the obsession middle aged lads have with cycling?

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Jaysus you cyclists are fierce sensitive and defensive! Lol
    Perhaps that what comes from seeing seven cyclists killed by motorists already this year.
    Or maybe I'm supposed to say "you win, you're the bestest at debating.....".....???
    What you're supposed to say is "Now that I've heard the reasoned explanations from several patient cyclists about the practical benefits of lycra, I realise that bringing up the matter in the first place was puerile, somewhere around the same level as a 14 year old lad telling his mate that the new haircut/shirt/book is 'ghey'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 85 ✭✭The Kop

More motorist bashing from Andrew :)
    The man is obsessed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,729 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

The Kop wrote: »
    The man is obsessed.

This post is amazingly ironic.

The man is obsessed.

And yet again, no specific point in my post that you can actually argue or disagree with - just a personal jibe. Slightly disappointing.

Hurrache wrote: »
    This post is amazingly ironic.

It sure is. Doesn't mean I'm wrong though :0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Perhaps that what comes from seeing seven cyclists killed by motorists already this year.

What you're supposed to say is "Now that I've heard the reasoned explanations from several patient cyclists about the practical benefits of lycra, I realise that bringing up the matter in the first place was puerile, somewhere around the same level as a 14 year old lad telling his mate that the new haircut/shirt/book is 'ghey'.

You're posts, on this thread, are by far the funniest...... you're f#cking hilarious without even knowing or trying! Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭soups05

wow, I had no idea bikes cost so much. Last one I got cost me 150 euro, used it for 6 weeks while car was off the road. In the end I never got used to it, felt no fitter, then got car back and gave bike to son lol.

then he got it stolen, gob****e.

I always loved my bike till I got a car, now am a lazy git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

The man is obsessed.
    You're posts, on this thread, are by far the funniest...... you're f#cking hilarious without even knowing or trying! Lol

Is anyone else somewhat concerned that these bastions of logic and intellect are in charge of vehicles weighing several tonnes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

McTigs wrote: »
    and there is nothing, NOTHING like flying down the side of a hill at over 60k, sheer unadulterated kid-like joy!

Oh there is, it's called paragliding.

Which bit did you find more funny - the reminder of the seven cyclists killed so far this year, or the clarification of the childishness of your original point?

I reckon he goes around permanently angry waving his fists at all those motorists out to get him, especially the ones wearing golf jumpers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,535 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Oh there is, it's called paragliding.

When you go paragliding, do you wear silly clothes like us cyclists? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

Why do you keep coming out this this false crap?. 6 died as a result of being involved in an incident with a motor vehicle.

1 died after he lost control of his cycle as a result of a heart attack (from reports).

Considering the Garda investigations in some cases would still be on going and inquests have not taken place yet, what gives you the right to come out with the same bull**** statement that "motorists" killed these people?

Who made you judge and jury?

How could a motorist be responsible for a gent having a heart attack while cycling and dying as a result?

How do you know he doesn’t even try ? Or know ? I bet he does.

However I cracked up laughing at this thread today , I thought I was gonna choke having my tea .......hilarious stuff from various posters.

prinzeugen wrote: »
    Why do you keep coming out this this false crap?. 6 died as a result of being involved in an incident with a motor vehicle.

1 died after he lost control of his cycle as a result of a heart attack (from reports).

Considering the Garda investigations in some cases would still be on going and inquests have not taken place yet, what gives you the right to come out with the same bull**** statement that "motorists" killed these people?

Who made you judge and jury?

How could a motorist be responsible for a gent having a heart attack while cycling and dying as a result?

It's also entirely possible one or more of those unfortunate people who died was as a result of their own fault. Just because a cyclist dies as a result of an accident with a car does not automatically mean the motorist was at fault.

P_1 wrote: »
    Is anyone else somewhat concerned that these bastions of logic and intellect are in charge of vehicles weighing several tonnes?

I cycle about 100 miles a week buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

http://www.stickybottle.com/latest-news/video-cyclist-crash-car-dublin/

Here's one to throw the cat among the pigeons.

Quick straw poll, is it:

A - The cyclist's fault for not doing a lifesaver prior to shifting right
    B - The driver's fault for driving too close to the cycle lane
    C - Shiity infrastructure for putting both in this position
    D - A combination of all 3

prinzeugen wrote: »
    So they were killed by a motorist, driving a motor vehicle - what other interpretation would there be?

And do you want to include the extra case not included in the Garda figures because the death did not occur immediately afterwards - the man on East Wall Road?

It's also entirely possible one or more of those unfortunate people who died was as a result of their own fault. Just because a cyclist dies as a result of an accident with a car does not automatically mean the motorist was at fault.

Could you point to any specific examples in the past few years of cyclists who were killed by motorists as a result of the cyclist's own fault?

I've heard of a tiny number - the man who rode into the back of the parked car in Cork, the man who came off his bike during a steep descent in Wicklow, and if you go back far enough, the man who cycled onto the M1 while drunk.

Are you aware of other cases?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,402 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I think Andrew got attacked by window spray again.

More cranky than usual.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

I cycle about 100 miles a week buddy.
    a *real* cyclist would have said 160km.
    insert smiley face, lest that be taken seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,535 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Quick straw poll, is it:

E - it wouldn't have happened if the cyclists paid tax and insurance! :)

pjohnson wrote: »

More cranky than usual.

He's looking for links again to specifc cases. Lol.
    Andrew lives in a black and white world.
    Cyclists good.. motorists bad...

a *real* cyclist would have said 160km.
    insert smiley face, lest that be taken seriously.

I live in Belfast...it's miles up here mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

Quick straw poll, is it:

A- You would fail the motorbike test for that.

Cyclists need to take some responsibility for their own safety/lives. This video shows it only takes 2-3 seconds for something to go badly wrong.

pjohnson wrote: »

More cranky than usual.

Except that never happened,same as his made up story about a guy in a Lexus wearing a Golf jumper. Great imagination has our Andrew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,402 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Except that never happened,same as his made up story about a guy in a Lexus wearing a Golf jumper. Great imagination has our Andrew

Do you have a source?

:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 480 ✭✭ewc78

How do you know he doesn’t even try ? Or know ? I bet he does.

However I cracked up laughing at this thread today , I thought I was gonna choke having my tea .......hilarious stuff from various posters.
    Finding it extremely amusing myself I have to say.!